Metal Gear Solid

PlayStation
  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 1998
  • Also On: PC
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1279 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metal Gear Solid Movie 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 1 out of 205
  1. Lee
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love This game was made so beautifully.. The plot was brilliant; it kept me guessing, the stealth was awesome, the weapons were wicked, the love story was very well done (not mushy or anything,) and the music was fantastic. [***SPOILERS***] The music usually got me in the mood when i played the game; for example, when your in that factory place and sniper wolfe shoots the hell out of meryl, and the music starts up, it just gets to you.. The music just got me all depressed, and got me in the situation that snake was .. Its hard to explain but all i'm saying is, this game is my favourite and always will be. Expand
  2. RyanL.
    Jun 12, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I have ever been on. I want to know more about the ending. Even though i have completed it 27 times.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  4. TS
    Sep 16, 2009
    10
    This game is just so amazing. The storyline, gameplay, soundtrack, and controls are all just remarkable. Best game I've ever played This game is just so amazing. The storyline, gameplay, soundtrack, and controls are all just remarkable. Best game I've ever played {along with MGS2, MGS3, and MGS4}. Expand
  5. Jun 15, 2013
    10
    This is one of the best games of all time it is the grandfather of modern gaming it is cinematic and a first of its kind and it began theThis is one of the best games of all time it is the grandfather of modern gaming it is cinematic and a first of its kind and it began the voice acting in gaming and it has amazing soundtrack and gameplay the story is amazing in this game even now you'll enjoy playing this game even if you have a PS3 or Xbox 360 Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2015
    10
    Metal Gear Solid could be coined as the first modern video game. It was the game that set the trend for high quality cinematic storytelling inMetal Gear Solid could be coined as the first modern video game. It was the game that set the trend for high quality cinematic storytelling in a videogame as well as being a revolutionary game for the stealth genre.
    Set after Metal Gear & Metal Gear 2, Metal Gear Solid once again places you in the shoes of Solid Snake. This time he is sent in to infiltrate a facility on Shadow Moses island, there he finds a private military guarding nuclear weapons as well as a superweapon codenamed Metal Gear REX. The brains behind the operation is Snake's brother, Liquid Snake; as well as his team of terrorists called FOXHOUND. It's up to Snake to stop the operation on Shadow Moses and save the world from nuclear disaster.
    Raising the bar for not only stealth games, action games and storytelling in a video game, but also setting the standard for mature video games and giving the original PlayStation a serious advantage over the competition.
    If you're a gamer and you have not played this game, you owe it to yourself to do so.
    Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2017
    3
    Le succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeuLe succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeu aurait pu être bon s'il n'était pas aussi sclérosé par sa japoniaiserie dégoulinante, ses contrôles très perfectibles et sa vue d'en haut contraire au bon sens le plus élémentaire.

    Sa mise en scène est risible (quand les Japonais tentent de singer Hollywood, c'est ce que ça donne -la VF caricaturale en accentue le grotesque) et ses "boss" ridicules semblent tout droit sortis d'une borne d'arcade des années 90. Techniquement pour de la PS1, c'est dans le haut du panier certes mais ça ne suffit pas à tirer MGS de son marasme vidéo-ludique.
    Expand

See all 205 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

3
1
#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
3
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998