The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Image
Metascore
95

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 566 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Now you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the darkNow you have a link to one of the greatest adventures in The Legend of Zelda series. The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past revives the classic SNES game on the Game Boy Advance and adds a new multiplayer mode. In a Link to the Past, Link travels between the light world and the dark world, conquering fierce monsters and uncovering Hyrule's deepest secrets along the way. Also included is Four Swords, which lets you play with up to three other players, slashing through dungeons and collecting rupees. Whether you choose solo or competitive play, The Legend of Zelda will keep you occupied with its brain-bending puzzles and fun swashbuckling action. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
The Legend of Zelda: A Link to the Past Movie 8
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Play Magazine
    100
    A Link to the Past is one of the best SNES games ever made, and it's found a new home on GBA, losing absolutely nothing in the translation. [Dec 2002, p.93]
  2. A flawless masterpiece, Link to the Past drastically improved upon its predecessors by introducing a more linear framework for the player to explore (rather than the vast open-endedness of the two previous games), a better interface and controls, and dungeon puzzles and layouts designed in such a manner that can only be called perfect.
  3. 100
    An indispensable game, combining arguably the finest RPG/adventure the 16-bit era ever produced (even compared to the likes of Secret of Mana and Final Fantasy VI) with an expertly realised multiplayer rendition of Zelda.
  4. This is a great opportunity for old schoolers to enjoy some excellent nostalgia (while kicking friends around in Four Swords) and new schoolers to partake in one of the greatest adventures of all time (er, while kicking friends around in Four Swords).
  5. A great handheld port of one of the greatest games ever released for Nintendo's 16-bit system.
  6. Although A Link to the Past represents some of the most fabulous game designs you're ever likely to see, it also suffers from some criminally unforgiving sections that today's gamer-on-the-go is likely to scoff at. Not quite the vision of perfection that it once seemed to be.
  7. netjak
    74
    The control of the game is where this really shines.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 111
  2. Negative: 4 out of 111
  1. JesseR
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Out of all of the pre-Ocarina Zelda games, A Link to the Past is definitely the best. The depth of the game, including both its Light and Dark world, as well as the many secrets and items found, make it one of the best Zelda titles there is. The sheer number of dungeons and difficulty of the game make it one of the longer Zelda games I Expand
  2. Oct 9, 2018
    10
    This is by far my favourite Zelda game and the game that got me into adventure and RPG style games. As a kid I loved playing it on the SNESThis is by far my favourite Zelda game and the game that got me into adventure and RPG style games. As a kid I loved playing it on the SNES and have revisited it on several occasions. Expand
  3. LevitonK.
    Jul 12, 2003
    10
    Possibly the best port of any game to the GBA that you will ever see. If you've played the original on the Super Nintendo, and loved it, Possibly the best port of any game to the GBA that you will ever see. If you've played the original on the Super Nintendo, and loved it, I suggest that you get this one, too. Almost nothing is changed from the SNES version, which makes it awesome (and a good laugh against people who play it that say the graphics could be better.) And if you are lucky enough to have another friend that does have this game (I was one to be with two friends) it will make the gameplay much better: with the new multiplayer mode and the new palace and secret move you can get. Nonetheless, this game is a must get. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2021
    10
    Best game ever made.

    As Metacritic ignores old systems I must start by saying I only played this on the SNES. I don't know if playing
    Best game ever made.

    As Metacritic ignores old systems I must start by saying I only played this on the SNES. I don't know if playing handheld takes away from the atmosphere but I can't understand why some have put low scores. Zelda 1, for its day was brilliant but held back by hardware. Link to the Past is amazing in every way. I agree with the person that said it got a bit hard. I was never great at gaming and found it hard but it was still amazing. The graphics, gameplay and music just gel and compliment each other perfectly. I played this when I was young but I'm not nostalgic about things. Of all things I liked as a kid only two feel the same now. A Link to the Past and The Mysterious Cities of Gold Season 1. When I play this now I find the sound more fitting and captures the mood more than any game I've played. If you are into RPG's you probably won't like this game. If you like action adventure puzzle games then this is top of the class. I think this smashes Ocarina. It controls nicer than 3D, the textures in some of the 3D games look like washed out mud. I prefer games that are enjoyable without finger gymnastics, so if you need to be doing finger gymnastics to enjoy a game this also won't be for you. To sum it up it is a puzzle game beautifully balanced with atmosphere and action.

    Update: and it pisses all over Breath of the Wild.
    Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    This game was amazing and epic. Although some parts were frustrating and the plot felt a little bland and the characters sometimes seemedThis game was amazing and epic. Although some parts were frustrating and the plot felt a little bland and the characters sometimes seemed emotionless which made the game seem lonely, it was an amazing experience overall. Expand
  6. Sep 27, 2015
    9
    The best Zelda game, no doubt. Great story and characters. Hyrule has always been one of my favorite Nintendo settings. Definitely goes downThe best Zelda game, no doubt. Great story and characters. Hyrule has always been one of my favorite Nintendo settings. Definitely goes down as one of Nintendo's greatest. Link Between Worlds is a great successor to it. Expand
  7. Mar 12, 2017
    0
    Overrated AF. try playing this game after Ocarina of time. Good luck. Why do people love this game so much? It's unbearable, after finishingOverrated AF. try playing this game after Ocarina of time. Good luck. Why do people love this game so much? It's unbearable, after finishing the opening in Hyrule castle I was so bored. Expand

See all 111 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform

    The All-Time Best Games on Every Platform Image
    Published: March 28, 2017
    Find the highest-scoring games exclusive to every platform, from the new Nintendo Switch all the way back to the Sega Genesis.
  2. Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked

    Every Legend of Zelda Game, Ranked Image
    Published: March 7, 2017
    The new Breath of the Wild is great, but how does it compare to past Zelda releases? We rank all 18 Legend of Zelda games from worst to best.

Awards & Rankings

1
1
#1 Most Discussed Game Boy Advance Game of 2002
2
#2 Most Shared Game Boy Advance Game of 2002