Metascore
60

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 19
  2. Negative: 3 out of 19
Buy On
  1. Apr 11, 2016
    70
    Resident Evil 6 continues down the divergent path of shaping the series into more of a third-person shooter game than survival horror, but there’s so much content here that’s actually fun to play through it’s difficult to criticize it too much.
  2. Apr 9, 2016
    70
    Basically the same game that divided the fanbase almost 4 years ago. With the additions of a GOTY version and improved visuals.
  3. Apr 7, 2016
    70
    Four years after the original release, Resident Evil 6 is pretty much the same game. The HD version shows the usual technical improvements of many other remasters (1080p and 60 frame per second), but nothing more. Disappointing for the fanbase, Resident Evil 6 is a huge title but is somehow inconsistent, able to pursue neither the fast paced action of the fourth chapter, nor the survival horror spirit of the origins.
  4. Apr 6, 2016
    70
    Even with a lifting on current-gen consoles, this is STILL Resident Evil 6 my friends, an action-focused third person action game... take it or leave it, but don't expect a good, old “Resi”.
  5. 65
    Boasting a mostly decent remastering effort and a much welcomed wealth of content set against a frustratingly incoherent set of campaign scenarios and frustrating clunkiness, Resident Evil 6 on PS4 is the definitive edition of the series’ most divisive entry and is perhaps more easily recommended to the uninitiated rather than those who were turned off by the game’s original PS3 outing.
  6. May 24, 2016
    60
    A bold but ultimately damned experiment, the game unfortunately does not offer any huge benefits in its PlayStation 4 re-release.
  7. Apr 18, 2016
    60
    There are highs and lows to the design, but it's a fundamentally solid action title with a few terrible design decisions that make it harder to get into than it should be.
  8. Apr 14, 2016
    60
    Even though it looks more beautiful and crisp on this generation of consoles, Resident Evil 6 continues to be a game with a lack of identity and many, many problems.
  9. Apr 13, 2016
    60
    Undoubtedly better than Resident Evil 5, this sixth episode of one of the greatest series will have trouble uniting people around its proposal. That was the case in 2012 on PS3/360, and it's still the same now in 2016 with this PS4/Xbox One edition.
  10. Apr 22, 2016
    50
    As expected, Resident Evil 6 — four years after its original release — remains one of the series’ most underbaked, underdeveloped and downright unappealing entries in a franchise that has claimed far greater heights in terms of gameplay and presentation.
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 433 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 93 out of 433
  1. Apr 4, 2016
    10
    Fantastic port of the PC version to PS4. Frame rate is rock solid. Overall experience much better than the PS3 version. Like many great games,Fantastic port of the PC version to PS4. Frame rate is rock solid. Overall experience much better than the PS3 version. Like many great games, RE6 has minor design niggles, but the overall experience is so amazing and rich that they're easily forgivable because none of them are really significant. Grand Theft Auto San Andreas had some horrid, frustrating missions, and I wouldn't hesitate to give it 10/10, so I don't hesitate to give this game 10/10 either.

    Hopefully the game gets a fairer reception this time.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2016
    9
    I've always loved Resident Evil 6. So, to be bias, I've never liked Resident Evils 1 - 3 because of it's stiff camera and controls, whichI've always loved Resident Evil 6. So, to be bias, I've never liked Resident Evils 1 - 3 because of it's stiff camera and controls, which never made those games for me. So, to be fair, I'm not a fan or familiar of Resident Evil with it's scary roots, so I look at this game as a simple third-person shooter just like Gears of War and what not. And to me, the game runs really smooth, no glitches, no bugs, still glad that they made your partner not contributing to your game overs from Resident Evil 5. True, it's linear, but so was Crash Bandicoot so those nitpicks don't get to me. Overall, I really enjoyed it, and I understand where this game isn't for purist fans. But I'm not one of them, so that's why I rate this game higher than them. Full Review »
  3. Dec 23, 2017
    10
    With out any doubt better than PS3 in terms resolution & Texture & Anti Texture and Frame-rate than PS3 version was 30 but for PS4 was FixedWith out any doubt better than PS3 in terms resolution & Texture & Anti Texture and Frame-rate than PS3 version was 30 but for PS4 was Fixed 60 , I know Sites give low score to Resident Evil 6 Mostly Hater :))) because Resident Evil 6 Development Than Resident Evil 5 even version PS3 The improvement include :
    gameplay & graphics & sound and ... even Resident Evil 6 expand with MT FrameWork 2 That upgraded version MT Framework
    Full Review »