User Score
2.8

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 4860 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 26, 2019
    4
    The team at Bethesda have developed an experience that within a few short hours of early gameplay is worthy of the bargain bin. MMO tropes that by todays standards are instantly outdated. Running on an outdated engine that while continuing to cough out black smoke has created the most colourful Fallout setting to date. The lack of non player characters creates the impression of a dullThe team at Bethesda have developed an experience that within a few short hours of early gameplay is worthy of the bargain bin. MMO tropes that by todays standards are instantly outdated. Running on an outdated engine that while continuing to cough out black smoke has created the most colourful Fallout setting to date. The lack of non player characters creates the impression of a dull world, devoid of life and personality. The main quest line tasks the player with the same mission structure on an agonising repetitive loop. Go here, retrieve this, return, a point which is broken up with gunfights with foes both old and new. Renditions of Fallout favorites such as Ghouls and foes conjured from folk law of West Virginia itself are welcome. However one can struggle with Bethesdas' continuing lack of combat development, with times firing a rifle feels like a BB gun. One such gameplay addition carried over from previous titles is the V.A.T.S system, pausing instances of gameplay and allows the player to target individual body parts, compensating for Fallouts abysmal aiming mechanics. The new iteration of the V.A.T.S system however, built for multiplayer is a pointless inclusion, clunky, unresponsive and seems to have only been included because "Its a Fallout game". So called independent servers are laughable and continue to plague various players experiences with connection problems. Glitches have from launch disconnected players from the game, freezing gameplay and in more extreme instances erased game data.

    Nauseating frame-rate, connection issues and under developed gameplay mechanics solidify why this title deserves nothing short than the full force of the atom.
    Expand
  2. Nov 15, 2018
    2
    War...war never changes...
    But Fallout does.
    Hey everyone!i am here to tell you sad story of Fallout 76. I am a big Fallout Fan(F1,F2,F3,FNV,F4)-finished all of theme 3+ times Now fallout 76.... Empty, soulless, pety... Ok i could handle no NPC's, but lack of activities.....thats too much! All quests are same ,go there ,kill this, bring this.I got bored after 1-2 hours of play.
    War...war never changes...
    But Fallout does.

    Hey everyone!i am here to tell you sad story of Fallout 76.
    I am a big Fallout Fan(F1,F2,F3,FNV,F4)-finished all of theme 3+ times
    Now fallout 76....
    Empty, soulless, pety...
    Ok i could handle no NPC's, but lack of activities.....thats too much!
    All quests are same ,go there ,kill this, bring this.I got bored after 1-2 hours of play.
    It's not a true Fallout game.
    It's just a copycat of F4
    Just a way to earn money fast!
    DONT BUY IT!!!
    Expand
  3. Nov 14, 2018
    3
    Fallout 76 is not a game for the fans it's a game for the wallet of investors.
    Fallout fans will be extremely disappointed in this game while new players might find some fun in it.
    Everything that was Fallout have been removed and you are left with a almost empty shell of a game. Building is very disappointing and fairly buggy. PVP is useless and there is no incentive to PVP unless
    Fallout 76 is not a game for the fans it's a game for the wallet of investors.
    Fallout fans will be extremely disappointed in this game while new players might find some fun in it.

    Everything that was Fallout have been removed and you are left with a almost empty shell of a game.

    Building is very disappointing and fairly buggy.
    PVP is useless and there is no incentive to PVP unless you want to grief people by removing the floor beneath them.
    Weapon modification has less then half the options in Fallout 4.
    Gear drop is stupid since the good gear has level requirements way above your current level.
    There is very little story and about 40% of it you have to read the rest is from holotapes.
    There are NPC's but none are memorable or have anything to offer dialogue wise.
    The world feel really lifeless, way to lifeless even for a post apocalyptic world. Teaming up with randoms is almost impossible.

    There are bugs, but i have not encountered anything game breaking so far. Mostly animation issues and the occasional flying body. Your camp can get reset between log outs if someone else build their camp near yours.
    The game is far to easy. You can kill a level 12 mob at level 4 with ease.
    Microtransactions are there but can be ignored. But it would be better if they weren't there at all.

    But with all that said the game is certainly not a 0/10. With friends you can have a good time but i would be surprised if anyone plays this to max level.

    It's not worth the full 60 bucks so you are better of waiting for a sale and get it when it is below 25 bucks.

    Maybe Fallout 76 will become like No Mans Sky and actually get good after 1 year of updates, but as it currently stands it's a soulless game made with no passion.
    Expand
  4. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Today i fnished the first "Dark Souls" and just opened this game. Graphically, they are no different, missions are more empty, and LORE resembles comic trash like the one we played inside the "Pip-Boy". It would seem that these games are so different, but no, here instead of dark fantasy we meet little children's fiction. After killing robots with your own fist, you are wandering yourselfToday i fnished the first "Dark Souls" and just opened this game. Graphically, they are no different, missions are more empty, and LORE resembles comic trash like the one we played inside the "Pip-Boy". It would seem that these games are so different, but no, here instead of dark fantasy we meet little children's fiction. After killing robots with your own fist, you are wandering yourself in empty monotonous locations populated by random mobs and thinking about different things; and about how sh** this game is, nothing can distract you from that, like this game itself from your busy life.

    The possibilities of the world are minimal, adventures you invent yourself. As if we came back to the past, only here there is no place for chaos and trickery, as in the old online games.
    Expand
  5. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    As somebody who loves the Fallout franchise, this game is an absolute joke. It's so buggy that it's basically unplayable, there's literally no story, vats is broken, all the quests are boring(there's literally one where you have to run around collecting bottles), the overworld is boring, the enemies are boring, the game is always online so if Bethesda's servers go down (which they do aAs somebody who loves the Fallout franchise, this game is an absolute joke. It's so buggy that it's basically unplayable, there's literally no story, vats is broken, all the quests are boring(there's literally one where you have to run around collecting bottles), the overworld is boring, the enemies are boring, the game is always online so if Bethesda's servers go down (which they do a lot) you can't play and lose all your progress, the graphics look straight out of 2007... Now I'm going to go try and get a refund from Playstation for selling me an unfinished game for 60 dollars. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This is quite possibly the laziest mmo I have ever had the displeasure of playing. First things first, the gameplay is copied right from Fallout 4 which would be fine if it weren't for the fact that Fallout 4 had a lot more to do and a lot more to it. This game is incredibly empty with no real npc's to interact with, workbenches and the like that can only be utilized by a single player atThis is quite possibly the laziest mmo I have ever had the displeasure of playing. First things first, the gameplay is copied right from Fallout 4 which would be fine if it weren't for the fact that Fallout 4 had a lot more to do and a lot more to it. This game is incredibly empty with no real npc's to interact with, workbenches and the like that can only be utilized by a single player at a team leading to waiting in line for the chance to do anything, player collision systems that stop players from moving through each other making it so that people who stop in door ways stop everyone else from entering the building. Monsters spawn far to frequently and attack based solely on seeing a player, meaning trolls simply lead large groups of monsters into populated areas and let them loose on unsuspecting players. On top of that the story, if you want to call it that, is really, really lazy and poorly done. It honestly might as well not even be there. Now we can get to the best part, that the game is a buggy mess! This truly is a failure in every way. If you want a good fallout experience but have completed 4 then go back and play 1,2,tactics, 3 or NV. This game isn't
    even worth being free.
    Expand
  7. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    An utter disgrace that Fallout 76 was released in the state its in. Full of bugs that are tied to the archaic Creation engine.
    No npc's mediocre combat, unstable and full price on top of all that, despite it being nothing more than a Fallout 4 reskin.
  8. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Everything that makes fallout games feel like a fallout game is missing from this game. Anyone who says they enjoy this game are either lying or in deep denial. A clunky UI, horrid combat, no NPCS and a lack of any real story. Please Please Please save yourself some money and don't buy this game. The more people who buy this the more likely it is that Bethesda Game studios will keep makingEverything that makes fallout games feel like a fallout game is missing from this game. Anyone who says they enjoy this game are either lying or in deep denial. A clunky UI, horrid combat, no NPCS and a lack of any real story. Please Please Please save yourself some money and don't buy this game. The more people who buy this the more likely it is that Bethesda Game studios will keep making games like this. If starfield is anything like this I will never buy another BGS game again. Ever. So disappointing. Expand
  9. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    To say disappointed would be an understatement!
    Constantly crashing. SPENT AN HOUR getting no server found message (real fiber optic connection and new equipment) finally found server, connected 3 to 5 seconds, and disconnected again. Came back a few hours later finally got into game. Have to eat and drink so much it comsumes too much play time (especially considering spent so much time
    To say disappointed would be an understatement!
    Constantly crashing. SPENT AN HOUR getting no server found message (real fiber optic connection and new equipment) finally found server, connected 3 to 5 seconds, and disconnected again. Came back a few hours later finally got into game. Have to eat and drink so much it comsumes too much play time (especially considering spent so much time just logging in). World had a very empty feeling. Not what I expected from Bethesda. Also didn't get the advertised Beta even though pre ordered a month in advance.
    Expand
  10. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I created an account on metacritic just to state how upset I am with all of the poor design choices Bethesda has made with this game. There are no NPCs because Bethesda was lazy and we can all see it. The holotapes are annoying and make for an unpleasant game experience. There is no incentive to interact with other players either for good or bad. I can not recommend this to anyone, and II created an account on metacritic just to state how upset I am with all of the poor design choices Bethesda has made with this game. There are no NPCs because Bethesda was lazy and we can all see it. The holotapes are annoying and make for an unpleasant game experience. There is no incentive to interact with other players either for good or bad. I can not recommend this to anyone, and I will actively tell my friends not to waste their money. Expand
  11. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    fallout 4 in new setting,new enemies, new bigger map, new perk and leveling systems, new building system... and in multiplayer, so far so good! but horrible fighting system, almost useless VAT, limit to inventory, same old horribly organized inventory, pain in the a*s sorting and browsing menu system. Too difficult at times if you are solo and encounter a random swarm of beasts, or theyfallout 4 in new setting,new enemies, new bigger map, new perk and leveling systems, new building system... and in multiplayer, so far so good! but horrible fighting system, almost useless VAT, limit to inventory, same old horribly organized inventory, pain in the a*s sorting and browsing menu system. Too difficult at times if you are solo and encounter a random swarm of beasts, or they gather around you in a second. You have to be online to play it! Perk system resembles more of a solitaire game, then really functional leveling system. Overall is so-so, but really not sure it was worth the money...actually i regret buying it, probably if Red Dead Redemption 2 for pc was already out i wouldn't even consider fallout 76! Expand
  12. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Complete lack of touch with fallout fans, playing this game has been impressively disappointing as Bethesda puts minimal effort to appeal to the masses. Fallout has lost its identity with another lore retcon, dismantling a fantastic IP created by interplay in the late 90s.
  13. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    The story is **** the frame rate on all the consoles is **** even the x and the pro, no npc it makes the game world feel empty, the faction are meaningless, vats is all different because it's online. Pretty bad
  14. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Don’t waste a dollar in this buggy mess of a game. This game barely runs on a PS4 Pro, I already imagine how it will run in a normal PS4 or Xbox one. Bethesda is not the company that it was before. Poor game mechanics and design. Looks like a game that came out 10 years ago that’s how bad it looks and plays, please avoid this game. This game is not worth 60 dollars at all.
  15. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Fallout 4 already had bad gameplay and this is literally the same thing, except with a worse version of vats which was the only good thing about the gameplay in fallout 4 to begin with.
  16. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is a cash grab nothing more it is not worth your £60$60 hell it's not even worth $10 it's a free to play game that's overcharging , it's a grind fest it has no story it has no real PVP it has microtransactions, it is supposed to be a nuclear war setting, but no nuclear war setting I have ever seen has green trees, blue sky or living vegetation, plus the sun is shining ??? It's just an inescapable fact in a world wide nuclear war Everything would be dead, sure a few animals and humans might survive but the life they would live in that world would look nothing like fallout 76 implies until at least 400- 500 years after the fact if at all. The gameplay is well lets just say its like destiny & no man's lie had a babe and no one wanted it... That actually caused me pain to think about ... Expand
  17. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    Patrolling Appalachia almost makes you wish for a nuclear winter.

    Bethesda is running my favorite franchise into the ground.
  18. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    "Barbarically Terrible"

    Wow. There are so many things wrong with this game from performance to pure boredom. It's like Conan Exiles, but not as good...
  19. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    this is honestly the worst game ive ever played
    awful textures as well
    I would rather play rust
  20. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This is not a game. There is no difficulty, no stakes, no progression- nothing. Don't believe anybody who tells you otherwise. Time better spent playing any other Fallout game.
  21. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    It's fully raw and unexpected product, coming up just after Fallout 4 and it looks like a fallout 4 multiplayer mode, but full of NOTHING - means in this game have no meaning at all - have no story, have no gameplay, have no LORE, have no MMO, have no RPG. omg even have no NPC - it seems first "MMO" without NPC at all. and company tries to "feed" u with it like an "advantage", but no,It's fully raw and unexpected product, coming up just after Fallout 4 and it looks like a fallout 4 multiplayer mode, but full of NOTHING - means in this game have no meaning at all - have no story, have no gameplay, have no LORE, have no MMO, have no RPG. omg even have no NPC - it seems first "MMO" without NPC at all. and company tries to "feed" u with it like an "advantage", but no, thanks.
    Actually, i'm a huge fan of Bethesda, and waiting like a dog for TES6 from 2011 (as before i waited for Oblivion and Morrowind) , and as we remember - Bethesda aways did TES - Fallout - TES - Fallout, and now it was a turn of TES6, but we have what we have. I'm just really crying, when see what happened with my favorite studio. Trying to sell us totally raw and BAD product. Please, so.
    Expand
  22. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Lets just be honest up front about what Bethesda was not so honest about: there is no solo play option (like every other fallout before this one). Clarifying, on the day of release, that Bethesda meant you can play along rather than with a team was a serious lapse of integrity.

    This is essentially World of Warcraft with a Fallout skin. The lack of a solo play option is only made
    Lets just be honest up front about what Bethesda was not so honest about: there is no solo play option (like every other fallout before this one). Clarifying, on the day of release, that Bethesda meant you can play along rather than with a team was a serious lapse of integrity.

    This is essentially World of Warcraft with a Fallout skin.

    The lack of a solo play option is only made worse by the processes and glitches that make the game unenjoyable if no unplayable. Stalking a target? Hope some wanker with a machete doesn't go charging in screwing it up and provoking your target into a general melee that you barely escape from. The initial round of guns is laughable. They are so inaccurate, you are better off using stick (which will do more damage anyway). When they do land, they are the equivalent of landing a rough smooch on your target. Mod them to more functional and effective? Sure, all you have to do is level up 20 times and hope the random perk generator allows you to do so. That is, if you can find all the materials and not have them stolen. Then you just have to find a useful amount of ammunition, which should not be a problem in West Virginia where practically every house has a gun and ammunition. Not so with Bethesda's representation ... which is great, because hunting is critical to survival with the addition of a food and water system that is fun for about fifteen minutes and then just becomes tedious. It's somehow like an even more pointless minecraft.

    Oh yeah, you can also be randomly whacked by some immature 14 year old at any second, or just a random spawn that drops on top of you ... as you arrive and search for something that some other player just looted.

    Awesome this is not. I have played other poor games, but this is the first time I have ever wanted my money back immediately.
    Expand
  23. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    **** eat and drink mode. In one our ingame, i eat and drink thinks for one month in realy time.
    I only spend time with eating and drinking
    The other time i spend with looting eat and drink :-(
  24. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Fallout 76 is just a bad online mod for Fallout 4 and Bethesda wants you to pay 60$ for it.
  25. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    Gameplay: clunky, boring, full of glitches.
    Graphics: Old looking
    Sound: weapons sound very unrealistic
    Longevity: None. No end game content
  26. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    All I can say is thank you Bethesda for having a BETA (that I had to preorder it to get into...) so I could save my money and spend it on RDR 2, which actually deserves it. Notice how the reviews giving this game a 10 (give me break) are saying all these negative reviews are bots or trolls who haven't even played the game. Do you think we want to hate Fallout? It's one of my favoriteAll I can say is thank you Bethesda for having a BETA (that I had to preorder it to get into...) so I could save my money and spend it on RDR 2, which actually deserves it. Notice how the reviews giving this game a 10 (give me break) are saying all these negative reviews are bots or trolls who haven't even played the game. Do you think we want to hate Fallout? It's one of my favorite franchises but the writing has been on the wall since Fallout 4. It's not being 'whiny' for voicing displeasure to a company instead of being 'grateful' I get to give them my money. The same thing happened when The Last Jedi came out, trying to discredit a fan base for reacting to this disgrace.

    For those defending the game, I'm not saying you're wrong for liking it, but how long can you see yourself playing it? From someone who has spent way too much time on every other Bethesda title this is a major disappointment, bugs aside. You can call the bad reviews bots, but the ones giving it a 10 and calling it a "masterpiece/best Fallout game they've ever played" seem fishier to me.
    Expand
  27. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Of all the things that disappoint me about Fallout 76, the Bethesda apologists have to be the worst part. Anyone making a claim that any and every bad review of this game is coming from someone who hasn't played it is making a massive generalization and huge logical fallacy. But nothing they do can amount to the mistake Bethesda made when they decided to make this game.

    Let me be clear
    Of all the things that disappoint me about Fallout 76, the Bethesda apologists have to be the worst part. Anyone making a claim that any and every bad review of this game is coming from someone who hasn't played it is making a massive generalization and huge logical fallacy. But nothing they do can amount to the mistake Bethesda made when they decided to make this game.

    Let me be clear about a couple things first: I wanted a multiplayer Fallout game; I wanted a new setting, and the one they chose for Fallout 76 is great; I've been a lifelong fan of Bethesda despite a long history of flawed launches and games that are total messes.

    And let's also be clear about a things on the flip side: Fallout 76 is not a Fallout game and never should have been referred to as such; Bethesda is a different company today than they were years ago, and not in a good way; Fallout 76 on its own is an awful title intended to exploit consumers. And because I'll inevitably be referred to by some Bethesda apologist sheep as a "salty fanboy who doesn't have the game" I'll just go ahead and prove everything I've said.

    1. Fallout traditionally is unpredictable and focuses VERY heavily on choice. One action here creates a totally different scenario at this point. Characters "remember" your choices and the world feels alive as a result. But Fallout 76 does not have a single NPC in it. They used this as a selling point for this game! Every quest is predictable. For every fetch marker that tells you to talk to Person A, you already know that they're dead or gone. If the game world is inherently dead, then it renders the potential to have any meaningful choice and any semblance of gravity completely null. If the game world is dead, the game is dead, and it's boring to watch, boring to play, and a lazy design decision.

    2. The only polished feature in this game is the Atom Shop, where you pay real money to buy cosmetics and features in the game. I suppose it's worth noting that you don't have to buy Atoms to get them, but it's yet another game where Bethesda needlessly implemented microtransactions and made it a center piece of the game. Fallout Shelter is an entirely single-player game and relies on the player buying loot boxes to progress. It's also worth noting that features that players (including the ones mindlessly rating the game as a 10) asked for simple QoL features that every game has natively, like ultra-wide support, FOV sliders, and oh... I don't know... not enabling speed hacks on the server by editing a client configuration file.

    3. This game cannot be refunded. For some reason I cannot fathom, no one is talking about this. It's very clearly written on Bethesda.net under their store policy that all digital purchases that are redeemed cannot under any circumstances except those as required by law be refunded by Bethesda. At first, I wondered why they wouldn't release the game on Steam. I thought it might have to do with aggregate user reviews, and maybe that's part of it, but the main reason is almost certainly the fact that Steam would refund people who purchased Fallout 76 if they didn't like it, and it would seem that most don't. Pre-orders could be cancelled had they not been redeemed, but anything purchased or redeemed through the Bethesda launcher itself cannot and will not be unless there is a change in Bethesda's policy.

    4. No modding support until late 2019. This is asinine. They claim their upgrades to the Creation Engine are partly to help modders create content, and yet they hold off on releasing it for Fallout 4 and Fallout 76, both games that seriously needed modders' help just to get the game to run at an acceptable level. Regardless of whether or not they support modding, the game is an open book. Go ahead and edit packets and modify files, the server doesn't check to see if any of it's modified. There's a new account every day of someone exploiting the game. A few hours ago, someone figured out how to access nuke launch codes whenever they want.

    5. Reused assets, retconned lore. Yeah, I'm a Fallout fanboy. I only care that the story I spent hours reading about in previous Fallout games is worthless in the face of Fallout 76 and Emil Pagliarulo. Thanks for the radiant quests, I guess I'll take those in exchange for you spitting on the grave of Interplay and Black Isle who, might I add, exuded more creativity and passion in a few days than the Bethesda of today can in years.

    6. They are still using an engine from 2006 at the earliest. If you feed me a lie about how the Creation Engine isn't that old, you have no idea what you're talking about. The engine version they licensed comes from the version they used for Oblivion at the earliest, Fallout 3 at the latest. That's the version they were allowed to work on for the Creation Engine. It is a budget engine covered in duct tape, and the fact they're using it still shows they have zero respect for you and I as fans.
    Expand
  28. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    My god, Bethesda... what have you done?
    Graphically- dated. Red Dead 2 makes Fallout 76 look like Minecraft.
    Gameplay- VATS has been unforgivably gimped to force it to fit the real-time setup of online play. Game world- recycled. There are new things, but none of it feels that new. Atmosphere- gone, replaced with immersion-busting microphone chatter, no NPCs and a passive story
    My god, Bethesda... what have you done?
    Graphically- dated. Red Dead 2 makes Fallout 76 look like Minecraft.
    Gameplay- VATS has been unforgivably gimped to force it to fit the real-time setup of online play.
    Game world- recycled. There are new things, but none of it feels that new.
    Atmosphere- gone, replaced with immersion-busting microphone chatter, no NPCs and a passive story
    Combat- boring, clunky, laughable physics
    Micro transactions- Pure cheek. £20 for an outfit? On yer bike. I wouldn’t pay £20 for the full game.
    Code hygiene- buggy as buggy can be.
    Overall- embarrassing cash cow that nobody asked for, nobody wanted, fans have rejected, reviewers are immolating and other developers are laughing at. Bin it. #notmyfallout
    Expand
  29. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    The game is essentially unplayable. I wouldn't recommend his game to anyone, unless you're a hardcore Bethesda fan and just needed to buy this game. I get it. I'm a COD fan boy and I even bought Advanced Warfare. But even I knew not to buy Infinite Warfare (which is what this game is the equivalent to).

    To summarize this game: glitchy. Quests won't even work, and not to mention that
    The game is essentially unplayable. I wouldn't recommend his game to anyone, unless you're a hardcore Bethesda fan and just needed to buy this game. I get it. I'm a COD fan boy and I even bought Advanced Warfare. But even I knew not to buy Infinite Warfare (which is what this game is the equivalent to).

    To summarize this game: glitchy. Quests won't even work, and not to mention that there's not even a storyline or any NPCs. Sometimes an enemy would just spawn on you and you just ... die. If you still want to buy the game after that well ... have fun.
    Expand
  30. Nov 14, 2018
    2
    I suggest you watch an hour of continuous game play and then make your decision. If you are bored watching you will be bored playing it. I will never pre-order from Bethesda again. Same graphics and awkward movement as the last fallout games without the memorable NPCs. NO NPCS. Past Fallout games above all else has had memorable characters and intriguing story lines. Not this one. AddI suggest you watch an hour of continuous game play and then make your decision. If you are bored watching you will be bored playing it. I will never pre-order from Bethesda again. Same graphics and awkward movement as the last fallout games without the memorable NPCs. NO NPCS. Past Fallout games above all else has had memorable characters and intriguing story lines. Not this one. Add glitchy servers and immersion breaking multiplayer among other disappointments. Feels like nothing was improved (i.e. game play) and a lot has been taken out or made worse. I consider myself a huge Fallout fan and I can't stomach playing this anymore. Expand
  31. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    Incredibly disappointed with this game having paid fifty quid for what appears to be a hideously grinding sequence of objectives interspersed with clumsy, frustrating combat. If this was marketed as a cheap add on to Fallout 4 it would have been fine but honestly three hours in I’m bored to death and I won’t be going back to it. Awful. Truly awful. What were they even thinking? Well apartIncredibly disappointed with this game having paid fifty quid for what appears to be a hideously grinding sequence of objectives interspersed with clumsy, frustrating combat. If this was marketed as a cheap add on to Fallout 4 it would have been fine but honestly three hours in I’m bored to death and I won’t be going back to it. Awful. Truly awful. What were they even thinking? Well apart from *KERCHING* obviously. Expand
  32. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    The franchise is no longer an RPG. this game is nothing like Fallout 1 or 2 or 3 or new vegas. it's awful.
  33. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    This Game Is Not Good Bring Back Fallout New Vegas. I do not like the direct Bethesda took with this game. I recommend RDR2 for a better RPG experience.
  34. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    The game is incredibly bland and soulless. In addition it is full of bugs and glitches. Clearly this game isn't worth the $60 for a half finished boring game. Total mess, not worth hard earned cash.
  35. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This game such a failure. Looks like Bethesda just wanted to make a quick buck by releasing a online version of fallout 4. The game is full of bugs like every other Bethesda title. Bethesda has ruined a good franchise.
  36. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    menuda profanacion a la saga , es muy triste ver como ha decaido esta saga con esta ultima entrega. solo espero que le den a obsidian la licencia.
  37. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Hands down the most insulting piece of garbage I have ever seen. I used to love Bethesda but they have betrayed me. Instead of making good games they focus on being as lazy and doing as little work as possible, and throwing in the atomic shop to make as much money off this cheap piece of crap as they can. I hope this game and all of Bethesda burns in a hell fire
  38. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Bugs galore (what do you expect, its a Bethesda game) FPS is locked, engine is outdated and it shows. The game has an identity crisis, and it struggles to do any one thing right. The PvP is lackluster, and it seems like it is discouraged you have nothing to gain and quite a bit to lose. The building is just as bad as you remember from Fallout 4. The game feels empty and soulless, TheBugs galore (what do you expect, its a Bethesda game) FPS is locked, engine is outdated and it shows. The game has an identity crisis, and it struggles to do any one thing right. The PvP is lackluster, and it seems like it is discouraged you have nothing to gain and quite a bit to lose. The building is just as bad as you remember from Fallout 4. The game feels empty and soulless, The quests that are in the game are boring, and uninteresting. If you enjoyed the boring radiant quests from Fallout 4 you will probably like this game. The lore and the setting makes no sense, and the constant retcons are a slap in the face to many die hard fans. Expand
  39. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Very very disappointed, just another money grabbing studio rip off. As for money grabbing this is the last time I 'pre order' any game from Bethesda. I have been ripped off, but they will only do it once. For the others who are thinking of buying it. DONT bother. As many have stated, F76 on a PC is a big badly ported con. Silly hardcoded keymaps. (Designers too lazy to fix for PC.) GraphicVery very disappointed, just another money grabbing studio rip off. As for money grabbing this is the last time I 'pre order' any game from Bethesda. I have been ripped off, but they will only do it once. For the others who are thinking of buying it. DONT bother. As many have stated, F76 on a PC is a big badly ported con. Silly hardcoded keymaps. (Designers too lazy to fix for PC.) Graphic card designers / manufacturers must be pulling their hair out today. If this is the future of Bethesda gaming Nvidia / AMD and their shareholders will be losing a lot of money on a decreasing market?

    If you really want to waste money on it, wait 3 months it will be on a cheap sale everywhere.

    I have been told I can have a refund as in the UK it is not 'fit for purpose' as soon as they have received my metal cd case the codes will be removed from my account.

    Good Luck everyone.
    Expand
  40. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This game sucks giant monkey balls. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I should have waited to see gameplay vids come out before purchasing this piece of crap, and that's on me. I was so excited for this game so I admit I rushed into the purchase with the utmost optimism. I loved the Fallout franchise because of the interesting storylines, engaging characters, and character perk options. This gameThis game sucks giant monkey balls. DON'T WASTE YOUR MONEY. I should have waited to see gameplay vids come out before purchasing this piece of crap, and that's on me. I was so excited for this game so I admit I rushed into the purchase with the utmost optimism. I loved the Fallout franchise because of the interesting storylines, engaging characters, and character perk options. This game falls completely short of the mark with its forced mmo play style. It is clear to me that this was a cash grab for Bethesda and I will not be making the mistake of preordering games from them in the future. If you like mindless shooters with absolutely no story and **** graphics, then this game is for you. I personally play games for the escapism aspect and this game is completely lacking there. There seems to be no real point to this game, "quests" disappear when you die, and you have to pay caps to respawn in less than convenient locations. No, I am not a bot, or someone paid to write a bad review...I am in fact an unhappy customer who wasted way too much money on this garbage game. Maybe Bethesda should actually take customer satisfaction into account instead of pointing the finger at the bad reviews and saying "fake news". Expand
  41. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is a shameless attempt at a cashgrab. the game should've been in development for another year. It doesn't have a POV slider, it doesn't have push-to-talk, it even defaults to always-on voicechat without telling you. It is missing support for 21:9 and other formats, its locked at 60fps and generally just very badly optimized. The response from Bethesda when these issues arise are jokesThis is a shameless attempt at a cashgrab. the game should've been in development for another year. It doesn't have a POV slider, it doesn't have push-to-talk, it even defaults to always-on voicechat without telling you. It is missing support for 21:9 and other formats, its locked at 60fps and generally just very badly optimized. The response from Bethesda when these issues arise are jokes about how "haha bugs again how typical us xD", instead of taking it seriously, and when they do issue out a statement about some of the gamebreaking issues, they just say it won't be out on launch, we'll fix it in the future sometime (maybe). It seems like they have stopped caring and they think this is somehow an acceptable state to put out a Bethesda game. It even has a bug that deletes your game for clicking play, how is that even possible? The game barely has any NPCs, devoid of any real story, and generally just feels soulless. it might be fun if you roleplay with your friends though, i'll give it that. After playing the B.E.T.A. and the game, i feel very dissapointed, its feels like a early access game, with terrible microtransactions. old outdated engine and generally unfinished in every sense of the word. At 60 usd... I haven't been this disappointed in a game since No Man's Sky. And this isn't an indie company either, this is Bethesda. This is completely unnacceptable. Bethesda should just stick to Singleplayer experiences, that's what they're good at, they're clearly incompetent at this. And if they intend to use the same engine for the new elder scrolls game, as they've stated, I will be severely dissapointed at that too, they NEED to make a new engine, its very outdated and its clearly not made for multiplayer, they need a new one. This game is a disgrace and I can't give it anything else than a 0. Expand
  42. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This is absolute garbage! I have been a loyal Fallout franchise player for years- this is NOT a good game, bad graphics, no npcs, a huge map with virtually nothing in it, I want my money back! I have never played a worse game!!
  43. Nov 14, 2018
    2
    While it sounds interesting on paper, in practice Fallout 76 as a shared universe with PvP combat just doesn't work. I loved Fallout 3 and 4 as well as New Vegas. I loved them in spite of their clunky graphics and less than great gunplay. I loved them because of the bleak, funny story and the chance to get lost in it. Well, Fallout 76 is the clunky gameplay with the great storyWhile it sounds interesting on paper, in practice Fallout 76 as a shared universe with PvP combat just doesn't work. I loved Fallout 3 and 4 as well as New Vegas. I loved them in spite of their clunky graphics and less than great gunplay. I loved them because of the bleak, funny story and the chance to get lost in it. Well, Fallout 76 is the clunky gameplay with the great story stripped out and frankly, playing online with other people sucks. I barely made it out of Vault 76 when there was some idiot standing their hitting me in the head with a pipe. Where's the fun in that? Expand
  44. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    this game cheeks and I think everybody should be informed of the 20 year old engine reskinning and all of that
  45. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    This game is an absolute bore. All you do is explore a town, listen to a bunch of audio tapes, and then kill a bunch of ghouls. Rinse and repeat over and over. No compelling story or character building at all. Fell asleep at my keyboard often. Do not recommend
  46. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Not a great deal I can say that hasn't already been said. This game is awful, it's broken, looks like a PS2 game, is riddled with pointless microtransactions, has poor controls and is mind numbingly boring. Avoid this like the plague.
  47. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    I would like to know why EXACTLY they changed this game so much. Were previous customers actually consulted on what they wanted more of or was it a poorly thought out executive decision. If I wanted to interact with random people and "join up" I would have played Call of Duty. Hydration, Food Consumption, any interaction with other players, fast travel cost should all be OPTIONAL! Oh andI would like to know why EXACTLY they changed this game so much. Were previous customers actually consulted on what they wanted more of or was it a poorly thought out executive decision. If I wanted to interact with random people and "join up" I would have played Call of Duty. Hydration, Food Consumption, any interaction with other players, fast travel cost should all be OPTIONAL! Oh and Thanks for pimping me for another 60 dollars for Xbox Gold. What a stupid design overall. I can't pause the game, how dumb. This game sucks compared to the last one. Expand
  48. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    The game, at its very core, is a boring slog of inane missions which are there as an extremely dull distraction from an empty and lackluster world. If the premise of the "game" you are attempting to sell relies primarily playing with friends, then the game needs to provide an interesting environment in which these experiences can happen in. This game utterly fails at that.
  49. Nov 19, 2018
    0
    Nothing more than a quick, effortless, copy paste cash grab using the same old ancient bug riddled engine. Each time the game gets legitimately slammed Bethesda simply thumbs to yet another page in their "Big Book of Excuses".

    Send a message, vote with your wallet. FO is dead.

    *Edit- So relieved and happy to see critics see and slam this for what it really is.... an abject piece of crap.
  50. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Online only? With big problems, like bugs, bad frame-rate, etc? That´s zero for me!
  51. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    Worst Fallout ever made, should not even have the name fallout, obsidian should buy the rights to fallout
  52. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    There is a Market for this kind of game somewhere, i am sure but not with "Fallout" as its name, maybe "from the world of Fallout" but this game felt so bleak and empty when i played it in the B.E.T.A. This game to me isn't a fallout game at all, when i think of Fallout games i think of these great characters and story telling and all of these interactions with characters and places. IThere is a Market for this kind of game somewhere, i am sure but not with "Fallout" as its name, maybe "from the world of Fallout" but this game felt so bleak and empty when i played it in the B.E.T.A. This game to me isn't a fallout game at all, when i think of Fallout games i think of these great characters and story telling and all of these interactions with characters and places. I think of Tenpenny Tower and Megaton, the Brotherhood and the Enclave, the NCR and Caesars Legion, heck even the Railroad and The Institute. All of these great rivaling factions interacting with each other and the characters within them telling their story, not through notes and holotapes, but through actions. The idea to do a Fallout game with none of that to me seems to me to be a terrible idea but i gave it a shot anyway. And after playing it for a few hours with a friend i can safely say that i will not be purchasing this game even if it somehow manages to get great reviews. The combat is so too weak to compete with any "decent shooter" and the pvp feels awful even with 2 separate teams fully committed to the pvp it just was a mess of poorly optimized laggy impossible garbage. While yes this can and will probably be fixed over the next 2 or more years of Bethesda fine tuning their game. The overall feel of the PVP combat itself was just boring and useless. And then there is the base building of this game that i just don't get at all, i don't remember seeing any positive reviews about building bases or anything with base building really in "Fallout 4" except maybe people liking what the modding community was doing. So i am really confused by Bethesda doubling down on the building aspect of "Fallout 4," and while yes they did make some minor improvements to this system, it still feels boring and empty if anything more so for the lack of NPCs floating around. If anything this will teach me to stop just throwing money at Bethesda for crapping out anything with the name "Fallout" on it and that is the only reason i am even giving this a score of 1 is because at least with this B.E.T.A. i was able to realize all of this and refund it, so it cost me nothing but taught me a great deal Expand
  53. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Started Fallout 76 right after midnight, Played for close to 6 hours, Then shut it off and went right back to a real game, Red Dead 2. Fallout 76 makes Fallout 4 look like an absolute masterpiece. Im a huge Fallout fan and I am really disappointed in Bethesda for creating this lazy cashgrab of a game. In my 6 hours of play I already had problems with griefers, who dont seem to even careStarted Fallout 76 right after midnight, Played for close to 6 hours, Then shut it off and went right back to a real game, Red Dead 2. Fallout 76 makes Fallout 4 look like an absolute masterpiece. Im a huge Fallout fan and I am really disappointed in Bethesda for creating this lazy cashgrab of a game. In my 6 hours of play I already had problems with griefers, who dont seem to even care they have a Wanted mark on their back, I jusy wanted to play alone but that seems like an impossibility at this point. 76 is starving for NPC's, What in the hell are Bethesda thinking, Fallout 76 is a utter flop. Expand
  54. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Fallout 76 is a lazy cash grab by Bethesda. This game is terribly broken by the bugs that make questing impossible at times. Furthermore, the performance on PC is absolutely atrocious. PVP is a joke! I am shocked that they incorporated this into the game because it is probably one of the least polished pvp experiences I have ever had in gaming. Send a message to them and DO NOT BUY IT
  55. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    No refunds, no fov, insanely shallow, this is a definite dont buy. No substance, no fun without friends, nobody has mics. This game is just not fun. Period. The stash size is a constant 400 which limits you to about 10 hrs of actually playing the game. Absolutely dont buy this.
  56. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    This is a very raw and boring game, regardless of whether you are playing alone or not alone.
    Standard actions, the absence of the NPC, annoying combat system, a simple journey around the world quickly bored, nothing to catch in the game
  57. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I was excited for this game. Even without NPCS and the FOV setting, I was still fine. But the way Bethesda launched this game and the buggy mess that this became is all their fault. Their launcher has been a buggy mess and the account system is a buggy mess. Even if you want the game, I would just hold off before buying it, just to fix all the bugs. I know when Elder Scrolls 6 comes out,I was excited for this game. Even without NPCS and the FOV setting, I was still fine. But the way Bethesda launched this game and the buggy mess that this became is all their fault. Their launcher has been a buggy mess and the account system is a buggy mess. Even if you want the game, I would just hold off before buying it, just to fix all the bugs. I know when Elder Scrolls 6 comes out, I normally buy new for PC but for Elder Scrolls 6, I'm going to buy used for a console. Expand
  58. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Avoid - no plot, broken PVP, bad security, ancient engine, no NPCs - if you are interested the price will crash. Buy it then.

    I loved fallout 3, fallout new vegas and fallout 4.

    This game was just a cash grab.
  59. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Was a terrible idea from its inception, seems to have actually gotten worse.
  60. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    I won't forgive Bethesda for doing this to the franchise. Stop milking this cow and go back to the drawing board. The Morrowing-era engine in a $60 game in 2018 is preposterous.
  61. Nov 15, 2018
    1
    Just a very lazy rehashing of previous IP to make a fast buck. Fallout 4 was pretty bad and this is just Bethesda cashing out on the last of the value this game has. This franchise had it's glory days and it's over.
  62. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Bethesda is busy fixing problems that don't exist, you know, like turning an awesome open world RPG into a buggy online fps suckfest. They should've stuck with what they were good at, making fun albeit embarrassingly buggy open world RPG games. This is an absolute train wreck and they deserve every bad review they can get. Not only are they selling this for a ridiculous $60 at a time whenBethesda is busy fixing problems that don't exist, you know, like turning an awesome open world RPG into a buggy online fps suckfest. They should've stuck with what they were good at, making fun albeit embarrassingly buggy open world RPG games. This is an absolute train wreck and they deserve every bad review they can get. Not only are they selling this for a ridiculous $60 at a time when games like RDR2, AC:O, Spiderman, Divinity OS2, Detroit BH, etc, are abounding, they have the audacity to add microtransactions. The contrast is stark and so is Bethesda's greed. It's like Jiffy Lube opening a pizza shop in their garage. No one wants that and eww! Bethesda is the only AAA studio that still manages to continually churn out game breaking bug ridden games and instead of fixing that, they chose to do this. RIP Fallout IP. Expand
  63. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    What an unfortunate mess this game is. There is literally nothing but an empty world with repetitive enemies in it. Be bored alone, or play bored together with a friend. Not quite sure exactly where the enjoyment is meant to come from. It's not on steam because the developers/publishers didn't want the convenience of refunding to be available to consumers. If this is the future of games, IWhat an unfortunate mess this game is. There is literally nothing but an empty world with repetitive enemies in it. Be bored alone, or play bored together with a friend. Not quite sure exactly where the enjoyment is meant to come from. It's not on steam because the developers/publishers didn't want the convenience of refunding to be available to consumers. If this is the future of games, I don't want it. Expand
  64. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    NPC is the best elements always in fallout series that give your the feeling that you are living in a real world and really helping some people and change the world's development. Without NPC fallout is terrible ..
  65. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    this is an absolute mess of a game and not worth buying !!!!! it is an onlien survival style game with no story or depth.
  66. Nov 16, 2018
    1
    Most of the fun of previous Fallout games centered around the wacky dialogue and behavior of the NPCs, and the ridiculous ways they'd interact with each other. From their absurd requests to their hilarious and often totally misguided conflicts with each other, I could usually overlook the dreadful game mechanics and technical workings of the game because the NPCs were just so thoroughlyMost of the fun of previous Fallout games centered around the wacky dialogue and behavior of the NPCs, and the ridiculous ways they'd interact with each other. From their absurd requests to their hilarious and often totally misguided conflicts with each other, I could usually overlook the dreadful game mechanics and technical workings of the game because the NPCs were just so thoroughly amusing.

    With Fallout 76, it seems that Bethesda has stripped away the aspects of the game that made it worthwhile, and lazily left in everything that made it so frustrating and broken. Even most of the bugs and broken mechanics that were in Fallout 4 initially are still here, along with a slew of new issues. The game just feels like garbage to play, and it looks like a total mess. I'm glad I played this game on a friend's machine instead of purchasing it myself, and I feel bad for all of the people who foolishly pre-purchased it at full price (with even more milking to come through microtransactions and future DLC).
    Expand
  67. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Numerious missions that can't be completed, getting stuck in the map during combat, and being disconnected all too frequently are just some of the countless problems you can expect to experience way too often while playing this game. Quite frankly, the game is simply awful. Hard to believe this was produced by the Bethesda I used to love so much. Oh well, at least there are other companiesNumerious missions that can't be completed, getting stuck in the map during combat, and being disconnected all too frequently are just some of the countless problems you can expect to experience way too often while playing this game. Quite frankly, the game is simply awful. Hard to believe this was produced by the Bethesda I used to love so much. Oh well, at least there are other companies out there making the great type of games Bethesda used to make. Expand
  68. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    big fat 0 for not being on steam, cant avoid bad reviews Bethesda and lie about your player count on this bethesda
  69. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Worst "Game" I have ever endured. Shame, this could have been so much better :/
  70. Nov 14, 2018
    2
    No story. No NPCs. No comprehensible lore. And putting aside the hollow feeling you get in your gut when you see a series that used to be a critique of the consumer culture of America and the dangers of unthinking violence, turned into a mindless, bug-ridden, soulless game - it's heartbreaking.
  71. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    The worst game made by Betnesda. After Fallout 4, I thought it couldn’t get any worse, but I was wrong ... This is one of the worst AAA games I've played. It seems that this is an indie game made by a group of 5 people ...
  72. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Worst game ever. Totally wasted money for preorder. Boring as hell, buggy and tragic engine. DONT BUY IT!
  73. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    A terrible lazy insult to all Bethesda fans, the fallout and elder scrolls game need an updated engine and a better vision for their games.
  74. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I've given it a one mostly because the game looks really nice. That is the end of where the compliments are though.
    After that, this game is literally just Fallout 4, but minus all the things that made that game fun. All the settlements are devoid of life, no NPC's make this game feel empty and boring. There are just robots(whom all have the exact same lines and nothing interesting to
    I've given it a one mostly because the game looks really nice. That is the end of where the compliments are though.
    After that, this game is literally just Fallout 4, but minus all the things that made that game fun. All the settlements are devoid of life, no NPC's make this game feel empty and boring. There are just robots(whom all have the exact same lines and nothing interesting to say) for story, and tapes on the ground where it is just dead bodies everywhere. The quests are all, go here, now go there, now go over here again. the crafting is frustrating, As firstly, there is barely anything to actually craft, and two, getting materials is limited to looting annoying items from abandoned houses-so the worst part of fallout 4 is the major mechanic of this game. No cutting trees, or bashing rocks to get basics. The perk system is an even more simplified terrible version of what we got in fallout 4, which was already a terrible system to begin with. VATS has been completely destroyed to a short lived auto aim.

    Honestly, this game is a pure insult to the Fallout franchise, and in genuinely feels like Bethesda started making the game, got bored half way through and went, meh, release it like that no one will care. there is nothing redeeming about this game, even being able to do some things with your friends doesn't save this at all.
    Expand
  75. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Do you want to help the Fallout franchise and Bethesda get better? DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. We can't stand for this any longer. The only way for Bethesda to hear us is to simply not buy or support their products.. I don't mind that the game is online, Hell I was even fine with this game not being a proper RPG.. BUT DAMN, if you're going to make a rust clone, focused on shooting things andDo you want to help the Fallout franchise and Bethesda get better? DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. We can't stand for this any longer. The only way for Bethesda to hear us is to simply not buy or support their products.. I don't mind that the game is online, Hell I was even fine with this game not being a proper RPG.. BUT DAMN, if you're going to make a rust clone, focused on shooting things and exploring, CHANGE YOUR DAMN ENGINE. The redeaming quality of all BGS games has always been the lore, the quests, the exploration, sure there is exploration in this and the map is great but what is there to find, the game has no soul.. What Made Fallout great is the dialogues, the stories..the CHARACTERS, I was fine with skipping them for a Fallout themed rust clone, but this isn't even a good copy of that, no proper pvp, **** engine with **** graphics and bad optimisation.. The game is simply a mess and an insult to my favorite franchise of all time, in anything. I honestly didn't believe I would talk this way about a Fallout game EVER, or about Bethesda But here we go. Don't stand for this people, this is the only way for them to hear us, don't buy, don't rate it with anything higher than a 3. Expand
  76. Nov 14, 2018
    4
    I have had a few crashes with only a few hours of game playing and the PVP at first wasn't so bad, but then I had a few experiences of Players camping above or near a quest item/location and just shooting. I don't want to give them the satisfaction of a fight so I either run or get killed and they get no credit for the kill. However, the player remains in that spot and without fighting youI have had a few crashes with only a few hours of game playing and the PVP at first wasn't so bad, but then I had a few experiences of Players camping above or near a quest item/location and just shooting. I don't want to give them the satisfaction of a fight so I either run or get killed and they get no credit for the kill. However, the player remains in that spot and without fighting you cannot finish the quest. It's really just obnoxious plus add on the fact that you can hear the idiot laugh like a maniac the whole time. I'm all for PVP but I wish you could opt out too. Like seperate world or turn on the buff so you cant skill and they can't kill you. Honestly, right now, this PVP is making parts of the game unbearable. Camping out waiting for players is just a dick move. Expand
  77. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is the worst game since no mans sky, really its a crime, thanks bethesda you killed my beloved franchise,
  78. Nov 19, 2018
    0
    And wontcha look at that, even the critics think its bile. What was that about just 'tantrum' reviews again?
  79. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    This “game” feels empty, vague and devoid of life. The graphics don’t have to be improved or amazingly better to make a better game. It’s like they took the worst aspects of their formula and put it together. I guess this is supposed to be the “Tamrial Online” for fallout, even so the execution is terrible. The basic part of a game is it should be entertaining. Fallout 76 is extremelyThis “game” feels empty, vague and devoid of life. The graphics don’t have to be improved or amazingly better to make a better game. It’s like they took the worst aspects of their formula and put it together. I guess this is supposed to be the “Tamrial Online” for fallout, even so the execution is terrible. The basic part of a game is it should be entertaining. Fallout 76 is extremely underwhelming and honestly could be a mobile MMORPG. It’s soured me on there entire Bethesda catalog. Innovation is what keeps franchises and companies a float. Keeping the same formula for almost 20 years isn’t Expand
  80. Nov 14, 2018
    3
    What a disaster. Why Bethesda thought a multiplayer Fallout game would work is beyond me. For starters, the game is painfully boring. All "quests" are given by a robot or a holotape. The world is empty and astonishingly ugly (this is probably not helped by the archaic xbone system). GTA V Next Gen from 2014 (yes 4 years ago) was miles ahead of this. Hell, Skyrim remastered wasWhat a disaster. Why Bethesda thought a multiplayer Fallout game would work is beyond me. For starters, the game is painfully boring. All "quests" are given by a robot or a holotape. The world is empty and astonishingly ugly (this is probably not helped by the archaic xbone system). GTA V Next Gen from 2014 (yes 4 years ago) was miles ahead of this. Hell, Skyrim remastered was significantly better looking than this. The gunplay is serviceable, typical Bethesda rpg fare we've seen hundreds of times before, but it's wasted even more by the abysmal pvp system/policy. Most of us saw this coming from the beta. Stop supporting this laziness by Bethesda. Avoid this game. Expand
  81. Nov 14, 2018
    4
    The game is the very definition of shallow. There is nothing to do besides run a few boring quests and kill uninspired enemies around the game world. The only fun I've had the past few hours was fighting my brothers in pvp. Only good thing I can see is world design and the lack of game breaking glitches. If you want a Fallout game to just explore and shoot things every so often, this isThe game is the very definition of shallow. There is nothing to do besides run a few boring quests and kill uninspired enemies around the game world. The only fun I've had the past few hours was fighting my brothers in pvp. Only good thing I can see is world design and the lack of game breaking glitches. If you want a Fallout game to just explore and shoot things every so often, this is your game. If you are looking for the quality of content that Bethesda is known for, you will not find it here. Expand
  82. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    That's even not a game, it's abomination. Ugly, buggy, stupid. I better play Russian roulette on my colt.
  83. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    A completely broken, bug riddled, $60 video game, released with a plethora of micro-transactions like it was some sort of free to play mobile game. The game has a very poor amount of content and is merely a grind fest. There is no story, and any sort of player made content or pvp (you know, the whole point of the game) has been completely removed by creating a laughable, baby mode pvp system.
  84. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    0/10 for 0 redeeming qualities and 0 reasons to actually play the game. Any redeeming qualities that it might appear to have are taken from Fallout 4, so they don't count. Just play Fallout 4.
  85. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Fallout 76, or it should be named Frameout 76 because its massive framedrops. One of the worst optimized videogames so far. Terrible.
    Truly an insult to the gamer community.
  86. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    I'm sorry but this is not fallout, this is an online multiplayer survival game with a fallout skin. I love Bethesda but this game is a huge f**k you from them to us loyal fans. I have passionately played their buggy games with long loading times built on their sh**ty engine because I love RPGs and they know how to build good RPGs. But this is an online multiplayer game with no NPCs,I'm sorry but this is not fallout, this is an online multiplayer survival game with a fallout skin. I love Bethesda but this game is a huge f**k you from them to us loyal fans. I have passionately played their buggy games with long loading times built on their sh**ty engine because I love RPGs and they know how to build good RPGs. But this is an online multiplayer game with no NPCs, dialogue options, multiple quest outcomes etc. so I am not going to bother playing this piece of garbage. There are mods better than this and they're free so I much rather play those.

    Please Bethesda, this game sucks and your engine is total trash. Ditch this game and your god forsaken engine, build a new engine or use Unreal or even Unity to build a good RPG. I don't care how long it takes just give us fans good games.
    Expand
  87. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    I wish I could give it a lower score.
    I am really worried about the upcoming elder scrolls
  88. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Very disapointing game! Nothing to do with the atmosphere of a fallout game, instead it feels empty and looks like a easy zero-effort cash grab. BGS got inspired by ZOS's ESO: wrong move to me
  89. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Its just a re-release of Fallout 4, with an online feature, no NPC's, Fast Travel you pretty much need to use all the time, and griefers. $60 to buy this... then microtransactions worth $20 to get paint for your power armor. Just paint. and just for power armor. I've already uninstalled after about 4 hours. Bethesda is not what it used to be.
  90. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is not fallout, it's not even a game, it's a shell of a broken piece of garbage, completely lifeless, buggy and empty. Bethesda has reached a new low, I hadn't seen such a terrible boring and unfinished "game" in my life. This thing is worth $60 and with microtransactions, which by the way it's the only thing that works properly? What a joke! Avoid at all cost! this broken piece ofThis is not fallout, it's not even a game, it's a shell of a broken piece of garbage, completely lifeless, buggy and empty. Bethesda has reached a new low, I hadn't seen such a terrible boring and unfinished "game" in my life. This thing is worth $60 and with microtransactions, which by the way it's the only thing that works properly? What a joke! Avoid at all cost! this broken piece of crap is the best definition of barren. I hadn't felt so insulted in my life, how can you destroy the fallout franchise like this? give it to Obsidian so they can do it justice. You with Fallout and Activision Blizzard with Diablo are in a competition to see who can destroy their franchise first Expand
  91. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This game is a twist on the Fallout universe no one who loved 3 or New Vegas wanted. Bethesda, you need to stop trying to make all the money and be happy your fans haven't abandoned you yet and earn that money by making good games. Online loot shooters need to die and how you are going to go woke and go broke if you keep this up. I don't want to be the bearer of bad news, but you signed upThis game is a twist on the Fallout universe no one who loved 3 or New Vegas wanted. Bethesda, you need to stop trying to make all the money and be happy your fans haven't abandoned you yet and earn that money by making good games. Online loot shooters need to die and how you are going to go woke and go broke if you keep this up. I don't want to be the bearer of bad news, but you signed up for the single player business and that's where you should stay. Expand
  92. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Longtime fan of this series. Fallout 3 and New Vegas are probably my favorites games ever.

    Bitter? Yes. Sad? Very. They are killing this franchise with this title. They no longer have my loyalty and I would never pre-order from them again. They have taken arguably one of the best RPGS and turned into a less than average MMO. Then they buy reviewers and try to silence the unpaid
    Longtime fan of this series. Fallout 3 and New Vegas are probably my favorites games ever.

    Bitter? Yes. Sad? Very. They are killing this franchise with this title. They no longer have my loyalty and I would never pre-order from them again. They have taken arguably one of the best RPGS and turned into a less than average MMO. Then they buy reviewers and try to silence the unpaid reviewers and just say they are being emotional. Yes. I am may emotional but my opinion is valid. So anyway, on the to my opinion of the actual game.

    This game is boring. No NPCs, bland graphics and a waste of a great setting. So much empty space with no interaction with anything or any other person. "Cards" take away any meaningful choice or character development. Skip this cash grab.
    Expand
  93. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Buyer beware. I’m one of the idiots who were so excited about the new Fallout that I didn’t read the fine print saying one needed to buy a PS4+ subscription to play. I’ve downloaded the game, but I will not fork out even more money to pay for a game that is receiving such crummy reviews. I’d really like my money back, but I know that cause is hopeless. I wish there was a version that oneBuyer beware. I’m one of the idiots who were so excited about the new Fallout that I didn’t read the fine print saying one needed to buy a PS4+ subscription to play. I’ve downloaded the game, but I will not fork out even more money to pay for a game that is receiving such crummy reviews. I’d really like my money back, but I know that cause is hopeless. I wish there was a version that one could play solo with NPCs instead of live characters. Expand
  94. Nov 16, 2018
    0
    No fun
    No quest
    No story
    No npc
    no content, just drink and eat with radiation...
    don't buy this game
  95. Nov 14, 2018
    0
    Absolutely not worth my money. I should have listened to people who warned me about this. The glitchy pop in graphics, the bugs, the lack of NPCs and the inundation with notes and holotapes, the issues with stash size, etc. I'm seriously regretting laying down $60.00 USD for this game. If it were a $20-30 expansion for Fallout 4, ok fine. I still wouldn't enjoy it, but I wouldn't feelAbsolutely not worth my money. I should have listened to people who warned me about this. The glitchy pop in graphics, the bugs, the lack of NPCs and the inundation with notes and holotapes, the issues with stash size, etc. I'm seriously regretting laying down $60.00 USD for this game. If it were a $20-30 expansion for Fallout 4, ok fine. I still wouldn't enjoy it, but I wouldn't feel nearly as ripped off. T Expand
  96. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Dumpster fire. Fundamentally broken on every level. Guess what part of the game works flawlessly though? The microtransaction shop. Maybe after this game becomes your worst commercial failure in the company's history you'll learn that you shouldn't wipe your ass with the people who have been paying for your livelyhood the past 20 years.
  97. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This game is literally a copy and paste of fallout 4! Literally it is a copy and paste version of it! Such a waste of $60!
  98. Nov 14, 2018
    1
    You all know and loved Fallout series, especially Fallout 3 and New Vegas, and some of you even like Fallout 4 with the camp building system, however, Fallout 76, although is fun with friends, is not the Fallout Series you dreamed and loved, but something different. And this shouldn't be a Fallout game due to the lack of NPCs. The game also just an import of Fallout 4 engine with someYou all know and loved Fallout series, especially Fallout 3 and New Vegas, and some of you even like Fallout 4 with the camp building system, however, Fallout 76, although is fun with friends, is not the Fallout Series you dreamed and loved, but something different. And this shouldn't be a Fallout game due to the lack of NPCs. The game also just an import of Fallout 4 engine with some graphical improvement, don't get me wrong, I love this game, but for the sake of every gamer, skip this game and wait for Elder Scroll 6 and Fallout 5? And spend money on helping the climate future so we will not be in the scenarios of the Fallout settings. Expand
  99. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    This is not a fallout. This is **** for pumping out money. RIP Bethesda. Never again buy any of your game. This publisher no longer exists for me.
  100. Nov 15, 2018
    0
    Wow....FYI, I never do reviews and I created a Metacritic account just to let people know that their money will be better spent elsewhere, because a Fallout game this is not! I've given it a couple of days and tried to give it a fair shot but this game is a hot mess. The no NPC angle might have sounded interesting but its produced a game world that feels empty. A hallmark of the FalloutWow....FYI, I never do reviews and I created a Metacritic account just to let people know that their money will be better spent elsewhere, because a Fallout game this is not! I've given it a couple of days and tried to give it a fair shot but this game is a hot mess. The no NPC angle might have sounded interesting but its produced a game world that feels empty. A hallmark of the Fallout series IS the interaction with the various inhabitants of the wasteland and the moral decisions that come from those interactions. You've essentially gutted the core from the Fallout experience! It hoinestly feels like the decision to remove any NPCs was made out of pure laziness or an effort to cut development costs down to the ground. I got a squad together to try the multiplayer aspect out and its nice to play together but the game itself just feels boring! If you enjoyed aspects of the game like crafting, thats been gutted too. Fallout 4 had an amazing system that allowed you to customize weapons to make unique pieces that could be adapted to your play style, thats all gone now. I could go on and on about how terrible this game is but I honestly hope that they find someway to fix this train wreck. Whatever Bathesda's intentions were with this game, it comes across as an insult to players that have supported their games for years. Honest review folks, watch some of the gameplay videos and see if ti interests you but beware on this one. This game has no story, no heart, and comes across as a complete cash grab by a studio that has passed it's prime. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 43 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 43
  2. Negative: 12 out of 43
  1. Jan 22, 2019
    40
    So utterly disappointing and flawed in every possible way… The first few hours, most of it can be ignored, and occasionally the flaws can be forgotten, but only briefly before they come storming back to the forefront. An awful, boring, empty, pointless experience. There is, however, a glimmer of hope. It's worth mentioning that there has already been a Bethesda title that was equally as unimpressive: The Elder Scrolls Online - but looking at it now, it has transformed into one of the best MMOs out there. There's always the hope the Fallout 76 develops the same way and becomes something special, but for now, that seems impossible. It's a world away from that.
  2. Dec 25, 2018
    50
    Fallout 76 isn't your typical fallout experience. You don't have NPCs or dialogue, but instead get real players that should fill this void - that ultimately fails to do so. It does some things right, but as of now I cannot recommend getting this game as long as it stays a broken and boring mess that it is right now.
  3. Dec 19, 2018
    70
    Fallout 76 is the series’ Freshman introduction into the world of online, multiplayer games. As a result, we are experiencing all of the awkwardness and clumsiness associated with that season of life. It is imperfect and a bit uncomfortable, but I see opportunity for Fallout 76 to be more than it presently it - to be a truly great, rich Fallout experience.