Assassin's Creed Odyssey Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2079 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Write your own epic odyssey and become a legendary Spartan hero. Forge your destiny in a world on the brink of tearing itself apart. Influence how history unfolds in an ever-changing world shaped by your choices.

    Features: * LEGENDARY SPARTAN HERO - Embark on your journey from outcast to
    Write your own epic odyssey and become a legendary Spartan hero. Forge your destiny in a world on the brink of tearing itself apart. Influence how history unfolds in an ever-changing world shaped by your choices.

    Features:

    * LEGENDARY SPARTAN HERO - Embark on your journey from outcast to legendary Spartan hero.
    * ANCIENT GREECE AWAITS - Explore an entire country full of unexpected encounters in untamed environments and bustling ancient cities.
    * CHOOSE YOUR PATH - Your choices shape the world around you. Play in a living world that constantly reacts to your every decision.
    * FIGHT EPIC BATTLES - Charge into epic clashes between Sparta and Athens in battles pitting 150v150 soldiers against each other.
    * SAIL THE AEGEAN SEA - Recruit crewmembers and customize your ship as you explore and battle your way on the open seas.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed Odyssey - Hand-To-Hand And Naval Combat Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 31, 2018
    100
    An excellent and beautiful game from ancient Greece. Maybe it’s very different from the first game, however this evolution benefits the brand. [Issue#290]
  2. Oct 1, 2018
    96
    So as the story unfolds, along with your map and you get into this gathering, parkouring and hunting rhythm here comes the main reason that has me rate Odyssey right up there with Origins. Next to Kassandra herself and animal taming, it’s the Naval component that really makes this Assassins Creed epic.
  3. Oct 31, 2018
    90
    Despite my few complaints, Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey truly is an incredibly entertaining game that proves Origins was no fluke. I’m back on the hype train, baby, and I can’t wait to see where the next stop is (even if I wish it’d rest at the same station for another year or two). No longer a simple stealth game, but instead a massive, detailed, sprawling roleplaying game, Odyssey just might be one of my favorite games of 2018 so far.
  4. Oct 20, 2018
    87
    Undoubtedly, AC: Odyssey as a game has quite a few issues: bad AI, the strangulation of the player with hundreds of missions and missed opportunities on the RPG level. But it does something also very important: it includes a huge and impressive world, capturing successfully the Ancient Greece aesthetic and it manages to be truly entertaining and unimaginably addictive.
  5. Mar 6, 2019
    85
    The latest addition to the Assassin's Creed franchise is truly a wonder and a fresh take on a stale idea. The excellent execution, gameplay and story is only overshadowed by greedy micro transactions, paid XP and awful optimization.
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 21, 2018
    80
    As expected, Odyssey is basically Origins 2.0, bigger and better in almost every regard, from leveling options to wide open world with procedurally-generated mercenaries to keep you entertained for hours and hours. [Issue #233, p.54]
  7. Dec 2, 2018
    60
    While AC: Origins was packed with interesting stories, Odyssey is a generic ’Ubisoft sandbox’ in the worst sense, with hundreds of the same-looking places, dozens of ”kill-fetch” quests and almost zero motivation to grind further.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world toThis is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world to explore on both land and sea set in the best setting: Ancient Greece. And you get to play exactly the way you want. Choice is the biggest addition here, allowing you choose dialogue options and make decisions that affect the story, choose your own playstyle; combat or stealth, you even get to choose to play as Alexios or Kassandra who have totally different personalities. I'm glad This franchise went full RPG because though it may be as good as the witcher, it comes pretty damn close.

    One of the games of the year. 10/10.
    Expand
  2. May 18, 2019
    10
    Well, I've been playing the Assassin's Creed franchise since the first game. No doubt everyone agrees that the Ezio trilogy is a masterpiece!Well, I've been playing the Assassin's Creed franchise since the first game. No doubt everyone agrees that the Ezio trilogy is a masterpiece!

    Now let's talk about Assassin's Creed Odyssey.

    -The most of games put immense texts of which the player does not even read because they are mostly boring, in AC Odyssey is the opposite, the immersion that the game provides both in dialogue and in history is extremely rich which makes you want to play more and more.
    This game has one of the best stories and narratives of the franchise, the gameplay is extremely easy and fluid, you have a talent tree that you gain essential skills for your journey. At Odyssey we see that Ubisoft has truly embraced the RPG elements in its narrative as well as the dialogue choices that affect the game story.
    I had the opportunity to play with both protagonists; Kassandra and Alexios, and without doubt Kassandra was the one that most captivated me, in years I did not see a character with such charisma, the player feels connected to her feelings sharing frustrations and emotions with her.
    At game storyline we discover how it connects the history of the franchise as a whole and how important it is to her, revealing a little more of Isu's story and also of the protagonist and the legacy he will leave to Layla.
    At the end of the arc of the main storyline we see how the protagonist is embedded as being one of the main characters of the franchise along with Altair (Desmond's mother's bloodline) and Ezio (Desmond's father's bloodline).
    In the DLC "LEGACY OF THE FIRST BLADE" we see in fact how this happens a second time giving direct continuation and showing how great the character is.

    ...And as not everything is flowers we go to the negative points.

    - In the beginning the game shows a simple and fun system that is basically riding a horse or boat, performing missions, challenges, fighting, enemy base infiltration etc., etc. The problem is that these things become very repetitive because they keep the same for the whole game and in the DLC's too, the same tasks for all! this can make the game massively for many, remembering that we are talking about a game with at least 100 hours of gameplay.
    Another point that made me very annoyed was the flirt dialogues, In every **** mission someone is trying to flirting with his character, its really boring because you are focused in your mission and this dialogues apper and you think "ok dude i think is not really a good time for this.".
    In the DLC "LEGACY OF THE FIRST BLADE" that made me even more pissed, I felt that the romance was something forced only to continue the narrative (at least the conclusion of it all is something epic for the story).

    Last but not least, the bad optimization of this game!

    Although you have a rich open world and excellent graphics, this game was one of the most demanding in hardware requisites I've ever played in my life, I have an i7 9700k and a rtx 2070 and I play in 1440p and for countless times I saw my cpu being used at 100%. This is the only game in my library that can use all my hardware, in the bad sense of course.

    p.s. sorry for grammar i'm not an American.
    Expand
  3. Oct 3, 2018
    9
    The story line itself is engaging; graphics are beautiful. Playing this as Early Access will the game bring your computer to its knees?The story line itself is engaging; graphics are beautiful. Playing this as Early Access will the game bring your computer to its knees? Depends. I have an i7; Nvidia Geoforce 1050, 32 MB Ram with a regular old HD (non-SSD) and - with some slight adjustment on the default setting (It turned down Shadows and Ambient Occlusion) I am running between 40-60 Fps which is still above the 30 Fps cap on consoles. Yes, there is the occasional CPU freeze time / lag, but that only occurs during the huge battles and being Early Access I was expecting some flaws that will be eventually smoothed out. All that side the game has been very enjoyable for me about of the proverbial box. Length; yes the game is long, but it's called "Odyssey" so I'm fine with it. Regarding it not being an AC game; you aren't playing as an Assassin, but it is set within the AC Lore so as far as the overall lore and canon I feel that this IS an AC game; unlike say my feelings about STD versus STNG and TOS. Bottom line I'm enjoying it and I'd recommend it. Expand
  4. Nov 29, 2018
    8
    Movement and combat are extremely realistic and smooth.

    Story is more to the point and simple, making it easy to follow and not get bored
    Movement and combat are extremely realistic and smooth.

    Story is more to the point and simple, making it easy to follow and not get bored of.

    Inventory and leveling system is focused on higher xp gains and more levels so you get rewarded more often, so it's better.
    Expand
  5. May 23, 2021
    5
    Odyssey continues a revolting Ubisoft trend of actively designing gameplay mechanics that hinder progression and make the game feel artificialOdyssey continues a revolting Ubisoft trend of actively designing gameplay mechanics that hinder progression and make the game feel artificial and boring in order to incentivize micro-transactions. What, you thought they went the RPG route in the hopes of giving their stagnating franchise a much needed new breath? Please.

    Combat feels floaty and disconnected from the characters, less like they're swinging around steel weapons and more like they're play-fighting with styrofoam toys. Every enemy has an inordinately large health bar and staggers very little from your attacks, so interruptions are very recurrent and completely break the flow of the fight. Your best option to avoid said nuisances is (surprise surprise!) to level up faster in order to unlock absurd magical powers and be able to equip better gear, and what better way of doing that than to hand Ubisoft even more money?

    On the same vein, level disparities between the player and the enemies lead to ridiculous situations such as enemies surviving being stabbed multiple times through the neck by magical weapons. If you're stubborn (and let's be honest here, also slightly psychotic), you can still fight adversaries several levels above your station by hiding in the tall grass and shooting arrows at their face until they die - it's just gonna take half an hour - A.I. isn't smart enough to find you nor run away, so it's doable.

    Don't even get me started on the plot. Several dialogue options and phrases to end conversations are copy-pasted, making the stilted conversations feel even more robotic and emotionless than they already did. Writers couldn't figure out how to tie the plot threads together, so they just didn't, instead leaving the core narratives literally separated into their own progressions and totally incapable of influencing the player or the world at large. Every single conclusion feels detached from your character choices, and the best thing you can hope for is to get one lukewarm cutscene at the end.

    I could spend literal hours complaining about how little your choices matter in this story, but the game does a pretty good job at that with the Spartan-Athenian battles. You can join one side of the battle, conquer the territory for one the factions, then immediately start to sabotage the victors to trigger a new battle and flip the board again, this time siding with the other guys. Repeat ad-nauseum, like you're Sisyphus himself and this is your personal hell - reliving the same battlefield again and again, switching sides on a whim for identical gear that just happens to give 2% extra fire damage. Neither option matters. Your notoriety doesn't matter. Your wishy-washy allegiance is never questioned or meaningful. You could single-handedly conquer all of Greece in the name of Sparta and the game wouldn't care, acknowledge it or let that affect the plot in any meaningful way. There is no point to your soulless existence.

    At least the graphics are nice tho.
    Expand
  6. Nov 3, 2019
    3
    A beautiful world. But after a few hours...I felt like I'm just wasting time, while I can play much better games.
    It's a bit of assassin's
    A beautiful world. But after a few hours...I felt like I'm just wasting time, while I can play much better games.
    It's a bit of assassin's creed, a bit of shadow of mordor, a bit of something else...and a really big bit of nothing.
    Expand
  7. Nov 21, 2020
    0
    Юбисофт убила этой частью все каноны серии, да и вообще всю серию)

See all 516 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall

    The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall Image
    Published: August 29, 2018
    Preview over 20 of the most-anticipated video games arriving this fall, including Red Dead Redemption 2, Spider-Man, Fallout 76, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, and more.