Netflix | Release Date: January 20, 2023
3.3
USER SCORE
Generally unfavorable reviews based on 64 Ratings
USER RATING DISTRIBUTION
Positive:
13
Mixed:
14
Negative:
37
Watch Now
Stream On
Review this movie
VOTE NOW
0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Check box if your review contains spoilers 0 characters (5000 max)
4
JLuis_001Jan 27, 2023
Everything, absolutely every single thing You People covers in its plot is so predictable that it's exhausting on an abrasive level.

You can say it's no big deal, it's part of the humor, part of the romance and you understand that, but the
Everything, absolutely every single thing You People covers in its plot is so predictable that it's exhausting on an abrasive level.

You can say it's no big deal, it's part of the humor, part of the romance and you understand that, but the one problem that completely destroys this movie is that its ensemble can't do anything to make the story go somewhere that actually matters.

Huge disappointment.
Expand
5 of 5 users found this helpful50
All this user's reviews
4
AlliDoisWatchTvJan 27, 2023
This is more of a comedy then a romantic comedy and not a very good one. Lauren london suckksss at acting and she has no chemistry with jonah. Jonah does good playing his part tho so hes fine and his parents r funny but i expeceted more outThis is more of a comedy then a romantic comedy and not a very good one. Lauren london suckksss at acting and she has no chemistry with jonah. Jonah does good playing his part tho so hes fine and his parents r funny but i expeceted more out of eddie murphy. Really disappointed.

Also this movie is just so annoying, everything is black this black that n word this n word that. gimme a break. Only good thing out of this movie is that i am reminded to be extra careful around "you people" otherwise i could have my life ruined lol.
Expand
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
0
krysariusJan 30, 2023
This film is so cringy that I couldn’t make it to the first half. It is probably meant to be uncomfortable but labeling it as a comedy is REALLY a misdirection
4 of 4 users found this helpful40
All this user's reviews
1
TDrewJan 30, 2023
Nothing but another racial/political/gender brainwashing attempt hidden in a poorly written and directed movie. There was definitely potential here, considering the cast, but they chose to spew out garbage instead of reviving their careersNothing but another racial/political/gender brainwashing attempt hidden in a poorly written and directed movie. There was definitely potential here, considering the cast, but they chose to spew out garbage instead of reviving their careers with a good movie. Expand
3 of 3 users found this helpful30
All this user's reviews
0
EliGJan 31, 2023
Waste of time. Tone deaf. Not funny. Cringe. They didn't really do much research into the cultures or religions they were trying to portray. The dialogue is forced and scripted. Stereotypes are enforced. I'm upset at the time I wastedWaste of time. Tone deaf. Not funny. Cringe. They didn't really do much research into the cultures or religions they were trying to portray. The dialogue is forced and scripted. Stereotypes are enforced. I'm upset at the time I wasted watching the movie. Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
4
ParQerJan 27, 2023
What a waste of talent. Why hiring Eddie Murphy if don’t want him to act and just be a stuck up douche for two hours.

That’s one of the problem of the movie, the ´I don’t want you to marry my girl’ arc is way too long. And the whole racial
What a waste of talent. Why hiring Eddie Murphy if don’t want him to act and just be a stuck up douche for two hours.

That’s one of the problem of the movie, the ´I don’t want you to marry my girl’ arc is way too long.

And the whole racial thing is really repetitive. It’a always the same joke but with a different context.

Instead of developping the caracters and the story arc they do the same scene over and over.
Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
2
Solidsnake69Jan 31, 2023
Netflix really can't do anything right. In an attempt to be edgy, they ended up being ignorant and corny.
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
TonyTheTigorJan 30, 2023
There was a couple genuinely funny moments in the movie, but they were completely overshadowed by nonstop racial propaganda. Arguing over which was worse... Slavery or the Holocaust? Really? This is what Netflix feels a comedy movie shouldThere was a couple genuinely funny moments in the movie, but they were completely overshadowed by nonstop racial propaganda. Arguing over which was worse... Slavery or the Holocaust? Really? This is what Netflix feels a comedy movie should be? Disgusting! These actors should stick to being animal voices in woke Disney movies. That might get them some laughs... Expand
2 of 2 users found this helpful20
All this user's reviews
3
jsfarribaJan 31, 2023
This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Should have hired writers. Movie had potential to be funny with the cast but failed miserably. The script sorely failed the accumulated talent. Expand
1 of 1 users found this helpful10
All this user's reviews
1
FGPTJan 30, 2023
Awful piece of propaganda. Wouldnt expect anything else at this point from Hollyweird and Netflix. Garbage
5 of 6 users found this helpful51
All this user's reviews
0
Mick50008Jan 30, 2023
Absolutely terrible movie. I don't know how they simultaneously managed to make it look like they spent millions of dollars making this movie while also looking like the filming quality of a curb your enthusiasm episode. As for the actualAbsolutely terrible movie. I don't know how they simultaneously managed to make it look like they spent millions of dollars making this movie while also looking like the filming quality of a curb your enthusiasm episode. As for the actual movie, people don't act like this in today's age. Not even a laugh to be had. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
1
polendinaJan 29, 2023
I remember when advertising in movies was done right: subtle but funny, in a way that didn't make you hate the sponsored product, this movie is all about Nike instead. Shoes everywhere, the logo always in view of the camera, and there's evenI remember when advertising in movies was done right: subtle but funny, in a way that didn't make you hate the sponsored product, this movie is all about Nike instead. Shoes everywhere, the logo always in view of the camera, and there's even a museum about Nikes. Ah. The movie is also bad, everything is already seen, nothing new, a complete waste of time. Expand
4 of 5 users found this helpful41
All this user's reviews
5
RaygirlJan 28, 2023
Was expecting more comedy considering all the talented comedic actors in this movie, but the themes and predictible story got old fast. And that's coming from a Liberal Democrat! (If you didn't vote for Joe, you will probably hate this movieWas expecting more comedy considering all the talented comedic actors in this movie, but the themes and predictible story got old fast. And that's coming from a Liberal Democrat! (If you didn't vote for Joe, you will probably hate this movie instead of just finding it mediocre.) Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
1
JonTheReviewerJan 29, 2023
In recent years, Hill has tried to branch out on his own with his Directors debut and other various works but with this last project, its become apparent hes incapable of being great while taking the lead. Films like Moneyball and Wolf ofIn recent years, Hill has tried to branch out on his own with his Directors debut and other various works but with this last project, its become apparent hes incapable of being great while taking the lead. Films like Moneyball and Wolf of Wall Street were great because of good direction, spectacular writing and good lead actors. You People...Screenwriters/Director Kenya Barris and Jonah Hill do a masterful job depicting racism and twisting it into their own definition of comedy. The result? Cringe with a splash of garbage is exactly what this film was. Love Jonah Hill but not when hes taking charge. Glad this was free. I just cant get back those precious minutes i could have used to watch paint dry. Expand
3 of 4 users found this helpful31
All this user's reviews
0
crab_stixJan 27, 2023
I miss Eddie Murphy when he was at his prime. He used to make such outstanding comedic classics like "Coming to America" and "Trading Places".

Watching this movie just made me cringe at the terrible and forced racial jokes/propaganda that
I miss Eddie Murphy when he was at his prime. He used to make such outstanding comedic classics like "Coming to America" and "Trading Places".

Watching this movie just made me cringe at the terrible and forced racial jokes/propaganda that the writers tried to convey in an attempt to humor the situation, when in the end, all it did was made me hate the movie even more.
Expand
7 of 10 users found this helpful73
All this user's reviews
2
asly_aJan 28, 2023
Could not take the racism(s) of this movie. Jonah Hill, the writer, disguises his insulting and racist writing with the veils of comedy and multiculturalism. The comedy is exploitative and not original. With this and Fauda, Netflix is in bedCould not take the racism(s) of this movie. Jonah Hill, the writer, disguises his insulting and racist writing with the veils of comedy and multiculturalism. The comedy is exploitative and not original. With this and Fauda, Netflix is in bed with racism. Expand
4 of 6 users found this helpful42
All this user's reviews
0
mickrussomFeb 2, 2023
this movie is stupid. another brainwash leftist pile of garbage with mental midgets in the writing room. nothing is funny here. this is worthless in every way. i was able to view it without paying so i didnt contribute.
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
1
EmilyjjFeb 1, 2023
Only thing I really liked about this movie was the fact that Andrew Schulz showed up. That got me excited. Everything else made me cringe. I’m irritated out how racist it all was. Furthering a divide between races. Blatant obvious agendaOnly thing I really liked about this movie was the fact that Andrew Schulz showed up. That got me excited. Everything else made me cringe. I’m irritated out how racist it all was. Furthering a divide between races. Blatant obvious agenda behind the movie. Surprised I sat through the whole thing. Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
0
HonestReviews66Feb 4, 2023
Registered with metacritic just because of this film. There are 'woke' films, and then there is outright racist, leftist propaganda. This film does nothing but play on the tired 'white people are evil, black people are cool' trope. I've seenRegistered with metacritic just because of this film. There are 'woke' films, and then there is outright racist, leftist propaganda. This film does nothing but play on the tired 'white people are evil, black people are cool' trope. I've seen films like this before. But never have the racist insults been so frequent and so explicit. Imagine if they made a film where they constantly mocked black people for the way they walk, talk, dress and act. And if we're honest, this would make an easy target. It's like a history lesson of white supremacy. They could have at least had the jokes flowing in both directions, but we all know they were terrified of the potential backlash. I'm not white, but if I was, I would be marching through the streets demanding this, and other garbage like it, be removed from circulation in the same way black people pull down statues they don't like. And to make things worse, you would have thought with Jonah Hill and Eddie Murphy, there would be at least one moderately funny moment. But it would be more fun attending your own parents' funeral while cutting your c*ck off with a rusty chainsaw than it was to sit through this pile of woke trash. Hollywood died a while ago. And it's because of films like this. This isn't a fad that's going to go away. If people don't take action, this is the future.

Racist, unfunny, leftist propaganda.

As a 'person of colour' (as they like to call me), my verdict is: don't just avoid... protest. The lives of your children literally depend on it.
Expand
2 of 3 users found this helpful21
All this user's reviews
4
katezoeJan 27, 2023
Hollywood cringy supposedly cool hip blackish movie. Filled with stereotypes and cliches beginning to end.
3 of 5 users found this helpful32
All this user's reviews
0
drublastJan 27, 2023
Quite a Silly idea for something that will be super rare, so where is the human relation? is this a Marvel 'What IF' episode? I don't think any jokes should be made about the disgusting war & separation we humans go through because ofQuite a Silly idea for something that will be super rare, so where is the human relation? is this a Marvel 'What IF' episode? I don't think any jokes should be made about the disgusting war & separation we humans go through because of organized religion. Expand
4 of 8 users found this helpful44
All this user's reviews
0
GigibrFeb 4, 2023
Offensive, cheap, vulgar, not funny. One of the worst movies I have ever watched. It has managed to vulgarise cultures, make them look ridiculous through unbelievable characters. A shame really.
1 of 2 users found this helpful11
All this user's reviews
7
dharmaJan 27, 2023
Funny comedy film could have been better, considering the great casts involved in this project. Jonah Hill, Eddie Murphy, David Duchovny, Julia Louis Dreyfuss...it's a pity that the flick is not as good as it could have been. Some funny setFunny comedy film could have been better, considering the great casts involved in this project. Jonah Hill, Eddie Murphy, David Duchovny, Julia Louis Dreyfuss...it's a pity that the flick is not as good as it could have been. Some funny set pieces near the beginning, but they are so sporadic and cringe worthy in later parts. Expand
1 of 5 users found this helpful14
All this user's reviews
10
MiaconoverJan 28, 2023
The movie was very interesting to say the least it added very cultural clarity upon what interracial relationships are facing and what most are afraid of speaking upon. I absolutely enjoyed the movie really loved it.
1 of 11 users found this helpful110
All this user's reviews
10
CustomMethodsJan 27, 2023
After laughing the whole way through the movie I have to say I loved it. Seeing so many of my favorite actors from across Kenya Barris projects like Anthony Anderson, Emily Arlook, Deon Cole, plus the greats like Eddie Murphy, Mike Epps,After laughing the whole way through the movie I have to say I loved it. Seeing so many of my favorite actors from across Kenya Barris projects like Anthony Anderson, Emily Arlook, Deon Cole, plus the greats like Eddie Murphy, Mike Epps, Julia Louis-Dreyfus, and other icons made me love it more. The tension between the Jewish and Black Muslims is very much a real thing and seeing it highlighted was a+. The performances great. Expand
0 of 11 users found this helpful011
All this user's reviews
7
Stream2BigScreeJan 29, 2023
Welcome back, Streamers. Let’s start the year off awkward yet cultured with You People. Because you people just don’t get it sometimes. Either way, this Netflix flick follows a new couple and their families, who find themselves examiningWelcome back, Streamers. Let’s start the year off awkward yet cultured with You People. Because you people just don’t get it sometimes. Either way, this Netflix flick follows a new couple and their families, who find themselves examining modern love and family dynamics amidst clashing cultures, societal expectations and generational differences. Let’s see how it goes.

First off, JONAH HILL DOES NOT LOOK LIKE A 35 YEAR OLD?! If he’s 35, then I probably look horrible out here! Nevertheless, the cast of this movie is so extensive and hilarious. Let’s start with Eddie being raw Eddie again. Sam Jay during the podcast is real and funny. Mike Epps in his limited time made me spit out my highball a couple times. The cast other than being funny are just as awkward as they are supposed to be. Julia Louis Dreyfus can’t get anymore awkward white mom and the rest of the cast pulls their same weight. Jonah Hill is the only one who feels mostly miscast in this role. I feel like there’s a swagger necessary this white guy couldn’t pull off in this role. I mean I know Robin Thicke isn’t doing anything right now. Joking but seriously, just something about Lauren and Jonah just doesn’t fit. It doesn’t ruin the movie because he’s pretty funny but where’s the Shabby Hanks kind of guy for this role. I laughed as I wrote that. Either way, the cast is definitely what holds this movie together.

Just to be honest, the movie is awkward and stressful. Now, that’s exactly what Kenya Barris is going for with this movie. In a way, this movie succeeds to exactly the way “Black-ish” and “Black AF” did. Barris has a way of forcing a narrative upon a show or movie and it just makes the movie awkward. There are times when things are going well and we’re laughing and tense due to the race relations but then there’s just super-forced, awkward scenes where someone would never say all of those things at once. You might get a couple but not the full spectrum of clueless white person back-to-back-to-back or militant black person back-to-back-to-back. Now, that’s where this movie becomes more like a “Black AF” rather than a “Black-ish”, which clearly means one has 8 seasons and “Black AF” should definitely never have a second season. Now, I’d actually definitely watch a first year of marriage sequel to You People, but I’d also be afraid Kenya might overdo it with his flavor as well. I’d have the fear that the movie just makes it too awkward and whiny like “Black AF” instead of funny and heartfelt like “Black-ish”.

At the end of the day, just like race relations in this country and world, there are problems. You People is a good clever romantic comedy that hinges on interracial relations in the world. While a few parts feel forced and awkward, like Kenya Barris, the rest feels like love and hilarity. Driven by a big cast and extended ensemble of minor characters, You People gets the point across. As a streaming option, you’d definitely find worse but not too many better. Grab a bowl of popcorn and flip over to Netflix when you get a chance to sit in a romantic tense situation with some good laughs. Run the Marathon with this one… that’s for you NIPSEY!
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
10
saimariejohnsonJan 27, 2023
Jonah Hill and Eddie Murphy teaming up with Julia Louis Dreyfuss and David Duchovny was the comedy team I didn't know I always wanted. I mean that in every possible way. This movie is such a great film and has so many wonderful points to makeJonah Hill and Eddie Murphy teaming up with Julia Louis Dreyfuss and David Duchovny was the comedy team I didn't know I always wanted. I mean that in every possible way. This movie is such a great film and has so many wonderful points to make about acceptance, love, unity and finding the individual value of every person and connection in our life without disrespecting anyone. This was a great comedy that approached serious intersectional issues in a refreshing way that highlighted the universal beauty of what love can do when people choose to embrace it. Expand
0 of 12 users found this helpful012
All this user's reviews
4
alanpotter17Feb 5, 2023
O problema não é o filme ser lotado de clichês (um judeu e uma negra em um relacionamento com as respectivas culturas em embate), e sim o modo como o faz, totalmente caricato e previsível.
Há pelo menos duas coisas realmente muito boas aqui:
O problema não é o filme ser lotado de clichês (um judeu e uma negra em um relacionamento com as respectivas culturas em embate), e sim o modo como o faz, totalmente caricato e previsível.
Há pelo menos duas coisas realmente muito boas aqui: Eddy Murphy está surpreendentemente muito bem e há uma série de referências que vão de Miss Dayse a Malcom X. Ainda que muitas vezes o diálogo pareçam forçados, alguns trechos são realmente bons.
No entanto, a composição dos personagens dos pais é meio estranha. Para lidar com o noivo judeu, o embate ficou para o pai da noiva (anulando a mãe negra), assim como para lidar com a noiva negra, o embate ficou para a mãe da noiva (anulando o pai judeu), ou seja, as próprias opções do roteiro acabaram por cair no segregacionismo.
Ainda que meio capenga na comédia e no drama, e com uma reviravolta rápida, previsível e não convincente, o filme pode agradar a militância por ser politicamente bem enquadrado. Mas como cinema, precisaria de muito mais.
Expand
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
4
tonysaidFeb 3, 2023
This movie had some funny parts. But I never believed Lauren London as the Jonah girlfriend. Watched once, and does not warrant a repeat viewing.
0 of 1 users found this helpful01
All this user's reviews
10
Chende35Jan 28, 2023
My wife and I thought the movie was amazing. Sure, it was a bit cringe, but it was supposed to be. Have you seen any of Jonah Hill's movies?
Their families were supposed to represent a very dramatic version of how people really act in
My wife and I thought the movie was amazing. Sure, it was a bit cringe, but it was supposed to be. Have you seen any of Jonah Hill's movies?
Their families were supposed to represent a very dramatic version of how people really act in America. The message was great and the actors were phenomenal. You will love this movie if you are able to see the big picture and enjoy a bit of cringy humor.
Expand
0 of 4 users found this helpful04
All this user's reviews
0
theirrelephantsFeb 8, 2023
Ah so this is why people are paying for a netflix subscription: so they can listen to a jew and a black be racist towards White people for nearly two hours.

Can't imagine why their subscriber count is dropping.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
DuffySteffanniFeb 7, 2023
I am so unbelievably blown away how awfully racist this terrible movie is. I can't believe Eddy played in this. I feel like this is Netflix's most advertised movie and yet their biggest failure. Stop trying to push racism. The so calledI am so unbelievably blown away how awfully racist this terrible movie is. I can't believe Eddy played in this. I feel like this is Netflix's most advertised movie and yet their biggest failure. Stop trying to push racism. The so called racism in this movie isnt yet every scene between is. It's so backwards and clearly is brainwashing political trash. If you haven't seen it, STAY AWAY. This is insulting to jews and Caucasian, and yes It's trying to feed racism against Africans/African Americans yet it is extremely insulting to them too. This film fails to show the real problem which is the making of such pathetic films. Cringe 100% Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
0
mrlegendFeb 7, 2023
Race baiting with louis Farrakhan talking points...
This movie does a great disservice to Jews and to the actual tension between Black people and Jewish people.

Truly Garbonzo.
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews
1
JackEFlapsFeb 7, 2023
You would struggle finding another movie released in the past 100 years that took as harsh a stand against interracial relationships as this one. Unfortunately that's not even the worst part of it. The film spends much of its time blamingYou would struggle finding another movie released in the past 100 years that took as harsh a stand against interracial relationships as this one. Unfortunately that's not even the worst part of it. The film spends much of its time blaming Jewish people for the struggles of black America. Their accomplishments are written off as products of nepotism and the Holocaust is ridiculed. The creators could make jokes about genocide, but luckily one item was off limits, hair. The whole thing was unfunny and difficult to watch. Honestly, I wouldn't want to meet the person who could like this movie. Expand
0 of 0 users found this helpful00
All this user's reviews