Metro Exodus Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 456 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, andIn Metro Exodus, Artyom and a band of survivors must flee the shattered ruins of the Moscow Metro and embark on an epic, continent-spanning journey across the post-apocalyptic Russian wilderness. Explore vast, non-linear levels, lose yourself in an immersive, sandbox survival experience, and follow a story-line that spans an entire year in the greatest Metro adventure yet. [Deep Silver] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metro Exodus - Official Trailer | Gamescom 2018
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Feb 13, 2019
    91
    Metro Exodus is the perfect survival experience for the next gen. The game has all the ingredients to be the best game in the trilogy.
  2. Feb 13, 2019
    90
    Exodus's combat has room for improvement, particularly when it comes to enemy A.I. behavior. The gunplay is tight and well-built, with an emphasis on customization, allowing you to play how you want to play. While I'm hoping polish patches come in thick and fast after launch, even when you acknowledge the game's rough edges Metro Exodus is among the best first-person shooters you can get right now.
  3. Feb 24, 2019
    87
    Metro Exodus stays true to the series' roots while adding a very welcome open world component an greater variety both in environments and gameplay, with a more intimate story than before. Having awesome graphics doesn't hurt, either.
  4. Feb 13, 2019
    80
    Fluctuating like a Geiger Counter between nihilism and utopianism, this game’s muddy morality is a thing of beauty in the current climate and could be one of 2019’s most important games as a result.
  5. 80
    A brilliant expansion of the Metro saga, Exodus connects sections of familiar claustrophobic, immersive horror with a beautiful semi-open world and a new twist on the fantastic and oppressive retro future vibe.
  6. Feb 13, 2019
    76
    As you might be sensing, Metro Exodus makes me feel severely conflicted. On one hand, I appreciate the characters and atmosphere, but on the other, I think it needed some more time. Features like individual volume sliders for voices and music are missing, the general button layout is awkward, and button presses don’t always respond as I’d expect. Mix that in with the bugs, and we have a package that has the structure for excellence but was set loose on the world too soon. In my heart, I have strong feelings for Exodus, but I’ll forever be haunted by how outstanding a few more layers of polish could’ve made it.
  7. 60
    Following off the stellar Metro 2033 and Last Light, Exodus feels like a misstep for this series. This series has built a reputation on its quality, but Exodus falls flat in some ways that truly matter.

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 89
  2. Negative: 23 out of 89
  1. Feb 22, 2019
    10
    This game is all-around great! They really capture the atmosphere of underground and open-world. This game is what Fallout 4 should have been.This game is all-around great! They really capture the atmosphere of underground and open-world. This game is what Fallout 4 should have been. No joke! The story is pretty linear for the first few hours, but it opens up later. Get ready for a lot to happen in the first 3 hours! The whole Metro story changes with a twist.

    Combat is great, the guns are fun and unique. It's more about avoiding conflicts rather than going head-on. Ammo is scarce and so are resources. Once you fire a weapon all nearby creatures will hunt you down, so stealth is preferred.

    The graphics on Xbox One X are amazing. The developers said the best experience would be on Xbox. Compared to most other games released in the last 3-4 years, this is one of the best and most complete.

    One thing: long load times. So long I thought the game froze. You have to sit there for a good 2 minutes sometimes when first loading a game.
    Expand
  2. Feb 24, 2019
    10
    The best game of 2019 so far. Definitely worth your hard earned money!

    just buy it, you will not regret :)
  3. Feb 15, 2019
    10
    Played on Xbox One X.

    1. Awesome atmosphere, story, gameplay
    2. Amazing graphics and design
    3. Simply "Game Of The Year" for me
  4. Feb 17, 2019
    8
    Keep in mind that a lot of user reviews here are spammed. Read through the negative reviews and you will notice that the same written reviewKeep in mind that a lot of user reviews here are spammed. Read through the negative reviews and you will notice that the same written review was posted by multiple users. I had a lot of fun with Exodus. Granted I didn't love it as much as the previous games but it is still a Metro experience that is definitely worth your time. Exodus is super atmospheric, the graphics were improved quite a bit, and the narrative was engaging enough to make me want to see what happens next. Also the relationships that are forged throughout the game was awesome to see first hand. Each character has their own story to tell. I would loved to sit around on the train (your base of operations) and just listen to all the characters talk about themselves, situation, past, etc. I have heard a bit about some bugs and glitches but aside from 1 or 2 frame rate dips, nothing bad enough to hurt my impressions of the game. I'm on the basic xbox one s. I actually really enjoyed the open areas. I didn't love the Humanimals. They were more annoying to deal with than fun. There isn't really any central villain to speak of which I kind of feel like hurts the game's story a bit. Like I said though I am a huge fan of Metro, and although I liked previous titles more, Exodus still did a fantastic job at keeping me engaged. Expand
  5. Mar 14, 2019
    7
    Es un buen juego para mi, admito que al principio del juego era aburrido y casi lo dejo de jugar pero después de jugarlo un tiempo el juego vaEs un buen juego para mi, admito que al principio del juego era aburrido y casi lo dejo de jugar pero después de jugarlo un tiempo el juego va cobrando vida se pone muy interesante, lo malo de este juego es que te enfrentas muchísimo a humanos y muy pocas veces a mutantes a menos que te desvíes del trama principal, hay partes donde hay muchísima narrativa y es estresante porque lo que quieres es moverte. En este juego recompensa el sigilo como las otras entregas, a mi no me gusta y yo voy a por la acción pero en verdad es difícil casi te obligan a hacerlo en sigilo y eso no me gusta. Los controles se me hacían demasiado incómodos tuve que pasar un buen rato para estar conforme. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2019
    4
    I am not a hater and I am not a troll. I loved Metro 2033 and liked Metro Last Light though was slightly disappointed by it. This game isI am not a hater and I am not a troll. I loved Metro 2033 and liked Metro Last Light though was slightly disappointed by it. This game is not anything like either of those games. First of all it is not a shooter! The game wants you to run past enemies and some of them even surrender. The atmosphere that made the first game so awesome is ruined by the endless inane dialogue and your nagging wife. Seriously, I walk up to someone to listen to what they have to say and then walk away thinking they are finished and they keep talking. How does that make you immerse yourself in the game? You have to craft everything and are always running out of ammo and filters even if you explore and find things. Even on the easiest difficulty I am dying constantly. I am not a rookie gamer and have finished and 100%ed many games so I don't think it is just me. If you guys want to make a movie then go do that but this is supposed to be a game. Games need to be immersive and fun to play and this one just makes me mad. I am giving it a 4 for the beauty of the game but I hated it and will not finish it. Wait for a sale gamers because this one is a giant loser in my opinion. Don't give us an RPG when we buy a shooter. If I wanted to craft I would buy Fallout or Minecraft. Expand
  7. Jun 12, 2019
    0
    This game is terrible. I have never been so dissapointed. I was expecting on of the best titles, with high resolution and performance on XboxThis game is terrible. I have never been so dissapointed. I was expecting on of the best titles, with high resolution and performance on Xbox One X. I watched trailers before game release and they were awesome. I tried to play it but:
    1. big graphics downgrade in compare to trailers obviously.
    2. controls are so clunky that it is almost impossible shoot, aiming is a ****
    3. some missions are so boring and not clear that I found some glitches
    4. movement is not precise enought to feel the game.
    5. FPS drops all the time.
    6. a lot of bugs.
    7. it crashes on Xbox One - that is incredible

    I was so tired plaing that game that uninstalled it after 2 hours. I tried PC version and similar story. After 1,5 hour game crashed without saving. The biggest dissapointment I have ever had in terms of gaming.
    Expand

See all 89 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. 2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games

    2019 Videogame Preview: 45 Most-Anticipated Games Image
    Published: January 10, 2019
    Here are the most noteworthy games expected to be released in 2019 for PlayStation 4, Xbox One, Switch, and PC.
  2. 2018 Videogame Preview: Xbox One

    2018 Videogame Preview: Xbox One Image
    Published: January 18, 2018
    Find details on over 30 of the most-anticipated games headed to the Xbox One in 2018.