Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Oct 13, 2016
    100
    While I found myself struggling to wrap my head around the gameplay after the first hour or two, Atlas Reactor has become something that I’ve had a hard time drawing myself away from over the past few days.
  2. Oct 6, 2016
    86
    Atlas Reactor is something special amid a world filled with one too many MOBAs, team shooters, and card games. I truly hope it takes off like wildfire, though I fear it may be destined to be niche with its Competitive XCOM flare and somewhat steep learning curve.
  3. Oct 7, 2016
    83
    Atlas Reactor is a game that I appreciate for its diverse cast and refreshingly short match times.
  4. Oct 31, 2016
    81
    It was good as a beta, now at release it's very good. All that's missing are more game modes.
  5. Nov 8, 2016
    80
    Watching your opponent fall right into your trap or hitting him with pinpoint accuracy are just some of the priceless moments Atlas Reactor provides. It is a truly one of kind game that mixes several genres into something weird and brilliant.
  6. Nov 8, 2016
    80
    There’s a huge amount of depth lurking beneath its “seen it before” appearance. They’ve taken the traditional MOBA and focused it down to a tactical tee. It provokes an impending tension, utters of despair at turns wasted, and cries of joy at enemies falling victim to your ten turns of dastardly planning.
  7. Oct 21, 2016
    80
    Atlas Reactor is a fun game for people who love blasting the hell out of their friends. The large variety of Freelancers, both in appearance and play style, present the opportunity to try out several different strategies and help keep things interesting.
  8. Oct 12, 2016
    80
    Atlas Reactor is an impressive turn-based tactical game that has ground work built on fast action and a steep learning curve.
  9. Oct 11, 2016
    80
    Sure, it could use a few more maps (and more are on the way), and its learning curve is just steep enough that it's briefly tough to see the fun on the other side, but it achieves its aims with style and flair.
  10. Oct 9, 2016
    80
    Atlas Reactor has tons of strategic depth compressed into hyper-kinetic ten-minute chunks.
  11. Games Master UK
    Dec 4, 2016
    76
    A deceptively deep game of wits. [Dec 2016, p.82]

Awards & Rankings

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 49
  2. Negative: 11 out of 49
  1. Oct 8, 2016
    10
    Atlas Reactor is a gem among games. Think multiplayer XCOM and you have 20 seconds to figure out what you're doing with your character whileAtlas Reactor is a gem among games. Think multiplayer XCOM and you have 20 seconds to figure out what you're doing with your character while you talk and strategize with your team of four. I actually created a log in on Metacritic just to say that. Full Review »
  2. Oct 5, 2016
    10
    I found out about Atlas Reactor from a Facebook post that was a montage of people reacting to game play. When i heard it was Turn based iI found out about Atlas Reactor from a Facebook post that was a montage of people reacting to game play. When i heard it was Turn based i cringed a little bit BUT dont let that fool you. Being that turn based is my least favorite genre of game I can honestly say this is not your grandmothers turn based game.

    This is a face paced all thrills no filler game. Each match starts out carefree and by turn 20 rolls around, your head is in your hand and your thinking face is full force. Fill with crazy "OH CRAP" and "WHAT AM I DOING" moments this game is sure to suck you in for hours at a time. If you want to laugh and have some fun while putting the smack down on the other team you MUST check out this game.
    Full Review »
  3. Oct 5, 2016
    10
    Atlas reactor is surprisingly fine and tense game - as long as if you like games which require you to think quickly and tactically instead ofAtlas reactor is surprisingly fine and tense game - as long as if you like games which require you to think quickly and tactically instead of being the fastest mouse clicker on the block. It is quite amazing how dynamic the game is even though it is turn based.

    In short, in the game you are controlling one of 4 different freelancers on your team. Freelancer is a character with unique fighting abilities, fitting loosely into damage dealer, front line tank and support (generally healing) classes. Your team is pitted against opponents on a relatively small maps which ensure dynamic fight. The first team to score 5 kills or most kills after 20 turns wins. The match takes usually less than 15 minutes, with some extra long matches being below 20.

    The game may become a classic with huge following; whether that will happen, it is hard to say at the moment. The balance of characters if already rather fine, the matchmaking works, the game is fluid and dynamic and will give you quite some emotions. Skill matters, as well as teamwork. The characters are very varied and unique. The classes are rather loosely defined and the variation within is significant. The unique abilities of characters are unique, which makes it more appreciated how well those are balanced. The balance is enhanced by the match-maker which often chooses similar characters on opposite teams (but not mirrors). So you feel that game is fair - even if you believe one of the freelancers is stronger than the other, often both teams have it.

    There are some downsides - the voice chat requires external application and at the moment is not widely used - making communication tricky. The time limit for your turn is 15s, which can be short, especially if you learn late what your teammates are doing (their moves are shown once they plot them) and want to make last moment adjustments. The game needs more maps, more fluent communication in teams and perhaps some other modes than 4 vs 4. For example, myself, I am waiting for a mode in which you control all 4 characters in your team for ultimate experience. Nonetheless, the game is already very entertaining and unique, with great much future potential. It is also easy to grab, but difficult to master.

    Most importantly, it is absolutely no pay to win, even if you play for free. Only skill of you, your teammates, and teamwork matters - money will only get you new skins for your characters and other purely graphical enhancements.

    Graphics is ok. For me, I do not like the style too much - but in the age of shiny graphics, it fits the bill.

    You can try it for free - you will not be able to play all characters, but it will give you the taste of the game. Maybe I am wrong, but if the game is matured a bit and perhaps enhanced with simpler (maybe even 2d) graphics for quick plotting, as well as more fluent communication between teammates, it has potential to become a very solid e-sport game to be played for decades. On the other hand, if the developers will move in wrong direction, it may just die... Currently it is a unique game - surely clones will follow if it gets as much success as I believe it deserves.

    I was hesitating about the score - finally give it 10 as it is a bold move into where few (or nobody) was before and the design works. It is also more finished than most games at release. The problems are generally minor and common to other team based games, even those which are on the market for many years. Graphics is a matter of taste - and you may like it... No pay to win, skill and teamwork are the only factors affecting the game. Easy to pick, but very complex to master.
    Full Review »