Dakar 18 Image
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Dakar 18 is a simulation of the world-famous annual rally raid organized by Amaury Sport Organisation (A.S.O.) in South America, and features visuals and many vehicles including motorcycles, cars, trucks, quads and SxS.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Dakar 18 - Official Vehicles Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 11
  2. Negative: 2 out of 11
  1. Oct 1, 2018
    75
    Dakar 18 is a great way to understand what a rally raid is. It has some flaws, but it provides an experience no other game can offer.
  2. Oct 2, 2018
    71
    That's why it's all the more annoying that the game cannot decide what it wants to be in the end. For an Arcade racer with offroad attitude it is too complex, for a race simulation the physics are too exaggerated, the control too spongy and the navigation too imprecise.
  3. Oct 17, 2018
    67
    Praise to Bigmoon for the courage to take on this difficult to implement racing game genre. The small studio has also mastered the big task properly, especially the challenging navigation is authentically conveyed to the player. However, Dakar 18 weakens in one decisive discipline: driving physics. In times of a Dirt Rally 2.0, which will appear next February, racing fans expect more from a game with a simulation claim. Also the missing vehicle tuning as well as the spartan damage model should be offensive to simulation fans. But if you don't let this spoil the fun, you'll get an off-road game of a different kind, which also creates a Dakar atmosphere thanks to the pretty graphics and the authentic navigation system.
  4. Oct 4, 2018
    55
    A title that aims to simulate the orientation difficulties tipical of the Dakar stages, but can’t reach his goal due to an unconvincing driving model.
  5. Oct 8, 2018
    55
    Superficial both from a playful and technical point of view.
  6. Oct 8, 2018
    55
    Dakar 18 was a promissing title that might had over-promissed. Its numerous technical flaws and its poor physics are too much to overcome, despite some good ideas, such as its navigation system.
  7. Oct 21, 2018
    45
    The concept might seem interesting, but poor visuals, poor driving physics and the totally incoherent co-driver make sure that this works neither as a rallye game nor a GPS racing simulator.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Sep 26, 2018
    9
    Co-driver might be gay!

    Its an excellent game that I may buy if the developers make better use of physics. The terrain is stunning and
    Co-driver might be gay!

    Its an excellent game that I may buy if the developers make better use of physics.
    The terrain is stunning and remind me of travels in these regions (!). Very well recreated!

    The co-driver, however, is a bit of a payne. He whines in a high schrill voice if we as much as touch a rock. Endlessly chattering on' about how bu..hurt he is by the slightest bump in the road.

    Also: If you hit one of the many cacti on the plains... the car, not the cacti, get damaged. Go figure.
    Same goes for plastictape marking the course. Evidently its tougher than the Paris - Dakar cars.

    So, in summing up: This is one of the games I might end up bying if I get tempted to also try its multiplayer-content. Untill then I'm happy seeing if the devs. make some useful updates, and if the price drops to... oh say, around 30euro, I'll buy.

    Btw.: The V-Rally 4, released on the same day at same price, if far inferior. What laughable handling and subpar graphics. That one I'm un-installing soon and obviously not considering buying.
    Collapse
  2. Feb 12, 2019
    9
    I love the game.
    Graphics are awesome, navigation system is very cool.
    Stages are long enough, around one hour and something. Co-pilot is a
    I love the game.
    Graphics are awesome, navigation system is very cool.
    Stages are long enough, around one hour and something.
    Co-pilot is a bit noisy and repetitive.
    Damage system could be improved, I can't find my truck damaged on lhe outside, despite being severely damaged according to the percentages.
    I like the idea of getting out of the car to dig and use the shovel, but the driver moves are a bit funky.
    I can't understand how some people give a below 5 score on this game.
    This game is worth a 7 at least.
    Expand
  3. Feb 28, 2019
    9
    Dakar 18 isn’t for everybody. Don’t expect to find a racing game similar to Forza Horizon, DiRT, Baja, WRC or V-Rally. It’s a totally newDakar 18 isn’t for everybody. Don’t expect to find a racing game similar to Forza Horizon, DiRT, Baja, WRC or V-Rally. It’s a totally new breed of rally raid racing with a different concept that we can’t simply compare to other racers out there. It's a game to be tried by everyone, ‘cause it’s different from everything else. We must applaud Bigmoon for the effort and guts on bringing a game based on the Dakar. Expand
  4. Sep 28, 2018
    5
    Intrseting stages cars everything here , but physics and gps are chaotic controls ,somewhat i dont feel driving looks lik e unfinished game.
  5. Nov 15, 2018
    4
    I really wanted to love this game but i cant, the physics sucks and it has game breaking bugs for example i was driving for 30 minutes andI really wanted to love this game but i cant, the physics sucks and it has game breaking bugs for example i was driving for 30 minutes and accidentally ended up on another checkpoint the game instantly disqualified me and started a endless loop of reloading that checkpoint so i couldnt continue, another one was after 20 minutes, i got stuck in mud the wheels stopped moving and the speedometer marked something like -45614746... i reloaded the checkpoint and it happened again instantly.
    Is a shame because it could have been a good game if it wasnt released this so unfinished, i know theres a patch (20 gb) but honestly i dont know if i want to come back again.
    Expand
  6. Sep 26, 2018
    2
    beautiful graphics, hideous gameplay. The gameplay in g27 is poor, the gameplay is poor
  7. Oct 15, 2018
    1
    A broken mess of a game. It’s insulting to think this game is asking the same amount of money as some polished AAA releases. The developersA broken mess of a game. It’s insulting to think this game is asking the same amount of money as some polished AAA releases. The developers must have known how bad the game is before release as it took ages for any reviews to surface after the game’s release. The presentation isn’t bad, but the physica and handling are terrible beyond belief and the game is very bare bones. Modes like the treasure hunt seem barely an afterthought. The game map may be bigger than Fuel’s, but it’s far uglier and much less interesting. Avoid this game like the plague. Expand

See all 9 User Reviews

Trailers