Assassin's Creed Unity Image
Metascore
70

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1671 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The city: 1789 Paris. The French Revolution transforms a once-magnificent city into a hot house of terror and calamity. Its cobblestone streets run red with the blood of the proletariat who dared to rise up against the oppressive aristocracy. As the nation is in upheaval, a man named ArnoThe city: 1789 Paris. The French Revolution transforms a once-magnificent city into a hot house of terror and calamity. Its cobblestone streets run red with the blood of the proletariat who dared to rise up against the oppressive aristocracy. As the nation is in upheaval, a man named Arno leaves on a journey to expose the true powers of the Revolution. His mission throws him into the middle of a ruthless struggle for the fate of a nation, and transform him into a real Master Assassin. From the storming of the Bastille to the execution of King Louis XVI, experience the French Revolution as never before, and help the people of France carve an entirely new destiny. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Assassin's Creed Unity - Experience Trailer 1
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Nov 18, 2014
    82
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed Unity is visually stunning, but it's also very demanding in terms of hardware requirements. If you've got what it takes to run the game smoothly and you like the series, this is the best episode so far.
  2. Nov 11, 2014
    78
    The PC version of Unity requires a pretty hefty rig to run, and an even heftier one is recommended. That said, those of you who have access to this will find that Unity on PC looks even better than its console brethren thanks to being able to run at resolutions above 900p, enhanced textures, and (hardware permitting) a much higher frame rate than the locked 30fps of the Xbox One and PS4.
  3. GameStar
    Nov 20, 2014
    76
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. Hyper Magazine
    Feb 9, 2015
    70
    Well at least it's better than ACIII. [Issue#257, p.66]
  5. Nov 27, 2014
    67
    As I write this, Assassin’s Creed: Unity is a bugfest, but technical problems, however annoying, can and probably will be fixed. It is not cracks in textures that it is the most worrying thing about Unity, but the cracks in game design and writing.
  6. Nov 24, 2014
    65
    If you can put up with the stuttering performance and some comically ridiculous bugs (my favourite was an assassination target moon-walking backwards into my confused assassin’s cavalry sabre) then there’s a decent Assassin’s Creed experience to be found in Unity.
  7. Nov 19, 2014
    50
    An amazingly beautiful and dull adventure that takes the series well established elements and let's you repeat then yet again in an uninspired infinity. Not even hardcore fans should make excuses for this barely done game of bugs and routine work. Actually they should be the most upset. With Unity the series has gone from it's best to maybe it's worst.

See all 10 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 384
  1. Nov 11, 2014
    10
    Awesome game, definitly the best one in the ac series, graphics are great framerate is about 55 fps. I don't know why so many people complainAwesome game, definitly the best one in the ac series, graphics are great framerate is about 55 fps. I don't know why so many people complain about it. Expand
  2. Feb 8, 2015
    9
    this game looks amassing and plays quite well. I have an older x58 platform with an x5670 and must say that it really is a very decent andthis game looks amassing and plays quite well. I have an older x58 platform with an x5670 and must say that it really is a very decent and wonderful experience.

    Of course my gtx 980 probably doesnt hurt but i find the game smooth and solid. i was getting the occasional crash till i lowered my gpu overclock which works fine on other games. Really though, dont even need to be overclocking a gtx980, just the geek in me.

    Perhaps its because i waited before i ever started playing it, maybe its the patches, idk. Alls i know is that unity is working fine for me and i am really enjoying it. There is so many times i find myself admiring the screen. The graphics have really really great looking moments that are rare in an open world game. A lot of polish but there are some not pretty things to. But it is easily forgivable cause there are just as much stunning. i love games that impress and if you have specs enough to play on ultra, this one sure will.
    Expand
  3. Nov 24, 2014
    7
    This game is doing poorly in the review because of technical problems - and it's true these problems exist and they are game-breaking forThis game is doing poorly in the review because of technical problems - and it's true these problems exist and they are game-breaking for some.

    On the plus side however, there's some incredible details in this title. The recreation of revolutionary France is simply wonderful and as a student of history I was agog at the wonders on display. There is a passable story in there and the atmosphere and sound design are top notch.

    That said it's not a whole lot different from previous games in the series and the technical problems are annoying but no doubt they will be fixed. Maybe one to pick up down the track.
    Expand
  4. Nov 12, 2014
    2
    Look, other games have come out that look amazing but they also can run well on other then the top systems. Guess we call this optimization.Look, other games have come out that look amazing but they also can run well on other then the top systems. Guess we call this optimization. That's not what Ubi does and not what this game is. I have enjoyed the AC series, even the much hated AC 3. Sure, its repetitive but the recreation of Paris is good. Without a broken game, and yes, it is certainly broken at this point, maybe a 6. It does have other issues as well. Ubi doesn't seem to finish a game. They get to the release date now and just dump whatever code they have and who cares if it runs right.

    They need to contemplate their business strategy, this release will hurt them. Even among the console gamers. With such a small install base for those, they need PC gamers to buy this title. This game is not going to do it in it's current functional form.
    Expand
  5. Nov 14, 2014
    1
    Awful game, and I've been an avid AC fan since the series first released. Story is somewhat choppy, but alright. The characters in the gameAwful game, and I've been an avid AC fan since the series first released. Story is somewhat choppy, but alright. The characters in the game aren't really developed all that well so very few characters you end up caring about. I will say the graphics are great, they definitely did a nice job with the tesselation on buildings and objects in the streets as well as the crowd size. The game wouldn't be all that bad if it weren't for the combat system - the combat system ruins the game. The camera zooms in whenever you engage an enemy, making it so if more guys come, you can't see the majority of them until they hit you and the camera refocuses on them. One shot from a rifle and you're gone - half the time you can't see the aiming reticule to even know you're being shot at. Human shields have been removed, severely limiting your options as far as countering firearms in battle. You don't have enough time to parry against the more elite enemies so you constantly get your butt kicked in combat. Many great things from previous combat engines in AC have been removed - executions, counter kills, double executions, all the really cool animations, disarming enemies, throwing enemies, all that stuff is gone. All you have now is parry and dodge which basically ends up being just a button mashing fest and using smoke bombs constantly because if you engage more than 2-3 enemies, chances are you're going to die without using smoke bombs. This goes against everything the previous games were great with - you were supposed to be a bad a$$ fighter who, as long as you executed your moves properly, could engage multiple enemies in combat without issue.

    So far I really hate this game and absolutely regret buying it. If the combat wasn't so god awful I could get past all the other stuff and kinda enjoy it, but the combat ensures that the whole game is nothing but frustration rather than fun. Thankfully AC: Rogue comes out for PC in spring, and from talking to a friend at work who has it for his PS3, it has the AC4 combat system and engine in it so I will at least have that one to look forward to. Really hope Ubisoft dumps the combat system from Unity for their next game. PLEASE take it back to the AC4 combat system which was really awesome.

    Stay away from this one guys. Awful awful awful.
    Expand
  6. Dec 20, 2016
    0
    Una mierda de juego por donde se lo mire. Optimizado HORRIBLEMENTE MAL, o deberia decir, DESoptimizado HORRIBLEMENTE BIEN.
    Es un juego lleno
    Una mierda de juego por donde se lo mire. Optimizado HORRIBLEMENTE MAL, o deberia decir, DESoptimizado HORRIBLEMENTE BIEN.
    Es un juego lleno de bugs con mal rendimiento y mala jugabilidad. Nada más que decir.
    Expand
  7. Nov 12, 2014
    0
    Well on my nvidia gtx 770 and i5 4760 this game is 100% unplayable lags crashes etc it is not optimized it is not polished game can'tWell on my nvidia gtx 770 and i5 4760 this game is 100% unplayable lags crashes etc it is not optimized it is not polished game can't recommend to anyone and i really like other assassins' creed games... Expand

See all 384 User Reviews