Assassin's Creed III Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2045 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to theAssume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to the cause of freedom, and set out on a decades-long quest to achieve it. Your predatory instincts, developed through years of hunting in rough tundra, enable you to pursue and kill your targets in silence. When overt combat becomes necessary, you can uncork a myriad of weapons including tomahawks, darts, and guns. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Take the Battle to the Seas - Assassin's Creed III
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    100
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed III has been injected with eye-popping enhancements that bring its compelling story to life. It's like personally participating in the American Revolution without the consequences of death. The ticket price of traveling back to the fascinating period of America's battle for independence, and the fictional story that Ubisoft Montpellier has layered within it, is just a copy of Assassin's Creed III and a high-end PC. Just remember that you'll have to leave your social life behind.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    92
    The best version so far. It solves many issues and keeps some others, and, even though it doesn't make the most of current PCs, we still think it's the best way to enjoy this outstanding game.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for the best platform to play Assassin's Creed III, well, take a look at the PC version and you won't be disappointed.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Assassin's Creed III rekindled my love for the series. The new setting and characters were a great welcome for me, and the story was well told through some great writing and voice acting. There are some complications here and there that can bog the player down, but for the most part, the amount of content you get in this game is a steal for the price. The PC version is by far the best way to go if you have the rig for it, and the options for the PC players are satisfying.
  5. CD-Action
    Jan 6, 2013
    85
    Although it's hard not to appreciate the story (the line between the good and the evil was never this thin in any previous Assassin's Creed) numerous technical issues prevent you from forgetting it's just a game. In addition controls are not very intuitive and low resolution textures occur far too often. Still it's definitely worth playing. [1/2013, p.52]
  6. PC Master (Greece)
    Feb 6, 2013
    80
    Assassin’s Creed III proves to be, despite its promises, a rather indecisive game. It comes with so many strong elements, that it could have been the best Assassin’s Creed ever, but it fails to harmonically balance those elements. [January 2013]
  7. PC PowerPlay
    Dec 30, 2012
    40
    Bloated and hubristic, Assassin's Creed III is a shocking disappointment. If you adored Assassin's Creed II, you would be better served replaying that and forgetting this even exists. [Jan 2013, p.77]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my gameThis game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my game experiences. I believe assassin's creed 3 is worth a 10 score Expand
  2. Nov 30, 2012
    9
    This game gives me more and more new emotions with each part of the game! every chapter shows new gameplay, besides it has updated battle andThis game gives me more and more new emotions with each part of the game! every chapter shows new gameplay, besides it has updated battle and acrobatic systems and updated graphic. AC3 absolutely perfect, and this is an eidos of the Assassin's Creed franchise as for me. Expand
  3. Apr 5, 2019
    8
    Played on PC and thoroughly enjoyed. Great story line that advances the Desmond story further. Also fantastic graphics and recreation of earlyPlayed on PC and thoroughly enjoyed. Great story line that advances the Desmond story further. Also fantastic graphics and recreation of early Boston and New York. The free roaming feature of the franchise is also continued to good effect, and with the added bonus of developing your homestead and now naval missions as well. Expand
  4. Dec 7, 2012
    6
    I love the Assassin's Creed series, but this game was like a huge kick in the balls for me. I was extremely excited when I heard they wereI love the Assassin's Creed series, but this game was like a huge kick in the balls for me. I was extremely excited when I heard they were (finally) moving Assassin's Creed to America but I expected much more. After doing absolutely nothing to improve the game from Brotherhood to Revelations they decided to keep everything they did before except smaller buildings and a larger free-roam map. The thing that really pissed me off was the crappiest intro known to man. If you want to know exactly how to make people not want to play your game. Make the intro on a boat while teaching them to do everything they learn by playing the game anyways. Hats off to the creators of Assassin's Creed: Brotherhood. Hats back on (and a few boo's) to the creators of Assassin's Creed 3. Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2017
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The only good thing about this game is perhaps great facial expressions and combat animations thanks to great motion capture. Other than that I can't think of anything good about this game...

    I should perhaps just list all the negative things I could think of at the moment in point form because there are too many to mention.

    - Lack of charm of the cities
    Can't blame them for this, its hard to trump AC2 in setting.

    - Bad story
    Too predictable, lack of details in certain important events (What happened between the time gaps? How did Haytham knew he had a son?), horrible ending which only serves as a blatant sequel hook

    - Protagonist's lack of charm
    Everyone agrees that Connor is an unlikeable character due to his lack of emotion and childishness. I blame his lack of character development on bad writing.

    - Bad pacing
    Why not just make more missions instead of the unnecessary time gaps?

    - Waste of characters
    Where the f are Benjamin Franklin and Thomas Jefferson? They make Haytham such a central character just to kill him off a few missions later after meeting him in person. Really?

    - Boring side missions, useless collectibles
    This is a problem of the whole AC series. They don't contribute to the story in anyway.

    - Bad control/UI (map, accounting book and secondary weapon choice screen)
    Half of the time I waste is because of the horrible controls/UI of the accounting book and secondary weapon choice screen.

    -Bad mechanism (especially horse riding)
    It's faster to run because the horse gets stuck most of the time anyway.

    - Uplay
    Don't need to mention this, it's why I pirated this game.
    Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    This game is a real dud of a game. The only two interesting game features in the game are the ship battles and the decent combat. All storyThis game is a real dud of a game. The only two interesting game features in the game are the ship battles and the decent combat. All story and side missions suck and the game is full of bugs, waiting around and meaningless drivel. I am fan of AC2 and Revelations but this installment is completely skippable and uninteresting. Expand
  7. Apr 21, 2019
    0
    This game is terrible. The story is unbearably boring and half of the time whenever there was an unstoppable cut seen. (really ubisoft). IThis game is terrible. The story is unbearably boring and half of the time whenever there was an unstoppable cut seen. (really ubisoft). I found myself staring at my phone. The Desmond story was a disaster and interrupted the game. There are so many glitches with character movement and don't even get me started on the horses. It was bearable until the last few missions which found me being punished by things completely out of my control. Expand

See all 419 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.