Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 19, 2019
    78
    Volta brings new life into the series, but on the whole FIFA 20 is an adequate but underwhelming entry into the series.
  2. FIFA 20 is bringing nothing new except Volta mode, which is really fun to play. Also FUT is still a P2W mess.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Dec 6, 2019
    73
    As long as Ultimate Team mode keeps making money, there’s little hope for FIFA series. [Issue#241, p.33]
  4. Sep 24, 2019
    72
    However invested you become, however much enjoyment you take from competency and victory, however many times you watch that replay back of the Volta goal you scored by flicking it backwards over a defender, losing another with an elastico and backheeling it into the net (at least double figures now), FIFA 20’s biggest failing is in producing an enjoyable football match.
  5. Oct 10, 2019
    70
    For now, FIFA 20 is better than the previous edition in terms of gameplay, and that’s somewhat sufficient. But it dropped the excellent The Journey single-player only to replace it with a stale mode. With a little luck, we might get to play Volta outside of FIFA when it belongs. To sum it up, as Comrade Dyatlov points out, it’s not great, not terrible. For any other game, this would be a bad thing, but for FIFA’s microtransaction model, it’s everything that Electronic Arts hopes for.
  6. Sep 27, 2019
    50
    With unsurprisingly shady surprise mechanics and little to no significant movement on the pitch, FIFA 20 is a stopgap entry that only has Volta to boast about.
User Score
1.1

Overwhelming dislike- based on 400 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 400
  1. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Forget this game. EA is selling you a full-priced casino game based on soccer. I notified the government of my country to ban these stupidForget this game. EA is selling you a full-priced casino game based on soccer. I notified the government of my country to ban these stupid loot boxes. We're absolutely done with these practices. Full Review »
  2. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    Fifa 17 v4. The same game. The same graphics. Tha same scripts. The same handicap. The same plastic gameplay. The same kick off glitch. TheFifa 17 v4. The same game. The same graphics. Tha same scripts. The same handicap. The same plastic gameplay. The same kick off glitch. The same garbage. Bye bye EA. Bye bye origin. Full Review »
  3. Sep 27, 2019
    0
    That game is garbage. Dont play this. Save your money and your nerves. #bbea.