Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
Buy On
  1. Apr 17, 2019
    85
    My Time at Portia is a great addition to the genre. It’s not perfect but it is unique. There are times when the game drags and while it looks really good and interesting, clipping is a pretty big issue. But it does have some cool world building that I haven’t really seen in the life sim rpg genre. There is a lot to do in the world and having building as the main focus is a nice change from farming. The game is borrowing from a well used formula but changes it just enough to make itself stand out from the crowd. If this genre is something you’re into, definitely give this one a go.
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    May 3, 2019
    80
    Sub-par writing holds it back from greatness, but My Time At Portia is still a slice of life well worth tasting. And remember, you can start fights with strangers. [Issue#162, p.83]
  3. Apr 24, 2019
    80
    My Time at Portia enhanced the Harvest-Moon-concept with a new found focus on exploration and construction. Nice!
  4. 80
    Barring a few janky moments, My Time At Portia remains an engrossing, vibrantly colourful Sim-RPG with tons of charm, surprises and discoveries around each corner. There is plenty to see, lots to do and a fair amount to love about this charming and rewarding adventure.
  5. Apr 16, 2019
    80
    My Time At Portia is a valid hybrid between RPG and animal crossing, full of surprises.
  6. 80
    After an entire calendar year in Portia, there’s still so much more for me to do. There are new areas to unlock and explore, buildings to reopen, and I still haven’t convinced Gust that we should be married and become a powerhouse architect firm. I may not reconstruct every single lost relic that lays beneath Portia in the ruins, but I’ll be damned if I don’t get Gust to wear my ring.
  7. Apr 16, 2019
    78
    My Time at Portia is just a good mood. Everything is cute and colorful, and there is always something to do.
  8. Apr 16, 2019
    72
    No matter what story achievements you complete, no matter what you build, there will ever be some new project or goal lingering on the farthest shores. This is the ultimate judgment, the only one you need concern yourself with. The score I’ve assigned is less important than your reaction to that feeling. Do you long for a relaxed, endless procession of tasks, each a companion to a fleeting sense of achievement? Do you wish to wile away your hours making things? Are you looking for that next digital husband or wife whose fondest wish is the right combination of gifts and dialogue branches? Then My Time At Portia will call your name, friend.
  9. 70
    A gorgeous, atmospheric, and relaxing world chock full of things to do, My Time at Portia ultimately falls frustratingly short of its potential due to some serious pacing issues and an overall lack of mechanical polish.
  10. Apr 16, 2019
    70
    Luckily, the more time you spend in Portia the more the world will reward you. The game is effortlessly simple, but it excels in almost everything it aims to achieve. It’s one of the most relaxing indie life-simulation games out there, and yet it still offers enough adventure and addictive crafting opportunities to keep you hooked. A totally new spin on the post-apocalyptic experience, My Time At Portia is vibrant, relaxing, and brimming with charm.
  11. Apr 16, 2019
    65
    My Time at Portia forces players to figure out the game’s features before they can truly appreciate them.
  12. Apr 16, 2019
    60
    The ruins of a time long forgotten will always darken the horizon, and there'll be a part of you that wonders what more there could have been before you find yourself shunted to the next life goal in a long series of life goals. That feeling is unfortunately hard to shake, and it's a shame that there's not as much to the world of Portia as first appears.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 38
  2. Negative: 16 out of 38
  1. Jan 28, 2020
    0
    My Time At Portia released as a broken, buggy, incomplete game. 1 year later with only 2 patches and it's still a mess. Yet another gamingMy Time At Portia released as a broken, buggy, incomplete game. 1 year later with only 2 patches and it's still a mess. Yet another gaming company not to be trusted. Full Review »
  2. Jun 17, 2019
    1
    This game is basically a ripoff of Stardew Valley. Simply feels like a glorified, overpriced mobile game with less than mediocre graphics. TheThis game is basically a ripoff of Stardew Valley. Simply feels like a glorified, overpriced mobile game with less than mediocre graphics. The writing is terrible and the tasks are overly repetitive. The npcs lack any memorable moments and lackadaisically meander around waiting for you to please them by doing pointless mindless activities. The combat is beyond janky and feels unbelievably slow. For whatever reason there is a stamina circle similar to Legend of Zelda Breath of the Wild but somehow does it even worse. Full Review »
  3. Mar 14, 2020
    3
    Decent idea, poorly executed. Large amount of bugs. Poor writing. Ugly characters. Repetitive tasks. Dreadful events. There are some redeemingDecent idea, poorly executed. Large amount of bugs. Poor writing. Ugly characters. Repetitive tasks. Dreadful events. There are some redeeming factors but they are so few and far between. This game needed more time in development. Don't bother in it's current state Full Review »