The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 631 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the darkNow you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the dark world, conquering fierce monsters and uncovering Hyrule's deepest secrets along the way. Also included is Four Swords, which lets you play with up to three other players, slashing through dungeons and collecting rupees. Whether you choose solo or competitive play, The Legend of Zelda will keep you occupied with its brain-bending puzzles and fun swashbuckling action. Expand
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Movie 8
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    A Link to the Past is one of the best SNES games ever made, and it's found a new home on GBA, losing absolutely nothing in the translation. [Dec 2002, p.93]
  2. A flawless masterpiece, Link to the Past drastically improved upon its predecessors by introducing a more linear framework for the player to explore (rather than the vast open-endedness of the two previous games), a better interface and controls, and dungeon puzzles and layouts designed in such a manner that can only be called perfect.
  3. 100
    An indispensable game, combining arguably the finest RPG/adventure the 16-bit era ever produced (even compared to the likes of Secret of Mana and Final Fantasy VI) with an expertly realised multiplayer rendition of Zelda.
  4. This is a great opportunity for old schoolers to enjoy some excellent nostalgia (while kicking friends around in Four Swords) and new schoolers to partake in one of the greatest adventures of all time (er, while kicking friends around in Four Swords).
  5. A great handheld port of one of the greatest games ever released for Nintendo's 16-bit system.
  6. Although A Link to the Past represents some of the most fabulous game designs you're ever likely to see, it also suffers from some criminally unforgiving sections that today's gamer-on-the-go is likely to scoff at. Not quite the vision of perfection that it once seemed to be.
  7. netjak
    74
    The control of the game is where this really shines.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 126
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Dark world, as well as the many secrets and items found, make it one of the best Zelda titles there is. The sheer number of dungeons and difficulty of the game make it one of the longer Zelda games I Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2018
    10
    Rejugable hasta el día de hoy, historia perfecta, dificultad muy buena, un quebradero de cabeza y una gran satisfacción al ganar al boss,Rejugable hasta el día de hoy, historia perfecta, dificultad muy buena, un quebradero de cabeza y una gran satisfacción al ganar al boss, excelente juego. Expand
  3. SeanK.
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    I have been playin this game for ever and im still stuck at a part where you need to require the moon pearl. I only have an idea of where it I have been playin this game for ever and im still stuck at a part where you need to require the moon pearl. I only have an idea of where it is and I dont know how to get there.and ideas would be greatly appreciated. Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2021
    10
    The best game in the Zelda franchise. The atmosphere and game-play combined with brilliant puzzles and dungeons makes this one of my favoriteThe best game in the Zelda franchise. The atmosphere and game-play combined with brilliant puzzles and dungeons makes this one of my favorite action adventure games ever made. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2011
    9
    Link to the Past remains true to the standard Zelda formula. The quest is long but enjoyable, and the graphics are amazing and the story isLink to the Past remains true to the standard Zelda formula. The quest is long but enjoyable, and the graphics are amazing and the story is good. Very fun. Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2021
    9
    Good

    - The animations and overall graphics detail is amazing - the world is immense for SNES game. - dungeon design is very
    Good

    - The animations and overall graphics detail is amazing

    - the world is immense for SNES game.

    - dungeon design is very impressive. Puzzles are deep and reasonably challenging.

    - controls are crisp. Upgrades are cool and fun to use.

    Bad

    - the sword hitbox doesn't exactly match the animation.

    - moon pearl, a required item should not be missable, but it is. I was going in circles wondering where to find it. Turned out to be in a chest in a previous dungeon.

    - the game doesn't tell me that there are other ways to enter the dark world after beating the dark palace. This causes me to try and enter through the mountain pad entrance and try and find a way off the mountain, which was not possible

    - swamp palace. How am I supposed to know I'm supposed to randomly walk into a waterfall? 6 waterfalls that look identical. I'm supposed to walk through

    - I wish locked doors would be marked. And chests would be marked.

    - no hints were given that i had to use the fire rod to burn the entrance of the dark temple. The skull shows no indication that it could be burned.

    - Titan's mitts is missable in gargoyle palace, which is required to get into ice palace. Meaning I was completely stuck not knowing what I needed, until I refer to a guide.

    - game forces player to explore every nook and cranny to get potentially required items

    - quake medallion is required to reach final dungeon but it's missable. And I have to somehow know the order to hit the pikes to open the warp to dark world for last dungeon.

    - the game forces you to explore and do random quests to acquire required upgrades like silver Arrow to beat Ganon. I don't like how these important things are missable.

    - no price tag for super bomb. How am I supposed to know how much rupees to collect?
    Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2017
    0
    Overrated AF. try playing this game after Ocarina of time. Good luck. Why do people love this game so much? It's unbearable, after finishingOverrated AF. try playing this game after Ocarina of time. Good luck. Why do people love this game so much? It's unbearable, after finishing the opening in Hyrule castle I was so bored. Expand

See all 126 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  2. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
2
#2 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002