Just Cause 3 Image
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 50 Critic Reviews What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 814 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the bucolic Mediterranean island republic of Medici, a land crumbling under the brutal rule of General Di Ravello, you assume control of franchise's hero Rico Rodriguez, a man on a mission to liberate his homeland and the people of Medici...by any means necessary. With over fourSet in the bucolic Mediterranean island republic of Medici, a land crumbling under the brutal rule of General Di Ravello, you assume control of franchise's hero Rico Rodriguez, a man on a mission to liberate his homeland and the people of Medici...by any means necessary. With over four hundred square miles of utter freedom from sky to seabed and a massive arsenal of weaponry, gadgets and vehicles, prepare to unleash chaos in the most creative and explosive ways you can dream up. Expand
Watch Now
Buy on

Trailer

Play Sound
Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Just Cause 3 - Destruction Dev Diary
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Dec 2, 2015
    90
    Just Cause 3 stands for freedom and fun. Every gameplay element is working towards one and the same goal: doing whatever you feel like. Just Cause 3 is simply a game you must play, it would surprise us if you wouldn't like it.
  2. Dec 1, 2015
    80
    Just Cause 3 is a chaotic, over the top action game where a simple grenade could level an entire military base from the domino effect alone. It is a beautiful action movie in video game form, with a cool protagonist and an incredible attention to detail.
  3. Nov 30, 2015
    80
    Just Cause 3 delivers what it does best: chaos and destruction. Though the world and gameplay feel monotonous at times, the wingsuit and other new additions are fun. But still no multiplayer, really?!
  4. Jan 19, 2016
    80
    Just Cause 3 is a monument to excess. It’s Hot Shots. It’s Charlie Chaplin in The Dictator, if Charlie Chaplin had rocket-powered C4 in his boots. It’s that scene in Dr. Strangelove where Slim Pickens rides the nuke into Russia, except...well, no, it’s pretty much exactly that scene on repeat for 25-30 hours.
  5. Dec 2, 2015
    75
    Just Cause 3 has two souls: one is pure, untarnished and ridiculous fun, the other is pretty raw, unpolished and repetitive. If you like blowing stuff up, launching rocket cows into space, or simply chaos, this game is definitely a dream come true. Just don’t expect an action masterpiece.
  6. Nov 30, 2015
    70
    Just Cause 3 is a sandbox game that works only if you create your own experience. But if you play it in a straight way, it shows only limitations (and some technical issues that we hope Avalanche will fix soon).
  7. Dec 23, 2015
    55
    Gliding over Medici’s beautiful vistas and causing those awesome explosions are the only fun things in a soulless product known as Just Cause 3. But then again, you can just gaze at screenshots while listening to the game’s soundtrack.

See all 53 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 179
  2. Negative: 60 out of 179
  1. Dec 6, 2015
    10
    Well, this-is.. Amazing.One of the best game i played since long time. Who cares about the plot. I'm full of all that games that want to giveWell, this-is.. Amazing.One of the best game i played since long time. Who cares about the plot. I'm full of all that games that want to give an amazing plot when probably best part of the players even care. this, is a game.you can do everything you want. he is an old style hero, a real one. some good joke while i shot with my bazooka, cool attitude, superstrong, unbeatable. Big map, lot of thing to do. The MOD system is cool.
    Now the part about the graphic:
    Yes there are problem on PC version. I have an i5-4670k 3.40ghz, 8gb ram,geforceGTX 760, and it give me some problem, mostly when i turn on myself very fast, and there is some "lag", but all that kids who say that is worst that BATMAN are real morons. you can play any way. probably in 2/3 weeks we will have the patch, so be patient. i cant stay here and read some stupid newbie who say "is possible that for everygame that come out we need a patch?". yes is possible, you konw howw difficult is to make a triple A game in this period? shut the **** up and go to work or play something else. you are not playing supremario bros, this are amsterpieces idiot, id like to see you do anything like. this.
    Expand
  2. Dec 2, 2015
    9
    Ok, yes the launch was less than stellar. To those of you who are nvidia users make sure you get the latest driver. New driver took the gameOk, yes the launch was less than stellar. To those of you who are nvidia users make sure you get the latest driver. New driver took the game from broken to stable. I still get some frame rate slow down when there is a whole lot of explosions and physics damage going on, but only when the fit really hits the shan. So performance isn't terrible for me, just leaves a little bit to be desired.

    The game is awesome. I think it looks really good, map traversal is way more fun than in JC2. Vehicles leave something to be desired. I've been playing GTA lately and the cars and bikes are quite inferior. Not terrible once you get used to them, but not awesome. Now, what you can do with the cars is a different story.

    To those complaining about plot, and voice acting, you're missing the point of this game. I had the same issue the first time I picked up JC2. I put it right back down because the voice acting was so terrible, especially that indian(?) girl leader of that revolutionary group, omg I hated her so much. But whats true of all games is 10x more true with Just Cause, the plot is truly just a means to get you to go do some crazy action movie sequence. This game at its heart is a physics playground, and in that respect JC3 is very successful.

    One of the reviewers said it and I agree, you need to be able to come up with your own fun to enjoy this game. If you are a gamer who often finds themselves trying things, "I wonder what will happen if I do this", then this is the game for you, because chances are, this game will let you do it, and the results will be fantastic and funny.

    I think 8/10 is more correct because of the issues related above, but I'm kind of sick of every game I like getting mountains of 0s when they are clearly not 0 games, so I'm giving it 9.
    Expand
  3. Dec 6, 2015
    8
    This game was fun, apart from the loading times. For those who like causing havoc and there is little fun from the story. The only real funThis game was fun, apart from the loading times. For those who like causing havoc and there is little fun from the story. The only real fun out of this game for me was exploding things, funny bugs and using the environment and grapple system. U must use your imagination or u won't like this one, just like the idiots who give it a 0 because just because they don't like it. Expand
  4. Dec 23, 2015
    7
    System Reviewed: Intel Core i7-4800MQ; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M (at 1080p); 16GB 1600MHz System Memory; Windows 10.
    Play Time: 29 Hours
    System Reviewed: Intel Core i7-4800MQ; NVIDIA GeForce GTX 780M (at 1080p); 16GB 1600MHz System Memory; Windows 10.
    Play Time: 29 Hours

    Just Cause 3 is a third person action game where you’re given a large area map for destruction. Set in the fictitious nation of Medici, you must topple General Sebastiano Di Ravello tyrannical rain though destroying his infrastructure and completing missions. A sequel to JC2, this game doesn’t feel like an evolution or revolution. It feels like more of the same with something added here and taken away there.

    Graphics: B

    I had no issues with getting between 50 to 60 FPS most of the time. The slight dips from time to time didn’t take away from my immersion. While everything looks as it should, nothing really WOWed me except the explosions and destruction. When taking down a large antenna structure while underneath it, the sense of exhalation was great as it toppled around me. When things went boom, it did so with great particle effects and debris. However, after a few hours and a bunch of towns and military bases under my belt, the novelty wore off and I was less impressed. Other toted effects were less impressive. Dandelions do flatten while driving over them; I fail to see how this is supposed to improve my experience.

    Story: C+

    I was pleasantly surprised that the story was passable this time compared to JC2. Perhaps my expectations were so low that I wouldn’t be hard to beat them. While campy throughout, it did have some interesting insights to the character’s past and their prior relationships. These moments are rare and never more than one offs, quickly deviating back to the mission at hand. Voice and dialog are b-movie quality but good b-movie. The story did rush though all points far too quickly and have a very unsatisfying ending, as if to say “that’s enough story, here’s the end”. Could be finished in about 5 hours, maybe less if you rushed.

    Gameplay: D+

    The gimmick here is the destruction that was well showcased in JC2. Towns, outposts, and military bases can be liberated by blowing up everything marked in red. While cool at first, Towns and outposts are mostly copy and paste leaving a very repetitive feel to them. Military bases are more varied but suffer the same monotonous feeling after 6 hours. The campaign does give some unique situations and motivation but was far too short to sustain me for the long run.

    The improvements to the zip line and the inclusion of the wing suit are nice but didn’t improve the experience much for me. Using zip line to pull down chaos objects is fun but uneven. Upgrades are required to get more functionality out of this and after a while felt like a novelty. The wingsuit was a nice inclusion for nothing more than a quicker way to move around. The unlimited parachute feels sluggish compared to the prior game, encouraging the use of the wing suit.

    Non-explosive weaponry are mostly useless. You got a handful of rifles, handguns, SMGs, and shotguns. All felt very weak and underwhelming. As far as special explosive weapons go, you got more options but didn’t really entice me that much.

    Upgrades are given by completing boring, repetitive side missions that earn you gears in different categories depending on the mission. These are a slog to go through and have very little fun value. Upgrades are often standard fare but most unique upgrades are useless. Certain upgrades like zoom in aiming and landing while using the wingsuit should have been standard features. Locking these things to pad the upgrade list is disappointing.

    The map is big but less impressive. It feels like a lot more empty space between towns and outposts than before and nothing to do outside these areas. You can find a few collectables but beyond that, its wasted space used for races trigged by side mission. Gas stations are now reloaded after destroying and bridges can be blown up now but both offer little strategic value outside of missions.

    Cars and planes handle far worse than the previous game. Tanks and helicopters are about the same but are very week and get destroyed easily. Ground play is worse with little in the way of protecting yourself in a firefight. Developers stated that cover wasn’t implemented to encourage use of the parachute as a form of cover. It works, but it didn’t feel fun slowly hovering over my enemies as I popped them off. Dodging was removed along with the mini map. Xbox One controller felt sluggish with aiming and was always imprecise.

    Final Thoughts:

    Your value on this is how much you can stand repetitive tasks. Towns and outpost all feel, look and play the same way with very little originality. I never got a sense of accomplishment when liberating areas around Medici. Just felt like I was checking off the list. Fighting as a shooter feels half-baked and was tighter in JC2. Explosions and destruction are better this time around but this is the same game we played before. I was expecting more this time around.
    Expand
  5. Feb 11, 2020
    5
    I pre ordered it and it was so dissapointing the story is bad and the gameplay is also somewhat downgraded from the original. OK explosionsI pre ordered it and it was so dissapointing the story is bad and the gameplay is also somewhat downgraded from the original. OK explosions look better but thats about it but the world is beatiful and free roaming fun for a while but thats it. Expand
  6. Feb 13, 2016
    3
    I hate this game. So, so much.

    Not because the gameplay itself isn't fun... it is... it really is. The problem is, Avalanche has once again
    I hate this game. So, so much.

    Not because the gameplay itself isn't fun... it is... it really is. The problem is, Avalanche has once again released a game that is utterly broken and crashes CONSTANTLY, which is frustrating beyond words. I can't go more than half and hour in-game without crashing to the desktop. And don't get me started on trying to change video resolution in-game. In short, that's a guaranteed crash, every time.

    I'm having flashbacks to Just Cause 2, where even now, many, many years after its release, it's still buggy as hell and is plagued by frequent crashing. Based on Avalanche's response to those issues, I think it's pretty clear that they don't give a damn about the stability of their games, and I think it's safe to assume that they will never release the updates necessary to fix the problems with Just Cause 3.

    My advice: don't waste your money, unless you enjoy the frustration of crashing every 20-30 minutes and having to wait several more minutes to relaunch the game and actually start playing again. If I could get a refund at this point, I most certainly would.
    Expand
  7. Jan 1, 2017
    0
    I was pretty hard to launch the game first time. It crashed few times, hung my PC few times... When I finally managed to start it - it workedI was pretty hard to launch the game first time. It crashed few times, hung my PC few times... When I finally managed to start it - it worked perfectly. But it looks like it manages to start only few times in a week. Other times it tells that I have no internet connection and freezes (my connection is perfect by the way), or just freezes on a first loading screen.
    When it works - it's a great game, really fun and perfectly optimized. But what's a point of this when I can't actually play it?
    Expand

See all 179 User Reviews