User ratings in Music are temporarily disabled. More info
  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
FU##IN' UP Image

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

  • Artist(s): Neil Young
  • Summary: Neil Young and Crazy Horse recorded nine tracks from 1990's Ragged Glory with song lyrics replacing the original titles in 2023.
Buy Now
Buy on
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Apr 24, 2024
    Though Fu##in’ Up maintains the same track sequence as Ragged Glory, the titles have changed, each borrowing a lyric from the songs themselves. And when the album does deviate musically from its source material, it does so with subtlety and purpose.
  2. May 6, 2024
    What it is is 64 minutes of blistering, heart-racing rock ‘n’ roll that, somehow, digs its claws deeper into the heaviness of Ragged Glory’s original piercing, head-splitting distortion.
  3. Apr 24, 2024
    Despite their garage rock machismo, Neil Young and Crazy Horse are ultimately old-school romantics. They deliver hard-won life lessons amidst their squalling guitars and Molina’s insistent drumbeat.
  4. Apr 24, 2024
    There's an undeniable zip to these. [Jun 2024, p.82]
  5. 80
    Young and Crazy Horse never perform their songs in quite the same way each night, of course, and Fu##in’ Up exemplifies that spontaneous, exploratory spirit. Listening to these geezers whipping up a hurricane of monolithic thud and skronk is always irresistible. [Jun 2024, p.74]
  6. May 2, 2024
    Fu##in’ Up makes a convincing case for Ragged Glory as the definitive Crazy Horse album, showcasing the group in their purest, crudest state, without any of the counter-balancing pop singles or acoustic reprieves that colored more hallowed classics like Everybody Knows This Is Nowhere and Zuma.
  7. Apr 24, 2024
    It's rough-around-the-edges fun, with the warmth of familiarity and kinship that Neil Young & Crazy Horse have built by playing together for more than half a century.

See all 8 Critic Reviews