Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
Buy On
  1. May 20, 2014
    70
    Half of Mario Golf: World Tour is a worthy, delightful addition to the stable of Mario sporting games. The other half is too exacting and too dull to match that, let alone exceed it.
  2. May 16, 2014
    70
    The single player mode is not enough to justify a purchase as it is short and with very little challenge. Gather some friends though and you'll have a great time.
  3. May 14, 2014
    70
    It might be lacking in structure and its online systems seem ancient. As a golf game, though, Mario Golf World Tour is solid beyond any doubt. Its inner mechanics just are some of the best in the genre.
  4. May 12, 2014
    70
    Solid online modes and addictive gameplay makes Mario Golf: World Tour an easy recommendation. But a poor career mode with an unnecessary focus on the boring Mii characters keeps the game from achieving true greatness.
  5. As a guy whose passion for golf games lies mostly in powering through single-player tours and developing a character’s skills and playing style, Mario Golf: World Tour left me a little unsatisfied.
  6. May 2, 2014
    70
    It's gamesome, it's lightsome, and it's enjoyable even for those ignorant of golf. Mario Golf: World Tour won't surprise you at all but its gameplay is very lovely, it has a power to make you smile, and it will engage you for ages. On condition that Nintendo is going to debug its multiplayer servers.
  7. Apr 29, 2014
    70
    Between the varied courses that are available, the multiplayer options and the excellent gameplay dynamic, Mario Golf: World Tour offers a little something to everyone, both pro and casual players alike. What it lacks in innovation (and in some cases, quality audio- your Mii sounds too much like a doofus), it more than makes up for with a swinging good time.
  8. Apr 25, 2014
    70
    There's a lot of fun to be had here, and with classic Nintendo characters backing up the action, World Tour is a thoroughly charming game too. What a shame, then, that it lacks the cohesion and refinement to make those sometimes-brilliant moments easier to digest and access.
  9. Apr 24, 2014
    70
    None of Mario Golf World Tour’s changes are revolutionary – ten years away has brought surprisingly few new ideas – but the core gameplay is as fun and attractive as ever, so if you’re looking for a golf game for the 3DS this will do just fine.
  10. Apr 24, 2014
    70
    World Tour does nothing to advance golf games to wherever it is they need to go next – I think we can all admit the genre has become incredibly stale – but it still manages to entertain. And that, my friends, is no bad thing.
  11. May 15, 2014
    65
    It was alright. Casual handheld game, for sure, arcade-ish and replayable. It’s nothing gripping, not by a long drive (see what I did there?). On the huge plus side though, when you hit a perfectly spun ball with precision timing, the ball does take on a distinctly familiar blue Super Saiyan aura.
  12. Apr 29, 2014
    62
    My problem with Mario Golf games, then, is really a kind of strength; the core game is so competent that a hitting a solid drive down the fairway feels sweet enough.
  13. May 10, 2014
    60
    Those who lost many hours to Mario Golf 64 or Toadstool Tour will find qualms with the blanket changes made to the formula, but, much like golf itself, once the learning curve is passed, contentment can be found in unsuspected places.
  14. May 2, 2014
    60
    Despite the solid core golf mechanics and snappy visuals, Mario Golf World Tour feels a bit scatterbrained, which is surprising given Camelot’s pedigree with Nintendo sports titles.
  15. May 1, 2014
    60
    A little panache and daring can go a long way towards standing out on the real-life fairways, and it would've done so here as well.
  16. Apr 24, 2014
    60
    As a Nintendo game, Mario Golf: World Tour feels uncharacteristically clunky. When the tense thrill of the course takes you, it's a great experience that packs a lot of potential depth, but with confused structures and systems, it takes patience to see the best World Tour has to offer.
  17. Apr 24, 2014
    60
    This inability to decide where World Tour lies among the many paths the series has taken previously is the game’s true problem. It demonstrates both why Camelot is so trusted by Nintendo, and why it has been stuck making sporting spinoffs for so long. Camelot seems unsure of whether it would prefer to be held by the hand or simply set free, and ends up putting the player in that same awkward middle ground.
User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 63 out of 90
  2. Negative: 6 out of 90
  1. May 2, 2014
    8
    I remember the good old days of Mario Golf and Mario Tennis on Nintendo 64 pretty vividly. I couldn't be happier to have both on the 3DS. II remember the good old days of Mario Golf and Mario Tennis on Nintendo 64 pretty vividly. I couldn't be happier to have both on the 3DS. I was pretty surprised at how challenging this one is, I'm glad they made a difficulty level so all gamers can enjoy and not be bored of sinking eagles and birdies every hole. The menu is pretty standard and easy to maneuver around. Really all I can say about it at the moment since I've only put about 2 or 3 hours into the game, but so far it's worthy of donning the Mario Golf name. Replay value is awesome, gameplay is solid, definitely a good addition to anyone's 3DS lineup. Full Review »
  2. Apr 4, 2015
    10
    This game is awesome. Just got it today Platinum Reward from Club Nintendo. The graphics look amazing. The controls are okay. The CharacterThis game is awesome. Just got it today Platinum Reward from Club Nintendo. The graphics look amazing. The controls are okay. The Character selection is good. The Courses are awesome. The tournaments are cool. The items are awesome. This game is the closest to a Mario Kart game because of the sounds. Mario Golf World Tour is a great game and it is worth buying/downloading. Full Review »
  3. May 2, 2014
    10
    So excited to have Mario Golf back from Nintendo and Camelot. The game has some of the best online options Nintendo has ever made. TheseSo excited to have Mario Golf back from Nintendo and Camelot. The game has some of the best online options Nintendo has ever made. These options GREATLY give the game legs to keep playing for months on end. Nintendo is also offering 6 18 hole courses as DLC and this is great as well. The game is $5 cheaper than other 3DS games so I think this is a great way to give players more options if they want it. OH, and the golf, the golf is solid and challenging. Dont think you can chip your way to a birdie on every hole pal...no way. Great all around game here! Full Review »