Perfect Dark Zero Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 260 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Brought to life in high definition, Perfect Dark: Zero challenges players to guide Joanna Dark on her journey to become the perfect agent. Years before the original "Perfect Dark," players assume the role of Perfect Agent Joanna Dark in a gripping story, with the action in this sci-fiBrought to life in high definition, Perfect Dark: Zero challenges players to guide Joanna Dark on her journey to become the perfect agent. Years before the original "Perfect Dark," players assume the role of Perfect Agent Joanna Dark in a gripping story, with the action in this sci-fi thriller centered on espionage, conspiracy, and a mysterious global conflict. The game delivers unprecedented online action and flexibility, supporting upwards of 50 players online. Perfect Dark: Zero includes fully scalable environments, and complete online support with tournaments, rankings, and more. Players can choose between a story-driven single-player campaign and various multiplayer options, including four-player splitscreen and cooperative action, for infinite replayability. Combat enabled vehicles including jetpacks, hovercrafts, and motorcycles are also available. [Microsoft] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Perfect Dark Zero Gameplay Movie 6
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 61 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. 100
    Visually and from an audio point of view, the game is spectacular. Nice textures throughout. Great wrap- around sound.
  2. The game is really fluid and runs at a high frame rate. What I liked about this game is that the weapons that you carry will affect your speed, just like it would in real life.
  3. It's not the controls or the FPS feel that started to get me into the game. It's the variation of the missions and your specific goals that make PDZ so interesting and addicting.
  4. I think most people are let down by the Xbox 360 follow up, although Perfect Dark Zero isn't garbage even if the plot is trash. The innovative weapons, sharp and accessible gameplay and almost perfect multiplayer aspect lands PDZ into the good category.
  5. For as solid as Perfect Dark Zero is, it's not going to wow you with anything innovative. But hey, when you're fragging away at fellow gamers from all around the world, you're not going to care.
  6. I'm not sure what upsets me more: the horrendous mess that is Perfect Dark Zero's single-player game or all the glowing reviews out there (including Che's). Are these crazies playing the same game as me?
  7. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    The only thing separating it from, say, another dystopian gadget-heavy sci-fi shooter like "Project: Snowblind" is the marketing budget. [Feb 2006, p.85]

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 78
  2. Negative: 19 out of 78
  1. DeanA.
    Mar 10, 2006
    10
    Dont listen to anything but excellent reports about this game! Its Great! XBox Live is better than playing story mode though!
  2. Rol
    Feb 3, 2006
    9
    Better than most reviews it's getting. It's cartoony visuals and physics and overall feel seem to be a problem for a lot of people Better than most reviews it's getting. It's cartoony visuals and physics and overall feel seem to be a problem for a lot of people .Next-gen doesn't have to be realistic there are other styles too. Multiplayer is probably the best on 360 at the moment. And the single player campaign is a grower with good scalable difficulty. Unless halo 2, for you, is the be all and end all of FPS, and all games must emulate its successes, this game is highly recommended. Expand
  3. AnonymousMC
    May 30, 2008
    9
    This game has a peculiar campaign. While the graphics shine and the levels are creatively designed, the story is the most lackluster piece ofThis game has a peculiar campaign. While the graphics shine and the levels are creatively designed, the story is the most lackluster piece of crap i've ever crossed, but you scratch this. The gameplay rocks, the scifi elements add shine, and the multiplayer rocks, and is one of the best games on the 360. Expand
  4. Mr.Review
    Aug 28, 2006
    7
    Considering that this is a launch title, it is quite an impresive game. Though it offers nothing new from the run and gun fps titles to Considering that this is a launch title, it is quite an impresive game. Though it offers nothing new from the run and gun fps titles to breach recent more current gen consoles, it has that graphical flair and approach people will be attached to; based simply upon the fact its a new system, new games, and we are all for it. As a stand alone title, Perfect dark Zero really does not dissappoint. i was afraid people would be taken aback by the mediocre reviews, and their impressionable minds would follow what the more justified opinions say. PDZ is very respectable, as a shooter and as a launch game. The action is fierce, and though the AI lacks, it is by no means awful. Naturally, the graphics are stunning. yes, the game could exist on original xbox with ease, and people look at PDZ as a rushed title with no reason to exist. Undoubtedly it was rushed, but it succeeds in tight controls melding with the perfect controller; stunning visuals; and such. The single player story is short and incoherent plot-wise, but I expect the majority will purchase this based on the online experience which can be obtained. I will be quite honest, I have never played PDZ online, but I can only assume it is mildly better than the actual death match mode. Split-screen is fun as hell, and the game is sol solid. Though it fails to excel in any one portion, it does everything decent. A rounded game, and at launch; it should be the most we expect. Expand
  5. R
    Jul 23, 2006
    6
    When Rare were churning out a large proportion of the N64's only real adult games (Conker's Bad Fur Day, Goldeneye, Perfect Dark), When Rare were churning out a large proportion of the N64's only real adult games (Conker's Bad Fur Day, Goldeneye, Perfect Dark), as well as other wider-audience ones, they were revolutionary. Since moving away from Nintendo, they have failed to up with the pace of modern gaming and games like this are now so average they really aren't worth looking into - what a shame. There are better games out there for this console, seen as just about every other game for the Xbox 360 is a first person shoot-em-up, it a difficult market to compete in. Expand
  6. MungbeanC.
    Dec 13, 2005
    5
    Beautiful to look at but hiding underneath the gloss is just an average shooter that play like 'XIII'. The solo game is very Beautiful to look at but hiding underneath the gloss is just an average shooter that play like 'XIII'. The solo game is very frustrating. It's hard to know where enemy fire is coming from , the enemies seem to be bulletproof, the voices are horrible, enemies look like they're in Judas Priest for some reason and the mission briefing is as pointless as it is confusing. Worst of all, you just don't care. Maybe the online experience is where the real fun is.Forget spending £50 on this game and buy Halflife 2 instead. This game should be embarrased to call itself a RARE title... Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2020
    0
    I hate this game and i wouldn´t wish this game even to my worst enemy,clunky contols, laughable voice acting, forgetabble story, charactersI hate this game and i wouldn´t wish this game even to my worst enemy,clunky contols, laughable voice acting, forgetabble story, characters from the original game are butchered and worst of all, killed the franchise. Don´t even bother with this game, Perfect Dark Zero is nothing but a franchise killer made for a quick buck. Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell

    30 Games That Emerged from Development Hell Image
    Published: June 23, 2011
    After 15 years in development limbo, Duke Nukem Forever finally arrived in stores last week, though game critics aren't rejoicing. We look at that and other long-delayed games that eventually managed to shed their vaporware status, with results ranging from maligned to sublime.