Paramount Pictures | Release Date: December 23, 2022
6.9
USER SCORE
Generally favorable reviews based on 107 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
76
Mixed:
9
Negative:
22
Watch Now
Stream On
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
7
sassymahDec 23, 2022
The compelling performances and amazing production value are the saving graces of this torrid film. I really hope Margot Robbie, Diego Calva, and the always solid Brad Pitt receive Oscar nominations for their great , raw, and mesmerizingThe compelling performances and amazing production value are the saving graces of this torrid film. I really hope Margot Robbie, Diego Calva, and the always solid Brad Pitt receive Oscar nominations for their great , raw, and mesmerizing work. It is a tragedy and a dark comedy about ambition and excess. Expand
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
10
amm100Jan 4, 2023
YES I was waiting for this kind of movie. I loved BABYLON. Definitely one of my favorite movies of 2022. This movie was such a great cinematic experience (I think this movie will be much great especially if you see it in big screen).
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
9
ZeldaNerdDec 24, 2022
This may just be the absolute definition of a flawed masterpiece. This movie pulled off something so precious, so delicate, so unattainably great, but at the cost of reaching true perfection. Damien Chazelle and Justin Hurwitz have craftedThis may just be the absolute definition of a flawed masterpiece. This movie pulled off something so precious, so delicate, so unattainably great, but at the cost of reaching true perfection. Damien Chazelle and Justin Hurwitz have crafted another musical masterpiece, but one with flawed pacing and too many characters. But the highs are so damn high, it's worth the three hour runtime and uneven pacing. Expand
8 of 9 users found this helpful81
All this user's reviews
8
davemelbourne58Dec 27, 2022
Big screen shenanigans set against the backdrop of late 1920's Hollywood as they moved away from "silent" movies to talkies. Great cast. Tremendous set pieces/choreography. It loses it's way in the last 45 minutes. It's a trainwreck, but oneBig screen shenanigans set against the backdrop of late 1920's Hollywood as they moved away from "silent" movies to talkies. Great cast. Tremendous set pieces/choreography. It loses it's way in the last 45 minutes. It's a trainwreck, but one hell of a train wreck. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
nnogohkoDec 28, 2022
One of the most wild and unique theatrical experience of the year. The first time I saw it, I was very mixed on it. The second time I saw it, I still think the movie is very unfocused and I am still not sure what Damien Chazelle is trying toOne of the most wild and unique theatrical experience of the year. The first time I saw it, I was very mixed on it. The second time I saw it, I still think the movie is very unfocused and I am still not sure what Damien Chazelle is trying to say. That being said, the performances are phenomenal, especially Margot Robbie and Diego Calva. Brad Pitt is also great but his character isn't as memorable as Cliff Booth. I think this movie is getting unnecessary hate due to its content but everyone has to give this a try since the technical aspects are so phenomenal that it honestly blows away everything else. Judging this movie based on the first two hours, this movie is hands down the most entertaining of the year. Damien Chazelle's directing is just so overwhelmingly energetic and Justin Hurwitz's score is the best of the year period. This movie also looks stunning, Linus Sandgren injecting that same magic he did to Lalaland and First Man. The story towards the end loses steam a bit and it is really chaotic throughout but that is because the first couple of hours were just so adrenaline fueled. Although it might be Damien Chazelle's most messy movie, for me the technical elements elevates this higher than other period dramas. I think there aren't alot of movies like this made that often, $100 million budget movies with a great cast, director and high production value like Ford v Ferrari and The Last Duel. They are better movies than Babylon but this movie simply just existing makes me happy. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
8
MattyIce34Dec 23, 2022
It’s a lot, and not all of it works. But what does work, the performances, production design, score, and Chazelle’s ode to classic cinema, leaves you in a trance. Certainly too long/indulgent, but worth the trip in my eyes.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
nutpnutpDec 24, 2022
One of my favorite movies of 2022. Damien Chazelle’s directing was amazing, acting was amazing… everything was amazing.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
8
dcmarloweDec 24, 2022
Great perspective look at the end of the silent movie era. The lavish parties, drugs, and wild lifestyles, are all there. The movie, is too long, and drags on toward the ending.
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
10
ThisIsCINEMADec 28, 2022
As Martin Scorsese would say, this is cinema!
Margot Robbie deserves an academy award
8 of 10 users found this helpful82
All this user's reviews
9
LuissDt2Dec 23, 2022
Damien Chazelle's mission with Babylon is simple. Being a love letter and a hate letter to Hollywood at the same time, Babylon shows us an overly ambitious script and a strange direction but with a fierce and brilliant cast, a magnificentDamien Chazelle's mission with Babylon is simple. Being a love letter and a hate letter to Hollywood at the same time, Babylon shows us an overly ambitious script and a strange direction but with a fierce and brilliant cast, a magnificent production design, great costumes and makeup and Hurwitz brings us what It could be his best score of his career.

Babylon is an ambitiously Hollywood-worthy party
Expand
7 of 9 users found this helpful72
All this user's reviews
10
holygodnessDec 23, 2022
This movie was amazing! Acting, directing, story, cinematography… all of them were perfect. I think it’s one of my favorites of the year. Highly recommend.
11 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
10
LoverBoy36Dec 23, 2022
As old hollywood movies(Singin’ in the Rain, Casablanca, etc…) lover, this movie was perfection. Such a fun ride. Especially, ending left me speechless.
8 of 11 users found this helpful83
All this user's reviews
8
TVJerryDec 24, 2022
This 3-hour epic traces the lives and careers of 3 people during the heyday of 20s and 30s Hollywood. Brad Pitt plays a leading man with confidence and restrained flair, Margo Robbie goes wild as a woman who's dying to be a star and DiegoThis 3-hour epic traces the lives and careers of 3 people during the heyday of 20s and 30s Hollywood. Brad Pitt plays a leading man with confidence and restrained flair, Margo Robbie goes wild as a woman who's dying to be a star and Diego Calva's quiet determination remains the constant when the others careen out of control. Whereas Tarantino's Once Upon a Time in Hollywood (my review) was his dark, sometimes violent ode to LA, writer/director Damien Chazelle has opted for a musical love letter with a side of decadence. There are wild parties, movie magic moments and personal tragedies all presented in a furious fashion. Although the narrative sprawls at times and most of the plot is predictable, Chazelle's unbridled passion for motion pictures is demonstrated in his masterful staging and glorious excess (although that closing montage got weird before it ended). Expand
5 of 7 users found this helpful52
All this user's reviews
9
moviemitch96Dec 23, 2022
WOW... That was one of the most outrageous things I've seen in a LONG time. Written and directed by Damien Chazelle ('Whiplash', 'La La Land '), this film chronicles the lives of several individuals in Hollywood and their various rises toWOW... That was one of the most outrageous things I've seen in a LONG time. Written and directed by Damien Chazelle ('Whiplash', 'La La Land '), this film chronicles the lives of several individuals in Hollywood and their various rises to fame, along with others' downfall into washed-up times, from the inception of film in the early 20s silent era all the way to talking and technicolor pictures in the 50s. There's the young, promising, and aspiring starlet (Margot Robbie) who falls prey to drugs, alcohol, and the glamorous and hard-partying celebrity life, the washed-up silent film star (Brad Pitt) facing his harsh reality and gradual descent into irrelevancy in the sound era, the Hispanic aspiring filmmaker (Diego Calva) who becomes a powerful Hollywood mogul, etc. So many wild and zany characters populate this sprawling, epic, and very lengthy endeavor of a film (3 hours and 9 minutes to be exact), and it may all seem like a bit too much for some to handle. Well, anyone who has their reservations or if they were to ask me to sum up this film to them, to that I'd say this: This film is the resulting love child if 'The Wolf of Wall Street', 'The Great Gatsby', 'Once Upon a Time in Hollywood', and 'Boogie Nights' all came together for a foursome. Ya... It's even more insane than it sounds, trust me. However, believe it or not, this mostly didn't hinder my enjoyment of this film in the slightest. While it may seem incredibly drawn out, scattershot, or all over the place at times, I couldn't help but find myself taking pleasure and joy out of the chaos and experience as a whole. I found myself completely drawn in and exhilerated by damn near every second of those nearly three and a quarter hours. Raunchy parties, hard drugs, bloody violence, and plenty of profanity to go around, this film is packed to the brim with it all. Everything but the kitchen sink. It was all so wild and incredibly entertaining, at least to me it was (this film will no doubt prove polarizing for most audiences.) Production values are top-notch here, with the set pieces and costume design all dazzling from start to finish. Chazelle's go-to composer Justin Hurwitz also gives us a frenetic and upeat jazzy and memorable score in the same vein of 'Whiplash' and 'La La Land'. As for the performances, there's so many great and memorable ones here, I don't even know where to begin. Robbie gives what's probably her career-best here. Pitt is in top form as usual here. Even relative newcomer Diego Calva puts on a solid lead performance here. Other scene-stealing supporting turns include Jean Smart as an icy gossip columnist and Tobey Maguire as one coked up creepy mobster. His scene alone is probably one of the more memorable (and genuinely disturbing) parts of the film for better or worse. Going back to the story, like I said before, it may feel all over the place for a lot of it, seemingly losing its sense of direction well into the second half of the film. However, I found this to be the rare film where the chaos actually came together to work perfectly in most respects. By the time the film finally reached its admittedly drawn out and somewhat self-indulgent final scene, I was unquestionably and thoroughly exhausted (in the best way possible.) It's another one of those films that provided me with a unique and too rarely felt unforgettable cinematic experience, and yet another one that reaffirms why I love films so much in the first place. Overall, a complete sensory overload of a film with the hefty runtime, top-notch cast/performances, incredible production values, score, etc., and debauchery and graphic content on all fronts to boot. Not only is this far and out one of my absolute favorite films of the year, but I think I may have found myself an all new favorite guilty pleasure right alongside 'The Wolf of Wall Street'. Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
LibratinaDec 23, 2022
the best movie of the year. Margot Robbie outdid herself. She deserves to win all the awards for this movie. Diego Calva will be a huge star soon. I hope Margot's third Oscar nom and win is coming along with Diego Calva's first Oscarthe best movie of the year. Margot Robbie outdid herself. She deserves to win all the awards for this movie. Diego Calva will be a huge star soon. I hope Margot's third Oscar nom and win is coming along with Diego Calva's first Oscar nomination.

Damien Chazelle can easily win his second Oscar. I am sure Babylon will snatch many awards.

I needed more of Tobey Maguire and Samara Weaving.

Australia took over the Hollywood. Margot Robbie, Samara Weaving, Flea and Phoebe Tonking all are in a movie.

Li Jun Li is a scene stealer Jean Smart is legendary cool.

In conclusion, the movie is amazing and worth of watching. You won't regret!
Expand
9 of 13 users found this helpful94
All this user's reviews
10
FilmLover22Dec 23, 2022
Talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique, completely not ever been done before, unafraid to reference or not reference.
I love, love, love, love Babylon and Damien Chazelle's genius
Talented, brilliant, incredible, amazing, show stopping, spectacular, never the same, totally unique, completely not ever been done before, unafraid to reference or not reference.
I love, love, love, love Babylon and Damien Chazelle's genius mind. Margot Robbie is a star. Her best role to date. Nellie is crazy. She is free, she is talented, she is herself, she is sad, she is tragic. Her whole life was a big tragedy. I don't want to spoil anything. All I am gonna say is, it's written in the stars, Nellie LaRoy is a star and so is Margot Robbie. I don't care about critics reviews, this woman is insanely talented and deserves all the awards in the world.
Diego Calva. Wow. What an actor! Hollywood needs this man. He is going to be a big star. I am in love with Manny Torres. What a character. A man with big dreams, huge heart and a huge love for Nellie.
Brad Pitt, he basically is playing himself. When you watch the movie and know the history of Brad Pitt, you will know what am I talking about.
Katherine Waterston made me laugh every time she showed up on screen. What a show stealer, just like Li Jun Li. Li Jun Li stole the show every time she appeared on screen. She is a heart and soul of the film in my opinion. I needed more of her, Tobey Maguire and Samara Weaving. Especially Tobey and Samara. I'd love to see more of Phoebe Tonkin too.
Jovan Adepo and Jean Smart are genius. I loved every second with them.
I wanted to punch Eric Roberts every time I saw him on screen and it ain't insult to him. His acting was great and it made me want to punch him.
I want to say more, so many things, but I can't do it without spoilers. I'll just say, I love Damien Chazelle and his brilliant, genius mind. Yet, I don't know how I feel about ending. I didn't hate it like so many people. I just don't know how I feel about it.
I highly recommend this film. Genuine question to all the people who hated it. Did we watch the same movie? Cause I don't understand the hatred to it. Not liking the movie is one. Hating and talking **** about it is another. I can understand those people who disliked it, but can not understand those who hated it.
Not everyone loves long movies. As for me, I wish I could see the whole cut that is more than 4 hours long. 3 hours wasn't enough for me. But of course, not everyone loves it.
I loved it. Kind of movie that will become classic 10 years from now.
Expand
9 of 14 users found this helpful95
All this user's reviews
10
TyyroneMuggaJan 4, 2023
Interest 10/10
Characters 10/10
Cinematography/Set 10/10
Story 8/10
Acting 8/10
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
7
Brent_MarchantJan 1, 2023
“Babylon” is the kind of movie that most viewers are either going to love or hate. I, for one, am one of those who’s squarely in the middle. Writer-director Damien Chazelle’s outrageous, often-hilarious, visually dazzling epic about the early“Babylon” is the kind of movie that most viewers are either going to love or hate. I, for one, am one of those who’s squarely in the middle. Writer-director Damien Chazelle’s outrageous, often-hilarious, visually dazzling epic about the early days of Hollywood and the excesses that typified an emerging industry during the Roaring ʼ20s (and the attempts to rein them in during the increasingly conservative ʼ30s) tells the stories of a number of rising on-screen and off-screen stars seeking to make their way while wrestling with personal and professional demons, as well as the advances (and challenges) in using the new cinematic technologies of the era. In some regards, I like to think of this opus as one that draws from a variety of vastly different cinematic influences, most notably the curious combination of Peter Bogdanovich’s “Nickelodeon” (1976) and Paul Thomas Anderson’s “Boogie Nights” (1997), with, of course, the musical aspects from Chazelle’s own “La La Land” (2016) (despite the inherently more tawdry – and more engaging – nature of this project). Because of the narrative’s extensive breadth in terms of time frame, characters, themes and story threads, it’s not surprising to see how this offering would clock in with a runtime of 3+ hours (though there certainly are segments, such as the film’s 30-minute opening party sequence, that could have been scaled back without losing anything). With that said, however, ironically, the picture is surprisingly well paced for one of this length, thanks to the vivid visuals, superb production design, and excellent performances of a great ensemble cast, including Margot Robbie, Brad Pitt, Diego Calva, Li Jun Li and Jovan Adepo, along with fine supporting roles by Jean Smart, Tobey Maguire and Eric Roberts, among others. However, considering everything that’s been crammed into this arguably overstuffed package, there are some shortcomings worth noting, such as occasionally undercooked character development and a number of visual excesses that more than push the boundaries of acceptable taste for a mainstream film (their inclusion as a nod to the picture’s title notwithstanding). Nevertheless, as this release also clearly shows, we wouldn’t have the industry that’s grown, evolved and matured over the years were it not for the ragtag pioneers of this period, despite their individual challenges and their succumbing to the temptations present in this often-dirty business. In my view, “Babylon” is certainly deserving of much of the recognition it has earned, even if some of it may at times seem questionable or misplaced. Either way, there’s no denying that this is quite the cinematic rollercoaster ride, something for which movies themselves are often the ideal vehicle. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
9
KCJohnDec 30, 2022
I thought it was fantastic. It was a little long, but I wasn’t bored. I enjoyed the performances of Margot Robbie and Diego Calva. Brad Pitt was pretty much, Brad Pitt, he does well in all of his films. I will agree this movie is not forI thought it was fantastic. It was a little long, but I wasn’t bored. I enjoyed the performances of Margot Robbie and Diego Calva. Brad Pitt was pretty much, Brad Pitt, he does well in all of his films. I will agree this movie is not for everyone. People love popcorn movies, that’s what sells tickets. Historically Oscar winners don’t do particularly well at the box office but are great films. I would not be surprised if this won multiple awards. I loved the director taking me back to the 20s and 30s movie industry. I loved the atmosphere, costumes, music and the cinematography. My opinion on films is would I want to watch it again and I absolutely would. Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
3
hnestlyontheslyJan 10, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's easy to, in retrospect, hold Damien Chazelle up to the firing squad of both critical and popular opinion and say, hey dude, your bad movie did bad financially and you should feel bad about that. You probably would enjoy doing that quite a bit, especially if you were in some way connected to the Moonlight production, but not every movie that runs a tad past three hours and features actual footage from James Cameron's Avatar while a different iteration of that movie by James Cameron plays in the screen right next to you is "undisciplined" or "a vanity project" or "completely bonkers". You know what I do when I encounter a movie that seems a little bit beyond me? A little too "high concept"? Before I stick out my tongue to blow raspberries, I ask myself the following question, "Am I reacting to this movie with my fight or flight response right now because it offends my sensibilities or because the film is actively trying to give me late onset epilepsy while simultaneously showing me the full history of the development of sound in movies in this montage?" And if I can answer that question without frothing at the mouth, I try to come up with a few nice things to say about the movie. There haven't been a lot of movies that I've seen people walk out of early this year or, really, ever, but I guess the past few years have given audiences in my hometown the clarity to recognize when they would be better off doing something other than the thing they unwittingly locked themselves into for fully one quarter of their waking hours of the day. The sequences that Wife and I (went together with siblings!!!) believe were some of the most rewarding are not actually so far removed from Yasmin Reza's play God of Carnage, and whether that's intentional or not (Chazelle seems like he's very intent on you understanding his inspiration for every line in the script from the golden age of cinema in this movie), it certainly makes you think about the directorial choices made to get to this point. The Slate article I alluded to earlier is, in part, charitably commenting on the lack of nostalgia for the "good old days" of Hollywood. At the same time, I think that this is a story of cultural decline, or maybe several stories of cultural decline--the budding, diverse, unrestrained racial and sexual paradise of the Roaring Twenties gives way to the cold, grungy yet sterile fastidiousness of talking pictures in the 30s: the deaths of some of the original Hollywood royalty pave the way for the next generation. Each death is both pain and possibility! It's also clear that Babylon is charting a course in a middle pandemic or post-pandemic world, abandoning the small scope, frustrated sensibilities of last year's cinema in favor of sweaty, horny, exuberant, ecstatic representation.

Suitsupply ad or maybe scene from Babylon, but both reactions to pandemic cultural forces

The third act of most of the ensemble cast is where the film really goes off the rails, except that one cameo in particular in the third act, the crime boss plot, is actually maybe the most horrific sequence of the year, completely unsettling and canny storytelling. If we are continuing to feel charitable, we ought to mention that there are some very entertaining scenes, like the oddly erotic snakebite, or seven takes for a talkie on set, even La Roy's very first time on set is tour de force in showmanship and technical excellence. That all being said, I cannot rightly recommend this movie to you really in any form. It's not really great as a movie to catch on a plane or while you're waiting for days for your Southwest flight to finally become available in an airport terminal this holiday season, with your relatives or even your loved ones. The only people this will really give any joy to are the folks who really, really liked the instrumental soundtrack to La La Land and the people who want to listen to it while immersed in scatological and emetic humor. If you're like
Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
DAVE83Jan 1, 2023
Gran película. Muy infravalorada. Merecedora de todos los reconocimientos posibles de cara a la próxima edición de los Óscar.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
Q0innJan 10, 2023
Excellent movie with a fantastic score, acting, set design, and cinematography. One of the best movies of the year. A much-deserved win for Margot Robbie and Brad Pitt. You must embrace it in all of its chaos to appreciate its art.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
10
FaecuJan 11, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A masterpiece,the way it called out pedophiles of Hollywood,the sexism of the time,they way they treated people of color,(truly a well done "love story" ) Expand
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
6
CarlElmoreJan 3, 2023
If Damien Chazelle hadn't made the masterpieces that are Whiplash and La La Land then I probably would have liked this more but as is, it's kind of disappointing.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
rzzioDec 31, 2022
Masterpiece and easily the year's best. Chazelle creates a fantastic stylization of Hollywood and orchestrates phenomenally crafted scenes that pair with one of my favorite soundtracks of all time.
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
10
quincinemaJan 10, 2023
This is one of the absolute best movies of the year. Babylon is a love letter to every aspect of filmmaking. The beauty and the pain, the malevolent and the benevolent. We observe the empirical rise of Hollywood through the eyes of sixThis is one of the absolute best movies of the year. Babylon is a love letter to every aspect of filmmaking. The beauty and the pain, the malevolent and the benevolent. We observe the empirical rise of Hollywood through the eyes of six eccentric figures in the movie business, whose lives intertwine in fascinating and often hilarious ways. We are primarily guided through these events by up-and-comer Manuel Torres, played by the incredible Diego Calva. His character is very charming and relatable, but even he gives into the problematic and unethical practices of the late-twenties to early-thirties Hollywood, which goes to show that this movie pulls no punches. Hollywood is filled with scum beyond our wildest imaginations, and this film isn't afraid to state it, most apparently when Tobey Maguire's character, Adam McKay, is introduced. This wild climax is equal parts horrific and bodacious, and really brings a sense of intense energy to the final the leg of the film. By the end of it all, we, along with Manny, experience something profound and invigorating. I can't praise this movie enough! The music is infectious, the performances are godly, the script is incredible and the cinematography is often breathtaking. If you love movies, and especially if you have an interest in the art of filmmaking, you will love this movie. A lot of the negative reviews come from people who complain that the movie is too gratuitous, or even claim that it's outright disgusting. I believe these people must not watch many movies, or simply have weak stomachs. So, if you don't have a weak stomach and have an interest in the early days of movie magic, go out and see what could be the last of the Hollywood epics: Babylon! You don't want to miss it. Expand
1 of 3 users found this helpful12
All this user's reviews
0
RightThenDec 23, 2022
Juvenile and nowhere near as profround and entertaining as it thinks it is.
5 of 16 users found this helpful511
All this user's reviews
8
RafhitsJan 4, 2023
It’s like almost entering Dante’s Inferno! DAMIEN CHAZELLE JUST SCORED AGAIN!
Babylon by Damien Chazelle is sure, self indulgent but that’s what makes it great, a very humane look at one of the most mythified moments in Hollywood history and
It’s like almost entering Dante’s Inferno! DAMIEN CHAZELLE JUST SCORED AGAIN!
Babylon by Damien Chazelle is sure, self indulgent but that’s what makes it great, a very humane look at one of the most mythified moments in Hollywood history and going through the deepest emotions that a very game changer moment took Hollywood for surprise, the ultimate transition from the silent era of films to the till today’s famous “Talkies”.

The direction is jaw dropping, the hability of Damien Chazelle to tell a story with an outstanding direction of actors, who are squeezed strongly and explored with such artistry and delicacy as well as savagely shown.

The Screenplay is the one that can be flawed, the pace is good, but yes, just 10 minutes, NOT MORE should have been ended on the editing room. But aside of that the energy that brings, as well as the glitz and glamour can distract you effectively from that flaw.

The performances are outstanding

Margot Robbie probably gives her best performance of her entire career, going from”The Wild Child” to a very vulnerable and flawed one. A clear star and outstanding actress of our generation. Diego Calva is “the star who is born” his persona and vibe are almost poetic, his eyes enter you to his soul and most importantly, he’s a very confident one, sharing room with some stablished actors and actresses.

Brad Pitt is as always very charismatic in his performance, his screen presence as well as his dorky and quirky character has some of the funniest moments of this year’s filmography.

Jovan Adepo is one true rockstar, with his screen time he transmits a feeling of confidence as well as vulnerability in a moment you’re about to see on the film.

Li Jun Li has one of the most mysterious and thrilling vibes of the film, everytime she’s on screen her character interpretation delievers some of the most strong moments.

Jean Smart is as always a power force, her screen presence intimidates everyone without the need to be loud.

The Tobey Maguire moment sure can give to debate, but nobody can’t deny that it’s one of the scariest most gruesome moments, and some that will be remembered in the same spot as many outstanding cult horror movies as “The Wickerman”.

The cinematography by Linus Sandgren is almost looking as authentic as vivid of the time period in which the film expands, as well as the camera work is as always a delight for the eyes, as well as returning to the quick pans and tracking shots that the jaw dropping La La Land left us.

The original score is almost a locked place to win this awards season, giving a very Old Hollywood vibe combined with Jazz and new offers and music ideas as the combination with Rock And Roll and salsa.

And the ending is gonna be controversial, that’s for sure, but it’s one of the most mind keeping and staying in your mind due the fact that it feels almost like Godard.

Conclusion For a film as grandiose and big and excessive as Damien Chazelle’s “Babylon (2022)” is also Avery deep and profound character study which almost reaches “The Godfather”’s character study which delievers in almost all characters a negative corruption arc and sends the characters to the lowest and tot the biggest, as well as delivering some of the best performances given by Margot Robbie and Diego Calva, as well of an exquisite and strong soundtrack by Justin Hurwitz, sure the screenplay isn’t perfect but the glitz and glamour, with rattlesnake fights and cocaine fueled intense parties is truly a film to watch ON THE BIGGEST SCREEN YOU CAN as well to take all your friends because it’s truly a film to watch with an excited crowd as well as a film to pay attention this awards season.

IT HAS RAFHITS APPROVAL.
Expand
1 of 4 users found this helpful13
All this user's reviews
0
clairedDec 23, 2022
Repetitive, very derivative, way too reliant on Justin Hurwitz’s jazz to conceal very weak moments including the embarrassing ending.
3 of 14 users found this helpful311
All this user's reviews
0
praneelrajaDec 24, 2022
An exhausting, nihilistic, shallow, overlong and conflicting non-story, but hey the costumes are great.
3 of 15 users found this helpful312
All this user's reviews
2
TannerCreedenDec 25, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Yeesh! Can I have three hours of my life back, there was just so much going on and then finally when I could see the light light at the end of the tunnel and could walk out of the theater the **** thing keeps going another hour like **** me three hours for that was torture Expand
2 of 12 users found this helpful210
All this user's reviews
0
georgiadrewJan 1, 2023
If you want to waste $ and be in agony for 3 hours then go see this movie. Pitt must have mega gambling debts to pay for why else would he get involved in pathetic trash like this movie? No plot, poor acting, directing that goes nowhere isIf you want to waste $ and be in agony for 3 hours then go see this movie. Pitt must have mega gambling debts to pay for why else would he get involved in pathetic trash like this movie? No plot, poor acting, directing that goes nowhere is the result. Expand
1 of 6 users found this helpful15
All this user's reviews
0
dreamland23Dec 29, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A 3 hour long student film with and unlimited budget. Montage at the end was amateurish. The plot was terrible. Spoiler alert 3 of the characters die. Why? Overly reliant on the score to make the viewer feel something. The score was too loud and repetitive and way too much like lalaland. The acting was like bad improv. The dialogue was weak. I have never seen Brad Pitt as a bad actor until I saw this.
What a waste of talent on a self indulgent drawn out music video with no point. Not surprised it's a flop. It's very bad.
Expand
1 of 10 users found this helpful19
All this user's reviews
0
Broker2022Dec 28, 2022
Totally boring! Waste of time. Boring, boring... sleep-soothing, big names and a bad plot.
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
6
Jaredc324Dec 23, 2022
just a manic all over the place film that spits you out pewking and sweating. Not an ideal film experience.
1 of 15 users found this helpful114
All this user's reviews
7
GenTurgidsonJan 3, 2023
Coked out freight train of a movie. Flawed, but doesn't deserve to go down as a box office flop. Fantastic music, Margot knows how to be a star, some truly incredible set pieces, and one freakish nightmare of a segment with Tobey Maguire.Coked out freight train of a movie. Flawed, but doesn't deserve to go down as a box office flop. Fantastic music, Margot knows how to be a star, some truly incredible set pieces, and one freakish nightmare of a segment with Tobey Maguire. Excess on top of excess on top of excess. Too much? At times, yes. A few things just don't work. But man, what a ride. Expand
0 of 3 users found this helpful03
All this user's reviews
7
JLuis_001Jan 21, 2023
Call it excess of ambition or excess of self-confidence, but Chazelle has filled his film about Hollywood debauchery with precisely that, but nothing of substance in between.

But like I've said many times, even failure has its own degrees,
Call it excess of ambition or excess of self-confidence, but Chazelle has filled his film about Hollywood debauchery with precisely that, but nothing of substance in between.

But like I've said many times, even failure has its own degrees, but don't get me wrong, I don't think Babylon is a failure in any shape or form, but I do think it should be the project that should teach him the lesson he failed to learn from the lukewarm reception of First Man.

And what I mean by that is that it doesn't matter if you already have an Oscar for directing and that you obviously think your talent is huge, that doesn't mean that you should do it just because you can.
Because even though I support a director who pushes expectations and makes things an average filmmaker wouldn't be allowed to do within the studios' system, Chazelle isn't breaking any boundaries or exploring any new territory.
He's not inventing or discovering anything with his new film. So he did fail in that department.

Babylon is a good film, I can't call it anything else. There is too much care and attention in its making to say anything of the sort.
It is a love letter from the director to that era, but that also makes it more of a project for him than for a wider audience.

I enjoyed it, even with what I didn't like. Its 3 hour running time is excessive by any standard. The performances are good, but nothing extraordinary. The actors perform well for the type of film they're in, but fall far short of leaving a memorable impression.

The truth is that Babylon's strengths lie in its direction and production values. It's a great piece of spectacle when it needs to be, even if its story is too thin for what it's trying to encapsulate.

Of course, Babylon is worth seeing, but Chazelle's ambition clearly got the better of him, because I will reiterate that I did like the film, but at no point did it dazzle me, and that's exactly what it was trying to do.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
7
MarkHReviewsJan 19, 2023
In his previous work, Writer/Director Damien Chazelle has demonstrated his skill at creating an homage to Hollywood (“La La Land”) and his capacity for compelling character studies (“Whiplash”). “Babylon” offers both.

The story, which opens
In his previous work, Writer/Director Damien Chazelle has demonstrated his skill at creating an homage to Hollywood (“La La Land”) and his capacity for compelling character studies (“Whiplash”). “Babylon” offers both.

The story, which opens in 1926, chronicles the lives of Jack Conrad (Brad Pitt), a matinee idol during the silent movie era; Nellie LaRoy (Margot Robbie), a hedonistic wannabe who raises herself to stardom by a combination of self-belief and good fortune; and Manny Torres (a star-making role for Diego Calva), an immigrant entranced by the movies who just wants to be part of the show. Elinor St. John (Jean Smart), a British gossip columnist, occasionally delivers observations from above the fray.

“Babylon” is a show in three acts, each with a radically different tone. In Act One, we experience the orgiastic exuberance of an industry where too much is never enough. This section of the film includes jaw-dropping set pieces. The opening scene includes writhing partygoers and features an elephant. The most mesmerizing scene is a panoramic shot where multiple silent movies are being shot at once. Hundreds of extras are participating in a medieval battle while, on the other side of a plywood wall, an intimate bar scene is being filmed. Act Two shows the industry’s gradual transition to talkies and the sometimes painful adjustments required, for the actors and the crew, to make it happen. Act Three is a sobering meditation on what happens to those who have lived in the spotlight when the spotlight moves away.

In “Babylon,” Chazelle seems to be responding to the criticism that his “La La Land” showed unwavering reverence for Hollywood while offering little in the way of critique. Here, he overcorrects, suggesting that the magic of Hollywood is built on a foundation of exploitation, callous insensitivity and even intentional cruelty. Chazelle seems to want to have it both ways: deifying the process of moviemaking while documenting the rot on which it is built. Through Pitt’s character, Chazelle even questions whether it’s all worthwhile. Needless to say, it all creates a very uneven tone.

Overall, this film is worth your time, even though it runs for over three hours. The set pieces, the frantic energy and the visual spectacle are just that good. However, it’s certainly not a perfect film. There are at least three “endings” to the film, each more over-the-top and unnecessary than the last. And Robbie is saddled with the cliché-riddled role of working-class actor whose speaking style doesn’t translate for the talkies. I felt like I had fallen down a rabbit hole and ended up on the set of “My Fair Lady.” Come for the spectacle. Stay for the ambivalence.
Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
6
GemsicleDec 23, 2022
A long, sexual, and offensive flick that I was hoping to be another gem from Damien Chazelle that at least has substance.
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
6
royalguy07Jan 2, 2023
It had a top level soundtrack and some really great and memorable sequences. That movie montage though near the end that was a big time yikes.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
8
alanpotter17Jan 20, 2023
Babilônia é um filme homenagem sobre a era de ouro do cinema em sua transição para o cinema falado. A cena inicial regado a festas e orgias lembrou bastante o Grande Gatsby, um início frenético e que apresenta os personagens cujas vidas seBabilônia é um filme homenagem sobre a era de ouro do cinema em sua transição para o cinema falado. A cena inicial regado a festas e orgias lembrou bastante o Grande Gatsby, um início frenético e que apresenta os personagens cujas vidas se resumem a buscar uma carreira de sucesso: um latino-americano e uma atriz quase decadente.
Eu aprecio absolutamente tudo que o Chazelle realiza, tanto la la land quanto Whiplash considero como grandes exemplares de cinema americano ágil, com edição esperta e personagens bem criados. Aqui, Margot Robbie e Brad Pitt dão um show à parte, estão excelentes. Há espaço também para se discutir a inserção de negros (o trompetista) ou falar sobre discriminação geracional, e de como a Hollywood sobrevive explorando as imagens.
O grande problema aqui é que a duração tem um efeito pesado, pois de fato a história não é tão densa assim que justifique as mais de 3h de duração. Apesar disso o final é estonteante, ver a homenagem ao cinema e da forma como foi apresentada, em diversas fases, incluído aí o uso de tecnologias, é de encher os olhos e o coração de qualquer cinéfilo.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
8
GorperDec 30, 2022
This is over-the-top and confusing at times, but what a feast for the eyes and ears! Definitely worth seeing on the big screen.
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
raybassJan 7, 2023
Be smart and don’t waste your time and money on this boring movie. This movie proves again that putting a bunch of stars on the same set doesn’t make a masterpiece at the end. Lame jokes and boring story is what this movie includes.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
3
MovieMetaCriticDec 31, 2022
This film is the product of a good idea with bad writers! I have never walked out of a theater but the last hour or so of this movie made my head spin! Please, prepare yourself if you are gonna go see this film because your gonna need it.This film is the product of a good idea with bad writers! I have never walked out of a theater but the last hour or so of this movie made my head spin! Please, prepare yourself if you are gonna go see this film because your gonna need it. From the over the top drug usage to nudity it is so much to take in. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
7
AllenGambleDec 31, 2022
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I don’t remember the last time I watched a movie so long that neither bored more nor exhausted me. A lot of fun and some fantastic acting performances as well, especially from Robbie and Calva! That said, probably coulda trimmed or cut some drawn out scenes and put that time into polishing off character arcs. Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
0
MrsSmith100Jan 1, 2023
The worst movie ever and my husband and I are retired and go to the movies a lot. Even all the debauchery didn’t bother me. The movie was all over the place and unrealistic. During that period in time Blacks and Asians were Not able to moveThe worst movie ever and my husband and I are retired and go to the movies a lot. Even all the debauchery didn’t bother me. The movie was all over the place and unrealistic. During that period in time Blacks and Asians were Not able to move around freely especially among white ppl. America at that time was very racist. At some point I stop caring about it being unrealistic and just wanted it to be over. The movie was over 3 hours. The last 30 minutes of the movie was as though the director was on acid. We absolutely HATED the movie, paying for all the well known actors were a waste of money! Expand
0 of 2 users found this helpful02
All this user's reviews
9
Johnnybobby33Jan 14, 2023
The movie was well shot, with the complexity of the shots driving the movie forward and adding to the overall tone. The fast moving, crazy, hectic shots were like pandemonium. The slow shots dragged on and gave the audience that sense ofThe movie was well shot, with the complexity of the shots driving the movie forward and adding to the overall tone. The fast moving, crazy, hectic shots were like pandemonium. The slow shots dragged on and gave the audience that sense of dread especially with those scenes. Overall it was a non-stop seat edger. Some people might be disturbed by the nudity in the film, but I believe it was essential to the film. Again this movie is not for everyone, but I believe it will grow into one of the greatest films of all time. Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
amdrmtiJan 15, 2023
THIS IS CINEMA. I loved every moment of the movie. This movie is not only experimental, but also beautiful and emotional.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
gabriellanJan 19, 2023
Trágico, caótico, divertido e dramático. Tão cheio de coração que me deixou eufórica durante cada minuto dessas 3 horas.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
6
bertobellamyJan 20, 2023
You gotta accept that Damien Chazelle went all the way with this ambitious film. 'Babylon' has big ideas, and it doesn't care if they're uncomfortable, which I appreciate. My problem with it it's that the film gets lost within them. TheYou gotta accept that Damien Chazelle went all the way with this ambitious film. 'Babylon' has big ideas, and it doesn't care if they're uncomfortable, which I appreciate. My problem with it it's that the film gets lost within them. The runtime is also an issue; all the Tobey Maguire stuff is weird and messy. Margot Robbie becomes annoying by the end, and Diego Calva is good, but he can't carry the movie by himself. All in all, a project with some good moments, but not enough to be more engaging. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
4
GLADIADORJan 21, 2023
Esquisito, estranho, cansativo e com algumas pitadas de humor, babilonia é um filme esquecivel que pode tirar algumas risadas do espectador
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
simon9454Jan 22, 2023
Seriously, this movie was hot garbage. Did all reviewers who rated positive paid to write a good review?
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
MartinstJan 25, 2023
Babylon is a brilliant love letter to cinema, with great success in Europe, particularly in France, Babylon attempts, tries and succeeds, taking us on a journey through an impressive cinematographic palette, Chazelle is a painter of ourBabylon is a brilliant love letter to cinema, with great success in Europe, particularly in France, Babylon attempts, tries and succeeds, taking us on a journey through an impressive cinematographic palette, Chazelle is a painter of our emotions, the film plays with verisimilitude, Babylon is NOT a historical film, it symbolizes the revival of cinema. The staging leaves us speechless and teems with references to a number of excellent and impressive films. Babylon is not necessarily for everyone, Chazelle dares to go further and stronger, on the border of a Tarentino with a sometimes similar atmosphere, Chazelle plays with codes and genres, we visit burlesque comedies, films of horror, film noir and of course romance in a glorious production, breathtakingly talented actors and a grandiose ending. Fortunately this film does not appeal to everyone, it proves that trying does not always work for everyone, in any case it worked for me. The three hours passed at an impressive speed. Babylon is an experience that isn't necessarily limited to a linear storyline or classic character development. The real antagonist is the loss of interest and desire to innovate in this magnificent medium that is cinema, Chazelle here, through the impertinence of his dialogues, comes from the partinence of his words, Bravo!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
8
KekkogendoJan 28, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. For sure, what "once upon a time in hollywood" by tarantino wanted to be. I like costruction, acting, pov. The entire scene with Tobey McGuire could be treated better, maybe without making it half-horror. Love the way the movie changes tones, rythm upon his half, although for someone this is an error. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews