Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 12 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Jul 29, 2019
    90
    Beyond Two souls is the same as the PS4 version. It thus magnifies the narration with a technical outcome that amplifies everything. More graceful than ever, this port offers its most beautiful version here. As a classic, Beyond Two Souls is now part of the history of video games.
  2. Aug 12, 2019
    85
    Beyond Two Souls is at last available on PC, and with a more recent release than Heavy Rain, it looks gorgeous with 4K and 60 FPS. If you haven't yet finished the game on consoles, or haven't tried it yet, go for the PC version.
  3. Jul 30, 2019
    85
    Quantic Dream proves that even a six-year-old game can be full of new life on a converted gaming platform.
  4. Aug 2, 2019
    80
    Available at a budget price on PC, you’ll be hugely impressed by its visuals, and while some scenes feel like filler, you’ll feel the urge to push on to discoverer Jodie’s, and Aiden’s, ultimate fate. Like any Quantic Dream tale, the narrative is sometimes ham-fisted, but it’s still head and shoulders above what’s offered by most videogames, making the time spent with Beyond: Two Souls something you’ll remember.
  5. Jul 30, 2019
    80
    If you’ve been scared off of Cage’s work before and you don’t mind a tale that takes itself much too seriously, you might just be hooked by Jodie’s journey.
  6. Jul 29, 2019
    75
    Beyond Two Souls is simply a neat portage of the PS4 version. Prettier and smoother, the writing is still solid but beware: use a controller, rather than the usual keyboard/mouse combo.
  7. Aug 2, 2019
    70
    Beyond Two Souls is a mixed game, with many elements of the story amounting to binary choices, some aspects of the narrative being poorly fleshed out and gameplay regularly amounting to choosing whether to be terrible or not. At the same time though, there are enough satisfying moments that provoke empathy for Paige's character and moral quandary to intrigue and entertain those drawn to coming of age stories and tales of the supernatural.
  8. Jul 24, 2019
    70
    Visually this interactive experience directed by Heavy Rain’s David Cage and starring Elaine Page as well as Willem Dafoe is stunning, but the mechanics as well as the narrative are mostly average.
  9. Heavy Rain is a perfect game as a PlayStation 3 classic. And now the PC port looks good and works smoothly.
  10. Jul 29, 2019
    65
    The PC port stands as the definitive way to experience Beyond: Two Souls, boasting a higher frame cap, solid keyboard & mouse controls, and a remix mode. These additions, however, do nothing to remedy the poorly-aged, cliché-ridden script and inconsistent chapters you may remember, but do highlight the game’s strong visuals and emphasis on variety.
  11. Aug 2, 2019
    60
    The original Beyond: Two Souls was an interactive drama with a severely inconsistent level of quality when it came to gameplay and storytelling, and completely consistent when it came to its stunning audio-visuals. This new version, is still an interactive drama with a severely inconsistent level of quality when it comes to gameplay and storytelling, and even better in regards to how it looks and sounds. Any reason to try it out now? Only if you haven't done so before, as the remaster is a bit of a poor one to warrant a second purchase.
  12. Aug 1, 2019
    60
    When the dust settles, Beyond: Two Souls offers up both the best and worst of Quantic Dream, with an intoxicating desire for ambition and spectacle lost in the failure to deliver on the detail.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Beyond: Two Souls feels like a Frankenstein creature; a television show with interactivity jammed in for the sake of it. It’s an interminable cutscene that demands your input at every moment, constantly disrupting the flow of the story to do so, but doesn’t reward your actions with any kind of meaning. And being held hostage to every second only means you have a whole lot of time to think about how Ellen Page deserved better.
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 34
  2. Negative: 7 out of 34
  1. Jul 27, 2019
    6
    I've played this game over 2 days and it induces terrible motion sickness. If I play the game for just a few hours, I get so sick that I haveI've played this game over 2 days and it induces terrible motion sickness. If I play the game for just a few hours, I get so sick that I have to lie down and close my eyes. The elements of the game- story, characters, plot, play sequences- are good. I would say it is about as good as Heavy Rain. And there are various scoring outcomes based on how the chapter is played, so there is some replay-ability. But the thought of constantly getting sick playing this game makes means I won't be attempting replays. Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2019
    10
    Very interesting game, excellent graphics, in a word 12/10
    Hope David will make 2 part of
  3. Aug 17, 2019
    8
    I'm always amazed by how cool real life actors look in the games. Indeed an unexpected turn for my point of view. (Defoe is amazing asI'm always amazed by how cool real life actors look in the games. Indeed an unexpected turn for my point of view. (Defoe is amazing as always). I kinda don't understand people who don't consider it a game by saying it is just an interactive movie, but even if so ffs that what makes it a game you morons. This game in particular is made so good and professional that i only wish that movies would be like that. Full Review »