The Walking Dead: 400 Days Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Join five new characters as they struggle to survive in The Walking Dead: 400 Days

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    95
    The perfect bridge between Season One and Two of The Walking Dead, 400 Days expertly sets up new characters in fun, interesting bite-sized chunks that will do nothing but get fans more hyped for Season Two.
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    90
    Clementine may be nowhere to be found here, but 400 Days is nonetheless a strong entry in the Walking Dead series. It's short, but it packs a lot into every single minute of gameplay. While the game might seem like a cursory attempt to keep fans tided over until season two debuts later in 2013, it is actually one of the most imaginative, gripping, brutal, and best-written stories that you will experience all year.
  3. Jul 8, 2013
    83
    400 Days is an experience that no fan of the first season of The Walking Dead should miss. Although it's a shorter experience and lacks the same intensity, drama and shocking moments of Lee's and Clementine's story, it maintains that unique concept and freedom to decide the fate of the characters and those around them.
  4. Jul 3, 2013
    80
    Striking and intense moments make up the bulk of 400 Days' appeal.
  5. Jul 11, 2013
    80
    400 Days is a good introduction to five all new characters. Telltale delivers the same amazing storytelling that makes you want to move to the edge of your seat. 400 Days is a short but immersive way to get gamers ready for The Walking Dead: Season 2.
  6. Jul 30, 2013
    75
    Although I've spent more time in this review on the rough spots of The Walking Dead: 400 Days than I did on what was right, it's still refreshing to play a title that puts its focus on something besides large-scale slaughter, and Telltale's take on The Walking Dead remains one of the most compelling intellectual properties in gaming today. If my biggest criticism of 400 Days is that there wasn't enough of it, that can only be seen as a good thing.
  7. Jul 15, 2013
    50
    The narrative experiments are definitely awesome, but you can’t just put style over substance, especially when all the same problems return. Hitchy framerates, action sequences that hang too long and make you fail them at least once thanks to technical error, the fact that you want to say something but your character doesn’t give you the option.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. Jul 5, 2013
    10
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a DLC Episode for The Walking Dead: Season 1 created by Telltale Games, this story follows 5 new characters andThe Walking Dead: 400 Days is a DLC Episode for The Walking Dead: Season 1 created by Telltale Games, this story follows 5 new characters and does not follow Clementine. These 5 new stories are short, brutal, unique situations with 27 characters in total. 400 Days is supposed to be a new experience, but with the awesome Walking Dead atmosphere. These new experiences bring in very interesting situations with a lot of variations, and i love them all, even though i love Clementine, we always need something new.

    Now, as this is 5 new characters that we only have around 15-30 min with, we only get to know them in a very short amount of time, sometimes they tell about themselves to a person they just met, or you just have to listen to people talking with that person about maybe their sister or what crime they committed etc. For the most part, this works, but sometimes you can get a little lost. You also don't get the same attachments with these characters considering it's only 15-30 min with them, unlike Lee and Clementine, in which we had 10 hours to connect with them. But these 5 stories are intense, scary, brutal, and still emotional even though the short time. They all even have their own tone, which is really nice!

    The thing that i also like, is all the connections, because of these connections, i'd recommend you play through the stories by the time, Vince (2nd day) first, and last, Shel (236). You might remember a choice you made in Season 1 or in the previous story, and you might see a character from Season 1 or another story, and my reaction was either sad, happy, or just simply "OH MY GOD!!!". 400 Days is also full of plenty suprises along the way.

    The only negative about it is its short length.

    Sadly i can't give it a 9.5 here at Metacritic so i'll just give it a 10 :).

    www.youtube.com/headshotprolol

    -William
    Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    Love it. A bit short, but it was awesome nonetheless. Love how your choices actually affect the end, and that little scene in one of theLove it. A bit short, but it was awesome nonetheless. Love how your choices actually affect the end, and that little scene in one of the stories (spoiler free) made me smile Expand
  3. Jul 9, 2013
    9
    I'm edging towards an 8.5/10 for this one. I love The Walking Dead episodes that Telltale has made, they've vastly superior to the TV seriesI'm edging towards an 8.5/10 for this one. I love The Walking Dead episodes that Telltale has made, they've vastly superior to the TV series and the monstrosity of a game that we know as TWD: Survival Instincts. Here we have 5 new characters and we follow their brief stories that last around 15-20 minutes max. Some of the characters you instantly get a connection for, such as Russell, Vince, and even Shel. I wasn't incredibly keen on Bonnie or Wyatt, but they're character and they have the same issues and traits as people we see everyday. The gameplay varies between each characters, some being constant dialogue and decision making evens, and other have you explore your environment. It's an excellent balance and each story is interesting and it all leads to an excellent epilogue and a glimpse towards the future of Telltale's superb Walking Dead story. My only complaint is that the entire thing took me a little over an hour to beat, pretty short, with that some of the dialogue has more to be desired of. Keep an eye out for an old friend if you've played the original 5 episodes, this is a great piece of DLC to add the Telltale's amazing Walking Dead series. Expand
  4. Jul 28, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So maybe 400 Days wasn't as good as the regular season, but I will tell you, it is still a damn good episode. This DLC includes 5 playable characters who each possess a story of their own in surviving this zombie apocalypse. What I like about this episode in particular is pretty much the obvious, all of your choices you make with the characters affect what happens in the future, which is cool and one of the main reasons why I like this game in general. But my only problems with this episode are pretty much the obvious, the characters aren't really easy to get attached to like Lee was in the first season episodes, and each persons story goes really fast, like 20-30 minutes, so nothing much really happens. Although I felt that this was a good bridge between the first and second season however, its not the best, but still very good. Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    8
    The Walking Dead: 400 Days is a fun dlc for an already great game by Telltale. Although it feels somewhat divided, it is a fun experience thatThe Walking Dead: 400 Days is a fun dlc for an already great game by Telltale. Although it feels somewhat divided, it is a fun experience that should not be missed Expand
  6. Aug 15, 2013
    8
    There has yet to be an episode of The Walking Dead that I did not enjoy, and this is no exception. The only problem with this episode is itThere has yet to be an episode of The Walking Dead that I did not enjoy, and this is no exception. The only problem with this episode is it that only whets your appetite.. You don't get enough to feel satisfied. What we do get though, certainly has me excited for the coming season 2. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2013
    6
    The shortest episode ever. Maybe it is too soon to judge, but after playing the episode I don't care any of the new characters. All the backThe shortest episode ever. Maybe it is too soon to judge, but after playing the episode I don't care any of the new characters. All the back stories feel lame and uninteresting. Hope it will get better. For this episode, gameplay: 7. Story: 3. Expand

See all 23 User Reviews