Paramount Pictures | Release Date: July 28, 1989
8.5
USER SCORE
Universal acclaim based on 138 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
110
Mixed:
15
Negative:
13
Watch Now
Watch Now
Buy on
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Stream On
Expand
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
8
Risible94Dec 15, 2019
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This Jason flick is more stylish & comedic than the other entries in the series. It isn't an infallible horror movie because all of the Friday movies have inconsistencies. Despite these drawbacks this entry is my second favorite of the series. I enjoyed the cinematography, the inventive demises and the end scenes in New York. The time elapsed in New York is brief but the scenes were well shot, and it was an exciting location for the movie to wrap up in. This Jason is a fun outing for horror fans. My fave flick with Jason is Freddy Versus Jason B+. Expand
18 of 18 users found this helpful180
All this user's reviews
10
thirteenfanDec 13, 2020
This is one of my favorite of the series, Jason is awesome he walks around Manhattan like he's Donald Trump. Kickin' boom boxes out of his way, and busting through glass doors. Don't believe all the negative comments about this movie, watchThis is one of my favorite of the series, Jason is awesome he walks around Manhattan like he's Donald Trump. Kickin' boom boxes out of his way, and busting through glass doors. Don't believe all the negative comments about this movie, watch it and judge it for yourself. These movies are not to be taken seriously, just sit back and have fun. Life's hard enough. Jason Takes Manhattan tops my list of great horror movies! Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
Eraser81Dec 13, 2020
Most fans of the series prefer the Crystal Lake setting, but riding a cruise ship to The Big Appel is fun to see.

Once in NY, Jason contends with drug dealers, cafe bouncers, and a street gang. So get ready for nonstop fun in this 8th installment.
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
10
ThugMstr4uDec 13, 2020
i dont know why nobody likes this movie. I think it is great. it has a good plot finally it gets jason away from crystal lake i think the movie is excellent and is my favorite of the f13 series besides part 7 i think they saved the best f13thi dont know why nobody likes this movie. I think it is great. it has a good plot finally it gets jason away from crystal lake i think the movie is excellent and is my favorite of the f13 series besides part 7 i think they saved the best f13th films for last besides jason x i dont know why this movie is so underrated i mean it finally has some decent acting jason looks good (the best in part 7) the plot is pretty good besides critics rated f13th part8 jason takes manhatten one of the best of the series besides part 1. the f13th series started to look good and be good after part 5 which was ok. Ill even except this movie even with the ending which wasnt understandble but still didnt make the movie bad. I dont know why diehard jason fans dont like this film. I'm a Diehard jason fan and i love this movie. Overall the second best in the series in my opinon. Friday the 13th part 7 The New Blood And Friday the 13th part 8 Jason takes manhatten are the best in the series both are excellent **** to me. See part 7 and part 8 i strongly recommend them there not a waste. Expand
8 of 8 users found this helpful80
All this user's reviews
9
JamesIrish68Mar 5, 2021
They don't make them like this anymore. Tremendous fun. The ideal date movie. Brilliant from start to finish. Not for pedants or snobs of course.
7 of 7 users found this helpful70
All this user's reviews
8
kyle20ellisApr 13, 2020
This review contains spoilers. This Jason flick is more stylish & comedic than the other entries in the series. It isn't an infallible horror movie because all of the Friday movies have inconsistencies. Despite these drawbacks this entry isThis review contains spoilers. This Jason flick is more stylish & comedic than the other entries in the series. It isn't an infallible horror movie because all of the Friday movies have inconsistencies. Despite these drawbacks this entry is my second favorite of the series. I enjoyed the cinematography, the inventive demises and the end scenes in New York. The time elapsed in New York is brief but the scenes were well shot, and it was an exciting location for the movie to wrap up in. This Jason is a fun outing for horror fans. My fave flick with Jason is Freddy Versus Jason B+. Expand
7 of 8 users found this helpful71
All this user's reviews
7
robertoiglesiasDec 26, 2018
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The title for the film is called Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan. The runtime is 100 minutes. However, only the last 15 minutes of this film are in Manhattan. 49 out of 100 minutes are on the SS Lazurus. I hate the makeup for Jason in this film. The makeup in the 7th film was good, with all the past injuries and it was scary. This however was disgustingly stupid and dumb. I also don't like the kid Jason hallucinations, and Jason teleporting isn't a smart writing choice. But you know what? I like this film.
It has interesting characters like, Rennie, Sean, JJ, etc, it has some good kills, obviously Julius getting his head punched off was awesome, and even though it takes a long time to get to NYC, the part on the boat is quite fun.
This is not my favorite but I still think it's decent. RIP JJ.
Expand
2 of 11 users found this helpful29
All this user's reviews
2
imthenoobOct 23, 2018
Yeah, this is a pretty awful movie, Definitely one of the worst in the series despite the enjoyable kills throughout.
2 of 13 users found this helpful211
All this user's reviews
3
GhostfaceVDNov 3, 2019
Easily the worst of the franchise. It's pretty boring, the kills are lame, the effects don't look scary, also jason can actually teleport???? It's a very slow and forgettable movie with 0 scares.
1 of 13 users found this helpful112
All this user's reviews
0
awesomesuaceDec 14, 2020
200 years in the future... “Honey, have you seen my iPhone 378? I need it to preorder my PS6.”
0 of 7 users found this helpful07
All this user's reviews
2
JLauSep 27, 2020
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. At the end, Jason spends a few minutes in New York but before that, he's just killing high school graduates on a boat. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
kevin-89Dec 13, 2020
This is the best of the series.It is great because it is funny,moving,and loaded with irony.Just think,our heroes escape Jason-only to be mugged in Manhattan! Also,Jason saves the girl's life soon after by killing the gang bangers. The onlyThis is the best of the series.It is great because it is funny,moving,and loaded with irony.Just think,our heroes escape Jason-only to be mugged in Manhattan! Also,Jason saves the girl's life soon after by killing the gang bangers. The only thing this movie needs is a sequel.Is the boy at the foot of Liberty a purified Jason or just a red herring to throw us off.Part nine is no sequel and no friend to real Jason fans. I hope in part 10 that Jason kills Freddy for Good!!!! Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
Jesse-45Dec 13, 2020
Some fans dis this sequel, but it's awesome. It has no pre-credits sequence like all of the other installments, but it's awesome. Very entertaining. It takes Jason awhile to get to Manhattan, but alot of the movie deals with Jason's trip toSome fans dis this sequel, but it's awesome. It has no pre-credits sequence like all of the other installments, but it's awesome. Very entertaining. It takes Jason awhile to get to Manhattan, but alot of the movie deals with Jason's trip to Manhattan, and when he gets there, the entertainment does not let up at all. The MPAA has done alot to these movies, but they're still grand entertainment at the very least. Jason is taken down several times in the big apple, by Sean and Renny, but he keeps on tickin'. Near the film's finale we see Jason's face, once again and then he is splashed with toxic waste and turns into a little boy again. There has been so much talk about what happens between Part 8 and 9. Because The Final Friday, does not concern Jason at the beginning, leaving the big apple and returning to Camp Crystal Lake. But Jason does return. Even though the filmmakers don't explain anything. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
tyhemp-2Dec 13, 2020
This movie reminds me of Jason aboard the Titanic. The love scene is there between Rennie and Sean. The ultimate destruction of almost everything aboard the ship is also there. This is an extremely entertaining film. I can watch it any day atThis movie reminds me of Jason aboard the Titanic. The love scene is there between Rennie and Sean. The ultimate destruction of almost everything aboard the ship is also there. This is an extremely entertaining film. I can watch it any day at any time. I just wish there was even more death scenes in it!! It's a great film. A major generation gap between the first one though. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
10
The-CreeperDec 13, 2020
I Liked This One. Not only do we see A Higher Body Count than Usual, We Find Jason Hitting the Big City. I Don't See Why People Hate This Movie because it Doesn't take place in Camp Crystal Lake. C'Mon. We Couldn't Stay there forever, ButI Liked This One. Not only do we see A Higher Body Count than Usual, We Find Jason Hitting the Big City. I Don't See Why People Hate This Movie because it Doesn't take place in Camp Crystal Lake. C'Mon. We Couldn't Stay there forever, But then again, They could have stopped making them. Good to Rent Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews