Assassin's Creed Odyssey Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2313 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Write your own epic odyssey and become a legendary Spartan hero. Forge your destiny in a world on the brink of tearing itself apart. Influence how history unfolds in an ever-changing world shaped by your choices.

    Features: * LEGENDARY SPARTAN HERO - Embark on your journey from outcast to
    Write your own epic odyssey and become a legendary Spartan hero. Forge your destiny in a world on the brink of tearing itself apart. Influence how history unfolds in an ever-changing world shaped by your choices.

    Features:

    * LEGENDARY SPARTAN HERO - Embark on your journey from outcast to legendary Spartan hero.
    * ANCIENT GREECE AWAITS - Explore an entire country full of unexpected encounters in untamed environments and bustling ancient cities.
    * CHOOSE YOUR PATH - Your choices shape the world around you. Play in a living world that constantly reacts to your every decision.
    * FIGHT EPIC BATTLES - Charge into epic clashes between Sparta and Athens in battles pitting 150v150 soldiers against each other.
    * SAIL THE AEGEAN SEA - Recruit crewmembers and customize your ship as you explore and battle your way on the open seas.
    Expand

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed Odyssey - Hand-To-Hand And Naval Combat Gameplay
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Dec 31, 2018
    100
    An excellent and beautiful game from ancient Greece. Maybe it’s very different from the first game, however this evolution benefits the brand. [Issue#290]
  2. Oct 1, 2018
    96
    So as the story unfolds, along with your map and you get into this gathering, parkouring and hunting rhythm here comes the main reason that has me rate Odyssey right up there with Origins. Next to Kassandra herself and animal taming, it’s the Naval component that really makes this Assassins Creed epic.
  3. Oct 31, 2018
    90
    Despite my few complaints, Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey truly is an incredibly entertaining game that proves Origins was no fluke. I’m back on the hype train, baby, and I can’t wait to see where the next stop is (even if I wish it’d rest at the same station for another year or two). No longer a simple stealth game, but instead a massive, detailed, sprawling roleplaying game, Odyssey just might be one of my favorite games of 2018 so far.
  4. Oct 20, 2018
    87
    Undoubtedly, AC: Odyssey as a game has quite a few issues: bad AI, the strangulation of the player with hundreds of missions and missed opportunities on the RPG level. But it does something also very important: it includes a huge and impressive world, capturing successfully the Ancient Greece aesthetic and it manages to be truly entertaining and unimaginably addictive.
  5. Mar 6, 2019
    85
    The latest addition to the Assassin's Creed franchise is truly a wonder and a fresh take on a stale idea. The excellent execution, gameplay and story is only overshadowed by greedy micro transactions, paid XP and awful optimization.
  6. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Nov 21, 2018
    80
    As expected, Odyssey is basically Origins 2.0, bigger and better in almost every regard, from leveling options to wide open world with procedurally-generated mercenaries to keep you entertained for hours and hours. [Issue #233, p.54]
  7. Dec 2, 2018
    60
    While AC: Origins was packed with interesting stories, Odyssey is a generic ’Ubisoft sandbox’ in the worst sense, with hundreds of the same-looking places, dozens of ”kill-fetch” quests and almost zero motivation to grind further.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Mar 11, 2019
    10
    An absolute blast from start to finish!

    A huge, gorgeous, open world filled with tons of interesting quests and side-quests - I'm frankly
    An absolute blast from start to finish!

    A huge, gorgeous, open world filled with tons of interesting quests and side-quests - I'm frankly shocked at how large the world is and how they managed to fill it with interesting content. The combat is fun and challenging, and the optional stealth approach is even more fun and rewarding - you can mix and match them as you see fit. The choice of player character and dialog options pull you into the game and make it feel like you're creating your own personal story. It took me 110 hours to beat the game, and I want to go back in to explore the islands I didn't get to and finish the side-quests there.

    The game is incredibly polished - in 110 hours I only encountered two minor bugs. The PC port is great, giving you a myriad of options to customize the game and controls, with visual previews of all the graphics options and a built-in benchmark. The game also instantly switches between mouse and keyboard and controller. My i5 6600 + 1080 Ti PC ran the game at 6040x1080 (1080p x 3) at 45-60 fps, but there's also the option for a locked framerate from 30-60 in increments of 5.

    The complaints of "grind" and "level-gated content" apply only to those who wish to rush through the main story while skipping all the side-quests and optional content. If you actually engage with the game, it is incredibly generous with XP. Just from doing the primary side-quests (which were always interesting and entertaining) and skipping most of the other optional stuff, I was gaining levels so quickly that I changed the level scaling to always match mine so that I wouldn't out-level all the content.
    Expand
  2. May 7, 2019
    10
    Fantastická hra která je ideální ohledně peněz vz herní doby a zábavy.
    + grafika
    + velikost + zvuky + rpg + otevřený svět + kvalita +
    Fantastická hra která je ideální ohledně peněz vz herní doby a zábavy.
    + grafika
    + velikost
    + zvuky
    + rpg
    + otevřený svět
    + kvalita
    + lodě čluny koně
    + množství zbraní brnění atd
    + čeština

    - inteligence NPC (ale to je skoro všude)

    100/100
    Expand
  3. Oct 2, 2018
    10
    This is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world toThis is may not play anything like the old games but is that such a bad thing? What you're getting here is a huge beautiful game world to explore on both land and sea set in the best setting: Ancient Greece. And you get to play exactly the way you want. Choice is the biggest addition here, allowing you choose dialogue options and make decisions that affect the story, choose your own playstyle; combat or stealth, you even get to choose to play as Alexios or Kassandra who have totally different personalities. I'm glad This franchise went full RPG because though it may be as good as the witcher, it comes pretty damn close.

    One of the games of the year. 10/10.
    Expand
  4. May 22, 2019
    8
    Massive open world to explore with a lot of sights and surprises to uncover. Ancient Greece is an incredibly detailed and vibrant setting.Massive open world to explore with a lot of sights and surprises to uncover. Ancient Greece is an incredibly detailed and vibrant setting. Great storytelling with plenty of interesting choices, along with fun and interesting protagonists. Memorable story missions and side-quests that showcase diverse characters and complex themes of the era. BUT Slow pacing that can make playing the already overwhelming campaign a drag. Disappointing Faction gameplay that feels half-baked within the core mechanics. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2020
    5
    A Witcher 3 reskin with 10 hours of fun, 50 hours of forced boring grind where you'll do the same missions over and over and then 10 hours of fun.
  6. Aug 3, 2020
    3
    Well, I've given this game a chance.....And it punched me in my testicles and spat in my face. This game isn't Assassin's Creed. It's an awfulWell, I've given this game a chance.....And it punched me in my testicles and spat in my face. This game isn't Assassin's Creed. It's an awful The Witcher 3 wannabe. Odyssey is a boring mess of a game with one of the most stupid plots I've ever seen in games. Ubisoft didn't even try to make something good, no, they just took assets from AC : Origins and packed them with tons of micro-transactions. Expand
  7. Dec 17, 2020
    0
    BIG BIG AC Fan since the very first up to Black flag then I stopped playing for a while until Origins

    I would not recommend for many
    BIG BIG AC Fan since the very first up to Black flag then I stopped playing for a while until Origins

    I would not recommend for many reasons.

    Main reason is that it is not an Assassin's Creed that we used to know.
    assassination are barely big heavy hit before a fight, the whole game is a warrior game now where you spam space bar and LMB clicks and sometimes some spells
    The fighting mechanic is boring as hell.

    Discovering the environment is not very interesting since it all looks identical.

    Big step down from Origins.

    The eagle is still there, most hate it but some like it. ( the targeting seemed to be a little better but still very bad.

    GRIND GRIND GRIND that is super simple and not rewarding

    You also keep leveling up super simply for some tallent and abilities but it feels lost

    same thing for ships, it is cool like Black Flag but no fishing and much more simplistic so get Black Flag if you want naval fun.
    You also barely use the boat.

    I played 2 hours and then uninstalled the game.
    Graphics are also to be upgraded, many blurr moment.
    Expand

See all 577 User Reviews

Trailers

Related Articles

  1. The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall

    The Most-Anticipated Videogames Coming This Fall Image
    Published: August 29, 2018
    Preview over 20 of the most-anticipated video games arriving this fall, including Red Dead Redemption 2, Spider-Man, Fallout 76, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, and more.