• Network: FOX , TBS
  • Series Premiere Date: Feb 6, 2005
Season #: 17, 15, 15, 14, 13, 12, 11, 10, 9, 8, 7, 6, 5, 4, 3, 2, 1
Metascore
41

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 21
  2. Negative: 7 out of 21

Where To Watch

Stream On

Critic Reviews

  1. Reviewed by: Terry Kelleher
    Jun 28, 2013
    38
    The pilot aspires to outrageousness, but the humor needs to get a whole lot smarter.
  2. San Diego Union-Tribune
    Reviewed by: Robert P. Laurence
    Jul 10, 2013
    37
    "Dad" is even spottier than "Family Guy," a nearly random collection of blackouts in search of a story. [29 Apr 2005]
  3. Chicago Sun-Times
    Reviewed by: Thomas Conner
    Jul 10, 2013
    37
    The jokes aren't funny, the story is silly (or, really, not silly enough) and the new writers follow the "Family Guy" model so closely they fail to explain any of the characters or even the premise of the show. [28 Apr 2005]
  4. Variety
    Reviewed by: Brian Lowry
    Jul 10, 2013
    30
    As in "Family Guy," MacFarlane and company rely on a fast-moving formula predicated on the mindset that if a joke doesn't work, another will be along momentarily. There's something to that for small fry, but the low batting average and scatological emphasis conspire to narrow the program's appeal. [4 Feb 2005]
  5. Newsday
    Reviewed by: Noel Holston
    Jul 10, 2013
    30
    Determinedly irreverent and politically incorrect, but so obvious in its targets and so unoriginal in its barbs that it ends up being mostly an ode to its own crudity. [29 Apr 2005]
  6. New York Post
    Reviewed by: Adam Buckman
    Jul 10, 2013
    0
    About as appetizing as fried roadkill. [5 Feb 2005]
  7. Philadelphia Inquirer
    Reviewed by: Jonathan Storm
    Jul 10, 2013
    0
    The only fun is in trying to enumerate how many ways it's offensive. [30 Apr 2005]
User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 148 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 148
  1. Jan 15, 2012
    10
    I'll admit, I watched the first few episodes when it first aired and did not like it. But years later, after watching a full season andI'll admit, I watched the first few episodes when it first aired and did not like it. But years later, after watching a full season and getting to know the characters, I like it better than Family Guy. It might not be for everyone's sense of humor, but if you like Family Guy, then you'll probably grow to like American Dad! equally if you give is a fair chance. Full Review »
  2. Feb 4, 2011
    3
    This show is literally crap. If you're thinking of watching this, don't bother. It's basically a rip off of Family Guy only less funny. IThis show is literally crap. If you're thinking of watching this, don't bother. It's basically a rip off of Family Guy only less funny. I would recommend watching something else like The Simpsons or South Park. Full Review »
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    8
    What A Great Show! I Love American Dad! (As Well As Family Guy, And The Cleveland Show) This Show Is Very Creative, Good Sold Story's, Funny,What A Great Show! I Love American Dad! (As Well As Family Guy, And The Cleveland Show) This Show Is Very Creative, Good Sold Story's, Funny, And Very Good Voice Acting... The 1st Season Is Just A Little Down In My Rating, But Still Season 1 Is Good, But The Other Seasons Are Ever Better! Full Review »