Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 75 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: (Also known as "Mario & Luigi: Dream Team Bros") A new installment in the Mario & Luigi role-playing series is coming to Nintendo 3DS this summer. The game takes place inside the mind of a sleeping Luigi, who is a powerful, brave hero in his dreams.
Buy On
  • Developer: Alphadream Corporation
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Console-style RPG, Console-style RPG, Japanese-Style
  • # of players: No Online Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: E10+
  • More Details and Credits »

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Mario & Luigi: Dream Team - Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 75
  2. Negative: 0 out of 75
  1. Jul 12, 2013
    95
    Except for the tutorials and the long sessions it requires, it's a wonderful adventure in every aspect that offers tons of fun.
  2. Jul 12, 2013
    90
    Mario and Luigi share a new RPG adventure that is funny from the begining, give us surprises until the ending and offers plenty of hours of enjoyment and humour. Recommended for Nintendo 3DS owners in general.
  3. Aug 19, 2013
    90
    For all this, we must consider Dream Team Bros. an essential game for Nintendo 3DS, and we cannot forget the great location for Portuguese.
  4. Jul 15, 2013
    83
    It might not quite hit the highs of Bowser’s Inside Story, but it’s still essential; yet another must-have title to the 3DS’ ever-increasing library of incredible first party games.
  5. Jul 22, 2013
    80
    Sure, the challenge could be a little bit higher, but that doesn't prevent Dream Team Bros from proving that they truly are a dream team with more charm, intelligence and awesomeness than anyone else.
  6. Aug 7, 2013
    78
    Mario & Luigi: Dream Team could have been one of the best RPGs on the 3DS; instead, it sadly overstays its welcome.
  7. Aug 8, 2013
    60
    Fans of the series will find more to love than the rest, but Paper Mario 3D allows players of all levels to get to the point a lot faster. Though Dream Team has one of the better 3D effects, in both 2D and 3D gameplay, you're more likely to shut your eyes than cross them. There are hours of entertainment for patient players willing to read and giggle at silly accents, but I'd rather explore Bowser's dreams instead.

See all 75 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 59 out of 80
  2. Negative: 5 out of 80
  1. Jan 30, 2019
    10
    The only thing I dislike is the tutorials. Great music , looks nice for a 3DS game, and unique gameplay! Even better that Superstar Saga IMO.The only thing I dislike is the tutorials. Great music , looks nice for a 3DS game, and unique gameplay! Even better that Superstar Saga IMO. 10 out of 10 Expand
  2. Aug 11, 2013
    10
    Ever since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you likedEver since Superstar Saga, Nintendo & AlphaDream have made nothing but great games in the Mario series. Been playing it non-stop. If you liked at least 1 of the games in the series, it a no brainer you should play this. Expand
  3. May 12, 2014
    9
    It has a slow start, with tutorials and it doesn't seems good as the others Mario & Luigi games. If you are in this thinking like I was in theIt has a slow start, with tutorials and it doesn't seems good as the others Mario & Luigi games. If you are in this thinking like I was in the beginning, you're probably wrong. Mario & Luigi: Dream Team let you play in a big adventure, bigger than the other Mario & Luigi games. It has great musics and innovates on the Dreams and on the new Motion Attacks.
    The new feature, the Dream World, it seems sometimes like Bowser's Inside Story, where you could go to Bowser's body, but the fun Luiginary Works make up that. Also, the special attacks sometimes have motion support, very well used in my opinion.
    The battles are challenging, I had a lot of bad times with some enemies and boss battles, but they are really fun, as always.
    The design and art is beautiful, very colorful, but something is different between the sprites and the background and something is wrong when the sprites grow on size.
    The story, not better than Mario & Luigi: Bowser's Inside Story, is awesome, with lots of comedy.
    I also loved this new characters, the Pi'illos, specially Dreambert. The new antagonist, Antasma, needed something else, I dunno, maybe he just needed to have more talking.
    Other mistake son the game is the huge content of tutorials and the slow start.

    +Awesome Soundtrack
    +Good story with humor
    +Boss and regular enemies battles fun and challenging.
    + Luiginary Works makes things more interesting
    +It took me 60 hours to finish it (not 100%), so yeah, it's entertaining

    -Not that bad graphics, but could be better
    -Slow start with a lot of tutorials

    My review: 8.75
    Expand
  4. Aug 11, 2013
    9
    Just plain fun game. It reminds that the games don't have to be all serious and stuff. Don't expect it to be as good as Paper Mario 2. It'sJust plain fun game. It reminds that the games don't have to be all serious and stuff. Don't expect it to be as good as Paper Mario 2. It's not. But it is still a great game. It tries to do something new with the dream world but in my opinion the dream world parts are pretty repetitive. Sometimes those parts even bore me. You can't even play as Luigi in dream world battles which was disappointing. In the beginning game is very linear and booooring. After an hour or so it gets good. Few boss battles in this game are epic but I won't spoil them for you. One of the main reasons that kept me play this game was the great humor. Really this game is really funny. Music was epic, well at least some of it, some of the music was old rehash like Pajamaja Mountain background music sounds like Mario RPG Forest Maze. I have mixed opinions of graphics. Sometimes it looks ok but most of the time pretty lame. All in all I recommend this game and it's well worth the money. Go pick this up now.

    + Epic music
    + Great humor
    + Challenging boss battles
    + It will entertain you long time

    -Pretty lame graphics
    -It starts off very sloooow
    -Repetitive and sometimes also lazy dream worlds

    8.5/10
    Expand
  5. Aug 16, 2013
    8
    Mario & Luigi: Dream Team provides a new graphics and styles, but a bit loses its Mario & Luigi's essential. This game is still not asMario & Luigi: Dream Team provides a new graphics and styles, but a bit loses its Mario & Luigi's essential. This game is still not as excellent as Superstar Saga and not amazing as Bowser's Inside Story, but Dream Team is still a great RPG game yet. (8.0 out of 10.0) Expand
  6. Jul 5, 2018
    7
    A Mario & Luigi game through and through, which occasionally offers glimpses of the greatness of the first and third entries in the series andA Mario & Luigi game through and through, which occasionally offers glimpses of the greatness of the first and third entries in the series and maintains tight combat throughout, but suffers horribly from ever-worsening omnipresent tutorialization and multiple overly drawn out parts of the game where the plot comes to an absolute standstill for several hours straight while you ditz around with repetitive dream worlds and battle the same enemies a couple dozen times in a row.

    Basically an otherwise solid entry in the series brought down a few notches by abhorrent pacing issues.
    Expand
  7. Aug 14, 2019
    0
    This game is so bad that I created an account just to say how bad it is. Not only is it the worst mario rpg game, it's also one of the worstThis game is so bad that I created an account just to say how bad it is. Not only is it the worst mario rpg game, it's also one of the worst rpg games. It's basically the "super mario maker" of the series, not because you can create things, but because it's so bad it's what you'd expect out of a super mario maker user level. at no point in playing through the entire game was fun had.
    You have these attacks that go on for 4 hours, and after you play the entire sequence of dance dance revolution, you're rewarded by dealing the enemy almost double digit damage, but it's more like 6, but if you mess up the 4 hour sequence of dodging you take 99999999999999 damage. awful game, do not play even if you get it for free. even if you're paid to play it.
    Expand

See all 80 User Reviews