Blasters of the Universe Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Features first-person bullet-hell gameplay that requires you to duck, dodge, and maneuver through myriad enemies and hundreds of bullets.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Mar 12, 2018
    85
    Blasters of the Universe is an Virtual Reality homage to the almost forgotten shmup genre. It reinvigorates the genre with panache however and the game provides an insane amount of replayability if you're willing to put time and effort into it. And get ready to break a sweat since playing this game on Hell mode will seriously wear you out. A great first title from developer The Secret Location and we want more.
  2. Mar 7, 2018
    82
    Despite the lack of variety, I have to recommend Blasters of the Universe. Its addictive mix of shooting action and immersive gameplay make this a worthy addition to anyone’s VR library.
  3. Feb 27, 2018
    80
    A short running time doesn’t stop Blasters of the Universe from being one of VR’s most delightful wave shooters. The hectic bullet-dodging action hurls you into a deadly ballet that feels fun far more often than it is frustrating. This is a finely-tuned and charming game that stands out from the sea of survival shooters out there right now.
  4. Mar 6, 2018
    80
    The crafting; the action; the cheeky dialogue — it’s all wrapped into a package that adds another great piece to the PSVR catalogue.
  5. Apr 9, 2018
    80
    You will see all that Blasters of the Universe has to offer within an hour, but unlike many PSVR shooters there’s tonnes of replayability and it works really well as a party game if you have friends round. You’re going to need more space to play than most PSVR games, and also more stamina, as dodging, ducking, and flinging your arms in all directions really gives you a work out. Like the best arcade games it has a simple but addictive gameplay mechanic and is one of the best PSVR shooters to date.
  6. Mar 7, 2018
    75
    At first glance just another shooting gallery, the clever inclusion of bullet hell elements and the weapon smithing make this an interesting, yet short VR action game.
  7. Mar 6, 2018
    70
    Blasters of the Universe is an absolute blast to play with silky smooth motion control and headset tracking that allows for precise shots to be pulled off with ease. The 80s cartoon style visuals, combined with the trance music, create a charmingly frantic environment for a bullet hell shooter to be set. Although its runtime is short lived, the quality of its gameplay makes Blasters of the Universe a very worthwhile venture.

See all 12 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Jan 12, 2019
    10
    Fun, challenging and immersive. Exciting retro graphics and a variety of weapons and enemies. My only wish is that it had some kind of onlineFun, challenging and immersive. Exciting retro graphics and a variety of weapons and enemies. My only wish is that it had some kind of online co-op, it would truly be a blast to play with a friend. Highly recommended for anyone looking for a visually appealing shooter with lots of replayability. Expand
  2. Jun 4, 2018
    10
    Unique and very well made. When I heard it was essentially a VR bullet hell I turned it down immediately but after finally playing it I amUnique and very well made. When I heard it was essentially a VR bullet hell I turned it down immediately but after finally playing it I am upset that I didn't earlier. Dodging and shooting in a 80's sci-fi aesthetic complete with a great soundtrack has been a blast. On the technical side I had no issues with the game at all. I played the game to completion and am currently replaying it. Expand
  3. Mar 13, 2018
    10
    A bullet hell completely perfect for VR. Amazing graphics, perfect immersion and spetacular gameplay and replayability.
  4. Mar 4, 2018
    10
    Don't let the look of it fool you this is not a gallery shooter, it's on par with games like NexMachina and the top tier bullet hell games butDon't let the look of it fool you this is not a gallery shooter, it's on par with games like NexMachina and the top tier bullet hell games but it's in VR. I think it might be the best tracking currently on PSVR, litterally no issue even when positioning the moves over the the headset. It's a standing game and fairly active so that should be taken into account, it got sweaty for me and had to pause and my face a few times but the was easily over ridden by a desire to keep playing. Weapon modding is a thing too and from the looks of it every aspect of the, i think 7 guns, can be mixed and matched with a **** ton of different ammo, mods, aiming devices and sheilds. The "production value" is incredible, can't believe this released at the price it did, everything feels solid AF and the graphics and 3d effect are top tier. It'll largely come down to whether or not you're willing to do the standing and weaving which can get really hectic even on casual. EDIT after 8-10 hours of gameplay: This has topped rush of blood and any other game of these genres in VR, perhaps even outside of VR, I haven't had this much pure clean fun in a game in years. Absolutely the most under rated game to release this year. Collapse