Jupiter & Mars Image
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 16 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Jupiter & Mars is an undersea adventure set in a future-Earth. Sea levels have risen from melting ice caps and climate change. As a result, the coastal cities are all but completely submerged. Since man’s disappearance, the oceans have begun to reclaim themselves. Will Jupiter and MarsJupiter & Mars is an undersea adventure set in a future-Earth. Sea levels have risen from melting ice caps and climate change. As a result, the coastal cities are all but completely submerged. Since man’s disappearance, the oceans have begun to reclaim themselves. Will Jupiter and Mars succeed in bringing life back to the oceans? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Jupiter & Mars PS4 PSVR Trailer | E3 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 17
  2. Negative: 3 out of 17
  1. Apr 23, 2019
    91
    All in all, I certainly enjoyed Jupiter & Mars, and think it’s a PSVR title worth checking out. The environmentally friendly message being delivered is sound, the world is filled with interesting surroundings to explore, and the soundtrack is fantastic. The VR component is well done, but not mandatory for enjoyment. So if you’re in the market for a new, unique PlayStation exclusive, Jupiter & Mars certainly fits the bill.
  2. Apr 22, 2019
    80
    I found Jupiter and Mars to be a thrilling and thoughtful experience. It clearly communicates an important message and manages to be equally fun and charming. For the approximately five hours it took to reach the end credits, I was absorbed by impressive visuals and a weighty narrative. I came away with complicated feelings, and I can tell that was intentional.
  3. Apr 23, 2019
    70
    In its current state, I can only recommend Jupiter & Mars for play in 2D, for those who were looking to exclusively play the title through PSVR, I recommend holding off till a sale.
  4. Apr 22, 2019
    60
    Jupiter & Mars is an enjoyable underwater experience that sadly doesn't push the boat out. The visuals and music mix for a trippy swim through Earth's ruins, but the lack of interactivity makes the journey surprisingly dry. If you're after a relaxed dive through colourful caverns, this might be worth a look, but don't expect it to make a big splash.
  5. Jul 2, 2019
    50
    Jupiter & Mars may just induce the most motion sickness we've yet to encounter in a VR title to date. Boring gameplay mechanics lead to an altogether forgettable and dull experience. Younger players may enjoy what the game has to offer, but when there are so many other amazing PSVR games out there right now, it's hard to recommend to any but the most die-hard dolphin or neon fanatics.
  6. Apr 30, 2019
    50
    A well intentioned attempt to mix Ecco The Dolphin with a more urgent environmental message but the end result Iacks any real excitement or variety.
  7. Apr 22, 2019
    40
    There’s enough content in Jupiter & Mars to take up a lazy Sunday’s time, but it could have been so much more.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. May 1, 2019
    8
    Growing up in West Coast Canada, the ocean has always had a special place in my heart. I've loved the sights and smells the ocean brings me,Growing up in West Coast Canada, the ocean has always had a special place in my heart. I've loved the sights and smells the ocean brings me, even though i'm oddly enough to afraid too actually step foot in it. Games like Jupiter and Mars allow me to explore the ocean from the safety of my own living room, and as an extra bonus I get to play as one of my favourite groups of animal (cetacean).

    So let's start with the good things. Right off the bat, I get to play as a dolphin. This may not seem like much of a selling point, but for me it really is. The brightly coloured art design really pops out at you, and makes a memorable visual experience. I loved the eerie ruins of human civilization strewn everywhere, and would often stop to explore them. The soundtrack is absolutely top notch, and is a joy to listen to both in and out of game. The gameplay included a blend of relaxing swims through brightly coloured seas, and slightly more frustrating (but still entertaining) puzzles revolving around mostly sonar based enemies. The story, though simplistic at times, was more then enough to leave me feeling invested in these dolphins, and their quest. I also liked the echolocation mechanic. The ability to ping the area and receive a sort of real time framework of the surrounding ocean was something I personally found kind of neat.

    Now for the cons. Though I loved the art style, I do wish the game had been brighter at times. In some areas you have to rely on your echolocation almost exclusively to see what's going on, and I would have enjoyed just being able to swim around and see more of the environmental detail without it at times. I would also have loved a way to bring up a sort of map as I often found myself lost at times, even with the helpful shining star on the interface. It would have been nice to have something like your echolocation bring up a vague map of the area if you held down the button rather than pressed it quickly. I would have liked something I could have earned to increase my swim speed. Perhaps not all the time, but maybe an ability to accelerate in small bursts. I also would have loved the ability to jump out of the water and leap through the air, but that's a purely fun based thing based on my own preferences.

    My final thoughts. Jupiter and Mars is a beautiful game, with a beautiful message. And though it is not without flaws, is a worthy first offering from Tigertron. I would recommend that anyone with a love of the environment or the ocean buy it. I really look forward to seeing what this company does in the future, and and thankful to them for giving me the chance to play this brilliant game.
    Expand
  2. Apr 30, 2019
    6
    Out of the gate Jupiter & Mars does a lot of things right - sprawling, vast areas to explore with often stunning art design especially whenOut of the gate Jupiter & Mars does a lot of things right - sprawling, vast areas to explore with often stunning art design especially when seen through the immersive lens of PlayStation VR. In fact the opening moments set the right tone with zero time limits, tons of collectibles to find, and the remnants of our civilization strewn throughout the ocean floor.

    But much too quickly levels start to feel repetitive, the collect-a-thon gets excessive, and just finding the next objective starts to feel like work instead of the next step of a great tranquil adventure. Jarring transitions (or lack there of) between gameplay, level select screens, and cinematics (not to mention the low-res graphics in the PSVR headset) make Jupiter & Mars come across as more of the foundation for a great game instead of an actual final product.

    That's not to say there's nothing to enjoy here. In the same vein as Tetris Effect, XING, or Mind Labyrinth, if you're looking for some relaxing environments and a soothing soundtrack Jupiter & Mars gives you a good excuse to search every crevice of every stage - and when you inevitably make it to the final stage, the otherwise stagnant gameplay gets a much needed shot in the leg with some pretty fun stealth elements. It's a long way to go for a relatively small payoff, but it makes you wonder where else the developers could have taken this game given enough time.

    Bryan Paul, PSVR Without Parole
    https://youtu.be/h1pXGPNjnXQ
    Collapse