User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 60
  2. Negative: 17 out of 60

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 26, 2020
    5
    I wasn't having much fun with this game so I put it down for a while and couldn't bring myself to pick it back up. The level design was pretty drab and I didn't much like the boss fights. I also wanted to play as a caster and built myself for it but 7 hours later I still haven't found any caster items/spells/whatnot.

    Date Dropped: 2020-08-02 Playtime: ~ 7h Enjoyment: 5/10
    I wasn't having much fun with this game so I put it down for a while and couldn't bring myself to pick it back up. The level design was pretty drab and I didn't much like the boss fights. I also wanted to play as a caster and built myself for it but 7 hours later I still haven't found any caster items/spells/whatnot.

    Date Dropped: 2020-08-02
    Playtime: ~ 7h
    Enjoyment: 5/10
    Recommendation: There are better Souls-likes out there.
    Expand
  2. Sep 15, 2020
    7
    Игра не хватает с неба звёзд, у неё были проблемы с забагованностью (похоже, их всё же решили), остаётся очень запутанный дизайн уровней, на которых можно легко заблудиться, корявенькая, но стильная графика и порой странные хитбоксы у вражеских атак. Тут напрямую сказывается небольшой бюджет и, вероятно, неопытность программистов.
    Но у игры имеется и ряд плюсов, для меня перекрывших эти
    Игра не хватает с неба звёзд, у неё были проблемы с забагованностью (похоже, их всё же решили), остаётся очень запутанный дизайн уровней, на которых можно легко заблудиться, корявенькая, но стильная графика и порой странные хитбоксы у вражеских атак. Тут напрямую сказывается небольшой бюджет и, вероятно, неопытность программистов.
    Но у игры имеется и ряд плюсов, для меня перекрывших эти минусы. И в первую очередь это то, что в игре довольно много контента - приличное количество оружия, в том числе стрелковое и магическое, разнообразие доспехов, пассивные усиления персонажа, разнообразие игровых ситуаций и врагов. Локации, хоть и являются лабиринтами, имеют немало впечатляющих мест, но главное - множество секретов с ценной (и не очень) добычей, что очень сильно подстёгивает интерес к их исследованию, местами - "бектрекингу", что кому-то может и не нравится, но вряд ли это относится к любителям такого жанра игр. При этом, несмотря на дешёвые анимации и не лучшие хитбоксы - боёвка в игре интересна и неожиданно отзывчива, вероятно лучшая на фоне других недорогих (и части дорогих) "соулслайков". Имеется и неплохая атмосфера заброшенной космической станции с творящейся на ней непонятной чертовщиной.
    В итоге, игра весьма неплохая, если смириться с тремя условиями:
    - вы заблудитесь, и не один раз
    - у вас не должно возникать боли в глазах от графики не уровня ААА
    - иногда смерть будет не совсем заслужена из-за хитбоксов
    У меня же после прохождения осталось сильное желание продолжения. А ведь там ещё много чего осталось, за закрытыми дверьми и тёмных закоулках Ирид Ново.
    Expand
  3. Sep 30, 2020
    7
    Huge plus for coop and splitscreen. Gameplay-wise its a souls-like but lacking in quality. Visuals need work as well. Despite its shortcomings its a fun game
  4. Aug 19, 2020
    7
    TL;DR - Genuinely a more interesting take on the SoulsLike genre. Going truly into a sci-fi setting and experimenting with new ideas but still trying to attach itself to the "bonfire" system even if it's drastically altered. It has a "Dead Space meets Prey" vibe to it both to its strengths and detriments. Some of the bosses are fantastically designed but fall victim to the rest of theTL;DR - Genuinely a more interesting take on the SoulsLike genre. Going truly into a sci-fi setting and experimenting with new ideas but still trying to attach itself to the "bonfire" system even if it's drastically altered. It has a "Dead Space meets Prey" vibe to it both to its strengths and detriments. Some of the bosses are fantastically designed but fall victim to the rest of the game's flaws. The most criminal is a severe lack of polish. If the game was polished it could probably get away with the all-around lack of explanation that extends to the story, map layout, and even items/usage.

    Overall it's a worthwhile game but not polished enough to really justify getting yet.
    Expand
  5. Aug 5, 2020
    5
    If you're in the mood for a Souls Sci-Fi game, this might be a game for you. It's traditional Dark Souls combat, but with the addition of jumping and the storyline is opaque.

    If you were interested in the online multiplayer aspect of this game, don't bother with it. At this point, it is so bug riddled that while you may successfully connect to someone, chances of successfully doing
    If you're in the mood for a Souls Sci-Fi game, this might be a game for you. It's traditional Dark Souls combat, but with the addition of jumping and the storyline is opaque.

    If you were interested in the online multiplayer aspect of this game, don't bother with it. At this point, it is so bug riddled that while you may successfully connect to someone, chances of successfully doing anything in the game are exceptionally low. Hellpoint online multiplayer is P2P, and a crude implementation at that. After some patching, it might be worth buying at that point to experience online multiplayer but the question is how many people will be playing at that time.
    Expand
Metascore
64

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critic Reviews

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 2 out of 25
  1. CD-Action
    Oct 15, 2020
    55
    The game’s setting and horror vibes are interesting and boss fights are decent but my overall impression of Hellpoint is that the developers got in over their heads. I don’t recommend it to anyone who still has other soulslikes to feast on. [10/2020, p.83]
  2. Oct 9, 2020
    62
    Hellpoint is a game for Dark Souls saga lovers who want to live a similar experience regardless of the sacrifices that it entails. The title is lost amid the vastness of similar games that are capable of doing everything better, and while each game deserves to be treated as a separate set, it seems to strive to keep Miyazaki going through our heads at all times. It does not quite shine in nothing and its most positive aspects are lost among the immensity of bugs and cloned situations that leave us a déjà-vu feeling more bitter than sweet during the 20 hours that it lasts.
  3. Oct 8, 2020
    70
    Hellpoint is a dark sci-fi souls-like game that introduces some new features and ideas in an attempt to differentiate itself from a common dark souls clone. Plenty of glitches and bugs make it feel rushed and make it look like it’s still in beta. Overall, Hellpoint has lots of promise, and could have been an amazing game if Cradle Games spent more time in development.