Just Cause 3 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 690 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the bucolic Mediterranean island republic of Medici, a land crumbling under the brutal rule of General Di Ravello, you assume control of franchise's hero Rico Rodriguez, a man on a mission to liberate his homeland and the people of Medici...by any means necessary. With over fourSet in the bucolic Mediterranean island republic of Medici, a land crumbling under the brutal rule of General Di Ravello, you assume control of franchise's hero Rico Rodriguez, a man on a mission to liberate his homeland and the people of Medici...by any means necessary. With over four hundred square miles of utter freedom from sky to seabed and a massive arsenal of weaponry, gadgets and vehicles, prepare to unleash chaos in the most creative and explosive ways you can dream up. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Just Cause 3 - Destruction Dev Diary
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Dec 2, 2015
    90
    Just Cause 3 stands for freedom and fun. Every gameplay element is working towards one and the same goal: doing whatever you feel like. Just Cause 3 is simply a game you must play, it would surprise us if you wouldn't like it.
  2. Dec 1, 2015
    80
    Just Cause 3 is a chaotic, over the top action game where a simple grenade could level an entire military base from the domino effect alone. It is a beautiful action movie in video game form, with a cool protagonist and an incredible attention to detail.
  3. Nov 30, 2015
    80
    Just Cause 3 delivers what it does best: chaos and destruction. Though the world and gameplay feel monotonous at times, the wingsuit and other new additions are fun. But still no multiplayer, really?!
  4. Jan 19, 2016
    80
    Just Cause 3 is a monument to excess. It’s Hot Shots. It’s Charlie Chaplin in The Dictator, if Charlie Chaplin had rocket-powered C4 in his boots. It’s that scene in Dr. Strangelove where Slim Pickens rides the nuke into Russia, except...well, no, it’s pretty much exactly that scene on repeat for 25-30 hours.
  5. Dec 2, 2015
    75
    Just Cause 3 has two souls: one is pure, untarnished and ridiculous fun, the other is pretty raw, unpolished and repetitive. If you like blowing stuff up, launching rocket cows into space, or simply chaos, this game is definitely a dream come true. Just don’t expect an action masterpiece.
  6. Nov 30, 2015
    70
    Just Cause 3 is a sandbox game that works only if you create your own experience. But if you play it in a straight way, it shows only limitations (and some technical issues that we hope Avalanche will fix soon).
  7. Dec 23, 2015
    55
    Gliding over Medici’s beautiful vistas and causing those awesome explosions are the only fun things in a soulless product known as Just Cause 3. But then again, you can just gaze at screenshots while listening to the game’s soundtrack.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 154
  2. Negative: 58 out of 154
  1. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    Well, this-is.. Amazing.One of the best game i played since long time. Who cares about the plot. I'm full of all that games that want to giveWell, this-is.. Amazing.One of the best game i played since long time. Who cares about the plot. I'm full of all that games that want to give an amazing plot when probably best part of the players even care. this, is a game.you can do everything you want. he is an old style hero, a real one. some good joke while i shot with my bazooka, cool attitude, superstrong, unbeatable. Big map, lot of thing to do. The MOD system is cool.
    Now the part about the graphic:
    Yes there are problem on PC version. I have an i5-4670k 3.40ghz, 8gb ram,geforceGTX 760, and it give me some problem, mostly when i turn on myself very fast, and there is some "lag", but all that kids who say that is worst that BATMAN are real morons. you can play any way. probably in 2/3 weeks we will have the patch, so be patient. i cant stay here and read some stupid newbie who say "is possible that for everygame that come out we need a patch?". yes is possible, you konw howw difficult is to make a triple A game in this period? shut the **** up and go to work or play something else. you are not playing supremario bros, this are amsterpieces idiot, id like to see you do anything like. this.
    Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I prefer this to just cause 2 simply because if you get board you can play the game how you want to just go on a rampage.
    And alot of people are giving it negative reviews because it wont run ot there system i have had no problems what ever'
    Great engine on my system silky smooth no lag first half hr of gameplay long loading but after fine.
    And what game can you tether a person behind your car and brag then along.
    Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2015
    8
    This game was fun, apart from the loading times. For those who like causing havoc and there is little fun from the story. The only real funThis game was fun, apart from the loading times. For those who like causing havoc and there is little fun from the story. The only real fun out of this game for me was exploding things, funny bugs and using the environment and grapple system. U must use your imagination or u won't like this one, just like the idiots who give it a 0 because just because they don't like it. Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2016
    6
    The makers of Just Cause 3 obviously took a very close look at Far Cry 4.
    However, execution is sub par in my opinion.
    The AI in this game
    The makers of Just Cause 3 obviously took a very close look at Far Cry 4.
    However, execution is sub par in my opinion.
    The AI in this game is lame, to say the least.
    Blowing stuff up is fun at first, until you realize all missions are more or less the same, then it gets old really fast.
    Long term playability is limited.
    Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2015
    4
    Just Cause 3 has released in absolutely shambolic fashion with myself and many other users reporting horrendous performance issues on rigsJust Cause 3 has released in absolutely shambolic fashion with myself and many other users reporting horrendous performance issues on rigs that surpass even the recommended settings. After many hours of self-optimising and tweaking; even on the latest Nvidia drivers; this game is of a standard not too dissimilar from that of Arkham Knight. With even Xbox One reporting frame rate drops south of 15fps; it is collectively a disappointing release all round. The amount of stuttering on PC makes this game virtually unplayable as of now and even the developers pathetic short-term laughable fixes of 'running the game as an admin' doesn't work. The last time developers were this clueless was Rocksteady and we all remember the AK saga too well...

    Technical woes aside; this game is not as enjoyable as the last outing with a boring story, dreadful characters, terrible mechanics, painfully repetitive and underwhelming missions and a huge but bland landscape. The combat and explosive elements are fun at first but after a few hours it just becomes tiresome. There is also no manual save, checkpoints aren't clear and the intro along with general loading screens are far too long.

    It is clear that this game has been released without any due care whatsoever just to grab as many sales as possible before the year end and the quality of the product is in the hands of developers relying on the infamous 'get out of jail' patches to work to any acceptable standard. Avoid until this has been proven to work to the level expected on a variety of setups and even then, don't expect a grand and enjoyable experience. A disappointing end to another dismal year of gaming.
    Expand
  6. Aug 28, 2016
    2
    Blowing up fuel tanks is fun, but that fun quickly turns into tedium as you find yourself confronting more and more difficult, tediousBlowing up fuel tanks is fun, but that fun quickly turns into tedium as you find yourself confronting more and more difficult, tedious enemies. Want an edge against those enemies? You'd better be ready for some tedious challenges, which wouldn't be a problem if the driving and wingsuit controls weren't completely horrendous. I want to know who thought that people wanted to fly through rings and practice "jihad-jeeping" for 20 hours straight just to get extra slots for "beacon" tokens, which are now the only way to get supply drops...

    The story takes literally two hours to complete unless you have the IQ of a peanut, enemy AI has one mode - "bum rush", and SAM site overuse completely ruins aircraft in the game. You WILL not be able to use a jet or helicopter to take down a base. At all. It must all be done on foot, all without the ability to even so much as CROUCH.

    Everything that was fun and awesome about Just Cause 2 is completely MIA here. Absolutely anything fun in this game is either gated behind unfair AI, grindy minigames, or arbitrary "defense systems". Save your money and stay away from this game. It's barely worth the two hours you'll spend with it before wanting to gouge out your own eyeballs, and *definitely* not worth whatever price you'd pay for it.
    Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2017
    0
    I was pretty hard to launch the game first time. It crashed few times, hung my PC few times... When I finally managed to start it - it workedI was pretty hard to launch the game first time. It crashed few times, hung my PC few times... When I finally managed to start it - it worked perfectly. But it looks like it manages to start only few times in a week. Other times it tells that I have no internet connection and freezes (my connection is perfect by the way), or just freezes on a first loading screen.
    When it works - it's a great game, really fun and perfectly optimized. But what's a point of this when I can't actually play it?
    Expand

See all 154 User Reviews