User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 51
  2. Negative: 6 out of 51

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 1, 2018
    5
    This game is fine, but it has a fatal flaw. It has no variety, and the replay value is really low. It is a big flaw considering that this game is aimed to play it again and again. Sorry, but it is not happening.
    This game is based in a minimalist strategy game, where you play over and over until you die, and you must start from scratch. And, since the game is quite repetitive (i
    This game is fine, but it has a fatal flaw. It has no variety, and the replay value is really low. It is a big flaw considering that this game is aimed to play it again and again. Sorry, but it is not happening.
    This game is based in a minimalist strategy game, where you play over and over until you die, and you must start from scratch. And, since the game is quite repetitive (i counted around five types of enemies), then it's hard to try to play it again.
    The game, as a strategy game, is fine, and the graphics are acceptable (for a minimalist game), but it lacks story, variety and any achievement. Even the "loots" are meh.
    I died for the third time and I think I get it enough.
    I give a 5/10 only because it's an indie game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 23, 2019
    1
    For a game that claims to be a roguelike it has the depth of a one inch hole.

    This game feels like a mini-RTS game that was made for Smartphones. The campaign is not interesting, the items and traits are not interesting, the troops are not interesting, the most interesting things are enemies and even those are shallow. Why the hell they give a cliff jumping attack to the unit that
    For a game that claims to be a roguelike it has the depth of a one inch hole.

    This game feels like a mini-RTS game that was made for Smartphones.

    The campaign is not interesting, the items and traits are not interesting, the troops are not interesting, the most interesting things are enemies and even those are shallow.

    Why the hell they give a cliff jumping attack to the unit that usually is frontline tanker.

    By the end of the game you will be using a party of 2 archers and 2 shield warriors because Pikemen can't deal with the damage dealt by the Brute Bow users and they die fast.

    I don't recommend this game to anyone, the gameplay is boring, the replay value is nada and even though it has random elements, it lacks the things that make a roguelike interesting, there is no learning or complexity in it. It's like it's not even a proper game.
    Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2019
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. "Fast, fun and simply"
    From the level one, you already know what to do; is intuitive, simply, and this perfect for the fast rhythm of the game, and is incredible funny! The combat system and animations feel so smooth.
    The bad things are only two; is very short, and the levels feel generic.
    And other things wort mentioning is that there could have been a final boss, and i think that a hero unit system would have been very interesting, but you don't have time to miss these things while you are in the game!
    Expand
  4. Jan 5, 2020
    5
    A small game with simple mechanics. It is enjoyable for a while, but then it becomes repetitive. There's no depth nor no variety which may result in becoming bored after short while.
  5. Dec 8, 2019
    9
    The mechanics are basically rock paper scissors with a little extra depth thrown in in the form of utilizing your archers, shields, pike-men in different formations. The campaign took me about 6h which I played through in a single day. so I can easily recommend.

    I doubt I will play through it a second time though.
  6. Jun 13, 2020
    7
    Definitely worth playing. Lack of narrative? True. Lack of achievement? Maybe. But the gameplay is actually unique, and the tactic you could use is richer than most people initially thought. When do you throw the archer/infantry into the battlefield makes a big difference, and which party do you put on the front line makes a difference as well, which further depends on the topography ofDefinitely worth playing. Lack of narrative? True. Lack of achievement? Maybe. But the gameplay is actually unique, and the tactic you could use is richer than most people initially thought. When do you throw the archer/infantry into the battlefield makes a big difference, and which party do you put on the front line makes a difference as well, which further depends on the topography of the island.

    This game is worth at least 7 out of 10.
    Expand
  7. Mar 7, 2020
    7
    Bad North delivers in both quality and quantity in this easy-on-the-eyes point-and-click. The animations are clean and crisp. The sound and music are perfect for the atmosphere. Lacking majorly in the narrative department, this game makes up for itself with strategic and rewarding play that can take away hours in an instant.
  8. Oct 19, 2020
    7
    Enjoyable game. Although designed for playing again I felt satisfied with playing through it once (~7 hours) and won't feel the need to play it again (by the end of a campaign it does become a little samey).

    Graphics and sound are simple but nice.
  9. Jun 5, 2020
    2
    Boring what is there to do?? Your review must be at least 75 characters long. Your review must be at least 75 characters long.
  10. Jun 22, 2020
    7
    This game is good but let's just say after 20 hour of doing the same thing... It becomes boring.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Dec 30, 2019
    70
    For what it lacks in scope, Bad North makes it up with an addictive, rewarding roguelike strategy gameplay layer.
  2. Nov 1, 2019
    84
    All in all, Bad North's gameplay is very engaging and keeps you on your feet. Despite some weakness in the narrative department, most design choices pay off. It is a polished experience that has kept me entertained for a good amount of time.
  3. CD-Action
    Feb 6, 2019
    65
    A minimalistic, good-looking RTS built around a heavily emphasised risk/reward system. It might not be remarkable, but it was still able to make me lose track of time. [01/2019, p.78]