Detective Pikachu Image
Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 61 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: As Tim Goodman, you will partner with a self-proclaimed "great detective" Pikachu to solve strange occurrences all over Ryme City. Together you must investigate, take notes, and meet up with other Pokémon to unravel the city's greatest mysteries. Tim is searching for his missing father inAs Tim Goodman, you will partner with a self-proclaimed "great detective" Pikachu to solve strange occurrences all over Ryme City. Together you must investigate, take notes, and meet up with other Pokémon to unravel the city's greatest mysteries. Tim is searching for his missing father in Ryme City, but instead encounters a witty, tough-talking Pikachu! Along the way, experience over 150 fun-filled animated cutscenes starring this unique Pikachu, providing helpful hints or talking up a storm. You can also tap the extra-large Detective Pikachu amiibo™ figure to access all cutscenes up until the current chapter played. As you investigate crime scenes, gather testimonies, uncover information, and interact with Pokémon to solve cases. You’ll have to put your detective skills to the test to foil the mastermind behind the disturbances in Ryme City. All in a day's work for detective Pikachu. [Nintendo] Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Detective Pikachu - Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 61
  2. Negative: 0 out of 61
  1. Mar 27, 2018
    85
    Detective Pikachu is a surprisingly charming Telltale-like game filled with humor, twists, and a sassy electric rodent. More than a mish-mash of minigames, it's a shockingly solid title with first-class voice acting.
  2. Mar 29, 2018
    80
    Detective Pikachu is simply a delightful time and shows that there is a lot that can be done with the Pokémon world outside of training to be the very best.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Apr 28, 2018
    77
    Pikachu is shown as an assertive man who can’t live without his espresso, loves to crack jokes and speaks in deep baritone of a hard-boiled detective. In short, he’s charismatic to the point of instantly becoming one of the best characters Nintendo ever made. [Issue#229, p.58]
  4. Mar 22, 2018
    70
    Detective Pikachu is an above average point-and-click style game wrapped with a great lead character in Detective Pikachu. The heart and the humour of the story more than make up for any clunkiness in the game’s mechanics and a slow start. Fun for everyone, let’s bring on the movie.
  5. Apr 17, 2018
    70
    While it may feel too simple at moments and its gameplay not as varied as it would be expected, it's a good departure from the Pokémon world for one of its most recognizable characters and one which will be a pleasant surprise for many.
  6. Mar 30, 2018
    70
    Detective Pikachu is a weird entry in the Pokémon franchise, especially because it somehow works: this crazy noir version of Pikachu is brilliant, however we can't tell the same about the game itself.
  7. Mar 30, 2018
    50
    Pikachu’s detective career never manages to capitalise on an ok start, and ultimately nothing is discovered when you scratch beneath the surface.

See all 64 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. Mar 23, 2018
    10
    The pinnacle of human invention, Detective Pikachu bestows meaning upon my empty life. I was initially disappointed that Danny DeVito didn'tThe pinnacle of human invention, Detective Pikachu bestows meaning upon my empty life. I was initially disappointed that Danny DeVito didn't voice Pikachu, but being honest with myself, we as a race couldn't handle it. If there's any criticism to be made, the part where Detective Pikachu waterboarded Charmander in an attempt to extract info on the whereabouts of Boss Muk was arguably a bit much. Expand
  2. Aug 3, 2018
    10
    We now know God exists. I sunk a good amount of time into this game, and there's enough innuendo to appeal to older folks.
  3. May 20, 2018
    10
    Simple, yet fun and with an engaging plot. As long as you enjoy lighthearted adventures and is in the right mood, this game is 100% recommendable.
  4. Mar 24, 2019
    8
    This game was impossible to put down, and I was nothing short of charmed by the cute adventure I went on. While a lot of the smaller mysteriesThis game was impossible to put down, and I was nothing short of charmed by the cute adventure I went on. While a lot of the smaller mysteries weren't hard to solve, the overall narrative was very compelling and addictive that I found myself always wanting to play more and find out what happens next. The best part of this game to me was it felt like it truly took place in the "World of Pokemon" where Pokemon were a regular part of daily society in all sorts of unique ways, a feeling few Pokemon games have given me before this one. If you ever watched the old Pikachu & Pichu special before the 3rd movie, this game felt a lot like I was a detective in that very city, and it was a good feeling. If you're in the mood for a cute and fun story filled with lots of fun characters and cutscenes, this one is worth picking up. Expand
  5. Nov 22, 2018
    8
    After seing the movie trailer, I played this game. While very simple and at times more childish than other similar games tend to be, it's anAfter seing the movie trailer, I played this game. While very simple and at times more childish than other similar games tend to be, it's an entertaining game to go through in your free time, as long as you take your time to enjoy the characters Expand
  6. Jan 16, 2019
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game has a lot of potential. For an example they made a great chose for the voice-actor of pikachu. However the main character "Chriss" is a very dull character. The game also doesn't answer the most vital question like "what happend to Chriss father" and "why can Chriss hear Pikachu". That's biggest flaw with this game. The makers probably thought they would be able to make a sequal, but since this game sold poorly, that is never gonna happen. They should have avoided this, because now we will never hear the end of the story. Beside the great voice performance for pikachu, I did enjoy the music. It reminded me of Phoenix wright, which is great. My final rating is a 6,5. Expand
  7. Mar 5, 2020
    0
    When a game holds your hand as much as this,
    You might as well be as insulted as I am.
    Playing on normal mode was the WORST pacing I've ever
    When a game holds your hand as much as this,
    You might as well be as insulted as I am.
    Playing on normal mode was the WORST pacing I've ever seen in a game.
    Do we REALLY need to slow down at every other junction and go over 'clues' and interview every.last.person.about.every.last.detail IN EXCRUCIATING NON DETAIL?!

    The entire game: *chase something*
    *reach a certain point*
    WAIT, HOLD UP.. we dont know where to go, from here!
    "We just saw them go that way. We KNOW they're going to the.. wait are you serious? You really want me to check for clues? They went to the right."
    HOLD UP THERE KID, dont go blindly charging off to the right. We dont know if thats the way.
    "Actually we totally do."
    In spect that wall, I'm going to ask the Rattata if they saw anything.
    "So we're going to stop chasing, AGAIN? To ask questions. And then drag icons over to where we saw them IRL? Dude, even L.A. Noire didnt waste this much time on interrogations and clues."
    *Detective says the exact same thing over and over until you collect the last unnecessary clue and then stare at it for another 5 years*
    They went off to the right, kid!
    "O rly? I would not have guessed this, detective genius"
    Well, thats why I'm your ***. Being bad detectives runs in the ***ily.

    Even when youre allowed to play, youre pretty much halfway thru the game and the clues get obnoxious.
    "Youre just like my ***."
    And then the game is over and although you know who is who, there are unanswered questions.
    As a first detective kinda game, this is terrible for kids and adults of any age.
    It doesnt even let you play the game, and intentionally slows the story down for quick time events EVERY chance it gets. It could've been a few hours of cutscenes, but NO you gotta mash A every so often.
    Just let me get to the end of teh story. PLEEEAAAASSSEE
    Expand

See all 28 User Reviews

Trailers