• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Dec 6, 2016
  • Also On: PC
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
Buy On
  1. Dec 14, 2016
    90
    The first few months of PlayStation VR have delivered a vast range of experiences, but I have to say that Werewolves Within is my personal favourite. It’s such a basic concept, but how it’s realised brings players together in a way that’s rarely done in videogames. The community is fantastic and helpful, the rules are easy to pick up, and soon enough you’re mixing it up with people from all over.
  2. Dec 13, 2016
    90
    Werewolf Within is one of the best VR games released so far and a huge surprise. Once you have found the right group is really hard to leave the match: every gaming session end after many hours and laughs.
  3. Dec 16, 2016
    87
    Werewolves Within shows us that virtual reality games shouldn't necessarily bring people to new worlds or in extreme conditions. They can also bring us around a campfire, just talking with other players and enjoying all the fun that this game can offer!
  4. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Apr 1, 2017
    80
    Over time, as you form a pack of new friends who are up for regular games, this could transform into a regular party night classic –albeit one where your party guests are in different houses. And might need worming. [March 2016, p78]
  5. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Feb 19, 2017
    80
    Easy to pick up after only a couple of rounds, this is one of the best social virtual reality experiences you'll have - but only if you find the right people to bark at. [Feb 2017, p.90]
  6. Feb 13, 2017
    80
    Werewolves Within is a fun and social VR-game in which you must find all the werewolves within your group of people. The core mechanics are simple, but the game stays enjoyable even after longer sessions. Only if the price would have been a bit lower.
  7. Jan 3, 2017
    80
    Werewolves Within is one of the best games currently available for VR. Immediate and fun, it is a perfect board (video)game for anyone.
  8. Dec 28, 2016
    80
    Werewolves Within is a fantastic social VR experience based on the famous role playing game that you must have played at least once with your friends. A must have.
  9. 80
    Bugs aside, Werewolves Within is an incredible social experience and the first online game to really make it feel like you are sitting around the campfire with seven other people.
  10. Games Master UK
    Feb 18, 2017
    77
    With the right crowd, the whole thing is incredible fun. [Feb 2017, p.82]
  11. Dec 23, 2016
    75
    Depending on the people you're playing with, Werewolves Within is either an amazing social experience or a boring lonely one.
  12. Dec 12, 2016
    72
    Werewolves Within is a really good experience, and it made us feel like we were there sitting and playing with other people. Still, being VR-only, and requiring 5 people to be online to play it, it's a risky purchase.
  13. Dec 21, 2016
    70
    It's a simple and fun online game with such a great VR integration, but its current low population makes it hard to recommend.
  14. Dec 17, 2016
    70
    Werewolves Within is a very clever game that successfully turns a real-world party game into the virtual sphere that works on all levels. It’s quite clever and one really enjoyable VR experience on the PlayStation VR but its premise may get a little repetitive!
  15. Dec 16, 2016
    70
    An innovative proposal for VR users. Really fun and engaging experience, but maybe a bit too complex in the beginning for some players.
  16. Dec 15, 2016
    70
    An intimidating and mixed VR experience, but could appeal to fans of the ‘whodunnit’ genre.
  17. Dec 16, 2016
    60
    When it works and none of the seven players have any audio or connectivity issues, Werewolves Within is competitive, surprisingly friendly, easy to jump into and even easier to play for hours on end, building up an active repertoire of new online friends as you go. When it doesn’t work, though, it’s inexcusably hard to play, and that’s unfortunately very often.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 7 out of 28
  1. Dec 13, 2016
    9
    This is the most fun I've had with PSVR to date. It's such a unique experience, unlike anything I've ever tried in a video game. It doesThis is the most fun I've had with PSVR to date. It's such a unique experience, unlike anything I've ever tried in a video game. It does however have some bugs, but Ubisoft has acknowledged these bugs, and are working on an update right now.

    If at first you feel lost, trust me, things will click for you. The game's will still be chaotic, for sure.. but in a very fun way!

    Don't worry about english not being your native language, you will be fine, and people will understand what you're saying.
    Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2018
    6
    Your game experience depends on the group of people you play with so it can be hit or miss. I wish the game eased new players into the gameYour game experience depends on the group of people you play with so it can be hit or miss. I wish the game eased new players into the game better because its hard to learn just jumping into random games with people that are more experienced. Also, if they created some incentive for more experienced players to welcome newer players, that would help expand the community. Full Review »
  3. Feb 5, 2017
    10
    It's an absolute travesty that this game has received anything less than a 9 from both critics and users and I implore everyone with any VRIt's an absolute travesty that this game has received anything less than a 9 from both critics and users and I implore everyone with any VR system to buy it and try it.

    I downloaded this game due to it being one of only a few PSVR games I hadn't yet played. My expectations were pretty low and, in a general sense, I hate online multiplayer games. Within an hour of playing, Werewolves Within became my favorite VR game for any headset, and as someone who worked in the VR industry I've played nearly all of them. Not only that, but without any hyperbole at all, I can say this will go down as one of my favorite video game experiences in the 30 years I've been a hardcore player.

    The gameplay is dead simple as the only mechanic is talking. The rules appear complex at first but are really very easy to understand after a few matches. Fundamentally, this is a game of sitting around a campfire building alliances, and deceiving others. Lots and lots of deception. If you've ever dreamed of being a trial attorney, this is as close as you're going to get without passing the bar. You're either a werewolf or not and regardless of your game assigned role, it's up to you to convince others you're on their team. A match lasts about 10 minutes.

    For the most part, everyone is civil and attempting to play the game in earnest. When you get a great group, you'll spend hours with them and make some great online friends. There are a few things to be aware of, however. Just like IRL, there is an absurdly high chance that many of the people sitting around a campfire and arguing about who is a werewolf are stoned and/or drunk (myself included). It's utterly hilarious but it can quickly get out of control (usually the drunk ones, but you can vote to kick them).

    There aren't many bugs or flaws but there are a few things to be aware of for parents. While this seems like a general audience game and good for children, it's a double edged sword. On one hand I really think it can help with social interactions and anxiety and, for a video game, is a safe and somewhat less wasteful way to spend time. On the other hand, the aforementioned drunk players will often use bad language and inappropriate slurs the like of which you'd hear in a move rated R. Additionally, you really need to be comfortable with your children playing a game exclusively about lying and deception. If I had kids over the age of 12, I'd let them play but not without a serious discussion beforehand and a promise that they would leave any group of "bad people".

    As someone who values intellect, group leadership and strong interpersonal bonds above most else, I find this "game" nothing short of a revelation that will stick with me for decades. This really does represent a defining moment in technology and digital human interaction while being the most fun you can have on a Saturday night. Ubisoft deserves a lot of credit for bankrolling such an innovation and Red Storm just became my favorite developer of 2017. The team at Red Storm is extraordinary and I hope to meet them one day soon.

    You owe it to yourself to buy and play this game, it's more fun than you've probably ever had playing a game and you'll be a part of something that is destined to become a historic milestone in the advancement of technology. There is zero reason not to be a part of this experience.
    Full Review »