Project Gotham Racing 4 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 178 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Right from the starting line, Bizarre's vision for "PGR 4" was to create an emotionally-charged racing experience, where players become attached to their careers, profiles and vehicles. There are several new features that embody this emotional experience, the most significant being the newRight from the starting line, Bizarre's vision for "PGR 4" was to create an emotionally-charged racing experience, where players become attached to their careers, profiles and vehicles. There are several new features that embody this emotional experience, the most significant being the new career mode. Drivers are rewarded with a growing fanbase that'll cheer them on, react to their every move and support them through victory. One of the new gameplay elements is the dynamic weather system. Now racing through a track can mean facing an unexpected rain storm or snow flurries in the middle of a race. This results in changing physics when powering around a corner on the wet or icy surface in Shanghai and St. Petersburg or any of the game's 10 other locations. So, if you think driving on a dry track is boring... Flair and driving style now are just as important as technical skill, as players passing their opponent at full speed pump their fists and exhibit more emotion as they earn recognition with the revised Kudos system. The Kudos are worthwhile too, because the new A.I. personalities are be able to perform bold new driving maneuvers as they race side by side with other drivers. [Microsoft] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Project Gotham Racing 4 Official Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. Official Xbox Magazine UK
    100
    The presentation, the career game, the online stuff, the load times...everything's better. And with streets packed with spectators, signs and flags, it's a much more vibrant lace than Gotham's sterile cities of old. We simply have no alternative but to crown Gotham 4 the best racing game on Xbox 360. [Nov 2007, p.102]
  2. Not without its issues, but they're so minor they don't stop it from being the best racing experience on Xbox 360. Or of the current generation.
  3. Kudos must be given to Bizarre for not being lazy on this one as can so often be the case with final installments.
  4. Loaded with content and the driving is generally tight, it just fails to break any sort of new ground.
  5. With magnificent visuals, a ton of vehicles, and a beefy single and multiplayer experience, PGR4 is a great way to quench that speed demon thirst.
  6. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    83
    Perfectly tuned to the 360 controller, it's killer racing action for newbie and veteran alike. [Dec 2007, p.123]
  7. PGR4 makes a lot of absurd decisions ranging from motorcycles to Lady Sovereign to unreadable menus to Quebec. While the core gameplay is the about the same as it has always been, the one good upgrade, the weather effects, isn’t enough to maintain PGR’s earlier decent showing.

See all 60 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 2 out of 38
  1. CiaranG.
    Oct 13, 2007
    10
    Puts Forza Motorsport 2 to shame. In all respects the best racing game on any console right now - the graphics, the presentation, the Puts Forza Motorsport 2 to shame. In all respects the best racing game on any console right now - the graphics, the presentation, the excitement, the attention to detail, the sound, the music, the cars, the cities, the realism, the weather effects, the photo mode, the replays... Not only the best racing game, possibly the best game on Xbox 360 and definitely one of the best I've ever played. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    10
    I'm new to the PGR franchise, but am loving it. it's not a pure simulator..but it's not all arcade death either. It has great graphics andI'm new to the PGR franchise, but am loving it. it's not a pure simulator..but it's not all arcade death either. It has great graphics and excellent driver views. I love the **** angle with the full instrument panel in full-view..without it interfering with my view of the track. :) Hell, you even have bikes and cars racing against each other...another enjoyable novelty. Really, I could list tiny details all day... this is just an all around excellent game. For racers, a must-have. Expand
  3. Jan 31, 2017
    10
    Este juegazo de carreras es la ultima evolución de lo que para la dreamcast fue Metropolis Street Racer. un videojuego de conducción basado enEste juegazo de carreras es la ultima evolución de lo que para la dreamcast fue Metropolis Street Racer. un videojuego de conducción basado en la simulación con toques arcades en la cual se premia al jugador por conducir bien, tomar las curvas bien y a mejor velocidad con los famosos Kudos. este juego tiene un despliege magnifico de gráficos, música y plantilla de vehículos que en esta edición aparte también tenemos motocicletas. así mismo motos! los vehículos poseen daño visible y funcional, los efectos climáticos son barbaros, modo carrera que al principio es sencillo pero poco a poco se va incrementando la dificultad y el reto. modo online, etc etc etc. junto con Gran Turismo, Forza y Shift. fue el pilar del genero de conducción de hace menos de 10 años. Expand
  4. SeanB.
    Oct 8, 2007
    9
    This is a very good racing game. I've never played any of the other PGR games, so as a newcomer to the series I'm really impressed This is a very good racing game. I've never played any of the other PGR games, so as a newcomer to the series I'm really impressed with it. The graphics are amazing (this is what Forza 2 should've looked like!). The controls are smooth, the online play is "lag-free" and the achievements seem reasonably obtainable. Definitely worth a rent. Expand
  5. LiamM
    Sep 6, 2008
    9
    To be honest, there's a lot of variety in PGR4 and it's similar to Gadget Racers for the PS2. In the Arcade and Career mode you To be honest, there's a lot of variety in PGR4 and it's similar to Gadget Racers for the PS2. In the Arcade and Career mode you don't just have to race for the finish. You can do speed challenge or superstar mode where you drift to gain stars. There's also the cone attack mode where you hit the cones like a bowling ball. Anyway, the graphics are stunning on an HD television, the weather effects are brilliant. My favourite effect is the "Wet" where the puddles are still there but the rain isn't pouring down. Although the developers are putting down the PGR license. I think there are a few events missing. Apart from the chase on multiplayer mode I think they could have done it on Single Player mode as well. The Route creator has been taken out sadly and most of the items in the PGR shop are on buying more cars for career mode and not on more tracks. There are no Tournament plays in single player mode. But I personally think that this game is slightly better than Forza since ther's no too much repetition. Expand
  6. Jul 11, 2015
    8
    PGR4, presented as the last game to approach this franchise (due to some problems with Bizarre Studios) does a pretty solid job doing so.PGR4, presented as the last game to approach this franchise (due to some problems with Bizarre Studios) does a pretty solid job doing so. Right as the opening movie plays and ends, you know you’re up for a really intense, emotional ride. While there isn’t any actual story mode, there is a single player campaign mode where you race in tournaments to increase your rank, eventually increasing your car selection/class and motorcycles. Oh yeah, motorcycles - they’re pretty cool, but for me, not a new feature that I incorporate into my gaming. The single player custom match mode is really fun, where you can customise each race to a great extent, and I found myself spending a lot of time. While there is a lot to say, I have to keep this review short, and just tell you this - out of the four PGR games, this one comes in as the second best one. The solid graphics, good car selection, gameplay, and custom matches + multiplayer are all very very solid! The menus and all that are also very stylish (dynamic main menu theme? cool)

    Gameplay: 9/10
    Story: N/A/10
    Music: 8.5/10
    Presentation: 9.5/10
    Length: 7.5/10
    Overall: 8.5/10
    Expand
  7. Jul 18, 2017
    2
    Probably the worst racing game I've ever played. handling is basically non-existent, and all the cars are given to you at once. Unlike ForzaProbably the worst racing game I've ever played. handling is basically non-existent, and all the cars are given to you at once. Unlike Forza Motorsport 2/3, you earn money by drifting. Racing here is almost impossible like trying to race in this game is like trying to butter corn that's on a drill with a spoon. Drifting is almost impossible since you always over-drift. If you want actual handling in racing or if you want a good racing game with actual customization, look at Forza Motorsport 2/3, Need For Speed: Carbon, and Need For Speed: Most Wanted. Expand

See all 38 User Reviews