Final Fantasy XIII Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 312 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolvedIn Final Fantasy XIII, you will embark on a journey through the cityworld of Cocoon and the outerworld of Pulse. Along the way, you will encounter diverse allies who will fight alongside you. Execute powerful attacks with weapons and magic, and summon the enigmatic Eidolons with an evolved Active Time Battle system. Experience seamless transitions between real time gameplay and in-game cinematics. Do you have the courage to face your destiny? Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Final Fantasy Record Keeper - Announcement Trailer
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Nov 30, 2014
    89
    With a story that would be considered nothing special, FFXII shines with its fast-paced combat and challenging difficulty. Although it introduces many changes to the series, it provides a good amount of things to explore providing hours of fun.
  2. Oct 17, 2014
    74
    Under the catastrophic porting shell is a great role-playing game core.
  3. Oct 16, 2014
    70
    Final Fantasy XIII expands its legacy in a basic PC version.
  4. Dec 23, 2014
    68
    The mystery of what FFXIII holds is far more pleasing than the experience itself.
  5. Oct 13, 2014
    50
    Final Fantasy XIII has its own set of problems, mainly consisting of a mediocre story and incredibly linear progression for the first forty hours, but the poor PC optimization puts it over the top.
  6. Oct 30, 2014
    48
    Parts of Final Fantasy XIII are worth the absurd amount of time it takes to properly open up, but this port is a big letdown.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 67
  2. Negative: 23 out of 67
  1. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    People here are complaining for the smallest of reasons. This game is a visual treat with some of the best music in games. It is an AAA RPGPeople here are complaining for the smallest of reasons. This game is a visual treat with some of the best music in games. It is an AAA RPG which is linear for most of the game. Remember when we were blaming Square Enix for launching it only on the consoles? Well its here finally on PC now so stop complaining and start getting immersed in the world of FFXIII Expand
  2. Dec 12, 2014
    10
    its not about a quick cash scheme for the release of the final fantasy trilogy to pc.over 40million dollars was used to bring final fantasyits not about a quick cash scheme for the release of the final fantasy trilogy to pc.over 40million dollars was used to bring final fantasy only to the consoles and its didnt sells very good and they lost a lot of money.its only right for them to make a profit and squareinix remains the best unlike their counterpart ubisoft who doesnt know how to port console games to pc like far cry 4 and assassins creed unity Expand
  3. Oct 13, 2014
    9
    I've been playing this game for 8 hours now, and so far I'm enjoying it. The port imo is pretty good, it runs surprisingly well on my toasterI've been playing this game for 8 hours now, and so far I'm enjoying it. The port imo is pretty good, it runs surprisingly well on my toaster (Core 2 Duo E8400 @3,00 Ghz, 4 GB RAM, Geforce 9600 GT), and I don't mind the 720p lock. It doesn't stutter, it runs almost flawless, for me it looks beautiful and so far I didn't run in any bugs yet.

    The story is interesting, the characters are great and the game-play is neither too easy, nor too hard, just fun. I've played most of the games in the series, and this one isn't as bad as others say. It's really worth the price.
    Expand
  4. Oct 12, 2014
    6
    FFXIII is ok game that tries to break certain traditional JRPG gameplay conventions but fails miserably. Reasons for that are so obvious thatFFXIII is ok game that tries to break certain traditional JRPG gameplay conventions but fails miserably. Reasons for that are so obvious that it makes you wonder if the game developers playtested the game at all before releasing it. As a person who had never played FFXIII or read reviews of it before it was released at Steam I was surprised to see how low the series has fallen.

    I'll try to keep this review short and I won't go into specifics of why most of the role-playing aspects of the game are flawed beyond any measure. FFXIII isn't an RPG game (although that's pretty subjective thing). The reason I say that is because the core design of the RPG elements is a broken mess. There are also broken features that should have been removed from the game before the release (such as the inventory management which is useless in a game such as this one). There also are no towns or any kind of hubs in this game (they were apparently redeemed useless feature and removed from the game).

    The director of FFXIII probably took drugs while doing this game because the camera always follows events in a such a way (esp. in action scenes) that player cannot track the scene and understand what's happening. And that's a bad thing because most of the time spent with the game is spent watching lengthy pre-rendered cutscenes filled with action player never gets to experience during the actual gameplay.

    The game is one lengthy tutorial of various things. FFXIII will keep constantly introducing player new stuff. The game also heavily underestimates intelligence of its own audience. When I broke five hour mark the game was still introducing new gameplay stuff to me in forms of new battle mechanics. Soon after it added simple level up system that's nothing more than glorified "use points to buy character development" but it's presented as a really complicated semi-linear 3D tree of things that makes it seem more complicated than what it in reality is.

    The level designers were obviously on drugs since everything is a linear path forward (well, mostly). But they're one of the better looking pipes ever. The writing of the game is horrible and the characters are mostly horrible personalities that player has trouble in relating to. Lightning especially. She's not this "mysterious older sister" who wants to protect her little sister. Character development portion of the game is just fail. I don't want to analyse it deeply here. Let me just say that I'm willing to bet that Lightning is the reason why FFXIII-2 and LR:FFXIII failed. You cannot build a game trilogy that uses such a personality lacking character as its keystone.

    The best things about the FFXIII are the visual design of the game and the sounds. Visual design is just marvellous although it lacks some central point where you'd aim your interest at. It's full of small details and things that make it really beautiful but it makes the big picture really difficult to see. Soundscape is interesting and well designed. Most of the music is nothing special but there's nothing particularly bad about it.

    However the Windows-PC port kind of ruins some of these aspects. It's based on Xbox 360 version which apparently had audio and visual issues. Things such as shadows are being drawn wrong or are missing entirely. Hair of the characters looks awful providing stark contrast to the cutscenes. Or some sounds being lower quality (to make it fit into DVD format Xbox 360 uses) than in PS3 version. All of those issues are present in Windows-PC version not to mention that the port introduces few issues on its own.

    Unlike what Square-Enix wrote about the game, it is not optimised for PCs. Usually PC games support multiple resolutions, FFXIII supports only one. That resolution being 720p. That's probably the worst issue with the port. Another issue is that keyboard and mouse cannot be fully binded to keys of your own choosing outside few limited keys. I didn't have issues with the size of the game. There are 25GBs of prerendered videos with the game. And since the game comes with the Japanese audio that size is doubled.

    English voice acting in FFXIII was better than usually in these games but the Japanese voice acting is so much better that I ended up playing with the Japanese audio and English subtitles. It felt more natural.

    Overall the FFXIII for Steam is fairly standard port of Xbox 360 game. It has all the standard faults and then some. But it's fully playable game that works and you will not encounter many bugs. It's a decently good port. I'm giving it neutral 6/10 because of the game itself and not because of the port. Overall I wouldn't probably recommend this unless player is keen Final Fantasy fan or interested in new Final Fantasy games. Average player probably doesn't have what it takes to sit through this game. This just isn't very good game and can be boring at times. However it's entertaining most of the time.
    Collapse
  5. Dec 17, 2016
    5
    I'll start by saying that I love the world and combat mechanics. Absolutely hate the never ending quest lines (why are we still making gamesI'll start by saying that I love the world and combat mechanics. Absolutely hate the never ending quest lines (why are we still making games with these tedious quests...). Just to confirm I am not one of the kiddies that say "oh, it's so pretty, blah blah blah" I like story, but unfortunetly FF15 absolutely did NOT deliver on this! This story is so damn confusing I just never know what's going on! I am just really disappointed with it. It seems like they only focused on making the game pretty and make combat fun but the story sucks! How can you have such cool looking characters and not elaborate on them whatsoever (unlike basically every other FF game). That should be a GIVEN to the story line, it's freaking free to elaborate on the characters! A complicated story like FF15 wouldn't be so complicated if they explained things more often or built more foundation on what the hell is happening. I'm just getting pissed off writing this. I was looking so forward to this game for FF to make a come back but it's joined the "mindless, quest doing, pretty graphics, action packed dumb game" genre that the younger generation goes for. What a waste... Expand
  6. Oct 31, 2016
    3
    Final Fantasy XIII is filled with cringeworthy drama scenes, amateur acting, ridiculous setting and storyline topped with its attempted JRPGFinal Fantasy XIII is filled with cringeworthy drama scenes, amateur acting, ridiculous setting and storyline topped with its attempted JRPG thrill that falls short of good. Add that 50 plus gigabyte worth of storage space, unstable performance, awkward camera movement, annoyingly repetitive gameplay, fights that never fail to feel like a household chore and you'll find yourself looking at such a big disappointment. Expand
  7. May 21, 2019
    0
    Pensar que Ready At Dawn era quien solamente hacía películas de 70 dólares...
    Square/Enix sacó una trilogía de películas a 220 dólares :)

See all 67 User Reviews