Assassin's Creed Unity Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1896 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The city: 1789 Paris. The French Revolution transforms a once-magnificent city into a hot house of terror and calamity. Its cobblestone streets run red with the blood of the proletariat who dared to rise up against the oppressive aristocracy. As the nation is in upheaval, a man named ArnoThe city: 1789 Paris. The French Revolution transforms a once-magnificent city into a hot house of terror and calamity. Its cobblestone streets run red with the blood of the proletariat who dared to rise up against the oppressive aristocracy. As the nation is in upheaval, a man named Arno leaves on a journey to expose the true powers of the Revolution. His mission throws him into the middle of a ruthless struggle for the fate of a nation, and transform him into a real Master Assassin. From the storming of the Bastille to the execution of King Louis XVI, experience the French Revolution as never before, and help the people of France carve an entirely new destiny. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed Unity - Experience Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    82
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed Unity is visually stunning, but it's also very demanding in terms of hardware requirements. If you've got what it takes to run the game smoothly and you like the series, this is the best episode so far.
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    78
    The PC version of Unity requires a pretty hefty rig to run, and an even heftier one is recommended. That said, those of you who have access to this will find that Unity on PC looks even better than its console brethren thanks to being able to run at resolutions above 900p, enhanced textures, and (hardware permitting) a much higher frame rate than the locked 30fps of the Xbox One and PS4.
  3. GameStar
    Nov 20, 2014
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 9, 2015
    70
    Well at least it's better than ACIII. [Issue#257, p.66]
  5. Nov 27, 2014
    67
    As I write this, Assassin’s Creed: Unity is a bugfest, but technical problems, however annoying, can and probably will be fixed. It is not cracks in textures that it is the most worrying thing about Unity, but the cracks in game design and writing.
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    65
    If you can put up with the stuttering performance and some comically ridiculous bugs (my favourite was an assassination target moon-walking backwards into my confused assassin’s cavalry sabre) then there’s a decent Assassin’s Creed experience to be found in Unity.
  7. Nov 19, 2014
    50
    An amazingly beautiful and dull adventure that takes the series well established elements and let's you repeat then yet again in an uninspired infinity. Not even hardcore fans should make excuses for this barely done game of bugs and routine work. Actually they should be the most upset. With Unity the series has gone from it's best to maybe it's worst.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 423
  1. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game, definitly the best one in the ac series, graphics are great framerate is about 55 fps. I don't know why so many people complainAwesome game, definitly the best one in the ac series, graphics are great framerate is about 55 fps. I don't know why so many people complain about it. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2015
    9
    this game looks amassing and plays quite well. I have an older x58 platform with an x5670 and must say that it really is a very decent andthis game looks amassing and plays quite well. I have an older x58 platform with an x5670 and must say that it really is a very decent and wonderful experience.

    Of course my gtx 980 probably doesnt hurt but i find the game smooth and solid. i was getting the occasional crash till i lowered my gpu overclock which works fine on other games. Really though, dont even need to be overclocking a gtx980, just the geek in me.

    Perhaps its because i waited before i ever started playing it, maybe its the patches, idk. Alls i know is that unity is working fine for me and i am really enjoying it. There is so many times i find myself admiring the screen. The graphics have really really great looking moments that are rare in an open world game. A lot of polish but there are some not pretty things to. But it is easily forgivable cause there are just as much stunning. i love games that impress and if you have specs enough to play on ultra, this one sure will.
    Expand
  3. Aug 22, 2020
    7
    I got the game way after the release so I was spared from the glitchy **** and it wasn't as bad as all the reviews make it out to be. I 100%I got the game way after the release so I was spared from the glitchy **** and it wasn't as bad as all the reviews make it out to be. I 100% completed this game and yes, there were some repetitive grindy missions and Co-op was hella buggy but the history of those missions was interesting. The parkour and setting of Unity were probably one of the most intricate and well designed of the series. The story, however, was pretty much a remake of 2 and cliche as F. The heroine had an annoying voice and Arno's personality was terribly designed. With a hood, the dudes like an icicle and when without it, he's and oaf. The story felt short and bland and did not live up to the hype of its trailers. Expand
  4. Nov 15, 2014
    3
    I7-4770K, GTX 760 4GB version 16GB ram and I have frame issues - cant lock at 60 FPS!
    BUT This game does not feel like assassins creed!
    I7-4770K, GTX 760 4GB version 16GB ram and I have frame issues - cant lock at 60 FPS!
    BUT This game does not feel like assassins creed!
    There is no story arc, and you cannot take part in the historical events :o

    How can there be no story arc? With 10 studios working on this game, this is a complete failure.
    Assassins creed is a fictional story, but this game was just put out to fill the yearly cycle.
    I think Im done with assassins creed, its been ruined.
    The previous ones were so great! They mixed the present with the past, but now its just a mess.
    Wait for the game to drop to half price before buying - its just not worth it.

    Once the patch worked, the graphics are really good but I still would like a story line to follow not just random acts of violence with a mission in the middle.
    The Co-Op is also forced on you, to unlock certain items which is stupid.

    Oh well - I can safely say I will no longer buy assassins creed, they have even monotised 'hacks' the player can hack an item that is locked by paying for it WTF!?!?!?!?!

    Lets not forget the train wreck that is UPLAY!
    I am soo disappointed by this game its unreal, the previous games were so great (I personally like assassins creed 3).

    Where ever ubisoft are trying to take the story, it just makes no sense.
    This game is quite awful.
    Anyone that gave it above a 6, are probably graphic crazy, the graphics are great, but they completely detract from any story arc.
    Its a shame, I was hoping this would be better, but its complete garbage.

    #Avoid
    Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    1
    - "Don't buy game from Ubisoft which didn't leave yet!" (c) MrAro
    This game needs to appropriate an award: The most curve optimization in the
    - "Don't buy game from Ubisoft which didn't leave yet!" (c) MrAro
    This game needs to appropriate an award: The most curve optimization in the history of video games.
    Weak plot, Graphics not according to system requirements.
    The gameplay is stupidly taken from other parts.
    And after that to ask for game of 38 dollars?
    Ubisoft, you have no respect for own fans.
    I will tell all once again: don't buy game from ubisoft which didn't leave yet!
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2016
    0
    Una mierda de juego por donde se lo mire. Optimizado HORRIBLEMENTE MAL, o deberia decir, DESoptimizado HORRIBLEMENTE BIEN.
    Es un juego lleno
    Una mierda de juego por donde se lo mire. Optimizado HORRIBLEMENTE MAL, o deberia decir, DESoptimizado HORRIBLEMENTE BIEN.
    Es un juego lleno de bugs con mal rendimiento y mala jugabilidad. Nada más que decir.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    I would love to write a review but i cant since the game is literally unplayable. Got a 2500k OCd to 4,6 ghz and a 660ti also OCd yet i cantI would love to write a review but i cant since the game is literally unplayable. Got a 2500k OCd to 4,6 ghz and a 660ti also OCd yet i cant seem to get even 30 fps. Slowdowns, freezing and stuttering are constant here.

    DO NOT buy this, do not even pirate this until Ubisoft gets their **** together.

    This might very well be the worst and most unoptimized port of all time.
    Expand

See all 423 User Reviews

Trailers