Fallout: New Vegas Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 5357 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The latest game in the post-nuclear RPG series is being developed by many members of the Fallout 1 and 2 team at Obsidian Entertainment using the Fallout 3 engine.
Buy Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Fallout: New Vegas Factions Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 36 out of 39
  2. Negative: 0 out of 39
  1. Oct 22, 2010
    95
    Fallout: New Vegas, looks and plays exactly the same as Fallout 3. But the additions that Obsidian have made push the survival angle even further to provide a much more immersive and authentic experience, and just like its predecessor New Vegas proves to be a role-playing masterpiece.
  2. Oct 20, 2010
    90
    In New Vegas, the fun Fallout 3 formula is intact, with more polished combat, high-quality side missions, and the exciting setting of the Vegas strip. Unfortunately, the bugs also tagged along for the ride.
  3. Jan 11, 2011
    90
    Fallout: New Vegas marries the best of Bethesda's open world tradition with Obsidian's excellent storytelling, writing and quest design. This is a huge and addictive role-playing game with an enormous amount of content and options for the player.
  4. Oct 21, 2010
    85
    Those accustomed to investing hours examining endless story arcs, or searching vast environments for details will certainly appreciate Obsidian's efforts, even if newcomers may struggle to see what all the fuss is about.
  5. Oct 20, 2010
    84
    A huge world to explore, lots of quests and decisions, tons of items and great replay value are reason enough to pick up this fine roleplaying sequel. Sadly, there are some noticeable technical problems, controls could have been better and the graphics look a little outdated. Still, if you enjoyed Fallout 3 for what it is, you will have a great time with New Vegas.
  6. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Jan 13, 2011
    80
    Very few changes appeared since Fallout 3 but a strong storyline and partial improvements make New Vegas great to play. Take it as an alternative to Fallout 3 and you won't be disappointed. [Issue#197]
  7. Dec 17, 2010
    65
    This game got released too early. Had it been released around the holidays, and with the collection of bugs and broken quests eliminated, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it as a great gift for gamers. As it is, I can only say that it's beautiful but tragically flawed.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 77 out of 924
  1. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of27 hours in, just getting started. Take fallout 3, expand it, add more diversity, add more interesting locations, triple the amount of factions, add a better theme, and add more immersion and you have fallout NV. Obsidian has taken a decent game and made it great. Really a lot more depth in the world and just overall better. Of course your on the same engine, so some of the same problems exist. But literally a new mod is released by the hour since they only have to be ported over. Im already using over 10 mods just as longer days, smaller ui, centered raised camera, perk every level etc. Oh and if you get stuttering get the d3d9 file, and if you have ati get the alternative d3d9 file so you can still use transparency mutisampling. If it wasn't for the mods i would have to take off a point or 2. Really though the best way to describe it is it makes the fallout 3 world seem boring. Expand
  2. Dec 14, 2021
    10
    Probably my most played game of all time. It has its issues, but it remains a solid rpg, with great writing, a rich world and a plethora ofProbably my most played game of all time. It has its issues, but it remains a solid rpg, with great writing, a rich world and a plethora of options both in game, and in mods to enrich your experience.
    It has dated quite a lot over the years, but it still has a special place in my heart.
    Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    All I can say about this game right off the bat, is that it is right up there with The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim as one of the greatest videoAll I can say about this game right off the bat, is that it is right up there with The Elder Scrolls V: Skyrim as one of the greatest video games I have ever played. While most critics would like to disagree with me, I actually like this game better than Fallout 3. Fallout 3 was a pretty fun game, however, there was just so much more to this game that made me love it just a little more. At first, I was not too sure about the idea behind this game. I felt like Obsidian Entertainment was taking the Call of Duty approach with this game (Making the game on the exact same engine, little to no improvements to it whatsoever). However, when I finally bought this game on my PC, my concerns were put to rest when I realized that this game was actually very different from Fallout 3. The engine was not improved at all, however, the gameplay has changed in some very good ways. It still retains the action RPG gameplay of Fallout 3, but this time around, there is much more to it. Now, you have to pick perks every two levels instead of picking one every level. Shooter fanboys will also be happy to know that you can now fire down-sights for more accuracy. Guns are also much more accurate now than they were in Fallout 3. In Fallout 3, you had to hold down the aim button for greater accuracy. Now, doing this is no longer necessary, as the guns are all accurate without it. Also, the karma system from Fallout 3 has been changed into a reputation system. Reputation depicts how certain factions and towns like you, while others dislike you. This is a very good system, and I wish it was done more often in other games, as it allows people of one town to worship you, while people in another want nothing more than to see you dead. Other than these features, the gameplay is not all that different from that of Fallout 3, however, that's a good thing, as Fallout 3's gameplay was fantastic. It still has Fallout 3's RPG mixed with shooter gameplay, which is enough to really make this game enjoyable. The graphics of this game are also excellent. They do not really improve much from Fallout 3, however, they are still quite good on their own right. Fallout 3 did manage to get the feel for the post-apocalyptic world better, but I think Fallout New Vegas is actually the better looking game. It just feels so much more alive than Fallout 3. Fallout 3 was barren, while Fallout New Vegas is exciting. The story of this game, while not as good as Fallout 3, is still good on its own right. Fallout 3's story was much more original than this game's. New Vegas' story is pretty much the stereotypical story of "someone tried to kill you, and it is up to you to find out who he is, and what he's after,". Cliched? Yes. Bad? Absolutely not! The story of New Vegas is actually done quite well, it just isn't Fallout 3's story. Still though, I do like how this game's story has much more to do with Fallout 1 and 2 than Fallout 3 did. After all, Fallout 3 was set in Washington D.C., while all of the others were set out West. Another thing that's awesome about this game's story is that you have much more control over how the game ends, through both reputation, and how you handle the game's quests. You can choose one of four paths in this game (for the main quest), and all four are generally enjoyable to play through. It also shows the endings of all the other minor factions you chose to either help or destroy during the course of the game. I also like how this game just ends, and does not let you go back after beating the game. Most people did not like this, but I actually did. I thought it was a thoroughly enjoyable way for your game to just end. Still though, there are a few problems with this game. For one, there are a lot of bugs in this game. They are nothing to bad however, just minor hiccups here and there. Also however, I did have a bit of a mixed reaction towards the game's DLC's. I liked two of them (Honest Hearts, Lonesome Road), was not so sure about one (Old World Blues), and completely disliked the last one (Dead Money). These DLCs do not affect my opinion on this game as a whole however. Overall, this game is a truly fantastic game. Its story may not be Fallout 3, but it does beat it in terms of both gameplay and graphics. This game really is what Fallout 3 would have been if the original developer had stayed in business. Expand
  4. Nov 11, 2019
    9
    In my opinion the best RPG ever made. Far superior too Fallout 3 and Fallout 4. My only main gripe about this game would be the bugs, bugIn my opinion the best RPG ever made. Far superior too Fallout 3 and Fallout 4. My only main gripe about this game would be the bugs, bug city, the PC version runs the best of the 3, with the PS3 version being a miserable mess of an amazing game. Many of the bugs in this game have never been fixed, and can only be remedied through mods. Thankfully, this game has the best modding community I have ever seen and it still lives on too this day. Must buy, especially considering it's only $10. Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2016
    9
    After Fallout 3 i was not sure if ever a 3d first/third person design might be able to give me again the same deep rpg experience theAfter Fallout 3 i was not sure if ever a 3d first/third person design might be able to give me again the same deep rpg experience the "classic" isometric Fallout 1 and 2 gave me. Don´t misunderstand me, Fallout 3 had a really great world and item design that instantly was able to pull me into this hypothetical universe, but it somehow lacked on the kind and ammount of quest connections as the previous fallouts did it.

    Well, i was wrong with my fear, obsidian did a great job on this.

    As always i will talk about the for everyone visible things. The graphics and designs fit for the fallout universe and look, well, ok is the best i might say. I am only evaluating the basic maingame and not any mods here so the graphics of fallout new vegas already looked outdated when the game got released. Textures are low res and everything looks a bit "wishy washy". Beside that - compared to other fallouts - the world looks partially a bit empty, lots of flat empty spaces or whide areas where nearly...nothing is. The rest of the world design reminds a bit more of a "mad max" movie then a fallout design, but thats just personal taste aspects and i won´t weight that in any way. Shooting and aiming feels sluggish if you don´t use the v.a.t.s. - but at last it´s an rpg and not a shooter.

    So now we know how the meal looks, let´s check the taste.

    Fallout 3 and Fallout New Vegas still share a skill and perk system. In new vegas a lot of unpopular perks got changed or even exchanged to more fitting or community requested ones. The system is lend from the original fallouts and not that way hard to get through as most perks and their relations are visible offering a nice rpg experience to build your personal type of character. Prefer shooting through enemy lines or do you like sneaking? Or are you the talking toaster convincing everyone with your words of mouth? All possible.

    The mainstory at first looks a bit flat, but after some hours of gameplay it expands into a spiderweb of sub-(more or less)related quests given by all types of npc that will route you all over the map to a lot of locations to explore. There is always something to do and nearly never anything repeats. The game nearly never leaves you stand in the middle of the mojave without knowing where to go next.

    The equipment (weapons, armor) consist of the same from fallout 3 and additional a lot of missing stuff from the original games. Special/unique equipment is well hidden and in nearly every location something interesting can be found so exploration by quest or on your own hand gets always rewarded with something.

    Fallout New Vegas is by far till now (i already played F4) the only third person offspring that is able to deliver the most close deep experience the original fallouts gave the players.

    I still give it a 9, the worst thing are the graphics but the title is from 2010 and in a true rpg graphics are always at a lower rating position then the rpg experience itself.
    Expand
  6. Aux
    Nov 20, 2011
    8
    New Vegas Is basically a strongly enforced version of Fallout 3. The most amazing thing in the game is its connection to fallout 2. It soNew Vegas Is basically a strongly enforced version of Fallout 3. The most amazing thing in the game is its connection to fallout 2. It so close that I was almost ready to quit because I knew what would happen, but the BAM a twist emerges and you become extremely excited. I was hesitant at the fact that there's was much less "socializing" between the main character and others. That's why I had to put down the score a bit, it's lack of characters to talk with. Its an RPG, I want to talk a lot. Besides that, great game. Totally worth buying. Expand
  7. Feb 9, 2018
    0
    **** game with save problem that game cannot load it. People have already written about this problem in 2012 or earlier. I will never buy**** game with save problem that game cannot load it. People have already written about this problem in 2012 or earlier. I will never buy anything from people who have been able to fix something like this for 5 years Expand

See all 924 User Reviews