Pokemon Ruby Version

Game Boy Advance
Pokemon Ruby Version Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The race to catch 'em all is on again in Pokémon Ruby. This entry in the Pokémon series features an all-new storyline, awesome new Pokémon, and addictive RPG gameplay. One of the biggest additions to Pokémon Ruby is the two-on-two battle system, which allows youThe race to catch 'em all is on again in Pokémon Ruby. This entry in the Pokémon series features an all-new storyline, awesome new Pokémon, and addictive RPG gameplay. One of the biggest additions to Pokémon Ruby is the two-on-two battle system, which allows you to link up with three friends to battle competitively or cooperatively. You can also showcase your Pokémon's coolness, beauty, cuteness, smartness, and toughness in Pokémon contests. With new Pokémon, two-on-two battles, and an all-new region of Hoenn to explore, Pokémon Sapphire takes the Pokémon experience to the next level. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Pokémon Ruby Movie 7
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 1 out of 30
  1. 100
    Intensively addictive. The battles are lightning-fast, the controls are completely stress-free, and there’s still something primordially fun about filling up those Pokédex pages.
  2. Nintendo Power
    98
    The amount of depth involving the Pokemon contests, berries and other new details is truly astounding. [Mar 2003, p.135]
  3. I’ve uncovered a marvelous new gaming world that I love immersing myself in and now my nephew and I can talk with equal zest about our various Poké accomplishments.
  4. Sadly I must say even the gameplay is starting to be outdated, yet it is still by many standards one of the best formulas for a videogame on the market today.
  5. Edge Magazine
    80
    Ruby/Sapphire is probably the most intricate and detailed console RPG available. Staring into it will make many players woozy. [Sept 2003]
  6. GameNow
    75
    The deeper I got into the game, however, the more I began to realize how little has changed in the Pokemon universe. [May 2003, p.39]
  7. Cheat Code Central
    40
    If you've already been-there-done-that, move along - there's nothing to see here. But if you must have Pokemon then just get one of these games. Don't fall prey to Nintendo's cheesy marketing scheme.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 74
  2. Negative: 1 out of 74
  1. KittyCrookshanks
    Jul 24, 2004
    10
    It's really disappointing that such a great series of gams have such boring tv shows and movies.
  2. LiamC.
    Jul 25, 2006
    10
    This is 1 of my fave games i have had to restart alot because i can complete it really easy now but i have trouble wiv the battle tower so i This is 1 of my fave games i have had to restart alot because i can complete it really easy now but i have trouble wiv the battle tower so i never do tht 1 lol anyway this is the best pokemon game i have ever played and i am very glad that i have not got pokemon ruby becaus my fave pokemon is on sapphire (kyogre). Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2018
    10
    - Pokémon Ruby is one of my favorite game in the Pokémon saga is an incredibly addictive game is extremely epic and beautiful.
  4. Mar 22, 2013
    9
    My favorite of generation of the first 3. So glad to be out of Kanto. The game has the same addictive aspect, but it has so much more depth.My favorite of generation of the first 3. So glad to be out of Kanto. The game has the same addictive aspect, but it has so much more depth. The massive ocean gives you a lot to explore and the upgrade to GBA is impressive. Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2019
    9
    This game was my ****, and going from GBC to GBA seemed like such a huge leap to my dumb little kid brain. It's just more Pokémon with moreThis game was my ****, and going from GBC to GBA seemed like such a huge leap to my dumb little kid brain. It's just more Pokémon with more bells and whistles...and it slaps. Tons of new monsters were added, two-on-two battles introduced, beauty contests, held items could be used in battle, the list goes on. This game is easily 50+ hours of gameplay and honestly 200+ if you wanted to see everything the game has to offer, and of course, catch em all. Expand
  6. Feb 5, 2022
    8
    82/100 but 100/100 in my heart
    This was my first game. Still somewhat playable nowadays: there is a remake but if you can play this one
  7. May 27, 2022
    2
    Pokemon Ruby and Sapphire are a massive step backwards from the previous generation of Gold, Silver, and Crystal.

    Day and Night is gone,
    Pokemon Ruby and Sapphire are a massive step backwards from the previous generation of Gold, Silver, and Crystal.

    Day and Night is gone, and so is going to multiple regions. It does though however mark the start of double battles, natures, and abilities that have become staples of the series ever since at the expense of making it much more complicated on the player's end compared to the first two generations of the games.

    The game overall is challenging, with a fantastic soundtrack that is easily among the best in the series to this day, and the new Pokemon introduced in this generation are truly great.

    As soon as you beat this game though, it grinds to a complete halt, but this seems to be a chronic problem with Pokemon games in general across the generations for the most parts with only a handful of exceptions.
    Expand

See all 74 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

14
4
#4 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2003
4
#4 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2003