New Pokemon Snap Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 116 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 609 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Photograph Pokémon in their natural habitats as you adventure through unknown islands. Seek out and take in-game pictures of Pokémon in their native environments in the New Pokémon Snap game, only for the Nintendo Switch system! You'll even discover behaviors and expressions you've neverPhotograph Pokémon in their natural habitats as you adventure through unknown islands. Seek out and take in-game pictures of Pokémon in their native environments in the New Pokémon Snap game, only for the Nintendo Switch system! You'll even discover behaviors and expressions you've never seen before when you encounter and research lively wild Pokémon. Explore environments, take in-game pictures and fill your Pokémon Photodex. Travel to unknown islands with beautiful scenery like lush jungles and sandy beaches. The Pokémon pictures you take there will be used to build your very own Pokémon Photodex. This brand-new game brings the gameplay of the 1999 Pokémon Snap game for the Nintendo 64 system to life on the Nintendo Switch system with unknown islands to discover and different Pokémon to see. Photograph lively wild Pokémon in their natural habitats as you research and explore unknown islands. Journey through a variety of environments such as beaches and jungles to capture previously-unseen Pokémon behaviors. The photos you take can also be used to fill out your very own Pokémon Photodex.

    * See a different side of Pokémon in a new photo-snapping adventure, only on Nintendo Switch
    * Research various Pokémon in their natural habitats and capture Pokémon behaviors that you've never seen before
    * Explore unknown islands with scenery like lush jungles and tropical beaches throughout your journey
    * Take in-game photos to make your very own Pokémon Photodex
    Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
New Pokemon Snap​ - Official "Latest Info From The Lental Region" Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 89 out of 116
  2. Negative: 0 out of 116
  1. May 10, 2021
    100
    Playing New Pokémon Snap filled me with a joy and excitement that I haven’t felt from a game in a while. Though it has its minor flaws, it really is an experience worth playing that offers gameplay you won’t find elsewhere.
  2. May 4, 2021
    90
    New Pokémon Snap is a heartwarming trip down nostalgia lane. With a huge range of levels, gorgeous graphics, and a relaxing soundtrack, it’s hard not to enjoy every minute you spend in the Lental region.
  3. Apr 28, 2021
    84
    A very nice evolution over the original Pokémon Snap, this new chapter is excellent for young players and nice for experienced users too.
  4. Apr 28, 2021
    80
    New Pokémon Snap is a photography game with occasionally clunky progression, but which is eager to show off its delightful subjects and let them surprise you.
  5. May 3, 2021
    80
    New Pokémon Snap brings the spirit of the original game to a brand new generation on the Nintendo Switch. With breath-taking visuals, tight gameplay, and an unmistakable Pokémon charm, this title is a relaxing and laid-back experience worth exploring.
  6. Apr 28, 2021
    75
    A pleasant experience that will easily appeal to fans of the original opus, and even to newcomers.
  7. May 4, 2021
    50
    But by stripping the Pokémon of anything that feels organic, Nintendo has effectively made its critters feel like wind-up toys, removing the romanticism and mystique that should always come through witnessing raw, unbridled nature. They took these untamed lands and tamed them before we even got there. Unfortunately, the resultant game is as exciting as you’d imagine.

See all 122 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 38 out of 260
  1. May 1, 2021
    10
    These 0 star reviews are a total bunch of BS. The game is fine. Its not a traditional pokemon game and never has been. It keeps with theThese 0 star reviews are a total bunch of BS. The game is fine. Its not a traditional pokemon game and never has been. It keeps with the originals formula and adds in SOME of the new pokemon. The whole game is set on "rails" and its a decent challenge to snap the picture in time with the right boxes ticked off. Im giving it a 10 because so far im enjoying a game that i knew who it would be going into it. Expand
  2. May 2, 2021
    10
    This game has been amazing so far!! At first I was not sure if I would like this type of game since I have not enjoyed Pokemon spin-offThis game has been amazing so far!! At first I was not sure if I would like this type of game since I have not enjoyed Pokemon spin-off before, but this game is a positive exception! Amazing looking game with a lot stuff to do. Pokemons interact with you which is huge plus. I have already used many hours by taking pictures of different Pokemons and finishing tasks. 10/10 Expand
  3. May 2, 2021
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. La premisa daba para creer que sería un juego simplón, y terminó siendo muy adictivo, sencillo, hermosos gráficos, y buena duración, me ha sorprendido gratamente. Expand
  4. Oct 5, 2021
    9
    Very fun game, excelent graphics, especially for Pokemon standards, plot is short ald shallow, but it was never the Focus of those games,Very fun game, excelent graphics, especially for Pokemon standards, plot is short ald shallow, but it was never the Focus of those games, bosses are creative and enjoyable, and the areas are gorgeous. Very good and enjoyable. Expand
  5. May 2, 2021
    9
    Exactly what you would expect if you played the original. Great animation and quality. Getting the 2 analog sticks confused is my only hang up.
  6. Feb 21, 2022
    8
    This game is another in a long list of games that Nintendo has tried to use to cash in on the all powerful aroma of nostalgia. The visuals,This game is another in a long list of games that Nintendo has tried to use to cash in on the all powerful aroma of nostalgia. The visuals, not just for the Switch but for a game as a whole, are stunning. The on rails shooter aspect clearly let them manage their resources to help make the world feel more lively and give more dynamic actions to the monsters that we have the pleasure of interacting with. the sound track and ambient noise of the world and the NEO-001 as it moves around are brilliantly executed, and of course the soundtrack is great and at times feels almost cinematic. The worst parts of the game come in the games use of mechanics and story. The game being an on rails shooter takes a good deal of agency away from us as players. So much so that the fact that we cannot do things to encourage evolution like you could in the first game, pushing Charmeleon into the fire pit as an example, feels like a major miss from Nintendo here. Furthermore the story of the game is flimsy at best and I felt like there were constantly two stories that I was working on. One was researching the Pokemon and completing my photodex, for no real payoff, the other was looking for the Guardian Pokemon throughout the game. I would have appreciated the game so much more if a story hadn't been what felt shoved into the faces of us as players, but also if the hints for completing things for the photodex actually worked. The necessary targets that you have to hit, both literally with fruit and 'pester balls' and figuratively with taking specific pictures at specific times are frustrating at best and once completed I felt more of a moment of relief then I did one of pride in completing these harder goals to see rarer pokemon/poses.

    Overall this game is worth every penny and I can only hope that Nintendo adds more content to the game to keep players coming back over time, or at the very least not wait multiple decades between releases next time.
    Expand
  7. Nov 23, 2021
    0
    Una vergüenza para el juego original, no hay casi evolución en la formula y se siente como un juego anacrónico en sus mecánicas y conceptosUna vergüenza para el juego original, no hay casi evolución en la formula y se siente como un juego anacrónico en sus mecánicas y conceptos básicos. Expand

See all 260 User Reviews