EVERYTHING Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Everything is a conciousness simulator and open universe exploration game by David OReilly.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Everything - Launch Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. 80
    Everything is an extraordinary journey. It’s Salvador Dali meets Neil deGrasse Tyson meets Eastern Mysticism. It’s art and spirituality brought to life in a medium that transcends the limitations of books and paints. This isn’t the game you want if you’re looking for casual entertainment with which to unwind at the end of a long day. Yet, even though Everything challenges your understanding of self and the universe, it never sacrifices the simple joy of fun.
  2. Apr 27, 2017
    80
    Funny, philosophical, and deeply, deeply weird, there’s nothing else quite like Everything on PC.
  3. May 3, 2017
    80
    Everything is not for everyone. It’s one part art-house film, one part nature documentary, one part guided meditation. While easily approached and casually consumed, it’s a game that nevertheless wants more from you, a game that asks you to quietly reflect on yourself and your place in the Cosmos. Engage and you may discover one of your favorite games of 2017. If not? Well, it’s at least unique, and uniquely ambitious.
  4. Jul 12, 2017
    70
    Everything is an impressive, extensive and all-embracing ... interactive application at the first place. The game occupies the second place. Let yourself drift on the waves of science and philosophy and try to create an unparalleled world. However, it is not entirely guaranteed that you will enjoy it.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. For me, at times, Everything feels like the game Spore should have been. When I watched the early presentations of that game’s silly creature creator and its invocation of Powers of Ten, I wasn’t imagining a fiddly, shallow strategy game, but an experience that hoped to approximate the awe I sometimes feel when stargazing or can tap into by listening to Carl Sagan talk. By throwing out most of Spore’s traditional mechanics in favour of a cross between Katamari Damacy and Nested, Everything gets closer to sublimity. And though I don’t think it gets all the way there – not for me, not right now – the silliness is constant and delightful.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. Nov 2, 2017
    10
    An exepctional game. Never I've played a game that is so alluring, and manage to give you everything and nothing at the same time. An ultimateAn exepctional game. Never I've played a game that is so alluring, and manage to give you everything and nothing at the same time. An ultimate indie-expirience. Gotta take those pretention pills more often.
    But seriously it's a great game. Quotes from Alan Watts feel genuine, not out of place. And while it has some great themes it doesn't lost fun, gameplay mechanic is simple, but the variations are countless, so it never gets repetetive.
    Expand
  2. Jan 5, 2018
    8
    Wow, this game really blew me away. After Mountain (David O'Reilly's first game), which I really did not enjoy at all, I was not expectingWow, this game really blew me away. After Mountain (David O'Reilly's first game), which I really did not enjoy at all, I was not expecting much from his second creation. But I was super surprised at how much more I enjoyed EVERYTHING. My score is probably a bit inflated given my low initial expectations, but playing through EVERYTHING was a really nice, pleasant experience that took me to a place that not many video games have been able to. It also clearly had a lot more work put into it than Mountain did. It's nothing super revolutionary or incredible genius, but it's an interesting concept that was executed extremely well. Expand
  3. Dec 17, 2017
    6
    I am honestly astonished that people thought this was going to be a game, just look at games that are related to this one. Games like MountainI am honestly astonished that people thought this was going to be a game, just look at games that are related to this one. Games like Mountain and such where all you do is watch something. This game was a little disappointing because I wish there was more interaction with everything, such as you could change how things interact. An example would be if you turned in the Earth and moved it all the way to the sun, that should make it so the Earth is on fire and nothing is there. Or maybe you could turn into atoms and split them to make explosions. Just something to make it seem more like a real sandbox and less like a game where you are mindlessly turning into things and just moving around. I don't regret buying it tbh though. Expand
  4. Mar 5, 2018
    6
    This is a good game to play if you want to just chill out. It's a game where you can become "everything" (excluding abstract concepts). YouThis is a good game to play if you want to just chill out. It's a game where you can become "everything" (excluding abstract concepts). You can possess some objects when you're close to them as another object. You can try to be as large or small as you can be, you can make yourself large, become something else, and descend again to see how quickly you can become a lot of different things. The visuals are fairly bland in a game that would have benefit from better graphics. Though it might look pretty from time to time, I could never see true beauty in it. The music is calm, and supplements the type of experience it's aiming for. There is also some philosophy. You find it in these text boxes that you can see when objects speak to you (it's a very psychedelic experience). There are enough common themes that the game's messages don't feel entirely disjointed, but a lot of it comes out of nowhere - though it might be appropriate for a game called Everything to have so little focus. It acts as food for thought, but most of it isn't anything that stands out from other philosophy. What feels nice is that the game is not pretentious enough to suggest that it has the full meaning of the universe (in fact, it goes out of its way to show that what it says is not the end-all-be-all of philosophy). There are audio logs to collect in the game on top of the text, and these are excellent. They are pulled out of real voice clips from Alan Watts, who expresses fascinating ideas that are coherent and worth pondering as more than pseudo-intellectual philosophy. There are also some pop-up messages which are very striking in contrast to an otherwise calm game and make some interesting suggestions that I'd rather not spoil. The game develops a few mechanics as it goes on and gives an interesting final message. If there are common ideas in the game, they're about the benefits of changing perspective, letting go, and of seeing ourselves as changing parts of the universe rather than outsiders looking in, whatever that may imply. Until the ending, however, it seems like there is little point for the gameplay and philosophy to be in the same piece of art, which is the main problem. This game had a profound impact on me and supplemented the way I see the world, but that is only because of the Alan Watts clips. Expand
  5. Apr 21, 2017
    3
    I'm confused. I'm not at all against the idea of an intoxicating brew of both philosophy and science. i believe I have an open mind in regardsI'm confused. I'm not at all against the idea of an intoxicating brew of both philosophy and science. i believe I have an open mind in regards to 'interactive experiences'.

    But after a few hours of rolling around, forming and unforming a group of similar creatures, growing from a radiation wave to a galaxy amidst the glory of spectacularly blurry and unimpressive aesthetics, I found myself feeling surprisingly empty and bored - very, very quickly.

    This is a tech demo masquerading as a game. And not a very interesting/fun one.
    Expand
  6. Aug 19, 2018
    2
    There is nothing like this game. It is so amazing that it is so sad that the controls and camera make this unplayable.
  7. Nov 11, 2017
    0
    Everything is one of those games that is only barely a game. The gameplay is extremely simple – you are some sort of magical thought shineEverything is one of those games that is only barely a game. The gameplay is extremely simple – you are some sort of magical thought shine thingy that can transfer itself between bodies, hence the name “Everything”, because you can transfer yourself between everything in the game. If you are in a particularly large thing, you can transfer yourself back up a level, to a more macroscopic level, and if you are in a particularly small thing, you can transfer yourself downwards, to a more microscopic level. Bigger and bigger, you control continents, then planets, then galaxies; smaller and smaller, you go down to the size of small things (think pennies and grass), then microscopic things (mites, bacteria, viruses), then subatomic things…

    And if you keep going, you loop around to the other end.

    There are no enemies in this game; the game has no meaningful challenge. The goal of the game, such as it is, is to just explore and collect thoughts until you unlock the next power – making yourself bigger and smaller (within a world), cloning yourself, singing, forming groups, ect. There’s no real point, but there is a certain progression, at the end of which you eventually complete a goal and then… well, you can keep on going.

    The thing is, there’s really no “point” to this game; the game is nothing more than just wandering around body swapping and going up and down levels, while “talking” to various things to hear their thoughts and listen to some lectures which are, frankly, both rather pretentious and not all that interesting (though I suspect some people who are more into deep-sounding stuff that isn’t really all that deep will be more into it).

    There is really nothing fun about this “game”; the only “challenges” are hunting for the achievements. And indeed, you can simply let the game sit there and autoplay to get many of the achievements.

    I’d recommend against buying this game, and honestly, I’d recommend against playing it at all, even if you already do own it; it just isn’t worth your time. It may seem artsy, but in reality, it is quite boring, and there is no payoff at the end of it.
    Expand

Trailers