BONEWORKS Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: BONEWORKS is an Experimental Physics VR Adventure. Use found physics weapons, tools, and objects to fight across dangerous playscapes and mysterious architecture.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Dec 10, 2019
    80
    Boneworks never sweeps you away on the same kind of rollercoaster ride its biggest influences charted, but you’d be hardpressed not to get carried away on its own journey; one of interactive wizardry, devilishly gratifying combat and stunning physical authenticity, even if that occasionally works against you. Ultimately it might not be the VR shooter to turn the heads of the masses, but if you want to see where that future lies, you can’t miss Boneworks.
  2. Dec 15, 2019
    79
    Boneworks' ambitious physics simulation of everything is a lot of VR fun when you get creative with it, but doesn't always work as well as you'd hope.
  3. Dec 20, 2019
    75
    With a really impressive engine that shines from physic awareness and realism, Boneworks brings a nice VR experience but fails to deliver a complete and bug-free game.
  4. Dec 19, 2019
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Dec 11, 2019
    60
    The totality of the game lacks effective pacing as it bounces back and forth from puzzle to combat with little sense of synergy and no apparent climax. For those that are compelled by Boneworks' combat, the Arena and Sandbox modes offer up a great opportunity for extended gameplay, though we would have liked to see an emphasis on user-generated levels so that the community might flesh out concepts that didn't hit their stride in the campaign.
  6. Jan 7, 2020
    60
    Despite its frustrations and some half-measure design, Boneworks is still a game that is easy to recommend for VR fans. There's a lot about its immersion that other VR games could learn from, and hopefully build an overall better game around.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 46
  2. Negative: 6 out of 46
  1. Mar 29, 2020
    10
    Excellent vr game. The physics is really exceptional, the gunfight s are really satisfying.
  2. Jan 12, 2020
    10
    just love it just love itjust love itjust love itjust love itjust love itjust love itjust love itjust love itjust love itjust love it
  3. Dec 10, 2019
    10
    This is the future of gaming.
    The physics is so realistic that you will forget that is not real.
    The feeling of using hands in virtual
    This is the future of gaming.
    The physics is so realistic that you will forget that is not real.
    The feeling of using hands in virtual reality is something awesome, every gamer must try this to understand. Don't look at videos because is something to live not to watch.
    You will be sucked in this reality.
    Expand
  4. Jun 29, 2020
    9
    Based of the newest version of the game, i think its a master piece of VR gaming.
    Not just the revolutionary game physics for VR makes the
    Based of the newest version of the game, i think its a master piece of VR gaming.
    Not just the revolutionary game physics for VR makes the game so good, it is the overall Half Life style that makes the game so good.
    Even after playing the main story you have the option to collect all items for the sandbox to mess around a bit, or play against enemys in the arena or just play the call of duty styled "Zombie Mode".
    This is the best VR game I have played.
    But i have to admit that the story could be more clearer without reading all text on the walls.
    If you have a VR headset this game is a must play for you, and if not i would not consider buying a VR headset just for this game, but if you want to continuously play other VR games it would be a geat deal.
    Also if you play with HTC VIVE controllers holding items in game is so painful because you have to HOLD the grip or trigger button to hold an objekt.
    Expand
  5. Jan 6, 2020
    8
    I have never experienced anything like this in all of gaming. The engine is mind-blowing, and I've never REALLY felt like I'm just THERE inI have never experienced anything like this in all of gaming. The engine is mind-blowing, and I've never REALLY felt like I'm just THERE in the world the same way I have with Boneworks. The physics, and the way you interact with the world, are the stars of the show here.

    As a game, it's only decent. The story is lacking, the puzzles are fairly basic, the enemies are kind of dumb, and there are occasional glitches, but it's just SO MUCH FUN TO PLAY that I don't care. It will take you to another world and really convince you that you're there because the way in which you interact with it is so natural.

    This is a real breakthrough in VR game engines, and I'm excited to see what Stress Level Zero does with it next. Just don't play this if you're new to VR or get sick from it easily. Nothing makes me VR sick, but I can see how it could make some people puke.
    Expand
  6. Nov 16, 2020
    8
    Let's just put it out there, if you don't have Steam Index controllers, you probably shouldn't bother. This did for VR what half life 2 didLet's just put it out there, if you don't have Steam Index controllers, you probably shouldn't bother. This did for VR what half life 2 did for gaming back in 2004- the physics puzzles and combat- sure there's better examples of all these things individually out on the market, but this game brings it all together like nothing else. It's an awesome sandbox where everything you could want out of a virtual reality action experience can be found in all of its janky glory. Is it perfect? Well, no. But it's a massive step forward for the medium that shouldn't be missed. Expand
  7. Dec 18, 2019
    3
    Game has almost no content, feels like a demo. The campaign is very short and the enemies are terrible, the sandbox was fun at the start thenGame has almost no content, feels like a demo. The campaign is very short and the enemies are terrible, the sandbox was fun at the start then got boring fast. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews