Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
Buy On
  1. Aug 22, 2018
    85
    Inquisitor Martyr is a great game despite the occasional technical flaw. There’s no shortage of mission, weapon and enemy variation within, making for a Diablo-like experience that’s faithful to the source material. Support for local and online co-op is present, though, regardless as to whether you go into this as a solo player or with friends, Inquisitor Martyr’s engaging gameplay will keep you firmly entertained.
  2. Sep 28, 2018
    80
    Warhammer 40000 Inquisitor Martyr gives us a game that despite not being the best in performance, it does guarantee us a lot of hours of fun through a system of missions that could have no end, and with the possibility of playing them in cooperation with friends.
  3. Aug 26, 2018
    80
    If you are looking for a different aRPG experience than usual, this can be a very good option. The strength of the Warhammer atmosphere offers a change in the usual mechanics, giving a wide range of options to tackle tactical action. It is not perfect, but its campaign, the procedural generated quests and the cooperative multiplayer give enough to enjoy it.
  4. Aug 31, 2018
    75
    True to the Warhammer 40 000’s universe, Warhammer 40 000 Inquisitor Martyr is a fun hack’n slash game, with its local co-op multiplayer. But its graphics feel dated and the whole thing is pretty repetitive.
  5. Aug 31, 2018
    72
    In terms of content and base mechanics this is just as good as on PC, but Neocore still has problems to translate their engine to console. And it shows in a lot of areas - especially on the standard systems.
  6. Oct 26, 2018
    70
    There are plenty of enjoyable elements to be had but with repetition proving heavy throughout, you have to be prepared for the grind to really get the most out of this Warhammer-RPG.
  7. Sep 18, 2018
    65
    Warhammer 40,000: Inquisitor Martyr (told you the name was ridiculous) is a solid game that I had a lot of fun with…once I got past its blemishes. A patch or two and this game might be a must-own for ARPG fans. Right now though, it is hard to recommend due to its hindrances.
  8. Sep 6, 2018
    65
    An enjoyable enough adventure through Warhammer 40K’s dark future that never quite manages to exhilarate you.
  9. Sep 5, 2018
    65
    A great proposal if you are a Warhammer fan, but not that much if you aren't and it's a bit uglier than the original PC version.
  10. Aug 22, 2018
    65
    Warhammer 40K: Inquisitor – Martyr is a pretty solid ARPG from NeocoreGames with some neat ideas – like procedurally generated dungeons – but it’s far too frustrating and repetitive for a mere mortal like myself. If grind is your name though, you should probably change it, but at least you’ll like Martyr.
  11. Sep 10, 2018
    60
    I wanted to like this marriage of Warhammer and action-RPG. Really like it. And initially I did, but the honeymoon was over pretty damn quickly. The hotel room was nasty and bug infested. The food invaried and bland. And the wife who looked so radiant on the day, lost most of her appeal when her skills and abilities were found to be lacklustre and severely limited.
User Score
3.9

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 7 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 4 out of 7
  1. Aug 29, 2018
    8
    I noticed quite quickly that the game has lots of variety in a number of different areas and this without a doubt made things stay fresh andI noticed quite quickly that the game has lots of variety in a number of different areas and this without a doubt made things stay fresh and interesting for longer. The game is both fun playing on your own and with friends and I’m pleased to say that the online components hold up really well throughout.
    In terms of content the game has a decent amount for you to get to grips and you will no doubt return back to this game time and time again. You can do a lot of customisation to your character and taking them into battle very rarely gets dull because the combat is pretty decent. Each element in the game combines together really well and I was pleased that they didn’t try to make doing certain things too complicated. There isn’t really anything wrong with the presentation side of the game I just felt it to be a little boring and nothing much stood out here. The story may be good in parts but overall it failed to keep me interested and I’ve seen better. Does Warhammer 40,000: Inquisitor – Martyr do enough to get a recommendation from me? Warhammer 40k: Inquisitor – Martyr has had its release day pushed back several times on the Xbox One and whilst this was pretty frustrating I’m kinda glad that they did because they’ve released a game that has very few problems and it offers you a smooth experience throughout. The smooth experience though isn’t the highlight of the game for me though because I’ve reserved that for the variety the game has. I’m not exaggerating when I say that every aspect of the game has variety and when you combine that variety with the game’s different elements you end up having a very enjoyable experience even when you play on your own. I would however recommend that you play this game with friends because this is when the gameplay truly shines and thankfully I’m pleased to say that the game doesn’t have many problems at all when played online. This then means that Warhammer 40k: Inquisitor – Martyr gets a big thumbs up from me because it goes about everything the right way.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 1, 2018
    0
    The game feels more like a very long concept demo rather then a fully fleshed game. The
    itemization is the worst I have ever seen in ARPG,
    The game feels more like a very long concept demo rather then a fully fleshed game. The
    itemization is the worst I have ever seen in ARPG, seems that the only thing that matters is quality (ilvl in other games) and not actual stats. Sometimes you get to a point where for several levels the items can roll exactly the same stats ranges but the quality level raises anyway?!?. It is a broken game, I really regret having bought it full price. There are other things like bugs and the very small and boring maps. Save money and time, play something else.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 5, 2019
    1
    Broken and boring...no coop (a random character is not coop) game play is slow and always online even for solo play is a detriment to gameplay.