User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 98 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 85 out of 98
  2. Negative: 12 out of 98

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    The worthy heir of one of the best hardcore fps in recent years! (Developers announced that every post release addiction like maps, weapons or game modes will be free for everyone)
  2. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    Insurgency Sandstorm is a game that was made by gamers for gamers. It’s a hardcore multiplayer shooter from the Creators of the amazing Insurgency modern combat mod for CS, Insurgency source stand alone and day of infamy - New world interactive. Small indie studio that is really passionate about their game and very dedicated to their community. The game is a middle ground between casualInsurgency Sandstorm is a game that was made by gamers for gamers. It’s a hardcore multiplayer shooter from the Creators of the amazing Insurgency modern combat mod for CS, Insurgency source stand alone and day of infamy - New world interactive. Small indie studio that is really passionate about their game and very dedicated to their community. The game is a middle ground between casual fps games like Cod and BF and hardcore games like ARMA/Squad. The gameplay is amazing. Graphics is stunning. Audio and explosions is out of this world. This Game is perfect if you like modern weapons and combat, low TTK, teamwork and tactics and hardcore shooting elements. Really recommanding this masterpiece! Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2018
    9
    Definatelly a unique experince . The game is not polished very well yet and its content is not as much as one would want . HOWEVER , the these developers have proven that they will improve the game untill its a masterpiece just like they did with their older games
  4. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    Incredible audio, graphics, and gunplay. This game has the best gunplay ive ever seen in a multiplayer shooter, and the best audio ive ever heard in a shooter.
  5. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    The game is incredible!
    A mixture of simulation but with a lighter and faster footprint.
    You choose between some classes and each has a configuration that added on the battlefield form a skillful and deadly platoon. The physics of the game are very good, as well as the graphics and the gameplay, but what really impresses is the sound. Hearing the enemy approaching through the footsteps
    The game is incredible!
    A mixture of simulation but with a lighter and faster footprint.
    You choose between some classes and each has a configuration that added on the battlefield form a skillful and deadly platoon.
    The physics of the game are very good, as well as the graphics and the gameplay, but what really impresses is the sound. Hearing the enemy approaching through the footsteps and listening to him panting after a long run or coughing after entering a smoke is a good thing. The sound of gunfire, explosions, helicopters, bombers is a beautiful thing to hear.
    The game has everything the first one had, but refined and improved and much everything there was already.
    Huge maps where every construction can be taken and used, well-crafted scenarios and a huge level of detail.
    Worth every penny!
    Expand
  6. Dec 14, 2018
    10
    btw it take a long time to realese this awesome game. perfect in any way. hugs and kisses for NWI
  7. Dec 12, 2018
    10
    This game is awesome. One of the most intense game i have ever played. The graphics are amazing the weapon models are amazing the sound design is amazing (try with surround sound headphones) and the animations are beautifully done. A step in the right direction from the original. Nice job New World Interactive!
  8. Dec 22, 2018
    10
    Sandstorm Insurgency is that shooter game which has managed to take what was great about CS 1.5 and 1.6, then enhance it to meet the expectations of a 2018 game; surpass all its arcade type competitors without having to compromise on much needed realism.
  9. Jan 21, 2019
    10
    This is a good example of developers doing their job right when it comes to communication with player base. They listen to the community, they announce future plans, they make their own game without trying to get more players by introducing stupid battle royales and live update services. Community around the game is awesome and this game is special. Why? You can kill only 1 guy after 10This is a good example of developers doing their job right when it comes to communication with player base. They listen to the community, they announce future plans, they make their own game without trying to get more players by introducing stupid battle royales and live update services. Community around the game is awesome and this game is special. Why? You can kill only 1 guy after 10 minutes game, but man... You're going to enjoy it more than ever. Of course you're going to get more kills and practice makes perfect, but I can ensure you, that's the best gaming experience you can get in 2019. Expand
  10. Dec 18, 2018
    10
    Super solid gameplay would highly recommend. Personally have not had any major issues with performance or glitches even though others might have.
  11. Dec 23, 2018
    10
    Clearly the best FPS game in 2018. Team cooperation is very addictive. Sometimes hard and frustrating but rewarding.
  12. Dec 18, 2018
    8
    Insurgency Sandstorm is a good hardcore game, I love it. BUT its hav many problem, about optimizations and gameplay. The optimization is very bad, the old gameplay with better graphics and cars, heli didnt make me suprise. Summary, this game worth your money, but if ur pc cant play this game? Try Insurgency 1, its beautiful.
  13. Mar 8, 2019
    9
    It's just interesting to play. I dont understand why there are not so many people in this game. Guns feels fantstic. Gameplay isnt slow at all. It had terrible optimisation,but now its rather good. There are some negatives about matcmaking and round count.But ,generally its little things
  14. Dec 17, 2018
    10
    Insurgency: Sandstorm по сути это улучшенная версия игры 2014 года с запланированной кучей нового контента в будущем. Планируется добавить кучу карт, оружия и модов, пользовательских модификаций и так же кастомные сервера.

    Плюсы: Очень приятная физика стрельбы с отдачей (я бы сказал одна из лучших среди шутеров) Хороший выбор оружия и обвесов на него. Звуки оружия и взрывов сочные,
    Insurgency: Sandstorm по сути это улучшенная версия игры 2014 года с запланированной кучей нового контента в будущем. Планируется добавить кучу карт, оружия и модов, пользовательских модификаций и так же кастомные сервера.

    Плюсы:
    Очень приятная физика стрельбы с отдачей (я бы сказал одна из лучших среди шутеров)
    Хороший выбор оружия и обвесов на него.
    Звуки оружия и взрывов сочные, громкие.
    Динамичный, но в меру хардкорный геймплей. Умираешь быстро, убиваешь так же быстро. Не лежишь пол часа в кустах и не бежишь по полю 5 км, но и не штурмуешь врагов напролом. Раунды довольно быстрые.
    Отсутствие прокачки персонажей. Все оружие и обвесы на него доступны сразу.
    Кастомизация внешности персонажей.
    Адекватное комьюнити.
    Отсутствие королевской битвы.

    Минусы:
    Пока довольно однообразные карты с одной географической зоной (да, да, знаю, такая тематика игры, но вокруг только песок, пальмы и местные дома с коврами и мне лично это не очень нравится)
    Просадки FPS даже на нормальном железе
    Небольшой онлайн (учитывая оригинальную Insurgency, онлайн не более 3000 человек)
    Небольшое количество карт и режимов на старте игры.
    Отсутствие какой-либо разрушаемости на картах (а нужна ли?)

    Однозначно рекомендую, игра на голову выше большинства ААА конвейерных шутеров.
    9/10
    Expand
  15. Dec 16, 2018
    9
    This is truly the best shooter of 2018. No P2W bullcrap, amazing sound effects, amazing shooting mechanics (there's a fast reload option that drops your mag, what else could you ask for?), good amount of weapons and customization. This game is truly an upgrade from the 2014 Insurgency. I definitely recommend this game.
  16. Jan 18, 2019
    10
    This game is a highly intense, extremely thrilling experience of a tactical shooter. You kill fast, you die fast, and yet it is not as gruesome as it seems. At its core it's a very deep game with many nuances to master and an impossibly high skill ceiling.
  17. Jun 20, 2019
    10
    Over this past year, the game has grown tremendously. Drastically better performance, way less bugs, and a lot more content. From the very start I was enthralled by the ability to literally have the option to "intimidate" the enemy through voice lines which comes in handy during the new frenzy mode when an AI enemy is hiding in the point. Additionally, the ability to kick down doors alsoOver this past year, the game has grown tremendously. Drastically better performance, way less bugs, and a lot more content. From the very start I was enthralled by the ability to literally have the option to "intimidate" the enemy through voice lines which comes in handy during the new frenzy mode when an AI enemy is hiding in the point. Additionally, the ability to kick down doors also had me hooked. The unique gunplay, community, and dedicated developers has had me loving this game for every second since beta. I can't wait for the new content, and look forward to the future. Expand
  18. Dec 15, 2018
    10
    No other game like it. It takes awhile to get used to but the intensity is palpable.(HIGHLY RECOMMEND)

    Also the community is both super vocal and hilarious, love it.
  19. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    One of the better hardcore fps in recent years. Better shooting mechanics and game play than triple A titles. If this company had the budget that DICE had for BF5, pfff. Oh well a man can dream.. :(
  20. Feb 5, 2019
    0
    Terrible optimization. Cheap gunplay, Hitscan feels like COD, hit reg issues, stutters, dsync, feels like 2008 shooter...looks that way too.
  21. Dec 26, 2018
    0
    -more casual gameplay
    -bugs
    -awfull optimisation -voices again аля Я пиризарязатса! Why not amrican speeking english? -players cant use all vehicles +better graphyx +more reload animatons П.С. Кто бы что не говорил,но техника не +,если без нее лучше,тем более нет HUMWY,M1A2 у америкосов ,РПГ как бы ПРОТИВОТАНКОВЫЙ гранатомет,а не ПРОТИВОПЕХОТНЫЙ!
    -more casual gameplay
    -bugs
    -awfull optimisation
    -voices again аля Я пиризарязатса! Why not amrican speeking english?
    -players cant use all vehicles
    +better graphyx
    +more reload animatons
    П.С.
    Кто бы что не говорил,но техника не +,если без нее лучше,тем более нет HUMWY,M1A2 у америкосов ,РПГ как бы ПРОТИВОТАНКОВЫЙ гранатомет,а не ПРОТИВОПЕХОТНЫЙ!
  22. Dec 12, 2018
    4
    Минусы:
    нет ног, устаревшая графика, анимация вообще не о чём, экипирование неудобное, ОЧЕНЬ большой минус это звук: не слышно шагов противника, нет объемного звучания, нет разрушения, не простреливаются препятствия
    Плюсы: Экшен, очень активные бои, нет кучи НР (хардкорно), поубивать свободное время само-то, крутости таркова нет конечно, но и ни где нет Сильно не тошнит от неё, да и
    Минусы:
    нет ног, устаревшая графика, анимация вообще не о чём, экипирование неудобное, ОЧЕНЬ большой минус это звук: не слышно шагов противника, нет объемного звучания, нет разрушения, не простреливаются препятствия
    Плюсы:
    Экшен, очень активные бои, нет кучи НР (хардкорно), поубивать свободное время само-то, крутости таркова нет конечно, но и ни где нет
    Сильно не тошнит от неё, да и кровь из глаз не идёт. Будет скидка, рублей за 400-500 можно взять
    Expand
  23. BFV
    Dec 16, 2018
    0
    Bad bad bad bad, it's a cheap copy of Battlefield mechanics, 6 small maps, restricted areas, bugs, awfull optimisation. This is what poor devs can do.
  24. Dec 13, 2018
    10
    Naz buy my game man! I'd love to play with you, but I don't know what else to do in order to give me the Insurgency code broh.
  25. Jan 17, 2019
    2
    Not my style of game.

    I am tired of that one player in the game that always let the team down.
  26. Jan 3, 2019
    10
    Very competitive hardcore FPS. It is a steal at 1/3 of the price of most "AAA" shooters.
  27. Jun 24, 2019
    10
    Hi
    I bought the 3 days ago from now / i get familiar with this game on youtube and internet / im loving it ,im new to this game but it is amazing , im playing co op vs ai at the moment and i enjoyed it very much / i love the gunplay mechanic it is real and not for kids ,it is a tactical shooter game that u should communicate with ur team mates , i bought it in discount from steam about
    Hi
    I bought the 3 days ago from now / i get familiar with this game on youtube and internet / im loving it ,im new to this game but it is amazing , im playing co op vs ai at the moment and i enjoyed it very much / i love the gunplay mechanic it is real and not for kids ,it is a tactical shooter game that u should communicate with ur team mates , i bought it in discount from steam about 20$ / they deserves every penny / thanx and sorry for my english / i recommend this game to everyone that want a real tactical shooter with realistic gunplay ...
    Expand
  28. Jan 25, 2019
    10
    This is by far the best FPS experience I've ever had. The most convincing battlefield atmosphere.
  29. Mar 3, 2019
    10
    Amazing game for the more hardcore gaming crowd, which does not care for the kiddies who are destroying all of the big gaming titles like CoD, Battlefield, Battlefront, etc. This is a hard game to learn to play, but amazing gun mechanics, tactical gameplay and just pure fun once you kinda get the jist of it. Nowdays I only play this and Escape from Tarkov, I'm really done withAmazing game for the more hardcore gaming crowd, which does not care for the kiddies who are destroying all of the big gaming titles like CoD, Battlefield, Battlefront, etc. This is a hard game to learn to play, but amazing gun mechanics, tactical gameplay and just pure fun once you kinda get the jist of it. Nowdays I only play this and Escape from Tarkov, I'm really done with casual/arcade shooters, utter garbage nowdays.

    Pros:
    -Amazing gunplay and mechanics
    -Tactical teamplay oriented
    -Amazing graphics for a small independent company like NWI
    -Highly customizable characters
    -No pay-to-win s***
    -The music is really good
    -Diverse and balance classes with many gun options and mods
    -Relatively good community with few toxic players

    Cons:
    -It's hard to grasp at the start, specially if you have only played arcade shooters (but once you do is just fantastic)

    Thats it, if you want a challenge and are sick and tired of the s***big gaming companies feed us every year, definitely have a shot at this game.
    Expand
  30. Jan 21, 2019
    10
    team skill based, amazing sound. excellent gameplay. zero pay to win. way better than the mainstream games.
  31. Feb 22, 2019
    10
    Probably have about 15 hours in this already. Loving it. Would like to see even more soldier customization. The unreal engine could look better as it does in other games. Gunplay still could use some tweaking. The AI in this game is superb.
  32. Dec 22, 2018
    10
    This is the best FPS game of 2018. Graphics, sounds and GAMEPLAY are awesome. New World Interactive made a great work. Must-have for hardcore players, but some of CoD/BF players can be unpleasantly surprised with dying from one shot. ;)
  33. Jan 1, 2019
    10
    I have as much adrenaline as on RB6 and there is no micro transaction !
    The dev team seams to add content alongside. Great work
  34. Dec 22, 2018
    9
    Definitely worth the price of admission. I was debating over getting the new Call of Duty for the battle royale game mode, wait for Battlefield or pick this game up now and see where it goes and damn, this **** game is the absolute bee's knees. Guns are responsive, firefights are intense and dying doesn't feel as cheap since enemies are just as easy to kill.

    Only bad thing about this is
    Definitely worth the price of admission. I was debating over getting the new Call of Duty for the battle royale game mode, wait for Battlefield or pick this game up now and see where it goes and damn, this **** game is the absolute bee's knees. Guns are responsive, firefights are intense and dying doesn't feel as cheap since enemies are just as easy to kill.

    Only bad thing about this is that my 4170 + RX 480 8gb keeps on crashing for some unknown reason even on low graphics.
    Expand
  35. Dec 23, 2018
    9
    Incredible. Needs a little optimization, but damn...this game is freaking awesome. Surprised the hell out of me. You need to play this if you like FPSs.
  36. Dec 26, 2018
    10
    A great successor to the original Insurgency. The graphics and sound are awesome, the game-play is near perfect. The only things keeping this game down are the bugs and optimization but as seen with there previous games they support it and listen to the community. Hopefully they add workshop support and the single-player story.
  37. Jan 30, 2019
    10
    This is without exaggeration one of the best FPS experiences i had in the last five years or so.

    Pros: - Interesting hardcore gameplay with very short TTK what i would best describe as a mix of Counter-Strike (CQB), Battlefield (Objectives) and RainbowSix (CQB, TTK). - Amazing gunplay mechanics, weapon selection & customization options - Well thought out map selection - 3 different
    This is without exaggeration one of the best FPS experiences i had in the last five years or so.

    Pros:
    - Interesting hardcore gameplay with very short TTK what i would best describe as a mix of Counter-Strike (CQB), Battlefield (Objectives) and RainbowSix (CQB, TTK).
    - Amazing gunplay mechanics, weapon selection & customization options
    - Well thought out map selection
    - 3 different gamemodes that come with their own tactical challenges
    - Amazing graphics for what is basically an indie game (uses UE4 engine)
    - Amazing sound design (explosions, bullets, weapon sounds) with precise sound locating
    - Clear & user-friendly UX/UI
    - A (mostly) friendly & adult community
    - Steep learning curve and very high skill ceiling
    - Amazing value for the money (it's not a full price title)
    - Good developer support (optimization, bug fixes, new content)

    Cons:
    - Hard difficulty for new players, especially for those used to more mainstream shooters
    - Optimization: Occasionally FPS drops on some game modes/maps (though performance gets hugely improved with every patch)
    - Some minor glitches (missing arms/legs/heads, shadow flickering), but nothing game-impacting.

    I would strongly recommend this game to everyone in search for an immersive, intense tactical FPS experience. Even to those that are not familiar with tactical shooters yet, since it offers the perfect blend of depth and tactics without getting too slow-paced on the action (which is truly intense).
    Expand
  38. Feb 18, 2019
    10
    This game is a very realistic FPS, that shows great potential with all of the customization with guns and outfits. I would recommend this game
  39. Feb 25, 2019
    9
    An excellent followup to the original Insurgency, the game makes every gunfight a gamble where whoever has the better aim and trigger finger is usually the winner. Anyone who goes into this expecting CoD or Battlefield is in for a rude awakening. Every bullet counts and every one of them can kill you. And there's been a lot of cries about the optimization, which I had issues with at firstAn excellent followup to the original Insurgency, the game makes every gunfight a gamble where whoever has the better aim and trigger finger is usually the winner. Anyone who goes into this expecting CoD or Battlefield is in for a rude awakening. Every bullet counts and every one of them can kill you. And there's been a lot of cries about the optimization, which I had issues with at first as well, but it seems they were mostly ironed out (still have glitches occasionally such as invisible weapons and player models, but they fix themselves within a few minutes or with a restart). Expect one of the most gruesome and visceral shooters in the entire market. And when mod support comes out, this score will probably bump up to a perfect score. Expand
  40. Apr 5, 2019
    9
    Very good No-Nonsense-Shooter without any BS. No grind (only for cosmetics), no mtx or other shyte. The Gunplay is a bit challenging at he beginnig but very satisfying. PVP and KOOP are both very good.
    Only content feels a bit lacking right now, but is still more than enough for that money.
  41. May 19, 2019
    9
    There's a great balanced gameplay between simulation and action. The sound quality is awesome. The content of the game is very nice. The price of the game is very convenient. BUT Optimization issues ar frustrating. There are too few maps. AS A RESULT, If you can't find what you expect from FPS productions like the recently launched Battlefield V, Call of Duty Black Ops 4, I wouldThere's a great balanced gameplay between simulation and action. The sound quality is awesome. The content of the game is very nice. The price of the game is very convenient. BUT Optimization issues ar frustrating. There are too few maps. AS A RESULT, If you can't find what you expect from FPS productions like the recently launched Battlefield V, Call of Duty Black Ops 4, I would definitely recommend you to take a chance on this game. Expand
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. CD-Action
    Mar 25, 2019
    75
    If Battlefield is too arcadey for your taste and you’ve already heard everything about every player’s mum’s morals in CS:GO, Insurgency is an interesting alternative. It does have some minor technical problems, but once the developers sort them out, every tactical combat fan needs to check it out. [02/2019, p.51]
  2. Feb 21, 2019
    70
    It isn't as punishing as something like Arma, but it still offers fantastic audio and a brutal TTK that forces the player to slow down, think about their steps, and use all the tools the game puts at their disposal. One can't go into this game hoping for a sleek experience. The technical side of the game is just as gritty as its combat. In the heat of an intense battle, your processor will also put out some heat. Hopefully, New World Interactive can devote some time toward the technical side of things and put as much care into that as it did the audio and gameplay. If the developer can fix those issues, Insurgency: Sandstorm would be one of the better competitive shooters available on Steam.
  3. Feb 18, 2019
    67
    Insurgency: Sandstorm feels like a shoddy HD remaster of the original game rather than a full-fledged sequel, complete with annoying performance drops, popping up textures and bland map design.