Agents of Mayhem Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 118 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the wake of a global assault, the world has fallen under the rule of LEGION, a supervillainous cabal of criminal masterminds and costumed megalomaniacs. The only people who are capable of turning the tide are the Agents of MAYHEM. Led by Persephone Brimstone, these uniquely skilled agentsIn the wake of a global assault, the world has fallen under the rule of LEGION, a supervillainous cabal of criminal masterminds and costumed megalomaniacs. The only people who are capable of turning the tide are the Agents of MAYHEM. Led by Persephone Brimstone, these uniquely skilled agents are going to take down this New World Disorder by any means necessary. Take the fight to LEGION in Seoul: The City of Tomorrow, an open world chock full of world-shaking missions, city-spanning doomsday devices, and evil underground lairs. Take your team of three Agents into the field and swap between them on the fly for maximum mayhem. Upgrade and customize your Agents to create your personal dream team of gadget-wielding anti-heroes. Upgrade the ARK–MAYHEM HQ–to unlock even more mayhem-making means. [Deep Silver]
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Agents Of Mayhem - New Vehicle Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 15, 2017
    100
    Agents of Mayhem stands mightily on its own. This is not just an open-world Overwatch. This is not just Saints Row with superheroes. This is a masterpiece that’s been waiting for 30 years to bust out from the collection of talent at Volition. For a number of reasons, it demands a place among the best of the best.
  2. Aug 21, 2017
    80
    Despite its few missteps in repetition and a few bland design choices that stand out amidst a wash of personality, there’s no denying just how much fun this game is.
  3. Aug 21, 2017
    75
    If you’re looking for something to keep you busy and entertained, Agents of Mayhem brings it in spades. However, if you get bored of doing the same things over and over again, you might not get what you want from it.
  4. Aug 15, 2017
    70
    It's not an amazing game. It's not particularly innovative. I'd hazard that Saints Row IV is a better game overall. But I enjoyed this attempt by Volition to punch a new hole into its dance card. The studio wanted to try something a bit new and while Agents of Mayhem doesn't quite stick the landing, there's still a lot here to enjoy.
  5. Aug 15, 2017
    67
    Serves up a generous range of play styles, but it’s hampered by repetitive levels and a few uninspired design choices.
  6. CD-Action
    Nov 16, 2017
    60
    Volition played it much too safe with this Saints Row spin-off, making a game that trails behind Saints Row IV in every aspect. [11/2017, p.42]
  7. Aug 16, 2017
    50
    It’s one of those ‘good game buried in here somewhere’ experiences. Tonally it’s all over the place, and its design may as well be from the dark ages at this point. But there’s an alternate universe in which the likeable, upgradeable Agents and gratifying gear-gating are instead married to interesting, varied missions and an atmospheric open-world. That is what it would have taken for Agents of Mayhem to shine, and the most bizarre thing about its actual execution is how deliberately Volition seem to have shot for mediocrity. This doesn’t feel like a game hampered by ineptitude, but instead by a misunderstanding - or plain indecision - as to who it’s actually intended for.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 19
  2. Negative: 7 out of 19
  1. Aug 29, 2017
    10
    WTF is wrong with some people? This game is pretty good. Sure, it is no masterpiece, but i found it pretty fun. And it is one of the most wellWTF is wrong with some people? This game is pretty good. Sure, it is no masterpiece, but i found it pretty fun. And it is one of the most well optmized game releases i have seen in quite some time, i am playing on max settings with an FX-6300 and a R9 380. Seriously, this whole review industry is going downhill pretty fast, they overrated bleh games and underrate perfectly fine games.

    Ignore the haters, it seems the only one who actually played this game was Quarter to Three. If you like light hearted shooter-action rpg hybrids, get this game.
    Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2017
    10
    This was high on my list of favorite games this year. I love the saturday morning cartoon vibe of the story and characters. I really hope weThis was high on my list of favorite games this year. I love the saturday morning cartoon vibe of the story and characters. I really hope we get another of this style of game in this series. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2017
    8
    This game is a lot of fun. And it kinda is like overwatch single player. Which I love because whilst a love the lore of Overwatch i hateThis game is a lot of fun. And it kinda is like overwatch single player. Which I love because whilst a love the lore of Overwatch i hate playing the game, because playing with other people sucks. But the characters are interesting the humor is good. And it just doesn't take itself too seriously. Good Job Volition. Expand
  4. Aug 17, 2017
    7
    While most companies were becoming increasingly realistic and find himself in drama, Volition made a game where you just need to kick ass.While most companies were becoming increasingly realistic and find himself in drama, Volition made a game where you just need to kick ass. This game is from the authors of Saints Row, but now they have reduced the level of insanity and phallic objects. Which, incidentally, was the controversial decision. After all, Saints Row was talking about it, and the plot was not so important. At Agents of Mayhem, the plot is still for show, but the former no fun. The plot is serious with just the evil doers, and for the sake of the plot, just not worth it to buy the game. But for what then? For the sake of gameplay and the agents themselves. All the humor moved into the images of the agents and their conversations. Agents (controlled heroes) every single exaggerated images. Here we have a Hollywood "star", which quoted the militants and busy narcissism, the Yeti is incredibly cool Russian soldiers (Yes, Volition has still not benefiting from the Russian), which became even steeper and became, in fact, Mr. freeze, Braddock – typical girl inflexible martinet. And so on. Images of agents fun, the dialogue is sometimes forced to smile. Heroes pour cool phrases, like from the movies with Arnold Schwarzenegger, quoting different movies. But the plot is boring, insanity is no fun for sure. You will need to entertain themselves, inducing chaos is not in Steelport, and Seoul.

    Agents of Mayhem in the main gameplay. Each agent is individual with their individual weapon (it even can't be changed) and abilities. You will have a team of three agents, which can simultaneously take. You can play for each of the three agents. The screen will be a hero, scroll wheel, and it was immediately replaced by others. The system is simple and allows you not to slow down and not to sit, if your health is almost at zero. The game, incidentally, not difficult and enemies will take in the main number and armored robots. Hitboxes are good. With such dynamics will not miss you and the bow. This game would make a great multiplayer shooter Overwatch type. So now to make these games popular, well, that Volition has decided not to compete with the same Blizzard, and created a dynamic, colorful game with nice graphics and design. Open-world here acts as a decoration. About any life simulation of speech can not go. The world is here, as in other projects Volition – artificial. And the residents of Seoul for our intervention in their space can do is sit down and clasp his hands to his head. But, nevertheless, the city looks beautiful. Graphics have become, for me, even more multyashnoe compared to Saints Row, but this game began to look even nicer. In the city, as in any other open world scattered with different activities. You can even open the boxes containing the materials that you will need to enhance agents. You can move both on foot and by car. Heroes fast, sharp, high jump, but still a large distance it is better to overcome on the car. They have different weight, and well managed. It is desirable, of course, easy to cause the machine, not to take from the streets (bystanders are managed much worse than their own).

    Agents of Mayhem is a pure gameplay game and a great alternative to Crackdown 3. Funny characters, dynamic gameplay make this game good, but not a mandatory. There are no cool set of cutscenes, such as the first mission in Saints Row 4, there is no madness. Volition wanted to do something new, but was more sluggish Saints Row. But the play is surprisingly fun. Pleasant cartoon graphics, cheerful characters and gameplay do their thing.
    Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2020
    6
    Agents of Mayhem can be pretty fun, but only for a short term due to repetative gameplay that holds it back from being a properly good game.Agents of Mayhem can be pretty fun, but only for a short term due to repetative gameplay that holds it back from being a properly good game. And while set in the same universe as Saints Row, it manages to set itself apart enough to stand on it's own legs.

    The main missions offer decent amount of variety, but main story is quite short. The real meat can be found among hero character exclusive missions, and since the game offers a decent roster of them, the character specific missions can be somewhat of a blast. Heros themselves is where AoM shines the most, each of them offer something different, each has a unique fleshed out personality and require a specific playing style. Since you can have 3 heros at once at your disposal, mixing them them up can be fun aswell, in terms of both gameplay possibilities and banter between them. My favorites were Rama and Johnny Gat, having these 2, in my squad of 3, always was fun times guaranteed.

    One specific personal gripe i have with AoM is in terms of the game's tone, it feels, how do i say this. dumbed down, less over the top, than what we've had in Saints Row. Screw it, it feels kinda politically correct. It's like choices have been made in order for the game to not hurt the feels of the perpetually offended in modern games journalism and ''gamers'' on Twitter. It can be observed in the neutered humour, dialogue, and in ''safe'' female character design. Dont get me wrong, it's not all doom, the game still has plenty of likeable personality, but that ''I dont give a f*ck'' attitude that i've come to appreciate from past Saints Row games, it cannot be found in Agents of Mayhem, even if the game takes pride in being a Saints Row spin off.

    Sadly a huge chunk of content that AoM relies upon is very repetative, case in point, the procedurally generated dungeons, or more precisely, secret underground bases. You're constantly playing through these, both as side missions and as main ones. Blasting enemies, while charging through the same feeling, repetative dungeons, can be fun only for so long.

    The open world AoM has is really damn small, not just by modern open world game standards. but even compared to 7th and 6th console generation standards, It rather feels like a dense city block compared to similar modern open world games, that feature big cities. Though it does have enough diversity in terms of locations and offer verticality in terms of gameplay, meaning you can scale the tall buildings and other structures. Truth be told, futuristic Seoul in the game does look pretty nice, even with the game's more cartoony graphics. The game also relies on driving quite a lot, but, sadly, driving feels really sub par and is not satisfying at all.

    AoM on PC isnt that well optimized either. For what it is, it should be running better. Also, with the game world not being that large, i dont understand why the game takes up over 50 GB of storage space.

    Logically, if you're a fan of Saints Row, there is some joy to be had in Agents of Mayhem, hell, just for the sake of playing as Johnny Gat.
    Expand
  6. Oct 11, 2017
    4
    Really wanted to like this game, or even finish it. In the end, it was an unfinished game that had some great looking skins. Bad performanceReally wanted to like this game, or even finish it. In the end, it was an unfinished game that had some great looking skins. Bad performance on a 1080. Boring, repetitive and wave type missions. Game play was very glitchy throughout my hours of playing and never improved no matter the setting downgrades. Shiny outer layer with no real content once you get to the core. Disappointing. Giving it a 4 only because of the design team. Expand
  7. Aug 25, 2017
    0
    The PC port's performance is abysmal on a whole new level - when your game barely goes over 60 FPS on a top-tier build, you **** up. Not toThe PC port's performance is abysmal on a whole new level - when your game barely goes over 60 FPS on a top-tier build, you **** up. Not to mention Denuvo. Expand

See all 19 User Reviews