Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 7, 2016
    100
    Kentucky Route Zero Act IV is fu*king fantastic.
  2. Sep 1, 2016
    95
    Kentucky Route Zero is simply a game you can't miss. It's a marvelous piece of art with addictive dialogues and a perfect soundtrack.
  3. Oct 11, 2016
    93
    In a narrative sense, Act IV is most likely the calm before the storm in Act V, and falls perfectly in line with the five-act structure often used to analyze Shakespeare (the section of falling action). The best adventures are ones where the location — physically and mentally — one begins and where one ends up are shockingly, violently different. Kentucky Route Zero embodies this notion as the characters (and the player) disappear into the night.
  4. Aug 4, 2016
    90
    Act IV proves the journey is everything, and what people take from and give to each other--even in the most desolate, purgatorial version of America imaginable--still matters. It's heartening thinking about what other players might take away from the stories shared during our motley crew's time sailing Lake Lethe--and what it might spur them to do in the real world.
  5. Jul 31, 2016
    90
    As you journey down the Echo, the ancestral darkness of River Lethe, you remember. Kentucky Route Zero has now transcended the video game medium and has become an incredibly strong argument for video games as a pure art form.
  6. Jul 22, 2016
    85
    Route Zero: Act 4 constantly alternates between serene and unsettling, with the occasional dash of humor thrown in.
  7. Jul 26, 2016
    81
    From the room of VHS tapes, to the security footage, to the bat sanctuary, to the theremin performance, to the camera’s final, extended retreat up the rickety helix of a spiral staircase; Act IV confronts us with scenarios that test and limit our perception. Like Snow’s Wavelength, it gives us just enough to trick us into feeling like we’ve glimpsed something real.
  8. Aug 29, 2016
    80
    Act IV is a slow, meandering episode that continues Kentucky Route Zero’s streak of quiet, introspective, blue collar beauty.
This publication does not provide a score for their reviews.
This publication has not posted a final review score yet.
These unscored reviews do not factor into the Metascore calculation.
  1. Despite my sense that this chapter is not quite the equal of those before it, it is entirely unmissable if you have played those, still as beautiful and unpredictable and as forlornly romantic as ever, and this time it shows me at least two places I wish I could go and live in forever. And though some water may be overtly trodden this time, be in no doubt that things are moving towards a conclusion.

Awards & Rankings

User Score
6.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 43 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 43
  2. Negative: 15 out of 43
  1. Aug 9, 2016
    4
    Nice minimalistic art style but my god is this game boring. I relatively liked episodes 1-3, even though there was too much flow walking,Nice minimalistic art style but my god is this game boring. I relatively liked episodes 1-3, even though there was too much flow walking, obtuse puzzles, and just stuff that was too weird. This episode was just mind numbingly boring. The set and music is good, but the gameplay is unexciting. Full Review »
  2. Aug 9, 2016
    10
    I don't review games but this game deserves it.This has been the most amazing game experience i've ever had.If David Fincher made a game thisI don't review games but this game deserves it.This has been the most amazing game experience i've ever had.If David Fincher made a game this would be it. Full Review »
  3. Aug 18, 2016
    10
    A stunning, melancholy work of art. Probably the most understated act so far, Act IV is rather slow-paced and more text-heavy than other acts,A stunning, melancholy work of art. Probably the most understated act so far, Act IV is rather slow-paced and more text-heavy than other acts, so you really need to buy into and appreciate the KRZ mythology; if you didn't like previous acts this one will definitely not win you over. However, if you're already in love with the world of the game, you'll love exploring the settings (there are some beautiful ones here) and learning more about the characters and their backgrounds. This act is also designed to be replayed at least once, as you have to make choices that affect which scenes you end up playing (i.e. whether to stay on the boat or get off at various stops). Kentucky Route Zero continues to be possibly the most profound and beautiful games I've ever played. Full Review »