Enter the Gungeon Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the Gungeon is a bullet hell dungeon crawler following a band of misfits seeking to shoot, loot, dodge roll and table-flip their way to personal absolution by reaching the legendary Gungeon’s ultimate treasure: the gun that can kill the past.

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Enter the Gungeon - Gameplay Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Apr 5, 2016
    95
    While it doesn't totally reinvent the twin-stick shooter, it has all but perfected it and is worth every penny.
  2. 90
    While the Rogue like genre may be getting a little crowded, there's certainly room for the likes of Enter the Gungeon. It ticks all the boxes, with gameplay that beckons you to come back for one more run, a great art style and presentation, and seemingly something new discover or unlock on every playthrough.
  3. Apr 30, 2016
    90
    Enter the Gungeon is a wonderful, demanding yet rewarding, roguelike twin-stick shooter where the visuals marry perfectly with the gameplay to deliver one of the most addictive experiences in recent memory. Fans of Binding of Isaac, Spelunky et al sit up and take notice, Enter the Gungeon rolls with the punches and delivers an experience worth of sitting alongside these greats.
  4. Apr 5, 2016
    85
    Enter the Gungeon is an essential pick for those that are fans of the roguelike twin-stick shooter genre, and a great choice for those looking for an action-filled arcade romp as well. Even with permadeath threatening to ruin your fun around every corner, the vast selection of goofy guns and eventual discoveries keep you coming back again and again without any lingering frustration.
  5. Apr 14, 2016
    83
    Enter the Gungeon offers fresh and always fair pixel action and will be a thrill especially for Isaac fans.
  6. Apr 29, 2016
    80
    Enter the Gungeon is a wonderful mix of intricate difficulty and vast silliness (dodge)rolled into one— Any player partial to roguelikes or bullet-hell games will find a lot to do, and completists will be running around the gungeon for months to come.
  7. Apr 5, 2016
    70
    Enter the Gungeon is an exhilarating experience, but the difficulty often comes from the game refusing to provide you the necessary tools, which offers its own unique challenges.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 84
  2. Negative: 9 out of 84
  1. Apr 8, 2021
    10
    i started playing this game about 2 years ago. I had abandoned it but from 2021 I started playing it really a lot. I find this game fantastic:i started playing this game about 2 years ago. I had abandoned it but from 2021 I started playing it really a lot. I find this game fantastic: full of secrets, lots of content, subtle but very entertaining irony, all this guns. Expand
  2. Apr 7, 2016
    10
    Mostly a response to grayback's review who seem to either misinformed or terrible at the game.

    Having played 21 hours in the first 2 days
    Mostly a response to grayback's review who seem to either misinformed or terrible at the game.

    Having played 21 hours in the first 2 days of release, most of the guns are either directly more powerful than the starting weapons, or are more difficult to use. In fact, the starting weapons are one of the only things I find boring about the game. Getting new weapons is always exciting.

    Equipping your character is rarely something you get to choose, there's so many items that you're at the mercy of RNG.

    I find all the bosses to be of roughly the same difficulty level that I've encountered thus far and have been frustrated with exactly 0 of them. Everything they do is in a pattern you can predict, anticipate and dodge. If you screw up, it's on you. The game has not once felt like it cheated me. To top this off, there's an incredible variety in the enemies, it's simply spread out amongst the levels. I suspect greyback never made it past the first to 2nd level.

    This seems to be a case of someone who's bad at the game blaming the game rather than himself. I've played my share of games that feel like they screw you over, this isn't one of them. The balance is great, the variety is great, the art is great. The only thing that I would point to as being shy of excellent is the soundtrack.

    I would urge anyone reading to check steam reviews where the general consensus is "overwhelmingly positive".
    Expand
  3. Aug 5, 2020
    9
    ‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍‍
  4. Apr 7, 2016
    9
    I've been having some fun playing Gungeon. The controls are wonderful: they really perfected the dodge roll, which is fitting given the nameI've been having some fun playing Gungeon. The controls are wonderful: they really perfected the dodge roll, which is fitting given the name of the studio. The sound design is great, as is the soundtrack. The character and enemy design and animation are top-notch stuff (and those bosses!!).

    The difficulty is proper Roguelike-hard. It's more like my playthrough of Dungeons of Dredmor than Nuclear Throne: you really need to get to know each enemy and what it does, along with which guns work the best on particular enemies with particular attack patterns. Secrets are all over the place and super-obscure, which I like, but your mileage may vary.

    The big downside: the RNG is really punishing on Floor 1. While the standard enemies are super easy, it's a huge spike when you hit the first boss. I've never had a problem getting a good set of guns by the time I hit Floor 2 and up, but that first floor can be super difficult because you have either an underpowered new gun or the default weaker one. For chests to open, you need a key. Those keys appear at random. That's the big problem - there's chests everywhere, but sometimes you won't open a single one, and then you're up against a boss who laughs at your standard pistol. Keys need to appear more often. The Convict circumvents this whole problem because she starts with a sawed-off shotgun, by the way.

    Overall, I'm returning to it, it's a ton of fun, and I hope they clean up just a bit of the infuriating RNG at the beginning of the game.
    Expand
  5. Feb 20, 2022
    8
    Enter the Gungeon não é um jogo complexo, ele busca apenas render um bom divertimento ao jogador nas horas vagas. Assim, sua mecânica éEnter the Gungeon não é um jogo complexo, ele busca apenas render um bom divertimento ao jogador nas horas vagas. Assim, sua mecânica é simples, com comandos fáceis de serem aprendidos. Basicamente, você tem que sair por aí atirando em todos os inimigos que encontrar pelo caminho e tentar conseguir chegar o mais longe possível na masmorra. Para que o gameplay não fique monótono existe um sistema de desbloquear novas armas e melhorar as antigas, bem como existem caminhos secretos dentro dos mapas. O jogo possui um modo cooperativo, porém funciona apenas localmente, ou seja, deixa a desejar nesse quesito.
    Quanto aos personagens, ele conta com alguns jogáveis e cada um deles possui habilidades diferentes. Existem diversos inimigos e chefes que podem ser desbloqueados. Para isso, o jogo possui um sistema de colecionáveis onde seus inimigos ficam registrados com seus dados de ataques e habilidades.
    Expand
  6. Apr 30, 2016
    7
    I feel like what this game was meant to be got lost in trying to make things still feel difficult, which they very much are. The game takesI feel like what this game was meant to be got lost in trying to make things still feel difficult, which they very much are. The game takes the rouge-light elements we've come to know from games like Nuclear Throne and The Binding of Isaac and tries to mix it with the colourful and interesting weapons that you might find in an Insomniac game (Ratchet and Clank, Sunset Overdrive). It does the latter quite poorly however, in that while the weapons look interesting, they almost all feel similar to each other, and most if not all don't fit the goofy gun-loving nature of the music and art style of the game. It seems to rely heavily upon an aspect that wasn't fleshed out to its fullest. Expand
  7. Jan 3, 2021
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. ХУЙНЯ ДЛЯ ДАУНОВ МАТЬ В КАНАВЕ У РАЗРАБА ПОТОМУ ЧТО ВАС ЕБУТ ВО ВСЕ ЩЕЛИ В ПРЯМОМ СМЫСЛЕ. А ЗНАЕТЕ ПОЧЕМУ ПОТОМУ ЧТО ДИКИЙ ДИСБАЛАНС В БОССАХ. + СКОПИРОВАЛИ ВСЕ У ДРУГИХ РОГАЛИКОВ. НЕ ТРАТЬТЕ НА ЭТО ИГРУ ДЕНЬГИ И ВРЕМЯ. ХУЕВАЯ МЕХАНИКА ПЕРЕКАТОВ И ПЛОХИЕ ХИТБОКСЫ. ДЕИНСТАЛИРУЙТЕ РАЗРАБОВ Expand

See all 84 User Reviews