Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. May 13, 2020
    90
    As a remaster, this updated version of The Wonderful 101 is not going to impress anyone with its minor improvements to performance and small adjustments to make it a bit more accessible to newcomers. However, the fact remains that this is The Wonderful 101, one of the best action games of a generation, and one that has tragically – until now – been locked on a relatively niche console. This remaster is the best way to play The Wonderful 101, which is something that I can’t recommend strongly enough, for those willing to power through its learning curve.
  2. May 12, 2020
    82
    The Wonderful 101 remains one of the most brilliant and original action games ever made: an amazing brawler with elaborate mechanics, a colorful cast, and amazing boss fights and gameplay variations.
  3. May 17, 2020
    80
    This is a wild Japanese superheros-spoof mixed with a hack&slay extravaganza. Despite control issues this was and still is in a lot of ways a remarkable videogame.
  4. May 16, 2020
    80
    Marrying astonishing spectacle and overwrought drama, The Wonderful 101: Remastered is one of the most memorable action games you’ll ever play. Its delirious excesses come with a price, and it’s one that’s at little harder to forgive this time, with the original’s flaws remaining untouched, and a few compromises made to accommodate the Wii U version’s dual-screen set-pieces. But for all its minor frustrations, it’s a game that rewards patience and perseverance. Grit your teeth through its control quirks and camera foibles and relish the giddy spectacle of a game that doesn’t know when to stop.
  5. May 14, 2020
    80
    The Wii U classic is just as entertaining as it was back in the day, even if it’s more of a port than a remaster.
  6. May 14, 2020
    80
    The Wonderful 101 is not for everybody, and while the Wii U didn’t really do it any favors, I think it’s initial reception was proof of that. But time has passed, tastes change, word of mouth spreads, and appreciation grows. So maybe, with The Wonderful 101: Remastered, “not for everybody” includes at least a few more people this time.
  7. May 20, 2020
    78
    Even though this remaster doesn't address many of the flaws of the original (the camera, the input detection and frame-rate drops), this is still an inventive, colourful and fun beat'em up for everyone.
  8. May 25, 2020
    73
    We therefore cannot help but welcome The Wonderful 101 Remastered with open arms, a must for anyone who has admired the Platinum Games creations or the videogame action tout court, had not yet had the opportunity to join the crazy race of Hideki Kamiya and his large task force of polychrome heroes.
  9. May 13, 2020
    70
    The Wonderful 101: Remastered has its ups and downs. It features a fantastic story full of humor, likable characters, and enjoyable boss fights, but its outdated graphics and less than stellar controls hold it back from being the hero that we all wanted it to be.
  10. May 12, 2020
    70
    The Wonderful 101: Remastered is a charming title with a ton of unique mechanics that make it almost intimidating to approach. It can look confusing from the outside and while the beginning tutorials are lacking, once further in it all begins to click little by little. Despite trying to be so action heavy from the get go it’s a slow burn that would benefit from a way to practice moves and abilities in a safe space without being in deadly combat that can be difficult at times if not paying close attention. The story, dialogue, characters, visuals and soundtrack are all a delight that nail the superhero vibe it’s going for, while the unique Wonderful Ones are fun to collect and learn little tidbits about. Anyone looking for a short, challenging and action-packed adventure with tons of side content begging to be discovered should consider checking out PlatinumGames’ most unique title to date.
  11. May 22, 2020
    60
    Still one of PlatinumGames’ most imaginative and exuberant action games but the refusal to improve the controls or accessibility doom the remaster to further obscurity.
  12. May 20, 2020
    60
    The Wonderful 101: Remastered is the latest Wii U exclusive to be whisked from near-obscurity to land on modern platforms. It's a worthy rescue: Like the original game, The Wonderful 101: Remastered is funny, action-packed, and loaded with unique PlatinumGames charm. That uniqueness is simultaneously its best and worst asset: The trademark line-drawing technique that lets the Wonderful Ones turn their followers into weapons is awkward to pull off without the Wii U's gamepad. There's a lot to love about Wonderful 101: Remastered, but there's a lot to get frustrated over, too.
  13. 60
    I wish I loved The Wonderful 101. It’s absolutely oozing in style that leaves me grinning ear to ear, and I always wanted to see what was coming next. The problem was that the process of actually seeing what came next was a dreadful slog that just frustrated me more and more as the game went on. It feels like a game made for the most dedicated of Platinum Games fans, and I’m certain that anyone who loves racking up combos as quickly as possible for platinum medals will love this game. Diehard fans of character action games will have a lot to love here, but everyone else will have to put up with a lot of trouble to get to the good parts.
  14. 60
    I’ve been struggling with how to rate The Wonderful 101: Remastered. It’s unlike anything I’ve ever played before, and it’s fantastic how it’s getting a second chance on the Nintendo Switch. I love its core gimmick; I like how it has the Bayonetta-like secret battles, optional levels, and grading system; and there were special moments that made me grin from ear to ear. But I died so many times for often frivolous reasons, used countless healing items, and even said out loud, “I’m not having fun.” You should definitely experience a taste of this game in some form at least once, but you’ll only stick with it if you are especially forgiving of its faults.
  15. May 13, 2020
    40
    Even if the technical hiccups get fixed in a patch, though, the Wonderful 101 doesn’t stand the test of time. Remastered or not, I constantly felt like there were missing steps or if I was figuring things out too slowly to keep up with the hyperactive story and its multifaceted gameplay. What’s more, the transition to the Switch, even with its touchscreen capabilities has only exacerbated the game’s core problems. There’s a great concept and the good combat mechanics we know Platinum can achieve in there, but you’ll need a lot of patience to find them.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. May 18, 2020
    It's too anarchic, too messy and too unreadable in its combat, as well as too erratic in its execution. But then it's that anarchy that's key to The Wonderful 101's charm, and that runs through so much of the work of Hideki Kamiya. The Wonderful 101 is Platinum at its most imperfect, but I don't necessarily mean that as a slight. There's a real thrill to be found in all that chaos. [Eurogamer Recommended]
  2. May 19, 2020
    If you’re into other Platinum games or character action games, in general, it’s definitely worth checking out The Wonderful 101. There’s really nothing like it. It’s a truly unique game with a strong sense of style and confidence. I would heartily recommend it to anyone who dug Astral Chain. But just know that it’s very much an acquired taste, and you shouldn’t expect the remaster polish to change much in that regard.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 30
  2. Negative: 8 out of 30
  1. May 20, 2020
    4
    I’m extremely disappointed with this game. I’ve been told it’s an incredible Wii U game and it’s the best Wii U game I never picked up. But itI’m extremely disappointed with this game. I’ve been told it’s an incredible Wii U game and it’s the best Wii U game I never picked up. But it has soo many problems. I have to figure out so much basic stuff by myself. Like I didn’t even know you could change your leader characters until I accidentally pressed -. And speaking of pressing - controlling the other screen is a nightmare!!! We have games like Splatoon and Tokyo Mirage Sessions and Captain Toad that all had gameplay dependent of the Wii U game pad transfer flawlessly to the Switch and this game falls short of that why? The story is so generalized, a 5 year old child could of written it. The gameplay is alright. But once you get into deeper chapters it gets way too complex way too fast with no warning. And it’s just hard to see your character, your character is the only one with a hurt box And if you get pinned by a foe you can’t see anything. The worst aspect of the game is 100% the camera. The camera controls are total hell and I have no idea how that’s possible from the same team who made Bayonetta and Astral Chain. There is a lot of charm in the game for sure, but you have to look for it. There are so many charming side characters like Wonder-Toilet and Wonder-Gamer and such that you have you go though the hell of the second screen to even know you have them. I’m sure drawing the wonderforms on the gamepad was way more effective then the mess of it is in the switch version. it takes me 3-4 tries to draw a circle for the fist wonder form constantly, it gave me the glider in the middle of combat so many times. And don’t get me started on how precise you have to be you draw the gun. IT’S AN L WHAT ELSE COULD IT BE!!! I want to give this game a chance, because it’s my friend’s favorite Wii U game. But it’s just so annoying to play. Full Review »
  2. May 20, 2020
    4
    1) Name the port a remaster.
    2) Collect money on kickstarter
    3) ????
    4) Profit!
  3. May 22, 2020
    4
    I really wanted to like this game, but I am very disappointed in it. I supported the Kickstarter and was really looking forward to playingI really wanted to like this game, but I am very disappointed in it. I supported the Kickstarter and was really looking forward to playing this game, but there is some fundamental issues with the game that inhibit my enjoyment. I don’t like to drop games, but for me it’s not worth playing any longer. The controls are kind of a mess imo. Right stick is annoying to use and the touch screen controls are not much better. The team attack has little effect, not nearly as satisfying as Pikmin’s. Dodge and block can be hit and miss, and not work well. The basic attack is ok, but I don’t feel like I have a lot of options, especially since I can’t change quickly between morphs because the right stick is a pain to draw stuff with. No lock on is super annoying and I target things at random. The camera is a nightmare and the zoom can be so bad.

    Everything feels very unintuitive and clunky. I’m not digging it one bit. The story and characters are ok, but definitely not enough to keep me around. I really wanted to like the game, but I’ve been very unimpressed with it so far. I have completed the first operation, but I honestly do not want to play anymore. For platinum, this game doesn’t seem to hold up their standard of quality.
    Full Review »