Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 9, 2015
    100
    Horizon Chase feels like the natural evolution of classic arcade racers - a genre I can't believe hasn't been revitalized in the App Store yet, and now a game I can't imagine not being on any of my iOS devices for the foreseeable future.
  2. Aug 26, 2015
    100
    Horizon Chase is not just a fun racing game, it's also a template for how other developers need to do retro-inspired games.
  3. Aug 20, 2015
    100
    The gameplay is challenging, there is a ton of content for the price, and replay value is high.
  4. Aug 30, 2015
    95
    Great controls, great feelings and tons of nostalgia make Horizon Chase one of the best racing games on iOS devices.
  5. Sep 18, 2015
    94
    A tribute that has nothing to envy to the classic arcade racing games that inspire it.
  6. CD-Action
    Nov 15, 2015
    90
    It’s the best racing game on smartphones. Simply brilliant. [11/2015, p.65]
  7. Apple'N'Apps
    Aug 21, 2015
    90
    Horizon Chase delivers an exhilarating racing experience for iOS that makes for a must have title.
  8. Aug 20, 2015
    90
    A bright and brash arcade racer that looks stunning, and has the racing chops to back it up.
  9. Sep 30, 2015
    84
    Horizon Chase could well be a SEGA's game, if SEGA still were in his golden age. A racing game that combines old school gameplay with modern aesthetics in a convincing package.
  10. Oct 26, 2015
    80
    Classic arcade racing made good on mobile devices.
  11. Aug 26, 2015
    80
    Horizon Chase is racing with an old school theme.
  12. Aug 25, 2015
    70
    Aesthetically, Horizon Chase is exactly the sort of racing game that genre fans looking for a classic experience will want to check out. Unfortunately there are some odd mechanical implementations that make Horizon Chase feel a bit too wonky to net a full recommendation.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 32
  2. Negative: 5 out of 32
  1. Aug 21, 2015
    10
    Great arcade gameplay straight from the 90s, very modern and colorful visuals, silky smooth framerate, interesting locations and, best of all,Great arcade gameplay straight from the 90s, very modern and colorful visuals, silky smooth framerate, interesting locations and, best of all, glorious soundtrack by veteran composer Barry Leitch (if you don't know who that is, look it up, seriously!). There is a lot of content and no in-app purchases as far as I have played. Definitely recommended! Full Review »
  2. Nov 23, 2015
    10
    The game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rateThe game is just amazing. I love play this game. For me this game is amazing ! Nothing more to comment because this game is amazing ! I rate this 10/10 Full Review »
  3. Jun 14, 2018
    5
    It has this nostalgic feel of outrun and can be played and finished. Also, seeing all the countries where I travelled before was fun.It has this nostalgic feel of outrun and can be played and finished. Also, seeing all the countries where I travelled before was fun.
    However, it's a very basic and repetitive game. All the turns and levels feel the same. No interesting ending. It should have been 3 times shorter then it is.
    Full Review »