• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Jun 4, 2019
Persona Q2: New Cinema Labyrinth Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Joker Takes Center Stage - Experience a thought-provoking story from the perspective of the protagonist from Persona 5 as you along with the other Phantom Thieves meet the S.E.E.S. from Persona 3 and the Investigation Team from Persona 4 in a cinematic world!.
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Persona Q2: New Cinema Labyrinth - Phantom Thieves Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. Jun 6, 2019
    90
    Person Q2: New Cinema Labyrinth is not only an excellent dungeon crawler but also a great swan song for the Nintendo 3DS. A long game, with a good story for fans who can only miss a dub in English and the 3D effect.
  2. Jun 3, 2019
    90
    Even if you’re not huge on dungeon exploration Persona Q2 is a great game. It contains plenty of fanservice and references for fans of the main Persona titles and has a complex and rewarding combat and exploration loop that makes it worth playing even if it’s your first Persona game ever.
  3. Jul 9, 2019
    85
    Persona Q2: New Cinema Labyrinth is a conservative game with respect to its first installment, but manages to connect with the fan quickly, as the exploration and battle systems are still really fun to play and the huge cast of characters from the series parades through the screen.
  4. Jun 7, 2019
    82
    Persona Q2: New Cinema Labyrinth is a nice curtain closing for the license on 3DS. The gameplay is solid and the production is full of personality, both visually and musically. As long as you have done the Persona, interactions that should never have and could have taken place between the characters are pleasant and fun. The story progresses without a hitch and it is not too Manichaean for once — it even ends with a hint of emotion. So, it's almost all good — a solid conclusion to Persona and a good gateway to trying out the Etrian Odyssey series.
  5. Jun 20, 2019
    80
    Persona Q2's gameplay is a clever offshoot from Persona 5's highly refined battle system and is a consistently fun challenge. It's story isn't quite the serious social commentary of it's console sibling, but the fun and fan service on offer is fantastic.
  6. 80
    Persona Q2: New Cinema Labyrinth is a fun and welcome reunion with old friends embarking on a brand new adventure into a twisted and unpredictable world.
  7. Jun 3, 2019
    70
    Persona Q2’s has a lot of fun dungeon crawling to offer, but doesn’t make the most of its great cast’s time together.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 13
  2. Negative: 4 out of 13
  1. Jun 4, 2019
    10
    Persona Q2 is a fantastic 3DS game, and a surprisingly good persona experience.
    A solid improvement from Persona Q1 in every single mechanic
  2. Oct 18, 2019
    10
    First, let me begin by saying that I was truly disappointed by the fact that the audio was in japanese, I was really hoping to get englishFirst, let me begin by saying that I was truly disappointed by the fact that the audio was in japanese, I was really hoping to get english audio for this game. Nevertheless, the game was fantastic and I really loved every single aspect of it. I did played the previous game, Persona Q: Shadow of the Labyrinth, but it didn't have quite the appeal at all. Persona Q2 has a better story, which you can relate to in some aspect of your life. The dialogues and interactions between the characters are lively and funny, they don't fell like they have been forced at all. The idea of the dungeons is very well built and creative. The dungeon navigation is more entertaining and less of a hassle. The boss battles are unique and hard just enough to enjoy them. Overall, if you did play PQ and liked it or didn't like it at all, I highly recommend playing PQ2, since it's an enhanced version of it. You'll love it! Expand
  3. Jun 4, 2019
    9
    God I love Persona. This is probably the last amazing game on the 3DS. I havent finished the whole story yet but im enjoying the game sooGod I love Persona. This is probably the last amazing game on the 3DS. I havent finished the whole story yet but im enjoying the game soo much. Atlus did an amazing job as always. My favorite 3DS game.

    9/10
    Expand
  4. Jun 23, 2020
    7
    #DashReview

    Persona Q2 is the turn-based RPG with first-person dungeon crawler and mapmaking. This latest installment crossover character
    #DashReview

    Persona Q2 is the turn-based RPG with first-person dungeon crawler and mapmaking. This latest installment crossover character with Persona 3, 4 and 5. Being one of the last games 3DS and being from the critically acclaimed series, will Persona Q2 live up to the legacy of the series or has this franchise had too many installments in the past few years?

    The Phantom Thieves from Persona 5, go on a mission to Mementos which takes a turn for the worst as they soon find out they are stuck in a mysterious movie theater with no way out. While trying to escape by going into different movies and changing them, they also run into other persona users trying to escape. (From Persona 3 and 4). It’s a pretty simple story that severs its purpose of being fan service for anyone that has played all 3 of the current mainline games. Some characters are stripped of their personality for the sake of a joke sometimes like in Persona Q1 but these moments are few and far between and don’t bog down the script like in the previous game. The script is serviceable but I felt that the pacing, especially in the latter half of this 80-hour game, dragged on and it became boring in parts. There a lot to like about the story in this game regardless if you played all 3 games or not but sticking through the whole affair might be hard for some.

    Turn-based combat is something that most games just can’t make interesting but the Persona series continues to keep players engaged with multiple ways to tackle situations by switching Personas or through the cast of 28 characters. The visuals of things like all-out attacks and union attacks also help to make for some fun moment due to certain attacks like a character cross-dressing for an all-girl attack or someone getting stuck at the wheel of a car and running over an enemy. In-between combat, you’ll explore labyrinth that you have to map out on the touch screen which adds some strategy to the game. There’s also fun side missions where you see more character interactions outside of the main story. While all of this is great, there not much to do outside of this combat and it did get a bit stale in the latter half. The first half is the best part of this game but just like the story, it drags on due to artificial game lengthier that are added to the 3rd and 4th parts of the game. The 3rd part having bullet sponge robots that makes the part a bit longer then it needed to be. Most levels follow the formula of having 4 acts followed by a boss but the 4th part has 6 acts and 2 boss floors. This stops the story right in its tracks and due to the length, you end up fighting the same enemies over and over for 10 to 15 hours of the run time. I thought the 4th part was the end of the game but there is a 5th and final part that was normal length again, so I don’t understand why the 4th part was so long. If you’re willing to get past the overly long 4th part, the other parts are pretty good. Gameplay severs its purpose for a Persona game but filler hurts the experience.

    The game looks great and union attacks steal the show when it comes to what you can graphically pull off on the 3DS. The soundtrack is amazing. New and old tracks are great. Nothing forgettable at all about this OST. A few framerate slowdowns but only in graphically intense scenes, nothing that takes away from the game.

    Persona Q2 is a good RPG for fans of the series and a great 3DS sendoff but newcomers might want to start somewhere else. The slow pace and the abundance of Persona references will put off some people. Even fans of the series might need to be a bit patient with a dull 4th part and bullet sponges in the 3rd part. Underneath the problems this game has, there is still some fun to be had with the multiple characters of this series and the excellently executed first half and finale of the game.

    Pros:
    +Fun Crossover Story
    +Amazing Presentation
    +Great Soundtrack
    +Almost Flawless First Half

    Cons:
    -Too Much Game Padding in Later Half
    -Needs More to Do Outside Of Combat
    Expand
  5. Jun 27, 2019
    6
    As someone who did not enjoy the original persona Q (and first person dungeon crawlers in general) , I found Q2 to be a somewhat fun gameAs someone who did not enjoy the original persona Q (and first person dungeon crawlers in general) , I found Q2 to be a somewhat fun game with an okay battle system and an interface that takes a lot of inspiration from persona 5. The main gameplay takes place in these mazes called Labyrinths and the game is a first person dungeon crawler, gameplay being very similar to the entrian odyssey series.To navigate the labyrinths , you’ll have to use the touch screen of the 3DS to draw a map with special markers to mark chests and treasure spots. I found this mapping system to be somewhat fun but it felt quite tedious by the end of the game due to it being quite repetitive . The game does not use the one more system from persona 3 to 5 , instead it uses something called the boost system. When a character land a critical hit or a weakness of an enemy they will be knocked down , but instead of getting to act again , the character will have a boost. If a character has said boost effect, they will act first in the next turn, as well as the character getting the SP and HP cost of all their skills reduced to zero .If a character with a boost gets hit, they will loose the boost. I think that this battle system is alright albeit not as fun due to most of the fights being rather easy and boring. The inclusion of persona 3’s Femc was intergrated quite well into the plot , even if the plot itself was quite average. Unlike the first PQ, you cannot choose which protagonist to play as instead forcing the player to play as Joker. While that might seem like a downside , this made PQ2’s plot much more focused than the first game. But you’re probably not planning to play this game for the plot, you‘re going to play it for the fan service character interactions between your favourite characters from Personas 3 through 5 ). Their interactions are very light hearted and some characters’ personalities have been boiled down to their base traits and most character development that they had before the beginning of PQ2 has been chucked out of the window. There are some nice moments here and there, but in the end I just skipped most of the dialogue (especially for the side quests) due to them being quite lacking in substance. Quite a few moments in this game also made me feel like slamming my head against a wall due to how dumbed down some characters had become (though none of them reached og PQ Teddie levels of irritating). As for the new characters , I think that they’re okay if not a bit bland. I’m not going to talk about them in much detail due to spoilers , but I think that the main villain of the game is kind of shoehorned into the game and in my opinion Hikari is likeable though she is quite forgettable at the end of the day.
    The OST of this game is decent with good remixes of pre-existing songs and a good original songs as well. In conclusion, Persona Q2 New Cinema Labyrinth is a game that is quite average, with it at least being better than the original Persona Q.
    Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2019
    5
    The last big game on the 3DS, Persona Q2 sadly did not improve upon the first one´s formula. The game still have dungeon crawling issues, tooThe last big game on the 3DS, Persona Q2 sadly did not improve upon the first one´s formula. The game still have dungeon crawling issues, too much focus on fan service, and simplifies the persona fusion and usage formula too much.
    I really would like to see a Persona Q with a original cast and original story, because the fan service is really annoying in this game.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2020
    2
    GOOD LORD THIS IS TERRIBLE!
    Its even less redeeming than the first one. AND I HATE THAT ONE, TOO!
    Alright, first things first.. the
    GOOD LORD THIS IS TERRIBLE!
    Its even less redeeming than the first one. AND I HATE THAT ONE, TOO!
    Alright, first things first.. the difficulty is all over the place. It makes no sense. You truly cant change up your tactics at all. Every battle becomes a weakness exploit-fest. There are the usual.. and altogether FAR too usual SMT style enemies that 2-shot you once you reach the next floor, if you dont babysit your party.
    Even after leveling and gear up as well as you can, it becomes a 3 shot affair. There isnt much relaxation or room for different tactics, and its a shame.

    Story is just as one dimensional as the first one, although they feel a bit off, in this one. Like .. Q1 was stereotypical, and you didnt get to hear as much as the persona games, a'course. But the team, as nice as it is to see 'em again, doesnt feel 'like home'. You'll know if you play it. It isnt persona. It isnt persona!

    I cant.. stress how much I dont MIND grinding. Done properly, its mindless and feels like youre making your party overpowered.
    Then there are times when youre already scraping the bottom of the barrel for xp and if you JUST had 5 more levels, your strategy would fall into place. Thats the boss tier fights, in q2.
    I know what it is, its the DLC microtransactions that atlus puts into everything, for the last few years.
    Slow the xp gain and charge another 2 bucks for the cheat dlc or an overpowered persona. *sigh*

    Its reasons like that .. that I cant recommend any of these last years of games from atlus. They're still fine, its just that they arent like the earlier games that felt balanced and natural. There are plenty of atlus games, in general.. that are still TOUGH but balanced. You grind it out for an hour and youre back to being on fair footing. Or OP at best.
    *sigh* Back to strange journey.. or maybe Etrian3.
    I love you, but I hate you Atlus.
    Expand

See all 13 User Reviews