User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 177 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 28 out of 177
Watch Now
Buy on

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 17, 2018
    10
    Astonishing package, this is certainly the best Sonic game of all time, congrats Christian Whitehead and the team.
  2. Jul 25, 2018
    9
    It's been almost a year since Sonic Mania has been released to the world and everyone soon fell in love with the game and it's no secret that the team behind Sonic Forces admits loving Sonic Mania as well by connecting the events of the two games together for rather two epic games to play for the price of one. I think it was time for Sonic Mania to get an upgrade due to the criticalIt's been almost a year since Sonic Mania has been released to the world and everyone soon fell in love with the game and it's no secret that the team behind Sonic Forces admits loving Sonic Mania as well by connecting the events of the two games together for rather two epic games to play for the price of one. I think it was time for Sonic Mania to get an upgrade due to the critical success of Sonic Mania and the fact that it's literally impossible to get a physical copy of the game. Introducing Sonic Mania Plus, an upgraded Sonic Mania that includes even more things that might as well make it even better than its original form, it has more nostalgia written into it than what Sonic Mania could ever have to surprise its fans into wanting more. Expand
  3. Jul 17, 2018
    10
    simply amazing, mania team outdid themselves this time around! simply gourgeous!
  4. Jul 17, 2018
    10
    The perfect Sonic game! better than anything launched in this series! congratulations!
  5. Jul 17, 2018
    10
    a absolute must buy. the best sonic game ever, simply perfect in every aspect
  6. Jul 25, 2018
    10
    With the addition of encore mode, this game is cemented as the best sonic game of all time. Exactly what 2d fans have wanted for 15 years. It is hard to think of anything more that could have been done to improve this game but with some well chosen additions, the package now feels complete.
  7. Jul 30, 2018
    10
    Probably my favorite platformer of all time and definitely the best Sonic game out there even better than the originals.
  8. Sep 22, 2018
    10
    This game, This game.....
    I love it

    HOW COULD YOU NOT HAVE ALREADY PLAYED THIS GAME GO TO THE STORE AND BUY IT THIS INSTANT ITS ONLY 15$ IT WON'T RUIN YOUR COLLAGE FUND JUST GO SHOW THESE NERDS WITH THEIR PCS WHERE THE DANG MONEY IS AT.
  9. Jun 23, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The best Sonic game yet!Sonic mania plus is a sonic game that has 5 playable characters and Stunning zones. Expand
  10. Jul 18, 2018
    10
    This game is literally perfection, and all a fan of the genesis era Sonic games could ever dream of.
  11. Sep 9, 2018
    5
    Why did I want to play this game?

    I have never played a Sonic game before but obviously being around video games for 25 years, I have heard a ton about Sonic. I mostly heard bad things about the franchise but then this game came out and I heard universal praise. I figured this game is the perfect game to finally give Sonic a try. What did I not like about it? I know how stupid
    Why did I want to play this game?

    I have never played a Sonic game before but obviously being around video games for 25 years, I have heard a ton about Sonic. I mostly heard bad things about the franchise but then this game came out and I heard universal praise. I figured this game is the perfect game to finally give Sonic a try.

    What did I not like about it?

    I know how stupid this makes me sound but I just don't get the game. I understand the core of always be running and always move to the right. But first off, it's so jarring when you lose momentum but then there is also the issue of all of these multiple paths and none of it feels fun or rewarding. I just don't get it. Sonic is not for me.

    How much time did I put into it?

    I put about 3 or 4 into the game, it was enough for me to know that this isn't for me.

    Will I try it again at some point?

    No, I'm good. I will let Sonic fans have this one and I will stay far away from this franchise.
    Expand
  12. Sep 10, 2018
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Sonic was good. Sonic Mania Plus is a very good Sonic game at all. IGN needs to stop saying Sonic was never good. Keep your criticism to yourself. Shut up and interview. Expand
  13. Apr 6, 2020
    8
    The atmosphere of the game is on point. Its like playing a sonic game from the 80s. The length is ok
  14. May 31, 2020
    2
    Not gonna lie, I wanted to see if this game was actually good a few years ago and I didn't really like it due to how much this game relies on nostalgia bait. The graphics are fricking horrible. This game would have been way better if it was released back in the 90's era. This isn't the time to release something like this, especially due to it being the 3d era of Sonic. It's not the time toNot gonna lie, I wanted to see if this game was actually good a few years ago and I didn't really like it due to how much this game relies on nostalgia bait. The graphics are fricking horrible. This game would have been way better if it was released back in the 90's era. This isn't the time to release something like this, especially due to it being the 3d era of Sonic. It's not the time to release a fricking 2d Sonic game. Due to this being a fangame, I thought this would be better than a official sonic game but no, I was indeed wrong. Expand
  15. Sep 23, 2018
    9
    Sonic mania does what it should do. Excellent gameplay, Amazing level designs. This game was my favorite since my childhood and it is still fun for modern day. BGMs are great also. The bad part, however, is a lack of online COOP, otherwise I would give a 10.

    Fun game. I hope they bring more levels.
  16. Aug 20, 2018
    10
    Just a classic game in a physical disc........... a must have..........................................
  17. Jul 18, 2018
    10
    Sonic Mania was already an awesome 2D platform game but with Sonic Mania Plus the game is just perfect. More stages to play, more characters each with unique gameplay to play and many more things to do it's simple : just buy it, to experience the amazing experience this videogame has to offer!
  18. Jul 18, 2018
    8
    This DLC is good but dumb at the same time the encore mode is boring but might and ray saves the DLC, the encore mode big rings are too hard to find but character switching is a good idea :) but there is quality problems to, like when you play egg revierie with mighty and ray (which only you can access with level select) they are not flying but walking in the air this is just dumb, okay iThis DLC is good but dumb at the same time the encore mode is boring but might and ray saves the DLC, the encore mode big rings are too hard to find but character switching is a good idea :) but there is quality problems to, like when you play egg revierie with mighty and ray (which only you can access with level select) they are not flying but walking in the air this is just dumb, okay i can understand might beacuse he as no flying sprite but ray he as flying animation and he is still walking in the air, okay one last complain mighty's ability isnt that usefull compare to ray,knuckles,tail and sonic, this dlc is good concept is good encore modes'color palet change is cool but he as problems but it still worth it Expand
  19. Sep 2, 2018
    10
    Simplemente perfecto, una obra maestra de las plataformas 2D cargada de nostalgia.
  20. Jan 1, 2019
    10
    Sonic Mania Plus is an amazing return to form for Sonic the Hedgehog with even more content than the digital release. The physical release is a great package that is definitely worth the money and it includes an art book. This game is perfect for classic Sonic fans as the levels are very well designed, the gameplay feels as great as it did over 25 years ago, and the soundtrack isSonic Mania Plus is an amazing return to form for Sonic the Hedgehog with even more content than the digital release. The physical release is a great package that is definitely worth the money and it includes an art book. This game is perfect for classic Sonic fans as the levels are very well designed, the gameplay feels as great as it did over 25 years ago, and the soundtrack is excellent. Special thanks to the Sonic fans that developed this fantastic Sonic game. Expand
  21. Feb 6, 2021
    7
    Of what I’ve played thus far, it’s pretty decent. The gameplay is nice, and it’s nice to see new things from SEGA, old and new.
  22. Jun 12, 2019
    9
    Sonic is a franchise I've ALWAYS wanted to talk about. My childhood revolved around Sonic in many different ways to the point I can say with confidence it improved my life way more than any other franchise has. As a fan of both Classic and Modern, this game was right up my alley. Despite reading about them all the time in Archie comics, this was the first time I really payed attention toSonic is a franchise I've ALWAYS wanted to talk about. My childhood revolved around Sonic in many different ways to the point I can say with confidence it improved my life way more than any other franchise has. As a fan of both Classic and Modern, this game was right up my alley. Despite reading about them all the time in Archie comics, this was the first time I really payed attention to Mighty and Ray. Now, what I'm about to say may sound insane, but bear with me. Sonic Mania Plus is not, in fact, the best Sonic game. Of course, while it improved everything we all loved about Classic Sonic, I really need to nitpick in one specific area. I'm not sure if it's just me, but both special stages (Blue Spheres and Catch the UFO) are mercilessly difficult and drove me to the point that I thought Mania Plus was actually bad. Of course I'm aware Mania is amazing and it's possible I just lost my touch, but playing other classic Sonic titles, I never had this much trouble with the special stages. However, every cloud has a silver lining, and these special stages are no exception. The satisfaction of overcoming it is a feeling that will stick with you for a good while after. Despite its difficulty the stages are colorful and the music is above and beyond. Even if I'm certain my next attempt will end in failure, I still find myself looking for the giant special rings. Sonic Mania Plus also has two player VS, which only improves this almost perfect game. Wether you're looking for a nostalgia trip, or you want to prove your Nintendo obsessed friend wrong about Sonic never being good, Mania Plus is your best bet. Again, my only real issues lie in the difficulty of the Special Stages. I can't recommend this gem enough. Expand
  23. Sep 16, 2019
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This is so amazing because Story mode and group play And Characters

    This is game so awesome all time and everyone and everywhere
    Expand
  24. Jul 6, 2020
    9
    Sonc Mania is always good, and now with more characters and new levels its even better. The only problem is that the game suffers from classic Sonic Issues, but its a pretty good and solid game.
  25. Feb 19, 2020
    7
    No soy muy fan de Sonic, pero he de reconocer que el juego es entretenido con fases clásicas y nuevas de este conocido personaje, imprescindible para los más forofos.
  26. Mar 30, 2020
    10
    Sonic Mania is an amazing game and Sonic Mania Plus improves and raises Sonic Mania level by a lot worth buying Sonic Mania Plus !!!
  27. Mar 15, 2020
    10
    This game is my all time favorite, it really reminds us all why Sonic was great to begin with! Anyone who played the genesis games will feel their nostalgia kick in while playing this game. The music is great (as with all Sonic games), the sprites are bright and lively, and the level design is fantastic! To me, what makes a great Sonic game is levels that let you speed through at sonicThis game is my all time favorite, it really reminds us all why Sonic was great to begin with! Anyone who played the genesis games will feel their nostalgia kick in while playing this game. The music is great (as with all Sonic games), the sprites are bright and lively, and the level design is fantastic! To me, what makes a great Sonic game is levels that let you speed through at sonic speed, but also have many different paths and secret areas to explore, and different playable characters with different abilities to explore with! There is nothing I don't like about this game. Expand
  28. Jun 10, 2020
    10
    Questo gioco è proprio come se ti portasse indietro nel tempo, tutto così incredibilmente nostalgico e curato proprio come ai primi sonic. Sembra proprio di star giocando ad un capolavoro degli anni 90, ed è una piccola perla moderna dei videogiochi questo sonic
  29. Oct 6, 2020
    9
    In the words of Harry Dunne from Dumb and Dumber. Sonic, "You totally redeem yourself!" The only thing I didn't like was the Knuckle's gameplay. His low jump made some of the bosses a little annoying. Other than that. A great reboot!
  30. Mar 29, 2021
    10
    Fantastic visuals, great level design, and wondrous music. Sonic Mania/Mania Plus not only celebrates Sonics past perfectly, but it improves on it by making it unique as possible.
  31. Dec 14, 2020
    7
    Its awesome game but it would be more awesome if they release it on sega mega drive/genesis back on late 80,early 90.
  32. Jun 18, 2021
    8
    it isn't better than the original game, the levels don't let you fully control ray, mighty is literally broken, it is still very fun and the visuals are incredible
  33. Jun 26, 2021
    8
    Visually, the game is an absolute blast. Also quite a few characters to play as. It's really a perfect remake of the original games if you liked those. I'm probably one of the few people who are more into Sonic Rush, Rush Adventure and Colors (DS)-style levels though. I always found the rush system to be perfect for blasting through stages and it feels so much more satisfying thanVisually, the game is an absolute blast. Also quite a few characters to play as. It's really a perfect remake of the original games if you liked those. I'm probably one of the few people who are more into Sonic Rush, Rush Adventure and Colors (DS)-style levels though. I always found the rush system to be perfect for blasting through stages and it feels so much more satisfying than constantly getting stuck on walls and just everywhere. Precise platforming is also incredibly hard in Mania. You know, jumping around moving blocks for example. My only complaint really is just the difficulty. Just like the OG games, if you're not good at this kind of game in general, it will take a few tries to get good in levels. Which is fine, but it can be frustrating. Especially running out of lives in the final boss stage and having to repeat pretty long levels just to try again. I have not figured out a way to farm lives either, so yeah. The difficulty is the only thing that I didn't enjoy a lot! Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. Aug 23, 2018
    80
    Those looking for more Sonic could do far worse than this title, but don’t expect the extras to live up to the lofty standards set by Mania Mode.
  2. Aug 13, 2018
    80
    Sonic Mania is easily the best Sonic I’ve played and also manages to be a return to the classic Genesis style. While recreating some aspects of the 90’s experience meant dealing with annoying things like running out of lives and restarting entire zones, it didn’t ruin the overall experience — this trip down memory lane was a welcome one.
  3. Aug 3, 2018
    90
    Sonic Mania Plus is a must-have for gaming fans of all types. If you're a fan of the Genesis games, this is exactly what you've been waiting for. If you're more of a new fan, Sonic Mania Plus shows you why the series was so revered in the first place. If you already own the main title, the DLC is an excellent add-on at a reasonable price, especially for the amount of stuff you'll get.