Agents of Mayhem Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 22 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the wake of a global assault, the world has fallen under the rule of LEGION, a supervillainous cabal of criminal masterminds and costumed megalomaniacs. The only people who are capable of turning the tide are the Agents of MAYHEM. Led by Persephone Brimstone, these uniquely skilled agentsIn the wake of a global assault, the world has fallen under the rule of LEGION, a supervillainous cabal of criminal masterminds and costumed megalomaniacs. The only people who are capable of turning the tide are the Agents of MAYHEM. Led by Persephone Brimstone, these uniquely skilled agents are going to take down this New World Disorder by any means necessary. Take the fight to LEGION in Seoul: The City of Tomorrow, an open world chock full of world-shaking missions, city-spanning doomsday devices, and evil underground lairs. Take your team of three Agents into the field and swap between them on the fly for maximum mayhem. Upgrade and customize your Agents to create your personal dream team of gadget-wielding anti-heroes. Upgrade the ARK–MAYHEM HQ–to unlock even more mayhem-making means. [Deep Silver]
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Agents Of Mayhem - New Vehicle Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Aug 15, 2017
    100
    Agents of Mayhem stands mightily on its own. This is not just an open-world Overwatch. This is not just Saints Row with superheroes. This is a masterpiece that’s been waiting for 30 years to bust out from the collection of talent at Volition. For a number of reasons, it demands a place among the best of the best.
  2. Aug 21, 2017
    80
    Despite its few missteps in repetition and a few bland design choices that stand out amidst a wash of personality, there’s no denying just how much fun this game is.
  3. Aug 21, 2017
    75
    If you’re looking for something to keep you busy and entertained, Agents of Mayhem brings it in spades. However, if you get bored of doing the same things over and over again, you might not get what you want from it.
  4. Aug 15, 2017
    70
    It's not an amazing game. It's not particularly innovative. I'd hazard that Saints Row IV is a better game overall. But I enjoyed this attempt by Volition to punch a new hole into its dance card. The studio wanted to try something a bit new and while Agents of Mayhem doesn't quite stick the landing, there's still a lot here to enjoy.
  5. Aug 15, 2017
    67
    Serves up a generous range of play styles, but it’s hampered by repetitive levels and a few uninspired design choices.
  6. CD-Action
    Nov 16, 2017
    60
    Volition played it much too safe with this Saints Row spin-off, making a game that trails behind Saints Row IV in every aspect. [11/2017, p.42]
  7. Aug 16, 2017
    50
    It’s one of those ‘good game buried in here somewhere’ experiences. Tonally it’s all over the place, and its design may as well be from the dark ages at this point. But there’s an alternate universe in which the likeable, upgradeable Agents and gratifying gear-gating are instead married to interesting, varied missions and an atmospheric open-world. That is what it would have taken for Agents of Mayhem to shine, and the most bizarre thing about its actual execution is how deliberately Volition seem to have shot for mediocrity. This doesn’t feel like a game hampered by ineptitude, but instead by a misunderstanding - or plain indecision - as to who it’s actually intended for.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Aug 29, 2017
    10
    WTF is wrong with some people? This game is pretty good. Sure, it is no masterpiece, but i found it pretty fun. And it is one of the most wellWTF is wrong with some people? This game is pretty good. Sure, it is no masterpiece, but i found it pretty fun. And it is one of the most well optmized game releases i have seen in quite some time, i am playing on max settings with an FX-6300 and a R9 380. Seriously, this whole review industry is going downhill pretty fast, they overrated bleh games and underrate perfectly fine games.

    Ignore the haters, it seems the only one who actually played this game was Quarter to Three. If you like light hearted shooter-action rpg hybrids, get this game.
    Expand
  2. Dec 31, 2017
    10
    This was high on my list of favorite games this year. I love the saturday morning cartoon vibe of the story and characters. I really hope weThis was high on my list of favorite games this year. I love the saturday morning cartoon vibe of the story and characters. I really hope we get another of this style of game in this series. Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2017
    8
    This game is a lot of fun. And it kinda is like overwatch single player. Which I love because whilst a love the lore of Overwatch i hateThis game is a lot of fun. And it kinda is like overwatch single player. Which I love because whilst a love the lore of Overwatch i hate playing the game, because playing with other people sucks. But the characters are interesting the humor is good. And it just doesn't take itself too seriously. Good Job Volition. Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2018
    6
    Saints Row .. without the Saints .. or so it feels. Not that the Saints are such a powerful franchise that they can really carry a game ..Saints Row .. without the Saints .. or so it feels. Not that the Saints are such a powerful franchise that they can really carry a game .. especially when the humor is carried over .. but they add a certain something to a game.

    Agents of Mayhem is not "bad" in my opinion. It just is not exceptional either. It is a nice mission/task based .. game that plays in what feels like a very limited open world if that makes any sense. There seemed to be no tactical approach, no choice in style .. it is all just trigger happy, fast paced, ability driven combat. Kind of a very, very dumbed down Just Cause .. which in itself is a very, very dumbed down Farcry or so.

    The main factor is .. is it fun? Well .. kind of. In short bursts .. and quite limited. Considering the hardware hunger of the game itself .. its content and presentation is lacking though. While i do like the visual style a LOT .. I have seen bigger games similar to that (like Borderlands) .. needing a lot less hardware to run.

    Whats left is what i can only describe as a perfectly average game. To me, not a misunderstood jewel or utter trash .. just a decent game that wont stick in memory for too long .. well, unless Volition does something amazing with the idea. (after all, the first Saints Row was rather dull either...)
    Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2017
    4
    The characters lacks character and the combat is mediocre. The gun you shot has no punch and enemies feel like ragdolls of 90s. The bulletThe characters lacks character and the combat is mediocre. The gun you shot has no punch and enemies feel like ragdolls of 90s. The bullet hits them but it always lacks the thump, the impact, the audio-visual-physical confirmation. Its more like what I felt shooting in GTA-3 15 years ago, rather than what i feel playing any game in 2017.
    Weapons can't be changed. Read it again, a saints row like game where you can't change weapon.
    The fun part of saints row for me was to try a dozen type of weapons and do insane stuff in the city but they have brought down the level of freedom in the game. There are side missions and upgrades, sure. But to me the whole game felt hollow.
    Expand
  6. Feb 28, 2018
    4
    I was excited for this game before it came out, as a Saints Row fan. When I read the bad reviews, I decided to hold out. When I saw it forI was excited for this game before it came out, as a Saints Row fan. When I read the bad reviews, I decided to hold out. When I saw it for 9,99 online, I decided to buy it. Surely, for that price it must be good?

    No. It wasn't worth it. Not only is PC performance very bad, the game world feels bland. The art-style is actually very nice, so are the character designs, and the Anime-like cutscenes are phenomenal. However, the humor is just shoved in your face too much. Almost every sentence in this game suffers because of this. It's hard to take this game seriously. Gameplay's solid though, and the customization of abilities for your characters is very neat.

    Do not think that because you like Saints Row, you might enjoy this game. This game is separate from the Saints Row franchise in almost every way.
    Expand
  7. Feb 2, 2019
    0
    Dear Deep Silver,

    You monegrubbing **** First you abandon Saints Row, and now you're abandoning Steam for the **** Fortnite Store, aka
    Dear Deep Silver,

    You monegrubbing **** First you abandon Saints Row, and now you're abandoning Steam for the **** Fortnite Store, aka Walmart for Video Games. Eat **** I'm never buying another one of your products. Go bankrupt

    Sincerely,

    Huge Saints Row Fan
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews