User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 97 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 97
  2. Negative: 27 out of 97

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 21, 2015
    6
    I feel like this game didn't have any core things, it's just like a plain horror game combined with indie culturals. Yet it scary, if you misse Fatal Frame or Silent Hill, maybe you would try playing this one.
  2. May 23, 2015
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. pros: - not bad for a starting company
    - quite scary for some momment
    - a variety of ghost characters& nice design
    - nice main&side characters design
    - nice environment
    - some unexpected plot twist
    - graphics is ok

    cons: - only able to sprint at fixed momment
    - slow running speed
    - no stamina bar
    - no chat log
    - no cutscene viewer
    - need more horror elements

    follows fatal frame style, using camera to "attack" ghosts.
    act 1 is ok but there must be a reason that they stop at the school. I mean there are wandering in some sort of ghost town (like the on in silent hill), and then they suddenly just like "hm,i should check this building out"
    OST is ok but still require improvement
    environment is also quite ok

    and for act 2, i'm pretty sure that 90% people wont go back into that building after being thru all those stuffs,so i assume maybe get out of town is the logic ending but i presume another ending is the devs choice

    finally, i think this game is ok and worth a try if you really like horror game with different style
    Expand
  3. May 22, 2014
    7
    Completely nice start for Indie Dev. Memorable games for this month and give hope for another dev to create better game than DreadOut. Surprisingly Good
  4. Jun 25, 2014
    5
    Below average graphics with some questionable designs.
    Do not get the demo of this game on steam. It is bugged so even if you uninstall it the demo will still stay in your library. Can be annoying.
  5. Jun 17, 2015
    10
    Just shat my pants when a ghost jumped at me after opening a door.

    10/10 Would spoil my underwear again.

    And let's add bogus text to reach the 150 characters limit.
  6. May 25, 2014
    7
    Not half ass bad, but the game is straightforward and too short. The Dev should create longer game timeline, or unless the ACT 2 should be longer and add ACT 3 to ACT 5.
  7. Jun 29, 2014
    9
    This game has great graphics and good gameplay, but it still need improvement. DreadOut is not bad for horror game because it has unique ghost and urban legend story. I hope this can develop and rise.
  8. Nov 22, 2014
    10
    Worth to buy and play, I like a female character to play with, awesome! The graphic is cool, and the stories made me curious what's happen next. Good game play with camera, I loved it.
  9. May 16, 2014
    8
    I like classic horror games like Silent Hill and Fatal Frame and this game reminds me of them. DreadOut is not perfect but a better survival horror game from mediocre games like Outlast and Slender.
  10. May 17, 2014
    10
    nice game affter all but i see some bug in there after respawn, but i like it that ghost, grapic, and story line, t reminded me of Project Zero/Fatal Frame a bit and this game-series was one of my favorite horrorgame-series ever
  11. May 16, 2014
    7
    I haven't played it alot. But so far I can say, that the story is not thaaat good and the graphics aren't good either. But the maingoal of a game like this is "to scare the **** out of me". And this goal was reached.
    It reminded me of Project Zero/Fatal Frame a bit and this game-series was one of my favorite horrorgame-series ever. It brought back so many memories. And because of that
    I haven't played it alot. But so far I can say, that the story is not thaaat good and the graphics aren't good either. But the maingoal of a game like this is "to scare the **** out of me". And this goal was reached.
    It reminded me of Project Zero/Fatal Frame a bit and this game-series was one of my favorite horrorgame-series ever. It brought back so many memories. And because of that I'll give the game a 7/10 !
    Expand
  12. Feb 14, 2015
    5
    Pros: Play as a cute Japanese school Girl

    Cons: Play as a cute Japanese school Girl Steam Reviews : Very Positive / Metacritic rating - 5.9 Mixed reviews. This is only for fans of horror that can get through the mediocrity of this game. Gameplay is boring and seems unfinished, but story is OK and atmosphere is just almost tolerable. This would be a really good game if they put in
    Pros: Play as a cute Japanese school Girl

    Cons: Play as a cute Japanese school Girl

    Steam Reviews : Very Positive / Metacritic rating - 5.9

    Mixed reviews. This is only for fans of horror that can get through the mediocrity of this game. Gameplay is boring and seems unfinished, but story is OK and atmosphere is just almost tolerable. This would be a really good game if they put in a little more effort.
    Expand
  13. Jul 15, 2014
    10
    the best game i have ever played its realy nice game and scary ghosts it has realy nice graphics i love fatal frame series like dreadout is my favourite game and the story is realy nice i cant wait the 2nd act

    good job :D
  14. May 17, 2014
    10
    I am very Impressed with the game, very simple it is mixing the silent hill game and fatal frame, The main thing which is very interesting with this game are the ghost many of the ghost are originally based from South East Asian Nation (Specially in Indonesia) , I believe many people don't know about it
  15. Jun 30, 2014
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Absolute **** Cliche in every way possible, things happen at random, to find things you have to take pictures of the most random thing (aka the hanging bodies to find the keys and you can't pick up the keys without that picture), no explanation, unfitting ending music, I could go on. This game is terrible in every possibly way. Expand
  16. Jan 7, 2017
    9
    Dreadout have a very unique gameplay and nice story . Even the music have a very nice sound . The ghost is very awesome . But the death loading screen was awful . And yes ,its Fatal Frame + Silent Hill
  17. Jan 10, 2017
    1
    A cheap rip off of a all time favorite Japanese horror franchise.
    Let me start off with:
    The story is plain and unoriginal. DreadOut follow close to every poorly scripted cheesy horror film setting of a group of people that's destine to be stuck out there in the woods. The first 10 minutes of the game feels exactly like the game's title, DREADED OUT and unnecessary, the voice acting and
    A cheap rip off of a all time favorite Japanese horror franchise.
    Let me start off with:
    The story is plain and unoriginal. DreadOut follow close to every poorly scripted cheesy horror film setting of a group of people that's destine to be stuck out there in the woods.
    The first 10 minutes of the game feels exactly like the game's title, DREADED OUT and unnecessary, the voice acting and dialogue is extremely cringe and could be done better.
    The characters is not memorable at all and can be easily forgotten once your done with the game.
    Bad, slow controls can be a ted iffy and annoying most times esp running off from a untouchable, most-annoying-shrieking boss ghost. As you play further into the game, the scare factor quickly becomes old and which can be quite aggravating. The graphic is old and close to a PS2 quality, not everything is intractable in the game. And anything that IS intractable is the puzzles, the batteries, dairies and items and that's it.
    For the price of a undeveloped game, it sure feels expensive.
    Expand
  18. Nov 25, 2018
    3
    ENG RU
    For the first time I meet the game in this genre, where you need to literally zaklikivat enemies camera and still manages to run and Dodge. Plus, it gets weird in the office, when you turn sharply and you have to restore on the new. The beginning of game strange. but expensive in company through the village to school can stir interest, but everything is empty. Wander around the
    ENG RU
    For the first time I meet the game in this genre, where you need to literally zaklikivat enemies camera and still manages to run and Dodge. Plus, it gets weird in the office, when you turn sharply and you have to restore on the new. The beginning of game strange. but expensive in company through the village to school can stir interest, but everything is empty. Wander around the school, get out of it, then again school, forests, try to understand what you need and when to do, and even at a certain angle or several times, generally rotten, but still constantly in your face shoved these disgusting faces of enemies, in some game than, it is better than their counterparts, but in itself dull and boring.
    Впервые встречаю игру в этом жанре, где нужно в буквальном смысле закликивать врагов фотоаппаратом и еще умудрятся бегать и уворачиваться. Плюс ко всему начинаются странности в управлении, когда ты резко поворачиваешься и приходится наводить по новой. Начало игры странное. но дорого в компании по деревне до школы может подогреть интерес, но все оказывается пустышкой. Бродим по школе, выбираемся из нее, потом снова школа, леса, попробуй понять, что нужно и когда сделать, да еще и под определенным углом или несколько раз, вообщем тухло, да еще постоянно тебе в лицо сунут эти отвратительные рожи врагов, в каком - то игра чем, то лучше своих собратьев, но сама по себе уныла и скучна.
    Expand
  19. Jul 18, 2019
    10
    Так как игру создавала неизвестная и не профессиональная компания я ставлю оценку 10 так как игра умеет пугать она добралась до ютуберов и т.д.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 4 out of 9
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    45
    This second and final act shows way less care for details if compared to its predecessor, and it's a true shame.
  2. Aug 13, 2014
    70
    A Project Zero-like experience with poor visuals and animations, but good puzzle design and great atmosphere.
  3. Jun 5, 2014
    67
    The developers split DreadOut into two parts, and the first half is frustratingly short. It will take you 2-3 hours tops, and that’s only because the game sometimes forgets to tell you when an interactive object is nearby, forcing you to run in circles looking for it.