User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeB.
    Nov 17, 2007
    10
    This is WWII strategy at its best. If you ever played panzer general on the PC this is a must buy! I was suprised by how deep the game is and how well the interface works. A great DS game for adults.
  2. TygerK.
    Nov 9, 2007
    9
    If you took the best of Advance Wars and added a WW2 feel, sound,music and well done graphics (for a handheld)gave it deeper strategy,than AWDS made it based on hexigons instead of squares, made it Nintendo wifi / internet battle capable you migh come close to Panzer Tactics DS. It's well worth the money.
  3. Dom
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    Underrated game in my opinion. Although the multiplayer part is nothing to be very proud of this is the first serious turn-based strategy game for the DS. I must admit that the gameplay is rather slow and each move requires some thinking, but isn't this exactly what you would expect from a good strategy game?! The interface is fine, many people are simply not familiar with wargaming Underrated game in my opinion. Although the multiplayer part is nothing to be very proud of this is the first serious turn-based strategy game for the DS. I must admit that the gameplay is rather slow and each move requires some thinking, but isn't this exactly what you would expect from a good strategy game?! The interface is fine, many people are simply not familiar with wargaming on hexagons. Start with the tutorials and you will feel comfortable with the interface and the hexagonal board after a few missions. I wouldn't recommend the game to children or casual gamers (better try Advance Wars), but for turn-based strategy/tactics fans who like games like Panzer General or Battle Isle/History Line it is a must buy. Panzer Tactics is really a great game and I hope more serious DS-games for grownups and more experienced players will show up in the future. I am really getting tired of all these casual games nowadays. Expand
  4. C.R.
    Jan 17, 2008
    8
    A great single player strategy game with a lengthy campaign. It is a bit slow (especially compared to Advance Wars), and the controls as well as the battle system are complicated, but if you picked this game up you are looking for something more complicated than your average handheld strategy game.
  5. MichaelW
    Dec 26, 2009
    10
    I love, love, love this game. It's provided months of entertainment. It's not action oriented, it's strategy based, like chess on steroids. Is very enjoyable alone but can be played against another human. Great game!
  6. NikZ.
    Dec 17, 2007
    9
    Exactly what it needed to be. Classic WWII hex-wargaming for the older crowd. If you were a fan of games like Panzer General back in the good 'ol days, or ever put chits to paper through the late nights of your college years, you'll find a lot to love here.
  7. LeifS.
    Dec 27, 2007
    10
    Remember the DOS game Panzer General? This is it in the DS format. Once you get comfortable with the interface, it is a great, fun wargame with surprising detail.
  8. Mar 2, 2021
    8
    Gran juego, entretenido y que cumple con lo esperado. Por momentos se vuelve complicado. No veo en modo un jugador nada que sea criticable. La IA del juego funciona bien. Lo recomiendo muchisimo.

Awards & Rankings

74
36
#36 Most Discussed DS Game of 2007
56
#56 Most Shared DS Game of 2007
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 60
    Panzer Tactics DS is a perfectly good single player game. It's not as exciting or as interesting as Advance Wars or Age of Empires, but it has a solid plot (provided by the good people of history) and a whole lot of campaign missions.
  2. For the serious strategist, you couldn't ask for more. The game interface detracts from the experiene, though. People who aren't into WW2 or slow play should pass on this one.
  3. Panzer Tactics offer a great turn-based military combat alternative to the popular Advance Wars series. It's light years from having Dual Strike beat, but some players will surely appreciate - and perhaps even prefer - the more serious tone and realism of the historical battles in Panzer Tactics.