Driveclub VR Image
Metascore
66

Mixed or average reviews - based on 35 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 126 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Game modes: Online virtual reality multiplayer race modes and an action-packed single player career are joined by drifting and time trial challenges. Tracks: New and classic Driveclub tracks are brought to life through the power of PlayStation VR, including five all-new Urban locations. AGame modes: Online virtual reality multiplayer race modes and an action-packed single player career are joined by drifting and time trial challenges. Tracks: New and classic Driveclub tracks are brought to life through the power of PlayStation VR, including five all-new Urban locations. A closer look: More than 80 cars are recreated with immaculate detail for players to explore up close with Inspection Mode. Cruise control: A little time to kick back, open the throttle or just coast and explore any track, in any country at your leisure in Cruise Mode. Virtual passenger: An immersive thrill ride through exciting replays of hot laps as players watch themselves handle their greatest challenges from a unique viewpoint in Passenger Mode. [Playstation.com]
    Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 35
  2. Negative: 1 out of 35
  1. Oct 19, 2016
    80
    Driveclub VR is almost an entirely new game, that plays wonderfully in VR. Unfortunately, this racing experience falls flat in the graphics department.
  2. Oct 12, 2016
    80
    DriveClub VR is a brilliant racing experience, but be warned that you might think you're going on a beautiful holiday to the south of France yet end up touring the sites of Hull. That's a metaphor, by the way, you don't get to drive in either location. I'm saying Hull isn't very nice to look at. Like DriveClub VR.
  3. Oct 12, 2016
    73
    Immersive and lots of content, it is a pity that the poor graphics overshadow the overall result of Driveclub VR.
  4. Oct 12, 2016
    70
    Virtual reality racing has an enormous amount of potential. Racing games are often visual delights however, so what Driveclub VR lacks in this department is notable despite the sense of presence that makes it so fresh.
  5. Oct 17, 2016
    70
    Recycling DriveClub with a VR twist, DriveClub VR offers a lot of content and challenges, and above all gives us a new sense of immersion that is really enjoyable. Of course the PlayStation VR player pays that with a global visual downgrade, but the deal is still a good one, especially with this PSVR launch line-up, where DriveClub has no competitor yet.
  6. 60
    While the game may not be anything near the visual showcase that the original game was for the PS4 itself, Driveclub VR is one game that gives a glimpse at the potential of VR racing and needs to at least be tried by any PSVR owner.
  7. Oct 12, 2016
    20
    There's nothing quite like the feeling of having to rip the PS VR headset off mid-session to hurl up chunks of your breakfast, or having to spend the next hour feeling like the room is spinning. It was frustrating enough reviewing the experience - we dread to think how angry we'd be if we'd just spent 30 quid on it...Avoid.

See all 35 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Oct 29, 2016
    10
    I just need to give my perspective. The gameplay is fantastic and it works extremely well in VR. I just streamed/played Driveclub VR for threeI just need to give my perspective. The gameplay is fantastic and it works extremely well in VR. I just streamed/played Driveclub VR for three straight hours last night with no discomfort. Driveclub VR has never made me feel anything but the pure joy of being immersed in incredible VR racing. Batman is probably the best VR game at the moment, but DCVR is my go-to. I've sunk more time into DCVR than any other VR game bc it's actually a game. It has hundreds of hours of content and is a joy to start your own club, race in multiplayer, and create challenges for others to beat.

    The game features new tracks, new game modes, and new ways to play. It is technically a new game. The visuals are a bit unclear, but they are also going for extreme realism which is not easy to achieve in VR. You have to understand this instead of making a blanket statement that "the graphics are bad". It's Driveclub graphics, just slightly less clear, but the immersion of VR more than makes up for it. I still find myself marveling at the beauty of the snow kissed mountain tops and the crumbling Scottish castles even with the VR fidelity. In reality, i appreciate it more bc i'm actually there. Free cruise in the Wombat buggy is actually one of my favorite things to do.

    It's a travesty how Driveclub VR has been perceived. Just try the demo and tell me it's not enjoy? I would give Driveclub VR a 9/10, but i rated it 10/10 to offset the idiocy that i see. Try it and you will see.
    Expand
  2. Oct 27, 2017
    9
    i started Using VR just some weeks ago , and find this fantastic Game in Store Just for $ 4.99 , the experience was awesome ! And it is a gamei started Using VR just some weeks ago , and find this fantastic Game in Store Just for $ 4.99 , the experience was awesome ! And it is a game that arrives one year ago ! GREAT JOB !!! RECOMMENDED !!! Expand
  3. Oct 15, 2016
    9
    The graphical quality is surpassed by immersion and content available. I've played 20 hours with no motion sickness. That's up to 3 hours inThe graphical quality is surpassed by immersion and content available. I've played 20 hours with no motion sickness. That's up to 3 hours in one session and I'm no motion sickness super hero. Love this game and my family and friends who have tried it really enjoy it too Expand
  4. Dec 13, 2017
    8
    Why so much bad press about this game ? ! The game is great. Yes it does not look as good as standard Driveclub but then any VR game will notWhy so much bad press about this game ? ! The game is great. Yes it does not look as good as standard Driveclub but then any VR game will not look as good as standard non VR version. But let me say this... will take the PSVR immersion and realism over 4k graphics any time and any day. the game is so much fun to play. it is so immersive, no racing game will give you the same experience as VR game like this. The only reason why I give it 8 out 10 is because there is no PS4 Pro patch for this game ? ! Sony. please bring the patch for this game. Let's use 4 Teraflops now ! Expand
  5. Oct 13, 2016
    7
    I really don't get all the hate. It's Driveclub, but now you're in the car. I think it's solid, and until Gran Turismo takes a crack at VR,I really don't get all the hate. It's Driveclub, but now you're in the car. I think it's solid, and until Gran Turismo takes a crack at VR, this will definitely do. I used the DS4 to play, but was hoping the Move controllers would act as steering wheel and shift knob for manual. Either way, I'd love to try it out with the GT steering wheel and pedals if that's possible.

    The side and rear view mirrors are a bit blurry, and the competition seem to follow the drive line a bit too much, but the feeling of passing a car, then being able to look to the right and see it through the passenger mirror, then turning your head 3/4 of the way around to spot him in your rear windshield. The future is here!
    Expand
  6. Apr 18, 2018
    7
    Graphics are not great but nowhere near as bad as people make out, It Plays great and is one of few FULL games on PSVR, Beware this is one ofGraphics are not great but nowhere near as bad as people make out, It Plays great and is one of few FULL games on PSVR, Beware this is one of the worst games for nausea, If it doesn't make you feel sick its a hell of a lot of fun Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2018
    0
    Well let's begin with the graphics.....or the lack of them I should say. One word BLURRY, I mean so blurry that is very disappointing to evenWell let's begin with the graphics.....or the lack of them I should say. One word BLURRY, I mean so blurry that is very disappointing to even have this game looking this poorly, which you would think the developers would try harder especially seen it in 1st person view as it's on psvr.
    The sound is mediocre, gameplay is mostly a vomit fest, and the longevity of it is as good as a demo.
    Expand

See all 24 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Hardware Review: PlayStation VR

    Hardware Review: PlayStation VR Image
    Published: October 5, 2016
    See what critics are saying about the latest arrival in the VR gaming scene, Sony's PlayStation VR headset.