Metal Gear Solid

PlayStation
  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 21, 1998
Metal Gear Solid Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1594 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: You are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silencedYou are Snake, a government agent on a mission to regain control of a secret nuclear weapons base from terrorist hands. Lightly armed and facing an army of foes, Snake must avoid firefights in order to survive. If Snake can locate them he can utilize advanced hardware, ranging from silenced pistols to ground-to-air missiles. Enemies react to sight and sound - so stay quiet and stay in the shadows. State-of-the-art graphics: textures, transparencies, models and explosions. Taut, gripping story with multiple endings - a truly cinematic experience. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metal Gear Solid Movie 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Adding to the story is some of the best voice acting to ever come to a videogame. The entire cast did an absolutely top-notch performance.
  2. This game is full of surprises and you never know what is going to happen, and that is a very good thing.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    A cinematic classic. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. A Solid story, inventive gameplay mechanisms, both third and first person views, a slew of spy equipment, awesome weapons, unique emotional plot and stealth make MGS one of PlayStation's greatest games ever.
  5. To accompany the breathtaking graphics is a soundtrack of pure extravagance, and it does wonders to heighten the action and suspense, we can tell you.
  6. Its diminished length and excessive no-interactive plot hold it back from truly reaching the highest plateau. Still, this is a must have for any PSX library and a ton of fun.
  7. While it is playable, and actually pretty fun a lot of the time, it has some serious, nearly game ruining flaws that, for me, made it a complete disappointment.

See all 20 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 2 out of 268
  1. VTRBR10
    Jul 23, 2007
    10
    One of the classics for the ps1...a lot of thinking on this game, sure is a smart game. I surely recommend this game for those who like a challenge.
  2. RyanL.
    Jun 12, 2002
    10
    This is the best game I have ever been on. I want to know more about the ending. Even though i have completed it 27 times.
  3. Apr 24, 2011
    10
    To put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down andTo put it simply, I can't think of a better game. Even with Xbox 360 and Playstation 3 graphics nowadays, I would still prefer to sit down and play this ground-breaking game. The graphics may be terrible but it is understood that this was released in 1998. However, the story alone makes up for the graphics. The immersive storyline of the mission at hand is disrupted by heartbreak, danger and deceit and captures the player immediately. This game will continue to overshadow the rest in the series, simply becuase of the fact that this game is phenomenal. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2018
    10
    Metal Gear Solid is a true gaming legend. 20 years on, it is still, hands down, the greatest cinematic action game of all time. No single gameMetal Gear Solid is a true gaming legend. 20 years on, it is still, hands down, the greatest cinematic action game of all time. No single game made me feel so alive and care so much for the characters or fear them. By the time the game ends, you will feel bloodied and exhausted (in a good way) but truly fulfilled, hopeful for the future and at peace with the past.

    10/10 feels too low.
    Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2012
    10
    I recently had a conversation about this game and I should say: everything about this game is memorable. The SMG, figuring how to get theI recently had a conversation about this game and I should say: everything about this game is memorable. The SMG, figuring how to get the stealth suit, unlimited ammo. The bosses all have their own story without being corny, some of them are utterly scary -Psycho Mantis, Raven, Gray Fox- while others demand tactic play -first tank, Sniper Wolf-. So there's a story that could easily be a novel, the gameplay fits and had extra's that made you replay the game, the bosses have everything you could possibly wish for, so one question remains: what's bad about this game. Well, some would say graphics. Personally, people who start nagging bout graphics don't know what games are about. It's a stealth game, I can understand some would rather just run into the building and shoot like a war pig or go nuke-crazy. However this game has defined stealth games to what they are and should be and it spawned -so far- three great sequels that were innovative in their own way and that's why it deserves no less than a perfect 10. Expand
  6. Mar 6, 2017
    10
    This is a game that needs an HD Remaster. One of the all time greats. Easily the best game on the original Playstation and probably still myThis is a game that needs an HD Remaster. One of the all time greats. Easily the best game on the original Playstation and probably still my favorite game in the entire series. Must play game! Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2017
    3
    Le succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeuLe succès de Metal Gear Solid a eu au moins un effet positif : sans lui en effet nous n'aurions sans doute jamais eu les Splinter Cell. Le jeu aurait pu être bon s'il n'était pas aussi sclérosé par sa japoniaiserie dégoulinante, ses contrôles très perfectibles et sa vue d'en haut contraire au bon sens le plus élémentaire.

    Sa mise en scène est risible (quand les Japonais tentent de singer Hollywood, c'est ce que ça donne -la VF caricaturale en accentue le grotesque) et ses "boss" ridicules semblent tout droit sortis d'une borne d'arcade des années 90. Techniquement pour de la PS1, c'est dans le haut du panier certes mais ça ne suffit pas à tirer MGS de son marasme vidéo-ludique.
    Expand

See all 268 User Reviews

Trailers

Awards & Rankings

3
1
#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
3
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998