Cast & Crew

Directed By

Written By

Jules Feiffer
E.C. Segar
based on characters by


Ray Walston
Poopdeck Pappy
Donald Moffat
The Taxman
Donovan Scott
Castor Oyl
Bill Irwin
Ham Gravy - The Old Boyfriend
Robert Fortier
Bill Barnacle - The Town Drunk
David McCharen
Harry Hotcash - The Gambler
Sharon Kinney
Cherry - His Moll
Peter Bray
Oxblood Oxheart - The Fighter
Linda Hunt
Mrs. Oxheart - His Mudder
Geoff Hoyle
Scoop - The Reporter
Wayne Robson
Chizzelflint - The Pawnbroker
Larry Pisoni
Chico - The Dishwasher
Carlo Pellegrini
Swifty - The Cook
Susan Kingsley
La Verne - The Waitress
Michael Christensen
Splatz - The Janitor
Ray Cooper
The Preacher
Noel Parenti
Slick - The Milkman
Karen McCormick
Rosie - The Milkmaid
John E. Bristol
Bear - The Hermit
Julie Janney
Mena Walfleur - A Steinette
Patty Katz
Mina Walfleur - A Steinette
Diane Shaffer
Mona Walfleur - A Steinette
Nathalie Blossom
Blossom Walfleur - A Steinette
Dennis Franz
Spike - A Tough
Alan Autry
Slug - A Tough
Ned Dowd
Butch - A Tough
Hovey Burgess
Mort - A Tough
Roberto Messina
Gozo - A Tough
Pietro Torrisi
Bolo - A Tough
Margery Bond
Daisy - A Housewife
Judy Burgess
Petunia - A Housewife
Saundra MacDonald
Violet - A Housewife
Eve Knoller
Min - A Housewife
Peggy Pisoni
Pickelina - A Housewife
Barbara Zegler
Daphne - A Housewife
Paul Zegler
Mayor Stonefeller - The Official
Pamela Burrell
Mrs. Stonefeller
David Arkin
The Mailman / Policeman
Klaus Voormann
Von Schnitzel - The Conductor
Doug Dillard
Clem - The Banjo Player
Van Dyke Parks
Hoagy - The Piano Player
Stan Wilson
Oscar - The Barber
Roberto Dell'Acqua
The Chimneysweep
Valerie Velardi
Cindy - The Drudge
Jack Mercer
Popeye - Animated Prologue

Produced By

Scott Bushnell
associate producer
C.O. Erickson
executive producer


Giuseppe Rotunno


John Benson
assistant sound editor
Steven Brimmer
re-recording engineer
Teresa Eckton
sound effects editor
Michael H. Ford
sound editor
Sam Gemette
supervising sound editor
Rodney Holland
sound effects consultant
Randy Honaker
location engineer
Roxanne Jones
assistant sound editor
John A. Larsen
sound editor
Don Merritt
boom man
Michael Minkler
supervising sound re-recording mixer
Andrew Patterson
sound effects editor
Bill Phillips
sound editor
Karen Rasch
assistant sound editor
Hal Sanders
sound editor
Sam F. Shaw
sound editor
Larry Singer
loop editor
Edward A. Warschilka
assistant sound editor
Samuel C. Crutcher
assistant sound editor
Kitty Malone
foley artist

Production Design

Set Design


Maria Teresa Corridoni
chief hairdresser
Giancarlo Del Brocco
makeup designer / special makeup effects artist
Rita Innocenzi
assistant hairdresser
Gilberto Provenghi
assistant makeup artist
Alvaro Rossi
assistant makeup artist
Aldo Signoretti
Alfredo Tiberi
makeup artist

Special Effects

Ellis Burman Jr.
animated artifacts creator: Cosmekinetics
Steven C. Foster
special effects / technical advisor
Allen Hall
special effects coordinator
R.J. Hohman
technical advisor
Robert G. Willard
special effects assistant
Bob Williams
animated artifacts creator: Cosmekinetics
Ellis Burman III
special effects technician
James Kagel
lead sculptor

Assistant Director

Bob Dahlin
first assistant director
Victor Tourjansky
first assistant director

Production Management

Paolo Lucidi
unit manager
Frederick Muller
production manager: Europe

Art Department

Stephen Altman
property master
Alvaro Belsole
construction manager
Alfred Borg
standby painter
Bert Bowers
master carpenter
Reg Bream
assistant art director
Stephen Bream
John Bucklin
property man
Anthony Maccario
property man
Gaetano Mirante
master carpenter
Guglielmo Modestini
master painter
Stéphane Reichel
assistant art director / construction coordinator
Lester Smith


Roberto Messina
stunt coordinator
Sergio Mioni
stunt double


Raja Gosnell
additional editor
Suzanne Hines
post-production coordinator
Robert Lederman
assistant editor
Tony Lombardo
supervising editor
Paul Rubell
assistant editor
Jacque Elaine Toberen
assistant editor
Stephen M. Tucker
assistant editor
Eric Whitfield
assistant editor
Richard Garibaldi
home video mastering colorist


Peter Bray
unit coordinator
Hovey Burgess
choreographer: circus
Cathy Chazan
assistant: Mr. Evans
Rita Galea
publicity assistant
Barbara Kalish
executive assistant: Mr. Evans
Cathy Keller
publicity assistant
Sharon Kinney
choreographer: dance
David Levy
unit coordinator
Stephanie Pond-Smith
assistant: Mr. Evans
James A. Rumsey
physical therapist
Mark Rutenberg
assistant: Mr. Williams
Patrice Ryan
title designer
Rick Sparks
talent coordinator
Luciano Tartaglia
assistant accountant
Bridget Terry
Lou Wills
dance style creator: Mr. Williams
Lary Crews
production assistant
Ed Horwitz
personal assistant: Robert Altman

Music Department

Harry Nilsson
songs: Music & Lyrics by
Van Dyke Parks
arranger: songs / conductor: songs
Tom Pierson
composer: additional score
Dan Wallin
music re-recording mixer
Leslie Whitfield
assistant music editor
Richard Whitfield
music editor
Ted Whitfield
supervising music editor
Bruce Robb
music engineer / music mixer / music producer
Bob Thompson
music arranger
Louise Di Tullio
musician: flute
John Wallace
singing voice: Paul Smith

Costume Department

Yvonne Zarb Cousin
wardrobe mistress
John Hay
wardrobe supervisor
Kate McDermott
wardrobe construction

Camera Department

Robert Reed Altman
camera assistant
Gianlorenzo Battaglia
underwater camera operator
Luigi Bernardini
assistant camera
Marco Contaldo
Gianmaria Majorana
assistant camera
Mauro Marchetti
assistant camera
Paul Ronald
unit photographer
Gianfranco Transunto
camera operator
Maurizio Zampagni
camera assistant
Adolfo Bartoli
underwater assistant camera

Location Management

Dick Dubuque
location auditor
Robert Eggenweiler
location manager
Tim Engel
location auditor

Script Department

Luca Kouimelis
script supervisor
Movie title data and credits provided by
IMDb logo