Hypnospace Outlaw Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Greetings Enforcer, and thank you for enlisting in the Hypnospace Patrol Department. As the world falls into its slumber, Hypnospace becomes a bustling global village. These virtual streets aren't going to police themselves.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Mar 14, 2019
    100
    The game is a monumental achievement, not just for its detailed rendering of another place and time but for the observed humanity of its writing and the things it has to say about the intersection of capitalism and art.
  2. Mar 25, 2019
    90
    Hypnospace Outlaw is a perfect recreation of what the internet once was, and in some ways still is: a glorious mess of friendship and anarchy. It’s probably good we don’t have auto-playing music anymore, though.
  3. Apr 8, 2019
    85
    Hypnospace Outlaw is a great ride, even though you’re the one checking tickets and enforcing the rules.
  4. Mar 19, 2019
    84
    Hypnospace Outlaw successfully captures the spirit of late ‘90s internet by creating its own robust and varied and equally strange version of it. One part late ‘90s internet simulator, one part engaging detective story, Hypnospace Outlaw’s hit counter is strong. Zane rocks.
  5. Mar 12, 2019
    81
    A satisfying detective adventure based around a weird and wonderfully imaginative retro internet.
  6. Edge Magazine
    Mar 28, 2019
    80
    This clever, funny, hallucinatory head trip may leave you frazzled, but Tholen's wonderfully singular vision will be burned into your brain for a long time. [Issue#331, p.120]
  7. 70
    Hypnospace Outlaw’s imitation of technology from days of yore is commendable, along with capturing the fallible, human ways we interacted with it. Although it may not be the most well-structured experience and is guilty of running its own well of novelty dry, it offers a mostly delightful few hours of misty-eyed laughs and surprises.

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Apr 5, 2019
    10
    Flat-out brilliant '90s satire with a big heart. This thing is so great. Full of dreams and disappointments from the Windows 98 era. But whatFlat-out brilliant '90s satire with a big heart. This thing is so great. Full of dreams and disappointments from the Windows 98 era. But what lifts it above being a hipster vaporwave parody is that it has so much empathy for its characters. Also there is an Linkin Park/Evanescence piss-take that got stuck in my head for days until I had to go create a Genius lyrics page for its unintelligible verses.

    DECK STACKED LIKE THE BEST OF 'EM. I TRIED LIKE THE REST OF THEM.
    Collapse
  2. Mar 27, 2019
    10
    A beautiful love letter to a bygone era. Clever puzzles, good writing, and characters you can really connect to through their websites.
  3. Mar 29, 2019
    10
    HSO is not only a throwback to a simpler time, but a callout to the dogpiling of the current outrage culture. You play as an enforcer, a userHSO is not only a throwback to a simpler time, but a callout to the dogpiling of the current outrage culture. You play as an enforcer, a user above others with the power to censor and ban others, not arbitrarily though, but through corporate guidelines. This really speaks to the current morality through corporate values that plagues the internet at the moment.
    Behind the nostalgic looking pages, wrapped in simple digital music, low resolution gif’s and low-quality video, download managers, antivirus programs, popups and desktop pets is a world that you get to enforce your narrow and arbitrary corporate morality onto the people. And it has consequences. Things happen people revolt, others are dog piled, and even forced off the network.
    The casino gulag is a real thing in this game as you have an actual Pavlovian stimulation combined with casino payout for enforcing the corporation’s morality. After you are done turning in friends and family for coin, you can turn the coins in for fabulous rewards like stickers, wallpapers, sound themes and music.
    The absolute dystopia of HSO cannot be understated.
    Just as you may decide to look the other way when people break said current corporate morality standards, rest assured your other enforcer peers will not relent, and again consequences will happen.
    If you don’t feel anything but hypocritical for doing the job and how it evolves then you are too wrapped up in the coins, glitzy pages and snappy tunes to realize what you are doing.
    There are genuine people behind these pages, just as the actual content was hand created by a person. There were no shortcuts you can see from the devlogs that this was all hand crafted. Sadly, it shows that when you lower the bar to being abusive people abuse. If anything, it just speaks to us as a society on how poorly we handle this interconnected world, and how polarized we make it.
    It’s an engaging game if you don’t get distracted by the incredible polish of the in game UI/OS. It’s skinnalbe, themeable with aforementioned stickers, wall papers, a media player, hidden music downloads, piracy and even larceny! Just like the real thing! But the larger lesion is that getting your morals from profit driven corporations only makes you the stooge. I’d dare say there is a further unsaid religious lesson going on, but I’m sure that’s up to the individual.
    10/10 simply for the world building, the UI and the aesthetic. Everything else is an added bonus.
    Expand
  4. Mar 25, 2019
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game. Not only is it nostalgic and all that, but it's so well crafted. There were multiple moments when I felt genuineAbsolutely fantastic game. Not only is it nostalgic and all that, but it's so well crafted. There were multiple moments when I felt genuine emotions for the characters you see on the site. It's tongue in cheek, but it always feels genuine. I can already tell that this is going to be one of my all time favorites. Expand
  5. Mar 24, 2019
    9
    This game scratched a nostalgia itch I didn't even know I had. What we have here is basically a love letter to the internet of the 1990s,This game scratched a nostalgia itch I didn't even know I had. What we have here is basically a love letter to the internet of the 1990s, complete with period-accurate webpage design and some distressingly accurate riffs on the kind of e-drama you'd expect back then. Under construction gifs and midi music? Ahhh.. brings me back to my days of Internet Explorer and Windows 95. They totally nailed the aesthetic.

    The only reason this game is not rated a 10 is the story itself is quite short. I completed it start to finish in about 5 hours, and after the story is done, there's very little reason to explore further unless exploring is your thing (it just isn't for me). Maybe we'll see DLC in the future if we're lucky.

    All in all a great little game and worth the purchase price.
    Expand
  6. Mar 26, 2019
    9
    Fantastic. Gamifying an operating system is the best possible way to bring back those specific types of experiences that many of us had backFantastic. Gamifying an operating system is the best possible way to bring back those specific types of experiences that many of us had back in our halcyon days of old. I love what No More Robots is trying to do here, and I'd love to see this to continue to expand as far as it can be taken. Expand